CTNF 18/716,388 CTNF 82206 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Preliminary Amendment Acknowledgement The Preliminary Amendment filed on 06/04/2024 has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Brumley et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0078578) . Regarding claim 1. Brumley teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a first wireless device (Brumley, the Abstract), comprising: a memory; at least one transceiver; and at least one processor communicatively connected to the memory and the at least one transceiver (Brumley, Fig. 14, pp [167]-[169]), the at least one processor configured to: receive a response message from at least one second wireless device, the response message including a clock accuracy value of the at least one second wireless device, a location confidence value of the at least one second wireless device, or a combination thereof (Brumley, Fig. 1, pp [37]-[42]: a first and second electronic devices 110 and 120 send out polling message and receives response message relating to clock rates, multipath propagation in order to generate more accurate relative position/location/distance/angle); and establish a ranging session with the at least one second wireless device based on the clock accuracy value of the at least one second wireless device exceeding a clock accuracy threshold, or the location confidence value of the at least one second wireless device exceeding a location confidence threshold, or both (Brumley, Fig. 1, pp [37]-[42]: based on clock rates and accurate relative location/position, a distance/ranging information is obtained; and Fig. 7A, pp [98], [163]: ranging established when a motion of a mobile device exceeds a certain threshold) . Regarding claim 13. Brumley teaches a method of wireless communication at a first wireless device (Brumley, the Abstract), comprising: receiving a response message from at least one second wireless device, the response message including a clock accuracy value of the at least one second wireless device, a location confidence value of the at least one second wireless device, or a combination thereof (Brumley, Fig. 1, pp [37]-[42]: a first and second electronic devices 110 and 120 send out polling message and receives response message relating to clock rates, multipath propagation in order to generate more accurate relative position/location/distance/angle) ; and establishing a ranging session with the at least one second wireless device based on the clock accuracy value of the at least one second wireless device exceeding a clock accuracy threshold, or the location confidence value of the at least one second wireless device exceeding a location confidence threshold, or both (Brumley, Fig. 1, pp [37]-[42]: based on clock rates and accurate relative location/position, a distance/ranging information is obtained; and Fig. 7A, pp [98], [163]: ranging established when a motion of a mobile device exceeds a certain threshold) . Regarding claim 15. Brumley teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a second wireless device (Brumley, the Abstract), comprising: a memory; at least one transceiver; and at least one processor communicatively connected to the memory and the at least one transceiver (Brumley, Fig. 14, pp [167]-[169]), the at least one processor configured to: transmit a response message to a first wireless device, the response message including a clock accuracy value of the second wireless device, a location confidence value of the second wireless device, or a combination thereof (Brumley, Fig. 1, pp [37]-[42]: a first and second electronic devices 110 and 120 send out polling message and receives response message relating to clock rates, multipath propagation in order to generate more accurate relative position/location/distance/angle) ; and establish a ranging session with the first wireless device based on the clock accuracy value of the second wireless device exceeding a clock accuracy threshold, the location confidence value of the second wireless device exceeding a location confidence threshold, or both (Brumley, Fig. 1, pp [37]-[42]: based on clock rates and accurate relative location/position, a distance/ranging information is obtained; and Fig. 7A, pp [98], [163]: ranging established when a motion of a mobile device exceeds a certain threshold) . Regarding claim 29. Brumley teaches a method of wireless communication at a second wireless device (Brumley, the Abstract), comprising: transmitting a response message to a first wireless device, the response message including a clock accuracy value of the second wireless device, a location confidence value of the second wireless device, or a combination thereof (Brumley, Fig. 1, pp [37]-[42]: a first and second electronic devices 110 and 120 send out polling message and receives response message relating to clock rates, multipath propagation in order to generate more accurate relative position/location/distance/angle) ; and establishing a ranging session with the first wireless device based on the clock accuracy value of the second wireless device exceeding a clock accuracy threshold, the location confidence value of the second wireless device exceeding a location confidence threshold, or both (Brumley, Fig. 1, pp [37]-[42]: based on clock rates and accurate relative location/position, a distance/ranging information is obtained; and Fig. 7A, pp [98], [163]: ranging established when a motion of a mobile device exceeds a certain threshold) . Regarding claim 2. Brumley teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first wireless device is a controller anchor or a first sidelink device, and wherein the at least one second wireless device is a responder anchor or a second sidelink device (Brumley, Fig. 1, pp [113]-[115]) . Regarding claim 3. Brumley teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the ranging session is an ultra-wideband (UWB) ranging session or a sidelink ranging session (Brumley, Fig. 1, pp [113]-[115]) . Regarding claim 4. Brumley teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the response message is a downlink (DL)-time difference of arrival (TDoA) (DL-TDoA) response message or a second sidelink message (Brumley, pp [139]) . Regarding claim 5. Brumley teaches the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit a DL-TDoA poll message or a first sidelink message to the at least one second wireless device, wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive the DL-TDoA response message or the second sidelink message from the at least one second wireless device based on the DL-TDoA poll message or the first sidelink message (Brumley, pp [139]) . Regarding claim 6. Brumley teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit an indication of a contention access period (CAP) to the at least one second wireless device (Brumley, pp [107], [115]) ; and receive the response message from the at least one second wireless device during the CAP (Brumley, pp [107], [115]) . Regarding claim 7. Brumley teaches the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the CAP includes multiple slots, and the at least one processor is configured to receive the response message from the at least one second wireless device at one of the multiple slots based on a random selection (Brumley, pp [107], [115]) . Regarding claim 8. Brumley teaches the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the CAP is further associated with a contention free period (CFP) (Brumley, pp [107], [115]) . Regarding claim 9. Brumley teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit an indication of a response transmission time within a contention free period (CFP) to the at least one second wireless device (Brumley, pp [107], [115]) ; and receive the response message from the at least one second wireless device at the response transmission time (Brumley, pp [107], [115]) . Regarding claim 10. Brumley teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the CFP is further associated with a contention access period (CAP) (Brumley, pp [107], [115]) . Regarding claim 11. Brumley teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit an indication of the clock accuracy threshold, or an indication of the location confidence threshold, or both, to the at least one second wireless device (Brumley, Fig. 7A, pp [98], [163]: ranging established when a motion of a mobile device exceeds a certain threshold) . Regarding claim 12. Brumley teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit an indication of multiple response phases, each of the multiple response phases corresponding to a quality of service (QOS) level and including at least one contention free period (CFP) and at least one contention access period (CAP) (Brumley, pp [69]-[70], [107], [115]) , wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive the response message from the at least one second wireless device via one response phase of the multiple response phases based on the QoS level of the one response phase being specified by the at least one second wireless device (Brumley, pp [69]-[70], [107], [115]) . Regarding claim 14. Brumley teaches the method of claim 13, further comprising: transmitting an indication of the clock accuracy threshold, or an indication of the location confidence threshold, or both, to the at least one second wireless device (Brumley, Fig. 7A, pp [98], [163]) . Regarding claim 16. Brumley teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the first wireless device is a controller anchor or a first sidelink device, and wherein the second wireless device is a responder anchor or a second sidelink device (Brumley, Fig. 1, pp [113]-[115]) . Regarding claim 17. Brumley teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the ranging session is an ultra-wideband (UWB) ranging session or a sidelink ranging session (Brumley, Fig. 1, pp [113]-[115]) . Regarding claim 18. Brumley teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the response message is a downlink (DL)-time difference of arrival (TDoA) (DL-TDoA) response message or a second sidelink message (Brumley, pp [139]) . Regarding claim 19. Brumley teaches the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive a DL-TDoA poll message or a first sidelink message from the first wireless device, wherein the at least one processor is configured to transmit the DL-TDoA response message or the second sidelink message to the first wireless device based on the DL-TDoA poll message or the first sidelink message (Brumley, pp [139]) . Regarding claim 20. Brumley teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive an indication of a contention access period (CAP) from the first wireless device (Brumley, pp [69]-[70], [107], [115]) , and transmit the response message to the first wireless device during the CAP (Brumley, pp [69]-[70], [107], [115]) . Regarding claim 21. Brumley teaches the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the CAP includes multiple slots, and the at least one processor is configured to transmit the response message to the first wireless device at one of the multiple slots based on a random selection (Brumley, pp [107], [115]) . Regarding claim 22. Brumley teaches the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the CAP is further associated with a contention free period (CFP) (Brumley, pp [107], [115]) . Regarding claim 23. Brumley teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive an indication of a response transmission time within a contention free period (CFP) from the first wireless device (Brumley, pp [107], [115]) ; and transmit the response message to the first wireless device at the response transmission time (Brumley, pp [107], [115]) . Regarding claim 24. Brumley teaches the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the CFP is further associated with a contention access period (CAP) (Brumley, pp [107], [115]) . Regarding claim 25. Brumley teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive an indication of the clock accuracy threshold, or an indication of the location confidence threshold, or both, from the first wireless device (Brumley, Fig. 7A, pp [98], [163]: ranging established when a motion of a mobile device exceeds a certain threshold) . Regarding claim 26. Brumley teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the at least one processor is configured to transmit the response message based on the clock accuracy value exceeding the clock accuracy threshold, the location confidence value exceeding the location confidence threshold, or both (Brumley, Fig. 7A, pp [98], [163]: ranging established when a motion of a mobile device exceeds a certain threshold) . Regarding claim 27. Brumley teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: estimate a position of the second wireless device based on downlink (DL)-time difference of arrival (TDoA) (DL-TDoA) (Brumley, pp [139]) ; and transmit the response message based on the estimated position of the second wireless device (Brumley, pp [139]) . Regarding claim 28. Brumley teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive an indication of multiple response phases, each of the multiple response phases corresponding to a quality of service (QOS) level and including a contention free period (CFP) and a contention access period (CAP) (Brumley, pp [69]-[70], [107], [115]) . select one response phase from the multiple response phases based on the QoS level of the one response phase (Brumley, pp [69]-[70], [107], [115]) ; and transmit the response message to the first wireless device via the one response phase (Brumley, pp [69]-[70], [107], [115]) . Regarding claim 30. Brumley teaches the method of claim 29, further comprising: estimating a position of the second wireless device based on downlink (DL)-time difference of arrival (TDoA) (DL-TDoA) (Brumley, pp [139]) ; and transmitting the response message based on the estimated position of the second wireless device (Brumley, pp [139]) . Relevant References to the claims but not used in the rejection above Henry et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0070816), teaches techniques for assigning Ultra-Wideband (UWB) anchors for client ranging. A location server can estimate a coarse location of a mobile device using a localization technique other than a UWB localization technique. The localization technique can involve multiple wireless access points or other radio devices. The location server can define an area around the coarse location to identify a set of candidate anchors for UWB ranging. The set of candidate anchors can be disposed within the area and include at least a subset of the radio devices. The location server can modify the set of candidate anchors to create a modified set of candidate anchors that includes only UWB-enabled devices. The location server can select a primary anchor from the modified set of candidate anchors and send a command to cause a UWB ranging procedure to be initiated between the primary anchor and the mobile device. Koo et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0019120) teaches a method for performing downlink time difference of arrival (DL-TDoA) by an ultra-wide band (UWB) device that includes selecting at least one active ranging round from a ranging block based on at least one of location information or motion information about the UWB device, transferring, to a UWB sub system, a command including information about the at least one active ranging round, and performing a DL-TDoA operation based on the information about the at least one active ranging round. Silverman et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0191814), teaches a computer-implemented method includes first collecting, from wireless devices at known locations in a venue, first ultra wideband (UWB) location measurements obtained using a first location technique based on first UWB transmissions made by a mobile device at a first rate. The method also includes second collecting, from the wireless devices, second UWB location measurements obtained using a second location technique based on second UWB transmissions made by the mobile device at a second rate. The method further includes detecting that the mobile device is in a first UWB coverage hole for the venue with respect to the first UWB location measurements based on a first UWB coverage hole criterion. The method also includes, based on detecting, increasing the second rate relative to the first rate to obtain additional second UWB location measurements using the second location technique to compensate for the first UWB coverage hole. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HUY C HO whose telephone number is (571)270-1108. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8AM-5PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, KATHY WANG-HURST can be reached at (571)270-5371. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /HUY C HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/716,388 Page 2 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/716,388 Page 3 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/716,388 Page 4 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/716,388 Page 5 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/716,388 Page 6 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/716,388 Page 7 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/716,388 Page 8 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/716,388 Page 9 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/716,388 Page 10 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/716,388 Page 11 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/716,388 Page 12 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/716,388 Page 13 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/716,388 Page 14 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/716,388 Page 15 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/716,388 Page 16 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/716,388 Page 17 Art Unit: 2644