DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The status of the claims as filed in the submission dated 6/4/2024 are as follows:
Claims 1-14 are pending and are being examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
Line 3 recites “to store 5 heat”, wherein it’s unclear if 5 should be in parenthesis or deleted.
Line 7 recites “to produce 0 electrical energy”, wherein it’s unclear if the 0 is supposed to be there or should be deleted.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
Currently no claim limitation invokes 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Apte (US2018/0187597A1, as cited in the IDS).
Re Claim 1. Apte teaches a system for storing and using thermal energy, the system comprising:
a first closed-loop cycle arrangement comprising a first tank (161) and a second tank (160), wherein the first tank is arranged to store heat-storage fluid at a first temperature, wherein the second tank is arranged to store heat-storage fluid at a second temperature, the second temperature being higher than the first temperature (Figure 31; Paragraph 196), wherein the first closed-loop cycle arrangement is configured to flow heat-storage fluid from the first tank to the second tank in a first operating condition and to flow heat-storage fluid from the second tank to the first tank in a second operating condition (Figure 31; Paragraph 196-198);
a second thermodynamic cycle arrangement configured to heat heat-storage fluid flowing from the first tank to the second tank by consuming first electrical energy, the electrical energy being input to the system (Figure 31; Heat pump mode as recited in paragraph 198); and
a third thermodynamic cycle arrangement configured to produce second electrical energy by cooling heat-storage fluid flowing from the second tank to the first tank, the second electrical energy being output from the system (Figure 31; Motor mode, discharging condition as recited in paragraph 198),
wherein the second thermodynamic cycle arrangement comprises a first heat exchanger configured to be fluidly coupled to the first tank and the second tank when the first closed-loop cycle arrangement is in the first operating condition (Figure 31, upper and lower heat exchangers in the power subunits 140; Paragraphs 197-198; Paragraph 198 further explains that the power subunits 140 are shown in Figures 2, 3, 6, 7, 13-16, 20-25, 27, and 28. As one example, Figure 2 illustrates hot heat exchanger 2 and cold heat exchanger 4 for heat exchanger with the thermal tanks. See paragraphs 71-78), and
wherein the third thermodynamic cycle arrangement comprises a second heat exchanger configured to be fluidly coupled to the first tank and the second tank when the first closed-loop cycle arrangement is in the second operating condition (Figure 31, upper and lower heat exchangers in the power subunits 140; Paragraphs 197-198; Paragraph 198 further explains that the power subunits 140 are shown in Figures 2, 3, 6, 7, 13-16, 20-25, 27, and 28. As one example, Figure 2 illustrates hot heat exchanger 2 and cold heat exchanger 4 for heat exchanger with the thermal tanks. See paragraphs 71-78).
Re Claim 2. Apte teaches the second thermodynamic cycle arrangement and the third thermodynamic cycle arrangement are fluidly coupled (Figure 31 illustrates the cycles fluidly coupled by piping; Paragraphs 197-202).
Re Claim 3. Apte teaches the second thermodynamic cycle arrangement and the third thermodynamic cycle arrangement share the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger (Figure 31; Figures 2, 3, 6, 7, 13-16, 20-25, 27, and 28 illustrates the first and second heat exchangers; Paragraphs 197-202).
Re Claim 4. Apte teaches the first heat exchanger is configured to transfer heat from the second thermodynamic cycle arrangement to the first closed-loop cycle arrangement when the first closed-loop cycle arrangement is in the first operating condition, and wherein the second heat exchanger is configured to transfer heat from the first closed-loop cycle arrangement to the third thermodynamic cycle arrangement when the first closed-loop cycle arrangement is in the second operating condition (Figure 31; Paragraphs 197-202).
Re Claim 5. Apte teaches the first heat exchanger is configured to flow a first fluid stream and to transfer heat from the third thermodynamic cycle arrangement to the first fluid stream when the first closed-loop cycle arrangement is in the second operating condition, and wherein the second heat exchanger is configured to flow a second fluid stream and to transfer heat from the second fluid stream to the second thermodynamic cycle arrangement when the first closed-loop cycle arrangement is in the first operating condition (Figure 31; Paragraphs 197-202).
Re Claim 6. Apte teaches a third heat exchanger (2 or 4 in Figure 22) fluidly coupled to the second thermodynamic cycle arrangement, and a fourth heat exchanger (2 or 4 in Figure 22) fluidly coupled to the third thermodynamic cycle arrangement, wherein the third heat exchanger is fluidly coupled to a third fluid stream and is configured to transfer heat from the third fluid stream to the second closed-loop cycle arrangement when the first closed-loop cycle arrangement is in the first operating condition, and wherein the fourth heat exchanger is fluidly coupled to a fourth fluid stream and is configured to transfer heat from the third closed-loop cycle arrangement to the fourth fluid stream when the first closed-loop cycle arrangement is in the second operating condition (Figures 22, 24, and 25 illustrate four heat exchangers; Paragraphs 150-161; Figure 31, Paragraphs 197-202).
Re Claim 7. Apte teaches the first closed-loop cycle arrangement comprises further a first valve (one of 142a-d) and a second valve (another of 142a-d), wherein the first valve and the second valve are configured to switch alternatively between an open configuration and a closed configuration, wherein the first valve is in the open configuration and the second valve is in the closed configuration when the first closed-loop cycle arrangement is in the first operating condition, and wherein the first valve is in the closed configuration and the second valve is in the open configuration when the first closed-loop cycle arrangement is in the second operating condition (Figure 31; Paragraphs 197-202).
Re Claim 8. Apte teaches the second thermodynamic cycle arrangement and the third thermodynamic cycle arrangement are arranged to circulate a same working fluid (Figure 31; Paragraphs 197-202).
Re Claim 9. Apte teaches the second thermodynamic cycle arrangement further comprises: a compressor configured to generate a pressure increase upstream the heating of the heat-storage fluid; and a throttle valve configured to generate a pressure drop downstream the heating of the heat-storage fluid, wherein the compressor is configured to be mechanically couplable to an electric motor arranged to consume the first electrical energy and transform electrical energy into mechanical energy (Figure 31; Paragraphs 197-202).
Re Claim 10. Apte teaches the third thermodynamic cycle arrangement further comprises: a pump (1) configured to generate a pressure increase downstream the cooling of the heat-storage fluid; and an expander (3) configured to generate a pressure drop upstream the cooling of the heat-storage fluid, wherein the expander is configured to be mechanically couplable to an electric generator (11) arranged to transform mechanical energy into electrical energy and to produce the second electrical energy (Figures 6 and 31; Paragraphs 88-89, 197-202).
Re Claim 11. Apte teaches the second thermodynamic cycle arrangement and the third thermodynamic cycle arrangement share a valve arrangement (19a-d), wherein the valve arrangement comprises three-way valves arranged to switch the first closed-loop cycle arrangement between the first operating condition and the second operating condition (Figures 24, 31; Paragraphs 156-160, 197-202).
Re Claim 12. Apte teaches a heat unit configured to be fluidly coupled to the third heat exchanger, wherein the heat unit is configured to transfer heat to the third fluid stream when the first closed loop arrangement is in the first operating condition (Paragraph 62 teaches heat units to receive or reject thermal power).
Re Claim 13. Apte teaches a second closed loop cycle arrangement comprising a third tank and a fourth tank, wherein the third tank is arranged to store another heat-storage fluid at a third temperature, wherein the fourth tank is arranged to store another heat-storage fluid at a fourth temperature, the fourth temperature being higher than the third temperature, the fourth temperature being lower than the second temperature, wherein the first closed-loop cycle arrangement is configured to flow another heat-storage fluid from the fourth tank to the third tank in a first operating condition and to flow another heat-storage fluid from the third tank to the fourth tank in a second operating condition and; wherein the third tank and the fourth tank are fluidly coupled to the third heat exchanger when the second closed-loop cycle arrangement is in the first operating condition (Figure 22 illustrates four heat exchangers and four tanks; Paragraphs 150-153; Figure 31, Paragraphs 197-202).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Apte (US2018/0187597A1, as cited in the IDS) in view of Kreuger (US9845998B2, as cited in the IDS).
Re Claim 14. Apte teaches four heat exchangers (as discussed above) but fails to specifically teach a fifth heat exchanger, wherein the fifth heat exchanger is configured to transfer heat from the third thermodynamic cycle arrangement to the second closed loop cycle arrangement, and wherein the third tank and the fourth tank are fluidly coupled to the fifth heat exchanger when the second closed-loop cycle arrangement is in the second operating condition.
However, Kreuger teaches a fifth heat exchanger (615, 1444), wherein the fifth heat exchanger is configured to transfer heat from the third thermodynamic cycle arrangement to the second closed loop cycle arrangement, and wherein the third tank and the fourth tank (tanks 1268, 1269) are fluidly coupled to the fifth heat exchanger when the second closed-loop cycle arrangement is in the second operating condition (Figures 2 and 23; Column 25 line 38-61).
Therefore, in view of Kreuger's teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add a fifthe heat exchanger to the third thermodynamic cycle of Apte in order to recuperate additional waste heat, thereby improving the thermal efficiency of the system. The use of recuperator heat exchangers is well-known and understood in the mechanical arts to improve efficiencies.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 for other relevant prior art.
/TRAVIS RUBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763