DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-10, 13,15-18, 42 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Manolakos (US 2022/0065978 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, 42
Manolakos discloses a method for wireless communication (See [Abstract]; Usage of PRS signal for positioning measurements), comprising:
communicating (See Fig.1;(192); [0006-0007]; sidelink communication), by a first wireless communication device (Fig.1(190)) to a second wireless communication device (Fig.1(104)), a signal including a configuration information (See Fig.1; (192); [0008]; [0091]; a UE configured to support positioning of the UE in a wireless network, includes a wireless transceiver configured to wirelessly communicate with entities in the wireless network); and
performing, by the second wireless communication device (Fig.1(104)), an operation that combines a sensing functionality (See [0008]; configured to perform positioning measurements) and a communication functionality (See [0008]; the at least one processor is configured to: receive positioning assistance data comprising a first set of information related to positioning reference signals (PRS) and a second et of information related to non-positioning reference signals
(non-PRS)), using the configuration information (See Fig.1; (192); [0008]; a UE configured to support positioning of the UE in a wireless network, includes a wireless transceiver configured to wirelessly communicate with entities in the wireless network) for at least one use case(s) (See [0008]; [0054]; UE is configured to communicate, take measurements and report UE position).
Note:
Regarding claim 42, 43
a UE comprises processor (Fig,10(1002) and memory Fig.10(1004)
Regarding Claim 2,
Manolakos teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 and Manolakos further teaches
wherein the wireless communication device is at least one of:
a user equipment (UE) (See [Abstract]; UE in sidelink configuration)),
a network node (Fig.1(170); core network comprises network node),
a base station (FIg.1(102)),
a transmission/reception point (TRP) (See [0104]; TRP),
a local server (Fig.9(270)),
a sensing function (SF) (See [0102]; measurements),
or
a Location Management Function (LMF) (Fig.1(172); Location Server).
(The term “at least one” is used providing option in claim limitation examination)
Regarding Claim 3,
Manolakos teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 and Manolakos further teaches
wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of:
a signal (See [0008]; [0054]; UE receiving PRS signals to be use for measurements),
a signal set (See [0008]; [0054]; receive positioning assistance data comprising a first set of information related to positioning reference signals (PRS) and a second set of information related to non-positioning reference signals (non-PRS))
a sensing method (See [0054]; [0102]; CRS signal),
a transmission/reception point (TRP) (See [0054]; [0104]; TRP detectable) ,
a resource (See Fig.5; [0086]; [0095]; resource),
a resource set (See Fig.5; [0086]; [0095]; resource set),
a parameter (See Fig.4; [0084]; Time and frequency carrier),
a beam information (See [0054]; Beam Configuration),
a direction information (See [0054]; Beam Sweeping),
or
a list of wireless communication devices (See [0054]; UEs acquires configuration signal).
(The term “at least one” is used providing option in claim limitation examination)
Regarding Claim 4,
Manolakos teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 and Manolakos further teaches
wherein the at least one use case(s) comprises at least of:
communication (See [0008]; [0054]; UE is configured to communicate),
positioning (See [0008]; [0054]; UE is configured to report UE position). ,
or
sensing (See [0008]; [0054]; UE is configured to take measurements).
(The term “at least one” is used providing option in claim limitation examination)
Regarding Claim 5,
Manolakos teaches all the features with respect to claim 3 and Manolakos further teaches
wherein the resource or the resource set is configured for:
sensing (See [0095-0096]; resources for measuring position data)) and/or communication (See [0095-0096]; resourc4es to communicate with other devices), or
measurement of sensing (See [0095-0096]; (See [0095-0096]; resources for measuring position data)) ) and/or communication (See [0095-0096]; (See [0095-0096]; resourc4es to communicate with other devices ).
(The term “at least one” is used providing option in claim limitation examination)
Regarding Claim 6,
Manolakos teaches all the features with respect to claim 3 and Manolakos further teaches
wherein the parameter is related to at least one of
time domain of the signal (See Fig.4; [0083-0085]; signal with time domain resources),
frequency domain of the signal (See Fig.4; [0083-0085]; signal with frequency domain resources),,
coding domain of the signal (See [0079]; code and decode data),
spatial domain of the signal (See [0078]; spatial processing),
the resource (See Fig.4; [0083-0085]; slot, subframe RB represent resources)),
the resource set (See Fig.4; [0083-0085]; time and frequency domain),
or
a sensing mode (See [0084-0085]; measurements of signal).
Regarding Claim 7,
Manolakos teaches all the features with respect to claim 3 and Manolakos further teaches
wherein the beam information or direction information is configured for sensing (See [0085-0086]; [0090-0091]; UE is configured to measure scheduled signal in specific direction).
Regarding Claim 8,
Manolakos teaches all the features with respect to claim 3 and Manolakos further teaches
wherein the beam information (See [0085-0086]; [0090-0091]; beam to be transmitted to UE),
the direction information (See [0085-0086]; [0090-0091]; beam transmitted in multiple directions) or
the resource (See [0085-0086]; [0090-0091]; resource I set for transmission)
is configured per resource or per resource set (See [005090086]; [0090-0091]; The collection of resource elements can span multiple PRBs in the frequency domain and N ( e.g., 1 or more) consecutive symbol(s) within a slot 414 in the time domain).
Regarding Claim 9,
Manolakos teaches all the features with respect to claim 6 and Manolakos further teaches
wherein the sensing mode is related to at least one of:
sensing by the first or second wireless communication device (See [0006-0007]; [0050]; measurements are performed through signal sensing by wireless devices),
sensing by at least one other wireless communication devices (See [0006-0007]; [0050]; multiple UEs can receive and transmit information to a base station or other UEs), or
jointly sensed by the first or second wireless communication device and the at least one other device(s) (See [0006-0007]; [0050]; multiple UEs can receive and transmit information to a base station or other UEs).
(The term “at least one” is used providing option in claim limitation examination)
Regarding Claim 10,
Manolakos teaches all the features with respect to claim 6 and Manolakos further teaches
wherein the sensing mode is related to at least one of:
the first or second wireless communication device conducting sensing, receiving or transmitting operations (See [0006-0007]; [0050]; multiple UEs can receive and transmit information to a base station or other UEs in sidelink configurations and perform measurement),
the first or second wireless communication device conducting the transmitting operation (See [0006-0007]; [0050]; multiple UEs can receive and transmit information to a base station or other UEs in sidelink configurations and perform measurement), and at least one other wireless communication device(s) conducting sensing (See [0006-0007]; [0050]; multiple UEs can receive and transmit information to a base station or other UEs in sidelink configurations and perform measurement), or receiving operation (See [0006-0007]; [0050]; multiple UEs can receive and transmit information to a base station or other UEs in sidelink configurations and perform measurement),
the first or second wireless communication device conducting the sensing or receiving operation (See [0006-0007]; [0050]; multiple UEs can receive and transmit information to a base station or other UEs in sidelink configurations and perform measurement), and
the at least one other wireless communication device(s) conducting transmitting operation (See [0006-0007]; [0050]; multiple UEs can receive and transmit information to a base station or other UEs in sidelink configurations and perform measurement),
or
the at least one other wireless communication device(s) conducting the sensing (See [0006-0007]; [0050]; multiple UEs can receive and transmit information to a base station or other UEs in sidelink configurations and perform measurement), or receiving operation (See [0006-0007]; [0050]; multiple UEs can receive and transmit information to a base station or other UEs in sidelink configurations and perform measurement), and the other wireless communication device(s) conducting transmitting operation (See [0006-0007]; [0050]; multiple UEs can receive and transmit information to a base station or other UEs in sidelink configurations and perform measurement).
(The term “at least one” is used providing option in claim limitation examination)
Regarding Claim 13,
Manolakos teaches all the features with respect to claim 3 and Manolakos further teaches
wherein the configuration information comprising the parameter indicates sensing is supported (See [0134]; UE sends capability information to network about measuring, positioning and reporting).
Regarding Claim 15,
Manolakos teaches all the features with respect to claim 3 and Manolakos further teaches
wherein the parameter is one or more enumeration value(s) (See [0104-0105]; [0113]; various parameter are used in enumeration),
at least one of:
one or more enumeration value(s) indicating sensing (See [0104-0105]; [0113]; enumeration is used for selecting different PRS sets that also included measurement).,
or
one or more enumeration value(s) indicating positioning or communication (See [0104-0105]; [0113]; enumeration is used for selecting different PRS sets).
Regarding Claim 16,
Manolakos teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 and Manolakos further teaches
wherein each use case (See [0008]; [0054]; [0104-0105]; communication, measurements and positioning) maps to at least one configuration information (See [0008]; [0054]; [0104-0105]; UE is configured to communicate with other entities in the network, take measurements and report UE position).
Regarding Claim 17,
Manolakos teaches all the features with respect to claim 16 and Manolakos further teaches
wherein more than one use cases (See [0008]; [0054]; [0104-0105]; communication, measurements and positioning) map to a same configuration information (See [0008]; [0054]; [0103-0105]; communication, measurements and positioning can use same configuration to communicate position of a UE to a LPP server).
Regarding Claim 18,
Manolakos teaches all the features with respect to claim 6 and Manolakos further teaches
wherein the sensing mode (See [0134]; performing position measurements) is indicated by at least one of:
one value indicates that the sensing, receiving, or transmitting operation are conducted at a same wireless communication device (See [0134]; UE provides value capabilities to location network that it can perform PRS signal measurement, combined with different Non-PRS signal measurement to obtain UE position and transmit position reports to location server),
or
one value indicates that the sensing, receiving, transmitting operation are conducted at different wireless communication devices.
(The term “at least one” is used providing option in claim limitation examination)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos (US 2022/0065978 A1) in view of Examiner Official Notice.
Regarding Claim 11,
Manolakos teaches all the features with respect to claim 6 and Manolakos further teaches
about muting such as using bit value like 0 and 1 to indicate transmission of PRS signal or not (See [0087]; [0105]; muting options).
But Manolakos fails to explicitly recite
wherein the parameter is 0 indicates the resource or the resource set is used for sensing, wherein the parameter is 1 indicates the resources or the resource set is used for communication or positioning.
But It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filing on the claim to use above feature to designate sensing, communication or positioning mode for a UE.
Regarding Claim 12,
Manolakos teaches all the features with respect to claim 6 and Manolakos further teaches
about muting such as using bit value like 0 and 1 to indicate transmission of PRS signal or not (See [0087]; [0105]; muting options).
But Manolakos fails to explicitly recite
wherein the parameter is 1 indicates the resource or the resource set is used for sensing, wherein the parameter is 0 indicates the resources or the resource set is used for communication or positioning.
But It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filing on the claim to use above feature to designate sensing, communication or positioning mode for a UE.
Regarding Claim 14,
Manolakos teaches all the features with respect to claim 3 and Manolakos further teaches
wherein the configuration information comprising the parameter indicates sensing is supported (See [0134]; UE sends capability information to network about measuring, positioning and reporting).
But Manolakos fails to explicitly recite
wherein the configuration information comprising the parameter indicates sensing is not supported.
But It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filing on the claim to use above feature to inform a network about not supporting sensing, communication or positioning mode for a UE.
19-41. (Canceled).
Note:
The following reference
Lee (US 12526750 B2) teaches about similar features such as configuring a UE to be able to receive and transmit data to a base station after configuration satisfaction using refence signal measurement (SRS) and resource allocation.
Conclusion
/GARY LAFONTANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646