DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a clean water production system” in claim 1.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “coolant generation” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 6-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-4 and 6-19, throughout many of the claims applicant utilizes passive voice language for method claim recitations, this results in method claims without any clear steps, and therefore claims that are lacking clear metes and bounds. A method claim must use active clear language to set forth clear metes and bounds, a non-exhaustive list includes:
Claim 1 is a single paragraph with no steps set forth, passive language “is powered by” does not amount to a clear step, claim 1 must be amended to clearly set forth steps, utilizing line break indentation to clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the method claim. To overcome this rejection and similar language set forth below, applicant should recite for example, “powering the coolant generation by utilizing waste heat in the clean water production system producing the clean water” or similar; and a further clarification as to how this step is achieved, such as “by heat exchange” or similar.
Claim 2 “are recovered” is passive language and there is no clear step set forth as a result.
Claim 6 “is enhanced” is passive language and there is no clear step set forth as a result.
Claim 7 “is originated” is passive language and there is no clear step set forth as a result.
Claim 8 “is enhanced” is passive language and there is no clear step set forth as a result.
Claims 15-17 “is utilized” is passive language and there is no clear step set forth as a result.
Claim 18 “is optimized” is passive language and there is no clear step set forth as a result.
Claim 19 “is stored” is passive language and there is no clear step set forth as a result.
Regarding claims 3-4, in claim 3, “the feedwater” lacks clear antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 4, “the system” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 6, the concept of “the overall efficiency of the cooling generation” lacks clear metes and bounds and the concept of “the overall efficiency” has not been clearly defined.
Regarding claim 6, “the cooling generation” lacks antecedent basis (in claim 1, “coolant generation” is recited).
Regarding claim 8, the concept of “the overall efficiency of the cooling generation” lacks clear metes and bounds and the concept of “the overall efficiency” has not been clearly defined.
Regarding claim 8, “the cooling generation” lacks antecedent basis (in claim 1, “coolant generation” is recited).
Regarding claim 8, “augmented thermal transfer” has unclear metes and bounds and is not clearly defined by the specification. Clarification is requested.
Regarding claim 8, “the coolant generation system” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 11, “the coolant generation system” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 14, the phrase "or another discriminating water purification process" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by " or another discriminating water purification process "), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claims 15-17, each claim recites “the cooling” which has unclear antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 18-19, in claim 18, “the production of cooling” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 19, “the produced coolant thermal energy” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 / 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Escribano (US 2009/0045116).
Regarding claim 1, Escribano teaches a method for the production of clean water (title, abstract) ([0050] “brine is pumped to the treatment dryers powered by hot exhaust air from the engine, from where the water vapour is used by condensation in the form of distilled water, eliminating all the liquid residues, obtaining a solid residue that is easily handled and with the possibility of recovery of chemical elements”) and coolant generation where the coolant generation is powered by waste heat from the clean water production system producing the clean water (Fig 1, [0058-0065]).
However due do unclear metes and bounds of claim 1 as set forth above, it is unclear if Escribano teaches all limitations as claimed, however Escribano substantially teaches integration of spray drying evaporators 17 in heat circuit 11/12/13, engine refrigeration cogeneration water 12 exchanging heat in heat exchangers, to obtain distilled water 2 and salts 18 (Fig 1, [0058-0065]), therefore appears to be an obvious modification of Escribano to arrive at the instantly claimed invention without unexpected results.
Regarding claim 2, Escribano teaches salts are recovered 18 (Fig 1, [0058-0065]).
Regarding claims 3-4, Escribano teaches the feedwater to spray drying evaporators 17 originates from RO desalinization plant 1 that produces clean water 2 joined with dryers 7 and water from RO plant 1 to clean water storage 2 (Fig 1, [0058-0065]).
Regarding claim 6-7, Escribano utilizes evaporative cooling by way of sprayers 7/17 and slipstreams of water from high vacuum chambers 14 (Fig 1, [0058-0065]).
Regarding claim 11, Escribano teaches coolant generation system is powered by waste heat in heat circuit 11/12/13 which is also used to condensed steam in the clean water production distillation process 14/17 (Fig 1, [0058-0065]).
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Escribano (US 2009/0045116) as applied above and further in combination with Bronicki et al (US 2002/0178723).
Regarding claims 8-10, Escribano teaches all limitations as set forth above, however Escribano does not teach the cooling generation is enhanced by geothermal energy with heat transfer to a component in the coolant generation system, from subterranean aquifer/deposit.
Bronicki teaches a method and system for producing power and desalination water, Bronicki teaches seawater is heat exchanged with coolant in condenser 28 in geothermal power plant 20, i.e. coolant generation system, and heated seawater provided to desalination plant 40 to make purified drinking water 35, simultaneously geothermal fluid from production well 12 is provided to vaporizer 22 in geothermal power plant 20, i.e. augmented thermal heat transfer of geothermal energy, to supplement power generator 24 of power plant 20, as well as heat exchange in desalination plant 40 (title, abstract, Fig 1, [0016-0017]), the advantage being providing electric power and fresh water in environmentally friendly manner [0002-0004].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to enhance the system of Escribano as taught by Bronicki to augment heat transfer in both coolant generation system, which can be used to provide power, and the desalination system, by utilizing available geothermal energy source as taught by Bronicki to enhance both system of Escribano.
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Escribano (US 2009/0045116) as applied above and further in combination with Cioanta et al (US 2017/057843).
Regarding claim 12, Escribano discloses all limitations as set forth above however Escribano fails to disclose where multiple qualities of clean water are produced. Cioanta discloses where multiple qualities of clean water are produced (porous membrane /filler technologies are used to produce multiple water quality objectives; paragraph (01551). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Escribano to include multiple clean water qualities as taught by Cioanta in order to properly reintroduce water into the environment.
Regarding claim 13, Escribano discloses all limitations as set forth above however Escribano fails to disclose where the multiple qualities of clean water are blended to produce a desired final fluid quality. Cioanta discloses where the multiple qualities of clean water are blended to produce a desired final fluid quality(porous membrane /filter technologies are used to produce multiple water quality objectives ... the specialized tritiated water/heavy water separation cell/unit 320 are designed in such way that allow enough residence time of the mixture of the triliated water/heavy water and normal water/light water 330; paragraphs [0155]. [0205]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Escribano to include mixing multiple qualities of clean water as taught by Cioanta in order to properly reintroduce water into the environment.
Regarding claim 14, discloses all limitations as set forth above and further teaches where reverse osmosis or another discriminating water purification process is used to augment the process of producing a high-quality clean water supply (RO plant 1 before sprayer dryers 7/17 Fig 1, [0058-0065]).
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Escribano (US 2009/0045116) as applied above and further in combination with Yarosh et al ("Agricultural and Aquacultural Uses of Waste Heat" The Office of Scientific and Technical Information; Article; July 1972, pages 1-47).
Regarding claim 15, Escribano discloses all limitations as set forth above however Escribano fails to disclose where the cooling is utilized for agriculture production. Yarosh discloses where the cooling is utilized for agriculture production (the use of pcwer plant waste heat for warming and cooling greenhouses can improve crop growth and yield; page 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Escribano to include agriculture uses for waste heat as taught by Yarosh in order to utilize all input energy to the water treatment process.
Regarding claim 16, Escribano discloses all limitations as set forth above however Escribano falls to disclose where the cooling is utilized for municipal cooling. Yarosh discloses where the cooling is utilized for municipal cooling (waste heat utilization is being tested in Florida by the Florida Power Corporation to provide power to area consumers [Including cooling]; page [44]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Escribano lo include municipal cooling as taught by Yarosh in order to provide alternative uses of waste heat.
Regarding claim 17, Escribano discloses all limitations as set forth above however Escribano fails to disclose where the cooling is utilized for fish farming. Yarosh discloses where the cooling is utilized for fish farming (fish culture facilities near power plants may make use of waste heat to power heating and cooling systems of fish ponds lo allow year-round cultivation; page [381). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Escribano to include fish farm heating and cooling as taught by Yarosh in order to provide year-round fish cultivation.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Escribano (US 2009/0045116) as applied above and further in combination with Mokheimer et al (US 2017/0314466).
Regarding claim 18-19, Escribano discloses all limitations as set forth above however Escribano falls to disclose the claimed optimizing of clean water production versus coolant production based upon time of day and with storage.
Mokheimer teaches a solar assisted desalination, turbine and carbon capture system (title, abstract), Mokheimer teaches total system 700 comprises thermal energy storage system 720 for storage of energy generated by solar cells 718 during the sunny part of the day to be used during the night [0044], where the solar energy power 500 powers CCS 700, along with gas turbine 200 and desalination systems 600 (Fig 1, [0019-0023], Fig 7A, [0041-0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Escribano to include supplemental solar collector and storage systems integrated with the components of Escribano as taught by Mokheimer to time components of the system tied to higher solar energy/lower solar energy parts of the day as suggested by Mokheimer to optimize energy use of the method of Escribano.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Liprie (US 2004/0045682) teaches cogen with water purification. Mangin (US 7,073,337) teaches cogen with water purification. Morgan (US 9,377,247) teaches energy storage with thermal systems. Kiaghadi (US 2016/0362309) teaches geothermal energy harvesting. Ackerman (US 10,071,918) cogen with water purification. Mcbay (US 2019/0390660) teaches geothermal energy use. Al-Ghizzy (US 10,676,373) teaches water purification with energy utilization. Kravets (US 11,035,260) teaches thermal energy use systems. Smith (US 11,9474,922) teaches water treatment system. Juranitch (US 11,718,547) teaches water treatment systems.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772