DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: REPLACE “centre” WITH --center --. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “a main cooling hole is formed in a centre of the cutting insert, cutting edges are uniformly arranged at one end, away from the support rod, of the cutting insert in a circumferential direction”. This limitation is confusing. It seems to be discussing different aspects of the tool (position of the main cooling hole and position of the cutting edges) but then the limitation “of the cutting insert” makes it unclear how the two limitations are connected. The scope is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Li (CN 213379502 U, machine translation relied on).
Re Claim 1, Li ‘502 discloses a quick-change type tool holder structure with high positioning accuracy, comprising a cutting insert 8, a support rod 2 and a tool holder 1 connected in sequence, wherein through-holes connected with each other are formed in a center of the support rod and a center of the tool holder, a threaded fastener 6 is arranged in the through-holes, a first end of the threaded fastener being connected to the cutting insert and a second end of the threaded fastener being connected to the tool holder, said through-hole of the support rod being configured as a cutting insert fitting hole 5 and said cutting insert fitting hole is mated with the cutting insert (Fig. 1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 213379502 U, machine translation relied on) in view of Wei (CN101837486A, machine translation relied on).
Re Claim 2, Li does not disclose the first end of said threaded fastener is provided with a threaded hole configured to connect with the cutting insert, and the second end of said threaded fastener is provided with male threads configured to connect with the tool holder. However, Wei teaches a first end of a threaded fastener 3 is provided with a threaded hole configured to connect with a cutting insert, and the second end of said threaded fastener is provided with male threads configured to connect with a tool holder (Fig. 1; para. 7-11). It would be obvious to utilize this configuration, as taught by Wei, for the purpose of allowing strong connection between the components and also since it would be an obvious alternative to use internal thread connections in place of external thread connections and vice versa since it is well-known in the art and provides identical function and can be customized to the specific context and they are easily interchangeable designs provided the connecting component is also made to connect to that threading design.
Re Claim 4, Li/Wei discloses the cutting insert is provided with a step shaft, a first end of said step shaft is a fitting section (Fig. 3 of Li), a second end of said step shaft is a threaded column (teaching from Wei as discussed in claim 1 rejection), said threaded column is connected with the threaded hole, and said fitting section is fitted in the cutting insert fitting hole.
Re Claim 5, Li ‘502 discloses said cutting insert fitting hole comprises two cutting insert fitting surfaces, and an avoidance slot (enlarged portion of 5 in Fig. 1) is provided between the two cutting insert fitting surfaces (Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Wei, in further view of Chen (PGPub 2016/0016235).
Re Claim 3, Li does not disclose said threaded fastener is provided with Allen keyhole at the second end of the threaded fastener. However, Chen teaches Threaded fasteners are provided with an Allen keyhole at the second end of the threaded fastener (Fig. 4; para. 26). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide an Allen keyhole, as taught by Chen, for the purpose of allowing adjustment using known techniques and since Allen keyholes are well established in the art.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Jiang (CN 214023643 U, machine translation relied on)
Re Claim 8, as best understood, Li does not disclose a main cooling hole is formed in a centre of the cutting insert, cutting edges are uniformly arranged at one end, away from the support rod, of the cutting insert in a circumferential direction, branch cooling holes are uniformly formed in the end, away from the support rod, of the cutting insert in the circumferential direction, the branch cooling holes are communicated with the main cooling hole, and a cooling through-hole is formed in a center of the threaded fastener and communicated with the main cooling hole and the through-hole of the tool holder. However, Jiang teaches a cutting tool with an insert 2 and a main cooling hole 14 formed in a center and branch cooling holes with outlets 15 (Fig. 1-4; pg. 4). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide cooling holes, as taught by Jiang, for the purpose of ensuring the tool does not overheat and can be utilized for longer time periods.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li.
Re Claim 9, Li discloses a support rod fitting surface is provided at an end, away from the cutting insert fitting hole, of said support rod, a tool holder mating hole is provided in the center of said tool holder and the support rod fitting surface is in fixed connection with the tool holder mating hole (Fig. 1-2). Li is silent to this connection being interference fit. However, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide interference fit for the purpose of ensuring that the components are strongly connected but can be removed by applying a force for easier repair if necessary and also since this would be a known technique of connection of components that could easily be applied.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Gusis (DE 10255270 A1, machine translation relied on).
Re Claim 10, Li does not disclose said support rod is made of carbide, and said cutting insert and tool holder are made of alloy steel. However, Gusis teaches forming a tool holder of steel and support rod of carbide (page 4). It would obvious to make the components of materials such as these, as taught by Gusis, for the purpose of providing strength and durability for these components and also since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ryan J. Walters/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799