Priority
This application is a National Stage entry of PCT/EP2022/083809, filed 11/30/2022, and claims foreign priority to EP21215030.4, filed 12/16/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS’s filed on 7/2/2026, 5/7/2026, 4/3/2025, 9/20/2024, 7/1/2024 have been considered. See the attached PTO 1449 form.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-3, 5-11, 15-18) and N,N,N-Trimethyl-2-((2-octyldodecyl)oxy)-2-oxoethan-1-aminium methanesulfonate as the species represented by Structure 1 and Guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride as the species of cationic structurant, in the reply filed on 7/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 12 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Status
Receipt of Remarks filed on 7/22/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-3, 5-12, 15-18 are currently pending. Claim 12 has been withdrawn. Accordingly, claims 1-3, 5-11, 15-18 are currently under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "The composition of claim 4". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because claim 4 has been cancelled. Thus, it is unclear the claim from which claim 18 depends from. For the purpose of examination, the examiner interprets claim 18 depends from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barfoot (WO2020126660A1)(cited in IDS) in view of Giles (US8530399B2)(cited in IDS).
Barfoot throughout the reference teaches hair conditioning composition for improved deposition.
Barfoot teaches a composition comprising: (i) 0.01 to 10 wt % of a linear, cationic conditioning surfactant; (ii) 0.1 to 10 wt % of a linear fatty material; (iii) a particulate benefit agent selected from conditioning actives, scalp actives, encapsulated fragrance, emulsified fragrance, and mixtures thereof; (iv) 0.01 to 5 wt %, at 100 % active, of a branched cationic co-surfactant, selected from structure 1, structure 2, structure 3 and mixtures thereof
wherein: • R1, R2, R5 and R6 comprise linear alkyl chains, saturated or unsaturated, with carbon- carbon chain lengths of from C4 to C20, preferably from C6 to C18; • R3 and R4 comprise linear or branched alkyl chains, saturated or unsaturated, with carbon-carbon chain lengths of from C6 to C22 ; preferably from C6 to C12 • n and m have a range of from 0 to 10, preferably selected from 0 and 1 ; • p has a range of from 1 to 6, preferably selected from 1 and 2; • R7 comprises an alkyl chain having a carbon-carbon chain length of from C1 to C4, preferably C1 to C2; • R8 comprises a proton or an alkyl chain having a carbon-carbon chain length of from C1 to C4, preferably C1 to C2; and • X is an organic or inorganic anion; wherein the molar ratios of branched cationic co-surfactants (iv) to linear cationic surfactants (i) are in the range of from 1:20 to 1 : 1 (claim 1). Barfoot also teaches in example 3 the composition in accordance with the invention, wherein the composition comprises fatty alcohol such as cetearyl alcohol (i.e., linear fatty material), N,N,N-Trimethyl-2-((2-octyldodecyl)oxy)-2-oxoethan-1-aminium methanesulfonate (i.e., branched cationic surfactant), and Xiameter MEM-7134 (i.e., particulate benefit agent) (page 20, table).
Barfoot teaches the particulate benefit agent is selected from conditioning actives, wherein the conditioning actives are silicone emulsions (page 10, line 9).
Barfoot teaches the compositions of the invention can contain emulsified droplets of a silicone conditioning agent, which is preferably not hydrophobically modified, selected from dimethicone, dimethiconol, amodimethicone and mixtures thereof (page 13, lines 2-3).
Barfoot teaches the compositions of the invention can contain emulsified droplets of a silicone conditioning agent, which is preferably not hydrophobically modified (page 12, lines 29-30).
Barfoot teaches the total amount of silicone (i.e., particulate benefit agent) is preferably from 0.1 wt % to 10 wt % of the total composition more preferably from 0.1 wt % to 5 wt % (page 14, lines 12-13).
Barfoot teaches most preferably, X- comprises an anion selected from a halide, a methanesulfonate group and an ethanesulphonate group (page 16, line 11).
Barfoot teaches preferred silicone emulsions do not comprise a hydrophobic modification, preferably the silicone emulsion is not a myristyloxyl modified silicone (page 10, lines 21-22).
Barfoot teaches examples of suitable materials conforming to structure 3 are N,N,N-trimethyl-2-((2- octyldodecyl)oxy)-2-oxoethan-1-aminium methanesulphonate (page 17, lines 1-2).
Barfoot does not teach the composition further comprises 0.1 to 5 wt% of a cationic structurant wherein the cationic strucurant is guar hydroxypropyl trimmonium chloride. However, Giles cures this deficiency.
Giles also teaches conditioning shampoo compositions. Giles teaches cationic polymers enhance the delivery of conditioning agent and thereby improve the conditioning benefits obtained. Giles teaches especially preferred cationic polymer include guar hydroxypropyl trimonium chloride. Giles in Table 1, Example 1 of the reference discloses guar hydroxypropyl trimonium chloride in the amount of 0.20 wt%. Giles also teaches the total amount of cationic polymer in the composition is preferably from 0.05% to 2% and more preferably from 0.1 to 0.5% by weight of the composition. (see e.g. Col. 7-8; Table 1; Claims; Abstract; Entire document).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to add 0.1 to 5 wt% of guar hydroxypropyl trimmonium chloride in Barfoot’s conditioner composition. The artisan of ordinary skill would have been motivated to add guar hydroxypropyl trimmonium chloride in Barfoot’s conditioner composition because Giles also teaches conditioning shampoo compositions wherein Giles teaches cationic polymers enhance the delivery of conditioning agent and thereby improve the conditioning benefits obtained. Giles teaches especially preferred cationic polymer include guar hydroxypropyl trimonium chloride and discloses guar hydroxypropyl trimonium chloride in the amount of 0.20 wt%. Both Barfoot and Giles are directed to hair conditioning compositions and Giles discloses improved conditioning benefits with the addition of guar hydroxypropyl trimmonium chloride. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to further add guar hydroxypropyl trimmonium chloride in the composition of Barfoot.
With regards to the limitation wherein the molar ratio of branched cationic surfactants (i) to linear fatty material (ii) is in the range of from 1:20 to 1:1 and 1:10 to 1:1, it would have been obvious to optimize the molar ratio of branched cationic surfactants (i) to linear fatty material (ii) in Barfoot’s hair conditioning composition. Barfoot teaches a hair conditioning composition comprising (ii) 0.1 to 10 wt % of a linear fatty material; and (iv) 0.01 to 5 wt %, at 100 % active, of a branched cationic co-surfactant (claim 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to optimize the molar ratio of branched cationic surfactants (i) to linear fatty material (ii) in Barfoot’s hair conditioning composition because Barfoot teaches amounts of the linear fatty material as well as the branched cationic surfactant, which one of ordinary skill in the art can use as a starting point using routine experimentation for desired results. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the
optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 105 USPQ
233 (CCPA 1955). In addition, according to the MPEP, “It is to be presumed also that skilled
workers would as a matter of course, if they do not immediately obtain desired results, make
certain experiments and adaptations, within the skill of the competent worker.” (MPEP 716.07).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 15-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/716,012.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘012 claims a composition comprising 0.01 to 10 wt% of a branched cationic conditioning surfactant of structure 1 which is the same as the claimed branched cationic conditioning surfactant. The composition comprises 0.1 to 10 wt% of a linear fatty material including a fatty alcohol. The composition comprises 0.01 to 5 wt% of a modified clay and a particulate benefit agent. Molar ratio of branched cationic surfactant to linear fatty material is in the range of 1:20 to 1:1. The modified clay comprises guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride polymer. The conditioning actives are silicone emulsions and include dimethicone. Silicone emulsions do not comprise a hydrophobic modification. Benefit agent is present in amount of from 0.25 to 1.5 wt%. X- comprises an anion which include methanesulfonate group. The silicone emulsion are not a myristyloxyl modified silicone. The branched cationic conditioning surfactant is N,N,N-Trimethyl-2-((2-octyldodecyl)oxy)-2-oxoethan-1-aminium methanesulfonate.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 15-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 and 12-15 of copending Application No. 18/716,833 in view of Giles (US8530399B2)(cited in IDS).
‘833 claims a composition comprising 0.01 to 10 wt% of a branched cationic conditioning surfactant of structure 1 which is the same as the claimed branched cationic conditioning surfactant. The composition comprises 0.1 to 10 wt% of a linear fatty material including a fatty alcohol. The composition comprises 0.01 to 10 wt% of a clay and a particulate benefit agent selected from conditioning actives. Molar ratio of branched cationic surfactant to linear fatty material is in the range of 1:20 to 1:1. The conditioning actives are silicone emulsions and include dimethicone. Silicone emulsions do not comprise a hydrophobic modification. Benefit agent is present in amount of from 0.1 to 10 wt%. X- comprises an anion which include methanesulfonate group. The silicone emulsion are not a myristyloxyl modified silicone.
‘833 does not teach the composition further comprises 0.1 to 5 wt% of a cationic structurant wherein the cationic strucurant is guar hydroxypropyl trimmonium chloride. However, Giles cures this deficiency.
The teachings of Giles discussed above are incorporated herein.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to add 0.1 to 5 wt% of guar hydroxypropyl trimmonium chloride in ‘833 composition. The artisan of ordinary skill would have been motivated to add guar hydroxypropyl trimmonium chloride in ‘833 composition because Giles also teaches conditioning shampoo compositions wherein Giles teaches cationic polymers enhance the delivery of conditioning agent and thereby improve the conditioning benefits obtained. Giles teaches especially preferred cationic polymer include guar hydroxypropyl trimonium chloride and discloses guar hydroxypropyl trimonium chloride in the amount of 0.20 wt%. Both ‘833 and Giles are directed to compositions comprising conditioning agent and Giles discloses improved conditioning benefits with the addition of guar hydroxypropyl trimmonium chloride. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to further add guar hydroxypropyl trimmonium chloride in the composition of ‘833.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 15-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 and 14-19 of copending Application No. 18/718,682 in view of Giles (US8530399B2)(cited in IDS).
‘682 claims a composition comprising 0.01 to 10 wt% of a branched cationic conditioning surfactant of structure 1 which is the same as the claimed branched cationic conditioning surfactant. The composition comprises 0.1 to 10 wt% of a linear fatty material including a fatty alcohol. The composition comprises 0.1 to 5 wt% of a nonionic structurant and a particulate benefit agent selected from conditioning actives. The composition also comprises 0.01 to 2 wt% of a clay. Molar ratio of branched cationic surfactant to linear fatty material is in the range of 1:20 to 1:1. The conditioning actives are silicone emulsions and include dimethicone. Silicone emulsions do not comprise a hydrophobic modification. Benefit agent is present in amount of from 0.1 to 10 wt%. X- comprises an anion which include methanesulfonate group. The silicone emulsion are not a myristyloxyl modified silicone.
‘682 does not teach the composition further comprises 0.1 to 5 wt% of a cationic structurant wherein the cationic strucurant is guar hydroxypropyl trimmonium chloride. However, Giles cures this deficiency.
The teachings of Giles discussed above are incorporated herein.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to add 0.1 to 5 wt% of guar hydroxypropyl trimmonium chloride in ‘682 composition. The artisan of ordinary skill would have been motivated to add guar hydroxypropyl trimmonium chloride in ‘682 composition because Giles also teaches conditioning shampoo compositions wherein Giles teaches cationic polymers enhance the delivery of conditioning agent and thereby improve the conditioning benefits obtained. Giles teaches especially preferred cationic polymer include guar hydroxypropyl trimonium chloride and discloses guar hydroxypropyl trimonium chloride in the amount of 0.20 wt%. Both ‘682 and Giles are directed to compositions comprising conditioning agent and Giles discloses improved conditioning benefits with the addition of guar hydroxypropyl trimmonium chloride. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to further add guar hydroxypropyl trimmonium chloride in the composition of ‘682.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/ALI S SAEED/Examiner, Art Unit 1616