Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 20180041088) in view of Altindis (US 20100019592) and Endo et al. (US 5901439).
1. Smith et al. teach:
A power tool (fig 1) comprising:
a housing 102;
a brushless direct current (DC) motor 104 located within the housing and having a rotor 250 and a stator 230, wherein the rotor is coupled to a motor shaft/rotor 254 (fig 2A) arranged to produce an output outside of the housing (the output side of the housing is connected to the spline 272, see fig 1 in conjunction with figs 2A & 2C); and
a plurality of terminals 502 mounted on an outer circumference of the stator (fig 5C), wherein each terminal of the plurality of terminals includes at least two terminal posts/hooks 516 & 518 protruding from a surface/plate 504 of the terminal away from a motor axis (the hooks project radially outward from the stator, fig 5C) about which the rotor is configured to rotate, wherein a slot (see the space between the hooks and the plate that holds the wire, figs 5C-5E) is formed between the at least two terminal posts (the space passes through each post, see figs 5C-5E), and wherein the slot is configured to receive a motor wire (for the hooks receiving the motor wire, see para 0050 last two sentences);
wherein the motor wire received in each slot of each terminal is configured to be secured to its respective terminal (for welding, see para 0011 last sentence); but does not teach that to secure the motor wire to its respective terminal:
i) a tip of a first electrode is pressed into contact with an outer portion of at least one terminal post of the at least two terminal posts, and
ii) a current is controlled to pass through the first electrode to a second electrode that is also in contact with the respective terminal, wherein the current generates heat to conjoin the respective motor wire and the respective terminal, and
iii) that the tip of the first electrode is configured to prevent the at least one terminal post from moving outwardly away from a center of the respective terminal when being secured.
Altindis teaches that to secure the motor wire to its respective terminal:
i) a tip of a first electrode/tong 150 is pressed into contact with an outer portion of at least one terminal post/hook 142 (in the actual example, the welding tongs are shown in use on hook 114iv , fig 13) of the at least two terminal posts/142 & 144, and
ii) a current is controlled to pass through the first electrode to a second electrode that is also in contact with the respective terminal (the actual current path between electrodes is not disclosed, however, the positioning of the tongs on the terminal hooks does not appear to negatively affect the terminal in either current flow direction…That being established, it appears to be a normal design choice that would aid in securing the winding ends to the terminals to have a reliable source of power to the motor.), wherein the current generates heat to conjoin the respective motor wire and the respective terminal (This is what welding using current through the tongs does) to secure the winding ends to the terminals reliably which improves the reliability of the motor.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention of Smith et al. being effectively filed to modify it such that to secure the motor wire to its respective terminal: i) a tip of a first electrode is pressed into contact with an outer portion of at least one terminal post of the at least two terminal posts, and ii) a current is controlled to pass through the first electrode to a second electrode that is also in contact with the respective terminal, wherein the current generates heat to conjoin the respective motor wire and the respective terminal, as taught by Altindis so as to improve the reliability of the power tool.
Endo et al. teaches iii) that the tip of the first electrode (in this example, a tip of a crimper 2 is being used) is configured to prevent the at least one terminal post/conductive crimping barrels 10 from moving outwardly away from a center of the respective terminal 4 when being secured. Since Endo et al., Altindis, and Smith et al. are directed to securing wires to terminals, the person having ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the prevention of the terminal posts from moving away during the securing process of Endo et al. and applied the tip end of this crimper to the tip of the welding tongs of Altindis to make for a more reliable weld which improves the reliability of the motor.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention of Smith et al. was effectively filed to modify it such that iii) that the tip of the first electrode is configured to prevent the at least one terminal post from moving outwardly away from a center of the respective terminal when being secured, as taught by Endo et al. to improve the reliability of the power tool.
2. Smith et al. in view of Altindis & Endo et al. teach:
The power tool of claim 1, wherein, to press the tip of the first electrode (of Altindis) into contact with the outer portion of the at least one terminal post (of Altindis, see figs 10 & 13), the tip of the first electrode is pressed into contact with respective outer portions of two terminal posts of the at least two terminal posts (terminal 113 of Altindis has two terminal posts, see figs 10 & 13).
3. Smith et al. in view of Altindis & Endo et al. teach:
The power tool of claim 1, wherein the tip of the first electrode (the crimper 2 of Endo et al. applied to the electrode of Altindis) includes a U-shaped shank (see Endo et al. figs 1-5) configured to contact the outer portion of each of two outer terminal posts (ends of barrel 10 of Endo et al. as well as terminal post of Altindis) of the at least two terminal posts (ends of barrel 10 of Endo et al. as well as terminal post of Altindis).
4. Smith et al. in view of Altindis & Endo et al. teach:
The power tool of claim 3, wherein the U-shaped shank (the crimper 2 of Endo et al. applied to the electrode of Altindis) is one of cylindrically shaped and rectangularly shaped (Endo et al. figs 1-5).
5. Smith et al. in view of Altindis & Endo et al. teach:
The power tool of claim 1, wherein, to secure the motor wire (of Smith et al.) to its respective terminal (of Smith et al.): a tip of the second electrode (of Smith et al. in view of Altindis) is pressed into contact with an outer portion of a second terminal post (of Smith et al. in view of Altindis) of the at least two terminal posts (of Smith et al. in view of Altindis), wherein the second terminal post (of Smith et al. in view of Altindis) is located on a laterally opposite side of the surface of the respective terminal (of Smith et al. in view of Altindis, see Smith et al. figs 5D & 5E) as the at least one terminal post (of Smith et al. in view of Altindis); wherein the tip of the second electrode (the crimper 2 of Endo et al. applied to the electrode of Altindis) is configured to prevent the second terminal post (of Smith et al. in view of Altindis) from moving outwardly away from the center of the respective terminal (of Smith et al. in view of Altindis) when being secured.
6. Smith et al. in view of Altindis & Endo et al. teach:
The power tool of claim 5, wherein the tip of the first electrode (crimper of Endo et al. applied to the electrode of Altindis) includes a V-shaped cutout (the examiner is taking the viewpoint that u-shapes and v-shapes are similar if not interchangeable) configured to contact an outer edge of the at least one terminal post (of Smith et al.); and wherein the tip of the second electrode (crimper of Endo et al. applied to the electrode of Altindis) includes the V-shaped cutout configured to contact an outer edge of the second terminal post (of Smith et al.).
7. Smith et al. in view of Altindis & Endo et al. teach:
The power tool of claim 1, wherein the first electrode includes a positive electrode and the second electrode includes a negative electrode (the actual current path between electrodes is not disclosed, however, the positioning of the tongs on the terminal hooks does not appear to negatively affect the terminal in either current flow direction…That being established, it appears to be a normal design choice that would aid in securing the winding ends to the terminals to have a reliable source of power to the motor.).
8. Smith et al. teach:
The power tool of claim 1, wherein the motor wire is one of welded, fused, or a combination of being welded and fused to its respective terminal (for welding the wires, see para 0011 last sentence).
9. Smith et al. teach:
A method of assembling a motor 104, the method comprising:
for each respective terminal of a plurality of terminals 502,
inserting a portion of a motor wire (for the hooks receiving the motor wire, see para 0050 last two sentences) into a slot (see the space between the hooks and the plate that holds the wire, figs 5C-5E) on the respective terminal, wherein the slot is formed by at least two terminal posts/hooks 516 & 518 protruding from a surface/plate 504 of the respective terminal; and mounting the plurality of terminals on an outer circumference/stator 230 of the motor adjacent to each other (fig 5C) and in an orientation such that the at least two terminal posts protrude away from a motor axis (the hooks project radially outward from the stator, fig 5C) about which a rotor 250 of the motor is configured to rotate; and installing the motor in a housing 102 of a power tool (fig 1) but does not teach the steps of:
i) pressing a tip of a first electrode into contact with an outer portion of at least one terminal post of the at least two terminal posts; and
ii) performing a securing process by controlling current to pass through the first electrode to a second electrode that is also in contact with the respective terminal, and iii) wherein the current generates heat to conjoin the wire and the terminal, and wherein the tip of the first electrode is configured to prevent the at least one terminal post from moving outwardly away from a center of the terminal during the securing process.
Altindis teaches that to secure the motor wire to its respective terminal:
i) a tip of a first electrode/tong 150 is pressed into contact with an outer portion of at least one terminal post/hook 142 (in the actual example, the welding tongs are shown in use on hook 114iv , fig 13) of the at least two terminal posts/142 & 144, and
ii) a current is controlled to pass through the first electrode to a second electrode that is also in contact with the respective terminal (the actual current path between electrodes is not disclosed, however, the positioning of the tongs on the terminal hooks does not appear to negatively affect the terminal in either current flow direction…That being established, it appears to be a normal design choice that would aid in securing the winding ends to the terminals to have a reliable source of power to the motor.), wherein the current generates heat to conjoin the respective motor wire and the respective terminal (This is what welding using current through the tongs does) to secure the winding ends to the terminals reliably which improves the reliability of the motor.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention of Smith et al. being effectively filed to modify it with the steps of i) pressing a tip of a first electrode into contact with an outer portion of at least one terminal post of the at least two terminal posts; and ii) performing a securing process by controlling current to pass through the first electrode to a second electrode that is also in contact with the respective terminal, as taught by Altindis so as to improve the reliability of the power tool.
Endo et al. teaches iii) that the tip of the first electrode (in this example, a tip of a crimper 2 is being used) is configured to prevent the at least one terminal post/conductive crimping barrels 10 from moving outwardly away from a center of the respective terminal 4 when being secured. Since Endo et al., Altindis, and Smith et al. are directed to securing wires to terminals, the person having ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the prevention of the terminal posts from moving away during the securing process of Endo et al. and applied the tip end of this crimper to the tip of the welding tongs of Altindis to make for a more reliable weld which improves the reliability of the motor.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention of Smith et al. was effectively filed to modify it with the steps of iii) wherein the current generates heat to conjoin the wire and the terminal, and wherein the tip of the first electrode is configured to prevent the at least one terminal post from moving outwardly away from a center of the terminal during the securing process, as taught by Endo et al. to improve the reliability of the power tool.
10. Smith et al. in view of Altindis & Endo et al. teach:
The method of claim 9, wherein pressing the tip of the first electrode (of Altindis) into contact with the outer portion of the at least one terminal post (of Altindis, see figs 10 & 13) includes pressing the tip of the first electrode into contact with respective outer portions of two terminal posts of the at least two terminal posts (terminal 113 of Altindis has two terminal posts, see figs 10 & 13).
11. Smith et al. in view of Altindis & Endo et al. teach:
The method of claim 9, wherein the tip of the first electrode (the crimper 2 of Endo et al. applied to the electrode of Altindis) includes a U-shaped shank (see Endo et al. figs 1-5) configured to contact the outer portion of each of two outer terminal posts (ends of barrel 10 of Endo et al. as well as terminal post of Altindis) of the at least two terminal posts (ends of barrel 10 of Endo et al. as well as terminal post of Altindis).
12. Smith et al. in view of Altindis & Endo et al. teach:
The method of claim 11, wherein the U-shaped shank (the crimper 2 of Endo et al. applied to the electrode of Altindis) is one of cylindrically shaped and rectangularly shaped (Endo et al. figs 1-5).
13. Smith et al. in view of Altindis & Endo et al. teach:
The method of claim 9, further comprising pressing a tip of the second electrode (of Altindis) into contact with an outer portion of a second terminal post (of Smith et al.) of the at least two terminal posts (of Smith et al.), wherein the second terminal post (of Smith et al.) is located on a laterally opposite side of the surface of the terminal (of Smith et al.) as the at least one terminal post (figs 5D & 5E); wherein the tip of the second electrode (the crimper of Endo et al.) is configured to prevent the second terminal post (of Smith et al.) from moving outwardly away from the center of the terminal during the securing process.
14. Smith et al. in view of Altindis & Endo et al. teach:
The method of claim 13, wherein the tip of the first electrode (crimper of Endo et al. applied to the electrode of Altindis) includes a V-shaped cutout (the examiner is taking the viewpoint that u-shapes and v-shapes are similar if not interchangeable) configured to contact an outer edge of the at least one terminal post (of Smith et al.); and wherein the tip of the second electrode (crimper of Endo et al. applied to the electrode of Altindis) includes the V-shaped cutout configured to contact an outer edge of the second terminal post (of Smith et al.).
15. Smith et al. in view of Altindis & Endo et al. teach:
The method of claim 9, wherein the first electrode includes a positive electrode and the second electrode includes a negative electrode (the actual current path between electrodes is not disclosed, however, the positioning of the tongs on the terminal hooks does not appear to negatively affect the terminal in either current flow direction…That being established, it appears to be a normal design choice that would aid in securing the winding ends to the terminals to have a reliable source of power to the motor.).
16. Smith et al. teach:
The method of claim 9, wherein performing the securing process includes welding, fusing, or a combination of welding and fusing (for welding the wires, see para 0011 last sentence).
17. A method of securing a wire to a terminal, the method comprising:
inserting a portion of the wire into a slot on the terminal, wherein the slot is formed by at least two terminal posts protruding from a surface of the terminal;
pressing a tip of a first electrode into contact with an outer portion of at least one terminal post of the at least two terminal posts; and
performing a securing process by controlling current to pass through the first electrode to a second electrode that is also in contact with the terminal, wherein the current generates heat to conjoin the wire and the terminal;
wherein the tip of the first electrode is configured to prevent the at least one terminal post from moving outwardly away from a center of the terminal during the securing process.
18. Smith et al. in view of Altindis & Endo et al. teach:
The method of claim 17, wherein the tip of the first electrode (the crimper 2 of Endo et al. applied to the electrode of Altindis) includes a U-shaped shank (see Endo et al. figs 1-5) configured to contact the outer portion of each of two outer terminal posts (ends of barrel 10 of Endo et al. as well as terminal post of Altindis) of the at least two terminal posts (ends of barrel 10 of Endo et al. as well as terminal post of Altindis).
19. Smith et al. in view of Altindis & Endo et al. teach:
The method of claim 17, further comprising: pressing a tip of the second electrode (of Altindis) into contact with an outer portion of a second terminal post (of Smith et al.) of the at least two terminal posts (of Smith et al.), wherein the second terminal post (of Smith et al.) is located on a laterally opposite side of the surface of the terminal (of Smith et al.) as the at least one terminal post (figs 5D & 5E); wherein the tip of the second electrode (the crimper of Endo et al.) is configured to prevent the second terminal post (of Smith et al.) from moving outwardly away from the center of the terminal during the securing process.
20. Smith et al. in view of Altindis & Endo et al. teach:
The method of claim 19, wherein the tip of the first electrode (crimper of Endo et al. applied to the electrode of Altindis) includes a V-shaped cutout (the examiner is taking the viewpoint that u-shapes and v-shapes are similar if not interchangeable) configured to contact an outer edge of the at least one terminal post (of Smith et al.); and wherein the tip of the second electrode (crimper of Endo et al. applied to the electrode of Altindis) includes the V-shaped cutout configured to contact an outer edge of the second terminal post (of Smith et al.).
Conclusion
/TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834