Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jameson (US 20030098364 A1, hereinafter “Jameson”).
Regarding claim 1, Jameson teaches an ultrasonic wave generation device comprising: an ultrasonic wave generation source configured to generate an ultrasonic wave; (see Fig. 1-3, [0041]-[0043]: apparatus for focusing ultrasonic acoustic energy by wave generator; vibrator 220)
an ultrasonic wave converging part configured to converge the ultrasonic wave generated from the ultrasonic wave generation source; (see Fig. 1, [0027]-[0028], [0032]-[0036], [0043]: focus and converge generated ultrasonic wave, converging structure formed by tip 120, 150, 152 of the horn 116 and wall 132 of housing 102)
and a waveguide configured to allow transmission therethrough of the ultrasonic wave converged by the ultrasonic wave converging part, (see Fig. 4, [0022]-[0026], [0044]-[0045]: first end 106, chamber 142 and terminus 112/113 allow transmission therethrough of the converged ultrasonic wave)
wherein the ultrasonic wave generation source, the ultrasonic wave converging part, and the waveguide are arranged in this order from a rear-end side, (see Fig. 1-3: vibrator 220, converging part ends of 118, 120, 150, 106, 142, 118, 120, 150, 106, 142, 113 and ultrasonic horn 116, which are located on the rear-end side by design)
the ultrasonic wave converging part and the waveguide have a through-hole penetrating the ultrasonic wave converging part and the waveguide in a front-rear direction, (see Fig. 1-2: 160, 142, 113, 112 penetrating converging part and ultrasonic horn 116, which are located on the front-rear direction by design)
an inner circumferential surface forming the through-hole has a first inner circumferential surface and a deformed portion located on a front-end side relative to the first inner circumferential surface, (see Fig. 1-2, [0026], [0059]: chamber 142 and a tapered, or deformed portion 144)
the first inner circumferential surface has, as a cross-sectional shape taken in the front-rear direction, a shape linearly extending in the front-rear direction, (see Fig. 1-2, [0033]: entrance 160 of chamber 142)
and the deformed portion is, in a cross section taken in the front-rear direction, at least one of a portion located inward of the first inner circumferential surface and a portion located outward of the first inner circumferential surface, and is formed in a part of or over an entire circumference of the inner circumferential surface in a circumferential direction. (see Fig. 1-3, [0025]-[0026], [0059]: tapered portion 144 is inward with respect to the chamber, or circumferential surface, 142. Tapered portion 144 is inward with respect to the chamber 144 and outward respect to the terminus 113. Portion 144 is over the entire circumference of the inner circumferential surface in a circumferential direction)
Regarding claim 2, Jameson teaches the through-hole serves as a flow path through which a liquid flows. (see [0021]-[0025], [0036]: chamber 142 via reservoir 104 with the liquid to flow)
Regarding claim 3, Jameson teaches the inner circumferential surface further has a second inner circumferential surface located on the front-end side relative to the deformed portion, and the second inner circumferential surface has, as a cross-sectional shape taken in the front- rear direction, a shape linearly extending in the front-rear direction. (see Fig. 1-2, [0022], [0037]: exterior terminus 113 of exit orifice 112, cross sectional area of the tip 150 of the ultrasonic horn 116 relative to the cross-sectional area of the exit orifice 112, and in which the direction is in the front-rear direction by design)
Regarding claim 4, Jameson teaches the deformed portion is provided in a portion, of the through-hole, that penetrates the waveguide. (see Fig. 1-2, [0037]: tapered portion 144 of chamber 142 where the horn 115 is relative of entrance of chamber 142)
Regarding claim 5, Jameson teaches The ultrasonic wave generation device according to claim 2, wherein the deformed portion is provided in a portion, of the through-hole, that penetrates the ultrasonic wave converging part. (see Fig. 4, [0022]-[0026], [0044]-[0045]: first end 106, tapered portion 144 of chamber 142 and terminus 112/113 allow transmission therethrough of the converged ultrasonic wave)
Regarding claim 6, Jameson teaches a power supply device configured to output an electric signal to the ultrasonic wave generation device. (see [0062]: power supply to output signal)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Siemens (DE 883358 C) discloses an ultrasonic vibration generator for treating liquid substances.
/ANNABELLE KANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2695
/JASON R KURR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695