DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Chevrette does not disclose a rib that extends in the circumferential direction that protrudes from the base portion toward the radial outer side, and that is formed integrally with the base portion, as the legs 222 and 224 of Chevrette are integrally formed with the U-shaped bracket 218, which is a separate member form the base 22, 202 of Chevrette.
Examiner notes that Chevrette discloses rib with 222, 224, protrudes from the base 22, 202 radially outwards, and the rib is also integral with the base portion 22, 202 as seen in examiner annotated fig 2B below.
Applicant argues that Pikovsky does not disclose the recesses between 3a in fig 5 engaging with the protrusion portions 4a, fig 5, as the rotor drip nozzle 3 and the stator dam element 4 are axially offset to allow rotation of the turbomachine.
Examiner notes that Pikovsky teaches the recesses between 3a engage with the protrusion portions 4a as shown in fig 5. Description of fig 4 also teaches “the drop rotor lance 3 extends radially from the outer wall 21 of the rotor casing 21 toward the inner wall 20 of the stator casing 20, in proximity to the latter. In addition, the stator dam member 4 extends radially from the inner wall 20 of the stator case 20 toward the outer wall 21 of the rotor case 21, in the vicinity thereof. In this way, the protection of the seal 22 against any leakage of lubricating oil H is reinforced.”
Description of fig 4 also teaches “In particular, when the second deflection element and the first deflection element have, in cross section relative to the axis of rotation of the turbine engine, a substantially circular shape comprising a plurality of crenellations, each crenellation of the second deflection element and of the first deflection element may comprise an upstream surface oriented toward the flow fluid enclosure, and a downstream surface oriented toward said at least one sealing device and opposite the upstream surface.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, and 9 - 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chevrette et al. (U.S. PG Pub # 20070274829).
Regarding Claim 1, Chevrette discloses a sealing device (figs 1 and 2A, 2B) comprising : a sealing member (22, 202, 222, 224) that is disposed between a rotating member of a rotating machine (12) and a stationary member ( 14) disposed on a radial outer side of the rotating member with respect to the rotating member (14 on radial outer side of 12), and that seals between the rotating member and the stationary member (16 seals between 12 and 14); and a biasing member (236) that biases the sealing member toward the radial outer side (236 biases 22, 202, 222, 224 radially outwards), wherein the sealing member includes a base portion (22, 202) that extends in a circumferential direction of the rotating member ( 22, 202 extends circumferentially), a rib that extends in the circumferential direction (rib with 222, 224 extends circumferentially) that protrudes from the base portion toward the radial outer side (rib with 222, 224, protrudes from 22, 202 radially outwards), and that is formed integrally with the base portion ( rib integral with the base portion 22, 202 as seen in examiner annotated fig 2B below), and
a seal fin that extends in the circumferential direction (26 extends circumferentially) and that protrudes from the base portion toward a radial inner side of the rotating member (26 radially inwards), and wherein the rib has a notch portion (234, fig 3 same as fig 2) in which the biasing member is disposed between one end of the rib and an opposite end of the rib in the circumferential direction (236 between two ends by numerals 216, 218, fig 3).
Regarding Claim 4, Chevrette discloses the sealing device, further comprising : a restricting member (238, 214) that is a member different from the sealing member (22, 202, 222, 224) and that restricts deformation of the base portion at a circumferential position where the notch portion is present (238 restricts deformation of 22, 202, 222, 224).
Regarding Claim 5, Chevrette discloses the sealing device wherein the rib includes a first rib on one side in the circumferential direction and a second rib on an opposite side in the circumferential direction with the notch portion interposed therebetween ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 3 below), and the restricting member is joined to the first rib and the second rib (238, 214 joined to first and second ribs as seen in examiner annotated fig 23B below).
Regarding Claim 9, Chevrette discloses the sealing device wherein the restricting member is fixed to the base portion on one side in the circumferential direction and to the base portion on an opposite side in the circumferential direction with the notch portion interposed therebetween by a joining member (238, 214 fixed to 220 by 242, fig 3).
Regarding Claim 10, Chevrette discloses the sealing device wherein the restricting member extends from one side of the rotating member to an opposite side of the rotating member in an axial direction with the rib interposed therebetween (238, 214 extends axially with rib with 222, 224 interposed).
Regarding Claim 11, Chevrette discloses the sealing device wherein the restricting member is a pressing plate that presses the biasing member from the radial outer side against a biasing force of the biasing member (214 presses 236 radially inwards).
Regarding Claim 12, Chevrette discloses a rotating machine comprising : the rotating member (12); the stationary member ( 14); and the sealing device (fig 2B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chevrette alone.
Regarding Claim 2, Chevrette discloses the sealing device wherein a distance from a surface on the radial inner side of the base portion to an end surface on a radial outer side of the rib is more than a distance from the surface on the radial inner side of the base portion to a surface on a radial outer side of the base portion (distance from a surface on the radial inner side of the base portion 22, 202 to an end surface on the radial outer side of the rib with 230, 232 is more than a distance from the surface on the radial inner side of the base portion 22, 202 to a surface on the radial outer side of the base portion 22, 202).
Chevrette does not disclose a distance from a surface on the radial inner side of the base portion to an end surface on the radial outer side of the rib is three times or more a distance from the surface on the radial inner side of the base portion to a surface on the radial outer side of the base portion.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the distance limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, to provide a base for the sealing member that is retained in the groove of the stationary member and seals against the shaft. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claim 3, Chevrette discloses the sealing device wherein the base portion includes an insertion portion (202) inserted into an opening portion of a groove portion formed in an inner peripheral portion of the stationary member (202 inserted into groove 23 of stationary member 12) and extending in the circumferential direction (fig 2A).
Chevrette does not disclose a dimension of the rib of the rotating member in an axial direction is 0.3 times or less a dimension of the insertion portion in the axial direction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the distance limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, to provide a base for the sealing member that is retained in the groove of the stationary member and seals against the shaft, to provide ribs with better retention of the spring that biases the sealing member. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chevrette in view of Schlemmer et al. (U.S. Patent # 10808561).
Regarding Claim 6, Chevrette discloses the sealing device.
Chevrette does not disclose wherein the first rib is provided with a first through-hole penetrating the first rib in an axial direction of the rotating member, the second rib is provided with a second through-hole penetrating the second rib in the axial direction, the restricting member is provided with third through-holes penetrating the restricting member in the axial direction, and fourth through-holes penetrating the restricting member in the axial direction at a position separated from the third through-holes in the circumferential direction, the sealing device further comprises at least two joining pins joining the restricting member to the first rib and the second rib, at least one of the joining pins is inserted into the first through-hole and the third through- holes, and at least another one of the joining pins is inserted into the second through-hole and the fourth through-holes.
However, Schlemmer teaches wherein the first rib (60, fig 1) is provided with a first through-hole (58, fig 1) penetrating the first rib (60, fig 1) in an axial direction of the rotating member (fig 1) , the second rib (62, fig 1) is provided with a second through-hole (52, fig 2) penetrating the second rib (52) in the axial direction (fig 1), the restricting member (48, fig 1) is provided with third through-holes (54, fig 1) penetrating the restricting member in the axial direction (fig 1), and fourth through-holes penetrating the restricting member in the axial direction (fourth through hole of 48 as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below) at a position separated from the third through-holes in the circumferential direction (third through hole of 48 as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), the sealing device further comprises at least two joining pins (50, 50) joining the restricting member to the first rib and the second rib (50 at first rib and 50 at second rib as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), at least one of the joining pins is inserted into the first through-hole and the third through- holes (as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), and at least another one of the joining pins is inserted into the second through-hole and the fourth through-holes (as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the through holes and joining pin of Schlemmer with the ribs and restricting member of Chevrette with a reasonable expectation of success so that the ribs and the restricting member do not slide circumferentially against each other.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chevrette in view of Pikovsky et al. (FR 3049980).
Regarding Claim 8, Chevrette discloses the sealing device.
Chevrette does not disclose wherein a first recessed portion recessed toward the radial inner side is formed in the first rib, a second recessed portion recessed toward the radial inner side is formed in the second rib, and the restricting member has a first protrusion portion fitted to the first recessed portion and a second protrusion portion fitted to the second recessed portion.
However, Pikovsky teaches wherein a first recessed portion (recess between 3a and 3a, fig 5) recessed toward the radial inner side (fig 5), a second recessed portion (recess between 3a and 3a, fig 5) recessed toward the radial inner side is formed in the second rib (fig 5), and the restricting member has a first protrusion portion (4a, fig 5) and a second protrusion portion (4a, fig 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the recessed portions and protrusion of Pikovsky with the ribs and restricting member respectively of Chevrette with a reasonable expectation of success so that the ribs and restricting member are interconnected and distributed circumferentially.
The combination of Chevrette and Pikovsky discloses a first recessed portion (Pikovsky - recess between 3a and 3a, fig 5) recessed toward the radial inner side is formed in the first rib (first rib of Chevrette), a second recessed portion (Pikovsky - recess between 3a and 3a, fig 5) recessed toward the radial inner side is formed in the second rib (second rib of Chevrette), and the restricting member has a first protrusion portion fitted to the first recessed portion and a second protrusion portion fitted to the second recessed portion (protrusions fit into the recess portions respectively).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art does not disclose or fairly suggest the sealing device as claimed in independent claims of the application. The examiner can find no motivation to combine or modify the reference without the use of impermissible hindsight.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Chevrette and Schlemmer discloses the sealing device.
The prior art does not disclose wherein the restricting member has the third through-holes provided on opposite sides of the restricting member in the axial direction with the first rib interposed therebetween, and the fourth through- holes provided on the opposite sides of the restricting member in the axial direction with the second rib interposed therebetween.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.S.K/Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675