CTNF 18/716,374 CTNF 91686 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which have been placed of record in the file. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/04/2024 and 11/06/2025 are being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim is directed to a signal per se. This 101 rejection may be easily overcome by re-wording to the preamble to read as, for example, “A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform the steps of:”. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-10, 12, 15, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jagannathanet al. (US 20220330854 A1).Regarding claim 1: Jagannathanet teaches an information processing device comprising: a controller configured to acquire a posture angle of at least any one of multiple body parts of a user based on sensor data representing movement of at least some of the body parts of the user and a trained model (abstract, [0051]-[0052], [0070]-[0072], [0075], [0093], [0096]), wherein the trained model is configured to output the posture angle when input with the sensor data (abstract, [0052], [0070]-[0075], [0093], [0096]) Regarding claim 2: Jagannathanet teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as mentioned above. Jagannathanet also teaches : wherein the controller is configured to acquire the sensor data from a sensor device worn on at least some body parts of the user ([0070]-[0075]) Regarding claim 3: Jagannathanet teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as mentioned above. Jagannathanet also teaches : wherein the trained model is further configured to output the posture angle, the posture angle being a posture angle occurring when the user performs periodic exercise([0044], [0074]-[0075], [0099], [0118]-[0120]) Regarding claim 4: Jagannathanet teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as mentioned above. Jagannathanet also teaches : wherein the trained model is further configured to output the posture angle when input with the sensor data, the sensor data representing movement of a head of the user (e.g., [0070]-[0075], [0098]) Regarding claim 5: Jagannathanet teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as mentioned above. Jagannathanet also teaches : wherein the trained model is further configured to output the posture angles when input with the sensor data, the sensor data including sensor data representing movement of a head of the user and sensor data representing movement of either one of two ankles of the user (e.g., [0070]-[0075], [0098]) Regarding claim 6: Jagannathanet teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as mentioned above. Jagannathanet also teaches : wherein the trained model is further configured to output the posture angles when input with the sensor data, the sensor data including sensor data representing movement of a head of the user and sensor data representing movement of either one of two feet of the user (e.g., [0070]-[0075], [0098]) Regarding claim 7: Jagannathanet teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as mentioned above. Jagannathanet also teaches : wherein the trained model is further configured to output the posture angles when input with the sensor data, the sensor data including sensor data representing movement of a head of the user and sensor data representing movement of either one of two thighs of the user (e.g., [0051]-[0052], [0070]-[0075]) Regarding claim 8: Jagannathanet teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as mentioned above. Jagannathanet also teaches : wherein the trained model is further configured to output the posture angles when input with the sensor data, the sensor data including sensor data representing movement of a head of the user and sensor data representing movement of either one of two forearms of the user (e.g., [0051]-[0052], [0070]-[0075]) Regarding claim 9: Jagannathanet teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as mentioned above. Jagannathanet also teaches : wherein the trained model is further configured to output the posture angles when input with the sensor data, the sensor data including sensor data representing movement of a head of the user, sensor data representing movement of either one of two forearms of the user, and sensor data representing movement of either one of two ankles of the user (e.g., [0051]-[0052], [0070]-[0075]) Regarding claim 10: Jagannathanet teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as mentioned above. Jagannathanet also teaches : wherein the trained model is further configured to output the posture angles when input with the sensor data, the sensor data including sensor data representing movement of a head of the user, sensor data representing movement of either one of two forearms of the user, and sensor data representing movement of either one of two feet of the user (e.g., [0051]-[0052], [0070]-[0075]) Regarding claim 12: Jagannathanet teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as mentioned above. Jagannathanet also teaches : wherein the trained model is further configured to output the posture angle, the posture angle being a posture angle of the user while walking (e.g., [0051]-[0052], [0070]-[0075], [0082], [0099]) Regarding claim 15: Jagannathanet teaches all the limitations of claim 12, as mentioned above. Jagannathanet also teaches : wherein the controller is further configured to evaluate a gait of the user based on the posture angle ([0038], [0040], [0051]-[0052], [0070]-[0075], [0079], [0082], [0092], [0096], [0099], [0105]) Regarding claim 19: Jagannathanet teaches an information processing system comprising: an information processing device configured to acquire a posture angle of at least any one of multiple body parts of a user based on sensor data representing movement of at least some of the body parts of the user and a trained model (abstract, [0051]-[0052], [0070]-[0072], [0075], [0093], [0096]), wherein the trained model is configured to output the posture angle when input with the sensor data (abstract, [0052], [0070]-[0075], [0093], [0096]) Regarding claim 20: Jagannathanet teaches an information processing method comprising: acquiring a posture angle of at least any one of multiple body parts of a user based on sensor data representing movement of at least some of the body parts of the user and a trained model (abstract, [0051]-[0052], [0070]-[0072], [0075], [0093], [0096]), wherein the trained model is configured to output posture angle when input with the sensor data (abstract, [0052], [0070]-[0075], [0093], [0096]) Regarding claim 21: Jagannathanet teaches program (e.g., [0086], [0132], [0147], [0157]) configured to cause a computer to execute: acquiring a posture angle of at least any one of multiple body parts of a user based on sensor data representing movement of at least some of the body parts of the user and a trained model (abstract, [0051]-[0052], [0070]-[0072], [0075], [0093], [0096]), wherein the trained model is configured to output the posture angle when input with the sensor data (abstract, [0052], [0070]-[0075], [0093], [0096]) Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 13-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jagannathanet al. (US 20220330854 A1) in view of Yi et al. (“ Transpose: Real-time 3d human translation and pose estimation with six inertial sensors ”).Regarding claim 13: Jagannathanet teaches all the limitations of claim 12, as mentioned above. Jagannathanet also teaches : wherein the controller is further configured to generate a gait model representing a way in which the user walks based on the posture angles of the body parts across an entire body of the user([0038], [0040], [0051]-[0052], [0070]-[0075], [0079], [0082], [0099], [0105]) Jagannathanet fails to teach data of a movement velocity of a waist of the user Yi teaches : data of a movement velocity of a waist of the user (page 86:5 - paragraph spanning left and right columns; sections 3.3.x in general; FIG. 2) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the velocity of Yi in the device of Jagannathanet so that the gait assessment is generated and assessed from whole-body posture angles as well as velocity, increasing accuracy and overall visualization of movement/gait/etc. This also assists with the issue set forth in [0129] of Jagannathanet. Regarding claim 14: Jagannathanet and Yi teach all the limitations of claim 13, as mentioned above. As combined in the claim 13 rejection above, Yi teaches : wherein the trained model is further configured to output the movement velocity of the waist of the user when input with the sensor data, and the controller is configured to acquire the movement velocity of the waist of the user based on the trained model (e.g., page 86:5 - paragraph spanning left and right columns; sections 3.3.x in general; FIG. 2; FIG. 1) Regarding claim 16: Jagannathanet and Yi teach all the limitations of claim 13, as mentioned above. Jagannathanet also teaches or renders obvious : an output unit, wherein the controller is further configured to cause the output unit to output data of the gait model (abstract, [0088], [0095], [0105]) The examiner notes this is also met upon combination with Yi (Yi - section 4.3) with the motivation being to better visualize the gait / movement. Regarding claim 17: Jagannathanet and Yi teach all the limitations of claim 13, as mentioned above. Jagannathanet also teaches : a communication unit, wherein the controller is further configured to transmit data of the gait model to an external device by using the communication unit ([0049], [0088], [0091], [0105]) Regarding claim 18: Jagannathanet and Yi teach all the limitations of claim 13, as mentioned above. Jagannathanet also teaches : An electronic device comprising: an output unit configured to output data of the gait model ([0049], [0088], [0091], [0105]) generated by the information processing device according to claim 13 (see claim 13 rejection above) Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Herbert Keith Roberts whose telephone number is (571)270-0428. The examiner can normally be reached 10a - 6p MT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Peter Macchiarolo can be reached at (571) 272-2375. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /HERBERT K ROBERTS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/716,374 Page 2 Art Unit: 2855