DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (US 2024/0340053) in view of Shokri Razaghi (US 2023/0403592)
Regarding Claim 10, 13, 14 and 15, Yuan teaches communication device comprising:
a transceiver configured to transmit or receive a downlink signal or an uplink signal (figure 2, see specifically MIMO processor and MIMO detector); and
a processor configured to determine a default beam in a wireless communication (figure 2, see specifically the processors and controllers),
wherein in a case where a beam to be applied to the downlink signal or the uplink signal is changed from the default beam (¶ [0149], see specifically switches to implicit beam),
the processor is configured to change the beam to be applied to the downlink signal or the uplink signal back to the determined default beam based on a response from a base station corresponding to a request for changing to the default beam (¶ [0106], see specifically implicit beam switch, ¶ [0151], see specifically rejection message, ¶ [0138], see specifically original beam or default beam),
the request for changing to the default beam being transmitted based on a result of radio link monitoring (¶ [0105], see specifically CSI report and monitoring).
Yuan fails to explicitly teach determining, based on a Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration, a default beam.
Shokri Razaghi from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches determining, based on a Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration, a default beam (¶ [0116], see specifically default beam can be RRC configured.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to set a default beam by RRC signaling.
The motivation is that RRC is commonly used in 3GPP systems to configure different aspects of the radio communications.
Regarding Claim 11, Yuan teaches the processor is configured to change the beam to be applied to the downlink signal or the uplink signal back to the determined default beam at a timing of transmission or reception of a specific signal, or at a timing after an elapse of a predetermined time from the timing of transmission or reception of the specific signal (¶ [0106], see specifically implicit beam switch, ¶ [0151], see specifically rejection message, ¶ [0138], see specifically original beam or default beam).
Regarding Claim 12, Yuan teaches the processor is configured to change an uplink signal or a downlink signal by applying the default beam when changing the changed beam back to the default beam (¶ [0106], see specifically implicit beam switch, ¶ [0151], see specifically rejection message, ¶ [0138], see specifically original beam or default beam).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed July 7, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 10-15 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Shokri Razaghi.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT M MORLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409
ROBERT M. MORLAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409