DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to communications filed on June 4, 2024. Claims 1-14 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mohammadpour et al. (US 2024/0172291).
Regarding Claim 1, Mohammadpour teaches a method for performing operations for a User Equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
configuring two or more resource sets, wherein each of the two or more resource sets is related to corresponding remaining energy level (“receiving (400), in an apparatus comprising a wirelessly chargeable power source or a power source with energy harvesting capability, a configuration message from a network node, said configuration message comprising a first random access (RA) resource and a second RA resource and a threshold value for selecting the first RA resource or the second RA resource based on an energy level of said power source” – See [0083]; “a threshold value for an available energy level of the power source” – See [0088]; The UE receives a configuration of first and second RA resources (two or more resource sets), wherein each of the RA resources corresponds to an available/remaining energy level);
based on a remaining energy level of the UE being lower than a threshold, selecting a resource set of which remaining energy level is matched with the remaining energy level of the UE (“The passive IoT device uses the threshold value to determine the proper type of preamble to be used for an initial access procedure e.g. by comparing the threshold value and the available/stored energy in the power source of the device” – See [0088]; The UE selects a resource set based on the energy level being above or below the threshold);
transmitting a first message to a network based on the selected resource set (“if the available/stored energy is below the threshold value, the tag UE/passive IoT device sends (908) the Type 2 preamble to the network node” – See [0115]; “If the available/stored energy is above the threshold value, the tag UE/passive IoT device starts (906) the UL transmission by sending the Type 1 preamble to the network node” – See [0114]; The UE transmits a first message to the network based on the selected resource set. For example, the UE transmits the first message with a type 1 preamble when the energy level is below the threshold and transmits the first message with a type 2 preamble when the energy level is above the threshold); and
receiving a second message in response to the first message from the network (“In this case, the tag UE/passive IoT device may initiate, for example, 2-step RA procedure by sending (602) a MsgA provided with the Type 1 preamble and application data pending for uplink transmission. The base station acknowledges the RA procedure by sending (604) a MsgB RA response” – See [0111]; “the tag UE/passive IoT device sends (802) back a MsgA provided with the Type 2 preamble and a part of the application data pending for uplink transmission. The base station acknowledges the RA procedure by sending (804) a MsgB RA response” – See [0113]; The UE receives a MsgB (second message in response to the first message)).
Regarding Claim 2, Mohammadpour teaches the method of Claim 1. Mohammadpour further teaches that transmitting the first message comprises:
selecting a random access (RA) preamble (RAP) and a RA occasion (RO) from the selected resource set (“the first random access (RA) resource and the second RA resource are a first random access (RA) preamble and a second RA preamble, correspondingly” – See [0084]; “the first random access (RA) resource and the second RA resource are a first time/frequency resource for an uplink connection and a second time/frequency resource for an uplink connection” – See [0086]; The preamble and time/frequency resource (RACH occasion) are selected from a resource set based on the energy level); and
transmitting the first message including the RAP on the RO wherein the second message comprises a RA response (RAR) (“In this case, the tag UE/passive IoT device may initiate, for example, 2-step RA procedure by sending (602) a MsgA provided with the Type 1 preamble and application data pending for uplink transmission. The base station acknowledges the RA procedure by sending (604) a MsgB RA response” – See [0111]; “the tag UE/passive IoT device sends (802) back a MsgA provided with the Type 2 preamble and a part of the application data pending for uplink transmission. The base station acknowledges the RA procedure by sending (804) a MsgB RA response” – See [0113]; The UE transmits the first message using the selected preamble/occasion and receives a MsgB (RAR)).
Regarding Claim 3, Mohammadpour teaches the method of Claim 1. Mohammadpour further teaches receiving an energy resource signal from the network based on the second message and performing an energy harvesting from the energy resource signal (“The IoT device may also comprise one antenna for receiving and transmitting data, such as identifier, attributes and application-related data, and one or more antennas for obtaining energy from RF signal(s). Obtaining the needed energy from RF signal(s) is one form of what is referred to as energy harvesting” – See [0042]; “if the available/stored energy is below the threshold value, the tag UE/passive IoT device sends (908) the Type 2 preamble to the network node and enters (910) into energy harvesting mode … the tag UE/passive IoT device continues (918) the energy harvesting until a sufficient energy level is reached (920) in the power source of the device” – See [0115]; The UE receives an RF signal (energy resource signal) from which is harvests energy to charge its power source).
Claims 7, 13, and 14 are rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 1.
Claim 8 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 2.
Claim 9 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohammadpour et al. (US 2024/0172291) in view of Berggren et al. (US 2024/0429742).
Regarding Claim 4, Mohammadpour teaches the method of Claim 3. Mohammadpour does not explicitly teach that the second message includes information related to the energy resource signal.
However, Berggren teaches that the second message includes information related to the energy resource signal (“These configurations may be adjusted to support WDs operating on energy harvesting techniques, by allowing a certain configuration for a certain harvesting capability. For instance, a certain time-gap can be configured in between Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) occasions when scheduling an uplink transmission, when the WD is in connected mode. During this time-gap the WD can harvest energy. The time-gap may be selected based on a harvesting capability reported by the WD. The time-gap may be selected to guarantee that the WD, after the time-gap, has sufficient energy to proceed with its communication” – See [0039]; “the message indicative of the present energy storage level and the present energy harvesting efficiency of the WD may be received as part of a Random Access Channel (RACH) procedure such as comprised in a random access message, such as in a msg 1 and/or in a RACH preamble, received by the network node” – See [0087]; “The network node 800 transmits the adjusted configuration 910 to the WD 300” – See [0064]; In response to the preamble/first message, the UE receives a second message including an adjusted energy harvesting configuration (information related to the energy resource signal)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mohammadpour such that the second message includes information related to the energy resource signal. Motivation for doing so would be to provide the UE with an energy harvesting configuration with will guarantee that it has sufficient energy to proceed with its communication (See Berggren, [0039]).
Regarding Claim 5, Mohammadpour teaches the method of Claim 3. Mohammadpour further teaches that the first message is re-transmitted to the network based on the selected resource set (“if the available/stored energy is below the threshold value, the tag UE/passive IoT device sends (908) the Type 2 preamble to the network node and enters (910) into energy harvesting mode … the tag UE/passive IoT device continues (918) the energy harvesting until a sufficient energy level is reached (920) in the power source of the device. Then the tag UE/passive IoT device may continue (906) the UL transmission” – See [0115]; “the tag UE/passive IoT device starts (906) the UL transmission by sending the Type 1 preamble to the network node” – See [0114]; At the end of an energy harvesting period, the UE retransmits the preamble (first message) to the network based on the selected resource set).
Mohammadpour does not explicitly teach starting a timer upon receiving the second message, wherein the first message is retransmitted based on the energy resource signal not being received until an expiration of the timer.
However, Berggren teaches starting a timer upon receiving the second message, wherein an energy harvesting period is defined based on the energy resource signal not being received until an expiration of the timer (“During this time-gap the WD can harvest energy. The time-gap may be selected based on a harvesting capability reported by the WD. The time-gap may be selected to guarantee that the WD, after the time-gap, has sufficient energy to proceed with its communication, such as with uplink transmission or downlink reception” – See [0039]; “the message indicative of the present energy storage level and the present energy harvesting efficiency of the WD may be received as part of a Random Access Channel (RACH) procedure such as comprised in a random access message, such as in a msg 1 and/or in a RACH preamble, received by the network node” – See [0087]; “The network node may provide the adjusted configuration, such as the updated UL time-gap pattern based on the report and/or assistance information received from the WD. For example, a WD having a low energy harvesting efficiency, such as a slow charging, may be configured to have short uplink durations and longer time-gaps, such as for harvesting energy” – See [0048]; Upon receiving the random access response/second message, the UE begins a time-gap (timer). During the time-gap, the UE harvests energy from an energy resource signal to charge its power source such that the energy resource signal is not completely received until the end/expiration of the configured time-gap).
Thus, modifying Mohammadpour in view of Berggren will result in Berggren’s UE retransmitting its preamble (first message) in steps 920/906 after it has harvested enough energy as determined based on the expiry of a time-gap. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mohammadpour to include starting a timer upon receiving the second message, wherein the first message is retransmitted based on the energy resource signal not being received until an expiration of the timer. Motivation for doing so would be to provide the UE with an energy harvesting duration that is long enough guarantee that it has sufficient energy to proceed with its communication (See Berggren, [0039]).
Regarding 6, Mohammadpour in view of Berggren teaches the method of Claim 5. Berggren further teaches based on the energy harvesting being completed successfully, stopping the timer (“The time-gaps in the scheduling of the communication may in one or more example methods be time-gaps for energy harvesting, in which time-gaps the WD is not scheduled to communicate and can perform energy harvesting” – See [0095]; “The time-gap may be selected based on a harvesting capability reported by the WD. The time-gap may be selected to guarantee that the WD, after the time-gap, has sufficient energy to proceed with its communication, such as with uplink transmission or downlink reception” – See [0039]; The time-gap stops/ends when the UE has completed the energy harvesting procedure).
Claim 10 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 4.
Claim 11 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 5.
Claim 12 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 6.
Conclusion
/SCOTT M SCIACCA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478