DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Applicant's arguments and amendments filed on 04 June 2024 in which claims 1-7, 9-20 are currently pending and claim 8 has been cancelled.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed in the Information Disclosure Statement, filed on 04 June 2024, 25 August 2025, have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449 form or PTO/SB/08A and 08B forms).
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 is directed to a “beam scanning apparatus”. However, the body of the claim contains no clear structure or elements. Rather, the memory and processor elements are recited in the preamble while the body of the claim contains a series of steps. It is suggested to positively recite the memory and processor elements in the body of the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7, 9, 10, 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 12, 13, 14 respectively of copending Application No. 18/717,675 in view of Tullberg et al. (PG Pub US 2020/0350954 A1).
For claim 1, claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/717,675 teaches a beam scanning method.
acquiring position information of a target User Equipment (UE) as in the application corresponds to the limitation “acquiring position … User Equipment (UE)” (claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/717,675 line 2);
determining an optimal beam corresponding to the target UE based on the obstacle information and the position information of the target UE as in the application corresponds to the limitation “determining a first … target UE” (claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/717,675 line 3).
However, copending Application No. 18/717,675 does not explicitly disclose acquiring obstacle information within a coverage area.
Nevertheless, Tullberg discloses “the wireless transmission device 100 may detect an obstacle .. with respect to the wireless reception device” [0043].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to acquire obstacle information within a coverage area because “so that the obstacle no longer within the transmission area of the one or more beams, and the one or more beams may thus continue to be transmitted at the default power level” [0011].
For claim 7, claim 2 of copending Application No. 18/717,675 teaches receiving first position information reported by the target UE; and taking the first position information as the position information of the target UE (claim 2 of copending Application No. 18/717,675 lines 3-4).
For claim 9, claim 12 of copending Application No. 18/717,675 and Tullberg teaches a non-volatile or non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs.
acquire obstacle information within a coverage area and position information of a target User Equipment (UE) as in the application corresponds to the limitation “acquire position .. User Equipment (UE)” (claim 12 of copending Application No. 18/717,675 line 4 and Tullberg [0043]);
determine an optimal beam corresponding to the target UE based on the obstacle information and the position information of the target UE as in the application corresponds to the limitation “determine a first … target UE” (claim 12 of copending Application No. 18/717,675 line 5).
For claim 10, claim 13 of copending Application No. 18/717,675 and Tullberg teaches a beam scanning apparatus.
acquire obstacle information within a coverage area and position information of a target User Equipment (UE) as in the application corresponds to the limitation “acquire position .. User Equipment (UE)” (claim 13 of copending Application No. 18/717,675 line 5 and Tullberg [0043]);
determine an optimal beam corresponding to the target UE based on the obstacle information and the position information of the target UE as in the application corresponds to the limitation “determine a first … target UE” (claim 13 of copending Application No. 18/717,675 line 6).
For claim 18, claim 14 of copending Application No. 18/717,675 teaches receive first position information reported by the target UE; and take the first position information as the position information of the target UE (claim 14 of copending Application No. 18/717,675 lines 3-4).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7, 9, 10, 13, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tullberg et al. (PG Pub US 2020/0350954 A1) in view of Franke et al. (PG Pub US 2021/0409967 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 9, 10, Tulberg discloses a method, a beam scanning apparatus, and a non-volatile or non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (fig. 1).
acquire obstacle information within a coverage area (“the wireless transmission device 100 may detect an obstacle .. with respect to the wireless reception device” [0043], “transmission area” [0045]) and position information of a target User Equipment (UE) (“a location of a wireless reception device is established” [0059], “The wireless reception device may be a UE” [0041]);
determine an optimal beam corresponding to the target UE based on the obstacle information and the position information of the target UE (“when it is detected that the obstacle at least partially blocks the one or more beams with respect to the wireless reception device, an alternative beam direction may be used for each of the one or more beams” [0046]).
However, Tullberg does not explicitly disclose acquire position information.
Nevertheless, Franke discloses “the s-gNB may use the beam report provided by the UE to estimate the UE's location” [0111].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to acquire position information because it will “introduce new useful schemes for mobile networks employing beamforming, on how to combine positioning reference signal transmission in both downlink and uplink directions with all details necessary to integrate with beam management and beamforming” [0030].
Regarding claims 2, 13, Tullberg, Franke discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Tullberg discloses transmit a detection signal within the coverage area, and determine first obstacle information within the coverage area based on an echo of the detection signal; and take the first obstacle information as the obstacle information within the coverage area (“one or more detection pulses are transmitted and their echo is monitored prior to the transmission phase to detect the change in the electromagnetic environment associated with the one or more beams” [0047]).
Regarding claims 7, 18, Tullberg, Franke discloses everything claimed as applied above. Further, Franke discloses receive first position information reported by the target UE; and take the first position information as the position information of the target UE (“the s-gNB may use the beam report provided by the UE to estimate the UE's location” [0111]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 11-12, 14-17, 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
CHRISTINE DUONG FUQUA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2462
/CHRISTINE T DUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462 04/16/2026