DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2022-104551, filed on June 29, 2022.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: [Math. 1] on page 15 of the instant specification includes non-English characters and should be amended to show an appropriate translation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The values of true density put forth in claims 3 and 6 are not given units. Furthermore, it is not clear from the claim language what material or product has the claimed true density. Claims 8-9 and 11-12 are rejected as they are dependent on Claims 3 and 6. For the purpose of examination the true density is assumed to be of the non-graphitizing carbon material in units of grams per cubic centimeter.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the average particle size" in the first and second lines of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 6-7, 9-10, and 12 are rejected as they are dependent on claim 2.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 18/716,629 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending Application No. 18/716,629 teaches a substantially identical preparation method of the claimed non-graphitizable carbon of the instant application. This gives the appearance that the non-graphitizing carbon of copending application No. 18/716,629 is the same material as the non-graphitizing carbon of the instant application, with the difference in claimed elements being a mere difference of characterization methods.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonobe (U.S. Patent No. 5,587,255).
Regarding Claim 1, Sonobe teaches a non-graphitizable carbon (Col. 2 lines 50-55 teach a non-graphitizable component).
Sonobe does not explicitly teach a Guinier radius Rg1 in a range of a scattering vector q of 0.30 nm-1 or more and 0.40 nm-1 or less as measured by small-angle X-ray scattering and determined by Guinier analysis is 3.00 nm or more and 5.80 nm or less, a Guinier radius Rg2 in a range of the scattering vector q of 2.05 nm-1 or more and 2.85 nm-1 or less is 0.35 nm or more and 0.57 nm or less, and an average lattice plane distance d002 of a (002) plane determined by X-ray diffraction is 0.365 nm or more and 0.375 nm or less.
Sonobe teaches the non-graphitizable carbon has an average interlayer spacing d002 of at least 0.365 nm (abstract and Col. 3 lines 28-33 teach a d002 spacing of at least 0.365 before reacting with water). This disclosure teaches the limitation of the d002 spacing being 0.365-0.375 nm. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 I. In the instant case, the claimed range of 0.365-0.375 nm lies within the taught range of at least 0.365 nm. While Sonobe does not disclose the Guinier radius or any small-angle x-ray scattering of the non-graphitizable carbon, the physical properties of the non-graphitizable carbon taught by Sonobe sufficiently overlap with those of the non-graphitizable carbon of the instant application that the non-graphitizable carbon of Sonobe would inherently have Guinier radii overlapping with the Guinier radii claimed in the instant application. These physical properties include particle size (Col. 9 lines 45-55 teach an average particle diameter of 5-100 µm), surface area (Col. 11 lines 7-13 teach a BET surface area of 2.4 m2/g), and true density (Col. 4 lines 13-25 teach a true density of 1.45-1.70 g/cm3). The instant specification recognizes that these, and similar, physical properties contribute to the measured Guinier radii. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to produce a non-graphitizing carbon material with Guinier radii that overlap with the Guinier radii claimed in the instant application.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Sonobe teaches all the limitation of Claim 1 as discussed above.
Modified Sonobe does not explicitly teach the average particle size is 20 µm or more and 40 µm or less.
Sonobe teaches that the particles have a size of 5-100 µm (Col. 9 lines 45-55). This disclosure teaches the limitations of Claim 2, wherein the particle size is 20-40 µm. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 I. In the instant case, the claimed range of 20-40 µm lies within the taught range of 5-100 µm.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Sonobe teaches all the limitation of Claim 1 as discussed above.
Modified Sonobe does not explicitly teach a true density is 1.45 or more and 1.58 or less.
Sonobe teaches a true density of 1.45-1.70 g/cm3 (Col. 4 lines 13-25). This disclosure fully teaches the limitations of Claim 3, where in a true density is 1.45-1.58. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 I. In the instant case, the claimed range of 1.45-1.58 lies within the taught range of 1.45-1.70 g/cm3.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Sonobe teaches all the limitation of Claim 1 as discussed above.
Sonobe further teaches the use of the non-graphitizable carbon in a negative electrode for a lithium-ion battery (Col. 13 lines 47-49).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Sonobe teaches all the limitation of Claim 4 as discussed above.
Sonobe further teaches the use of the negative electrode for a lithium-ion secondary battery (Col. 13 lines 41-49).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Sonobe teaches all the limitation of Claim 2 as discussed above.
Modified Sonobe does not explicitly teach a true density is 1.45 or more and 1.58 or less.
Sonobe teaches a true density of 1.45-1.70 g/cm3 (Col. 4 lines 13-25). This disclosure fully teaches the limitations of Claim 3, where in a true density is 1.45-1.58. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 I. In the instant case, the claimed range of 1.45-1.58 lies within the taught range of 1.45-1.70 g/cm3.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Sonobe teaches all the limitation of Claim 2 as discussed above.
Sonobe further teaches the use of the non-graphitizable carbon in a negative electrode for a lithium-ion battery (Col. 13 lines 47-49).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Sonobe teaches all the limitation of Claim 3 as discussed above.
Sonobe further teaches the use of the non-graphitizable carbon in a negative electrode for a lithium-ion battery (Col. 13 lines 47-49).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Sonobe teaches all the limitation of Claim 6 as discussed above.
Sonobe further teaches the use of the non-graphitizable carbon in a negative electrode for a lithium-ion battery (Col. 13 lines 47-49).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Sonobe teaches all the limitation of Claim 7 as discussed above.
Sonobe further teaches the use of the negative electrode for a lithium-ion secondary battery (Col. 13 lines 41-49).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Sonobe teaches all the limitation of Claim 8 as discussed above.
Sonobe further teaches the use of the negative electrode for a lithium-ion secondary battery (Col. 13 lines 41-49).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Sonobe teaches all the limitation of Claim 9 as discussed above.
Sonobe further teaches the use of the negative electrode for a lithium-ion secondary battery (Col. 13 lines 41-49).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Imaji (US 2014/0080004) Teaches a non-graphitizable carbon with a d002 spacing of 0.365-0.400 nm and a particle size of 30 µm.
Matsubara (US 2023/0055862) teaches a non-graphitizable carbon with a d002 spacing of 0.37 nm or more and a particle size of 3-30 µm.
Haga (US 2014/0294714) teaches a method of producing non-graphitizable carbon very similar to the synthetic method taught by the instant specification, ultimately yielding a very similar non-graphitizable carbon.
/B.G.D./ Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/SADIE WHITE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721