Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 and the species “nucleic acid” and “-C(=O)-O-“ in the reply filed on 7/22/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/22/26.
Priority
The foreign priority document is not in English. Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 6/4/24 and 7/17/25 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
Specific deficiency - This application fails to comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825 because the application does not contain a statement that the CRF is identical to the "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure, as described above in item 1), as required by 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii).
Required response - Applicant must provide such statement.
Specific deficiency - Sequences appearing in the specification are not identified by sequence identifiers (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) in accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(c). The specification recites SEQ ID No. 1 [0006] but no sequence is provided. A sequence is provided in [0106, 0110 and 0111] but is not properly identified.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers, consisting of:
• A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
• A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
• A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esfand et al. (US20110091508).
Applicant claims, for example:
Level of Ordinary Skill in the Art
(MPEP 2141.03)
MPEP 2141.03 (I) states: “The “hypothetical ‘person having ordinary skill in the art’ to which the claimed subject matter pertains would, of necessity have the capability of understanding the scientific and engineering principles applicable to the pertinent art.” Ex parte Hiyamizu, 10 USPQ2d 1393, 1394 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1988). The level of skill is that of pharmaceutical chemical drug delivery research scientist, as is the case here, then one can assume comfortably that such an educated artisan will draw conventional ideas from conventional drug delivery technology including drug conjugation technology, polymer chemistry, as well as conventional drug delivery systems, components and materials— without being told to do so.
In addition, the prior art itself reflects an appropriate level (MPEP 2141.03(II)).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Esfand et al. teach a monomer compound comprising a vinyl compound such as glycerol monomethacrylate (Claims 1-12, 22 and 23; [0018]), which reads on a constitutional unit derived from a monomer (a) having two or more hydroxyl groups and having 2 to 10 carbon atoms constituting a side chain among carbon atoms of the constitutional unit and introduces the “-C(=O)-O-“ group of instant claim 5, with a biologically active agent covalently tethered to the monomer (Claim 11), which can be an oligonucleotide (Claim 12). Esfand et al. also teach nucleic acid molecules [0035]. The instant specification teaches that nucleic acids include oligonucleotides [0054], and Applicant also employs glycerol monomethacrylate [0098-0099]. Esfand et al. teach polymerizing the monomer compound (Claims 13-22), which makes a polymer. It is the Examiner’s position that disclosure of glycerol monomethacrylate by Esfand et al. also renders obvious glycerol acrylate to the ordinary artisan in this art.
Regarding claims 3-4, Esfand et al. teach the electrophilic groups are selected from carboxylic acid esters, acid chloride groups, anhydrides, isocyanato, thioisocyanato, epoxides, activated hydroxyl groups, succinimidyl ester, sulfosuccinimidyl ester, maleimido, and ethenesulfonyl (Claims 26-34; [0021-0024]).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Esfand et al. teaches adding additives to make a composition [0077] as well as therapeutic active agents, thus making a pharmaceutical composition [0108-0109].
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02) and Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
1. The difference between the instant application and Esfand et al. is that Esfand et al. do not expressly teach in a single embodiment the claimed conjugate compound of a polymer wherein a content of the constitutional unit derived from the monomer (a) per 100 parts by mass of the polymer (A) is 5 parts by mass or more, wherein a number average molecular weight (Mn) of the polymer (A) is 1000 to 50000, wherein a polydispersity Mw/Mn of the polymer (A) is 1.00 or more and 2.00 or less and wherein a content mass ratio, the polymer (A)/the component (B), of the polymer (A) and the component (B) is 1/999 to 499/1. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Esfand et al. with the claimed limitations and produce the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this because Esfand et al. provide the general conditions and teach and suggest making a polymer with a conjugate compound with glycerol monomethacrylate, the same as used by Applicant, with nucleic acids as discussed above. It is then obvious to conjugate nucleic acids to the constitutional unit monomer glycerol monomethacrylate and polymerize it with a reasonable expectation of success. It is merely routine optimization to determine a content of the constitutional unit derived from the monomer (a) per 100 parts by mass of the polymer (A) is 5 parts by mass or more, the number average molecular weight (Mn) of the polymer (A) is 1000 to 50000, the polydispersity Mw/Mn of the polymer (A) is 1.00 or more and 2.00 or less and wherein a content mass ratio, the polymer (A)/the component (B), of the polymer (A) and the component (B) is 1/999 to 499/1. See MPEP 2144.05 (II) (A): “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Thus, absent any criticality, the claimed content of the constitutional unit derived from the monomer (a) per 100 parts by mass of the polymer (A) is 5 parts by mass or more, the number average molecular weight (Mn) of the polymer (A) is 1000 to 50000, the polydispersity Mw/Mn of the polymer (A) is 1.00 or more and 2.00 or less and wherein a content mass ratio, the polymer (A)/the component (B), of the polymer (A) and the component (B) is 1/999 to 499/1 are obvious. Furthermore, a narrow polydispersity index is desirable because the polymer chemist knows that molecular weight distributions can significantly affect the properties of polymeric materials and thus are key parameters to control. A narrow polydispersity index, such as 1-2, is then desirable to have uniform properties. Thus, it is merely following the guidance of Esfand et al. and measuring the content, molecular weight, polydispersity index and content mass ratio to arrive at the claimed parameters with a reasonable expectation of success.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the combined teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the combined references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/ERNST V ARNOLD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613