DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner has thoroughly reviewed applicant’s arguments but firmly believes the cited reference to reasonably and properly meet the claimed limitations i.e. that wherein the plurality of reference points includes a satellite or a flying object, and wherein the plurality of pieces of terminal position-related information includes at least any one of a difference in timing advance values between the terminal and two reference points, a difference in round trip delays between the terminal and two reference points, a difference in one-way propagation delays between the terminal and two reference points, and a difference in distances between the terminal and two reference points and wherein the offset or the function is set such that confidentiality of the terminal position information is improved. Examiner respectfully direct the Application to paragraphs 0253, 0307-0308, Huang et al disclose, a first location-based measurement event may be triggered by the distance between the UE (i.e., terminal) and a reference location e.g., cell center of a serving cell (i.e., first reference point) and a second location-based measurement event may be triggered by or based on the distance between the UE and a reference location (e.g., cell center) of a neighbor cell (i.e., second reference point). For example, if the UE detects that the distance between the UE and the reference location of the neighbor cell. In paragraph 0407, Huang et al disclosed, the UE could be configured by the network to measure multiple beams of a cell to derive the cell quality. The UE could be configured by the network to measure the distance between the UE and a reference locations (e.g., cell center) of a NTN cell (satellite or a flying object). The NTN cell may be a serving cell (i.e., first reference point) and a neighbor cell (i.e., second reference point). In paragraphs 0378-0279, Huang et al disclose, the serving cell(s) (and/or neighbor cell(s)) may be of a specific network type, e.g., NTN and specific NTN type (or platform type), e.g., LEO, MEO, GEO, NGEO, HAPS. In paragraphs 0422-0424, Huang et al disclose, the satellite ephemeris may be associated to at least a serving cell of the UE. The (information of) (or related to) satellite ephemeris may be associated to at least a neighbor cell of the UE. The neighbor cell may belong to a different satellite from the serving cell. The (information of) (or related to) satellite ephemeris may be used by the UE to derive UE specific TA (The neighbor cell and the serving cell). The (information of) (or related to) satellite ephemeris may be used by the UE to evaluate cell (re)selection (e.g., ephemeris-based cell reselection). The (information of) (or related to) satellite ephemeris may be used by the UE to evaluate CHO (or measurement report trigger) (e.g., location-based CHO/measurement report). The (information of) (or related to) satellite ephemeris may be used by the UE to derive cell reference location. The (information of) (or related to) satellite ephemeris may be used by the UE to derive distance between UE and a cell reference location and NTN types (e.g., GEO, NGSO) may have different characteristics such as coverage, propagation delay, Quality of Service (QoS) provision, or beamforming capability. It should be possible that cells of different network types and/or NTN types are overlapped in geographic areas. In paragraphs 0481, Huang et al disclose, concurrent channels may be established based on pulse position or offsets. In some aspects, concurrent channels may be established based on time hopping sequences. In some aspects, concurrent channels may be established based on pulse repetition frequencies, pulse positions or offsets, and time hopping sequences and the validity of the satellite ephemeris and cell reference position can be well controlled by the UE with minimal/optimized signaling overhead and each broadcast information may require corresponding assistance information for the validation, e.g., validity duration. However, it may cause significant signaling overhead, and thus some optimization should be beneficial.
Additionally, the examiner has given the claim language its broadest reasonable interpretation. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Anticipatory reference need not duplicate, word for word, what is in claims; anticipation can occur when claimed limitation is “inherent” or otherwise implicit in relevant reference (Standard Havens products Incorporated v. Gencor Industries Incorporated, 21 USPQ2d 1321). Applicant always has the opportunity to amend the claims during prosecution, and broad interpreted by the examiner reduces the possibility that the claim, once issued, will be interpreted more broadly than is justified. In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-51 (CCPA 1969).
Examiner’s Note; the Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. "The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain." In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments (see MPEP 2123). Therefore, Applicant, in preparing the response, must fully consider the entire disclosure of the cited references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, including the context of the cited passages as taught by the prior art disclosed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al (20250142407).
Regarding claim 1, Huang et al discloses, a terminal (abstract, UE, fig. 1-9) comprising:
a processor (CPU, fig. 3-4) configured to obtain a plurality of pieces of terminal position-related information using a plurality of reference points that are related to a non-terrestrial network (¶ 0405, 0407, 0478, the CPU 308 could execute program code 312 to: (i) receive information of a first reference location of a cell, (ii) receive assistance information associated with the NTN cell, (iii) derive a second reference location of the cell based on at least the assistance information, and (iv) use the second reference location of the cell to evaluate a location-based measurement event. Moreover, the CPU 308 can execute the program code 312 to perform all of the described actions, steps, and methods described above, below, or otherwise herein.);
wherein the plurality of reference points include a satellite or a flying object (¶ 0304, 0407-0408, 0468, UE could be configured by the network to measure multiple beams of a cell to derive the cell quality. A UE could be configured by the network to measure the distance between the UE and a reference location e.g., cell center of a NTN cell. The (NTN) cell may be a serving cell and a neighbor cell.), and
wherein the plurality of pieces of terminal position-related information include at least any one of a difference in timing advance values between the terminal and two reference points, a difference in round trip delays between the terminal and two reference points, a difference in one-way propagation delays between the terminal and two reference points, and a difference in distances between the terminal and two reference points (¶ 0253, 0307, 0411-0413, 0423, 0475, a first location-based measurement event may be triggered by the distance between the UE (i.e., terminal) and a reference location e.g., cell center of a serving cell (i.e., first reference point) and a second location-based measurement event may be triggered by or based on the distance between the UE and a reference location (e.g., cell center) of a neighbor cell (i.e., second reference point). For example, if the UE detects that the distance between the UE and the reference location of the neighbor cell. In paragraph 0407, Huang et al disclosed, the UE could be configured by the network to measure multiple beams of a cell to derive the cell quality. The UE could be configured by the network to measure the distance between the UE and a reference locations (e.g., cell center) of a NTN cell (satellite or a flying object). The NTN cell may be a serving cell (i.e., first reference point) and a neighbor cell (i.e., second reference point). Event L1: Distance between UE and a reference location referenceLocation1 becomes larger than configured threshold1 Thresh1 and distance between UE and a reference location referenceLocation2 becomes shorter than configured threshold Thresh2. The (information of) (or related to) satellite ephemeris may be used by the UE to derive UE specific TA. The (information of) (or related to) satellite ephemeris may be used by the UE to derive distance between UE and a cell reference location. Timing Advance (TA) related parameters, which contain information for deriving/calculating the common TA for each UL transmission. The common TA related parameters include a network controlled common TA. In addition, the common TA related parameters may include other parameters which are still under RAN1 discussion. TABLE 4.2-2, ¶ 0302-0304, NTN and TN have different characteristics. For example, propagation delay (or round-trip delay) in NTN is longer than the propagation delay (or round-trip delay) in TN. In addition, different NTN platforms could have different characteristics. For example, the propagation delay (or round-trip delay) is shorter in LEO (or NGSO) satellite than in GEO satellite, while the cell coverage is larger in GEO satellite than in LEO (or NGSO) satellite.); and
a transmitter configured to report the plurality of pieces of terminal position-related information to a base station (¶ 0407-0408, UE could be configured by the network to measure multiple beams of a cell to derive the cell quality. UE could be configured by the network to measure the distance between the UE and a reference location e.g., cell center of a NTN cell. The (NTN) cell may be a serving cell and a neighbor cell. The UE would trigger a measurement report to send the measurement results (of radio condition and/or location) based on one or more triggering event. In addition, the network may determine whether to trigger a handover for the UE, e.g., based on a measurement report provided by the UE.).
Regarding claim 3, Huang et al discloses in claim 1, further, Huang et al discloses, wherein the plurality of pieces of terminal position-related information include at least any one of a timing advance value between a reference point and the terminal, a round trip delay between a reference point and the terminal, a one-way propagation delay between a reference point and the terminal, and a distance between a reference point and the terminal (¶ 0411-0413, 0423, 0475, The (information of) (or related to) satellite ephemeris may be used by the UE to derive UE specific TA. The (information of) (or related to) satellite ephemeris may be used by the UE to derive distance between UE and a cell reference location. Timing Advance (TA) related parameters, which contain information for deriving/calculating the common TA for each UL transmission. The common TA related parameters include a network controlled common TA. In addition, the common TA related parameters may include other parameters which are still under RAN1 discussion).
Regarding claim 5, Huang et al discloses in claim 1, further, Huang et al discloses, a terminal comprising:
a processor configured to obtain terminal position information by GNSS and convert the terminal position information, by adding an offset to the terminal position information or by inputting the terminal position information into a function (¶ 0405, 0407, 0478, the CPU 308 could execute program code 312 to: (i) receive information of a first reference location of a cell, (ii) receive assistance information associated with the GNSS cell, (iii) derive a second reference location of the cell based on at least the assistance information, and (iv) use the second reference location of the cell to evaluate a location-based measurement event. Moreover, the CPU 308 can execute the program code 312 to perform all of the described actions, steps, and methods described above, below, or otherwise herein.);
wherein the offset or the function is set such that confidentiality of the terminal position information is improved (¶ 0005,0414, 0481, concurrent channels may be established based on pulse position or offsets. In some aspects, concurrent channels may be established based on time hopping sequences. In some aspects, concurrent channels may be established based on pulse repetition frequencies, pulse positions or offsets, and time hopping sequences and the validity of the satellite ephemeris and cell reference position can be well controlled by the UE with minimal/optimized signaling overhead and each broadcast information may require corresponding assistance information for the validation, e.g., validity duration. However, it may cause significant signaling overhead, and thus some optimization should be beneficial.)
a transmitter unit configured to report the converted terminal position information to a base station (¶ 0407-0408, UE could be configured by the network to measure multiple beams of a cell to derive the cell quality. A UE could be configured by the network to measure the distance between the UE and a reference location e.g., cell center of a NTN cell. The (NTN) cell may be a serving cell and a neighbor cell. The UE would trigger a measurement report to send the measurement results (of radio condition and/or location) based on one or more triggering event. In addition, the network may determine whether to trigger a handover for the UE, e.g., based on a measurement report provided by the UE.).
Regarding claim 6, Huang et al discloses in claim 1, further, Huang et al discloses, a reporting method executed by a terminal, the reporting method comprising:
obtaining a plurality of pieces of terminal position-related information using a plurality of reference points that are related to a non-terrestrial network (¶ 0405, 0407, 0478, the CPU 308 could execute program code 312 to: (i) receive information of a first reference location of a cell, (ii) receive assistance information associated with the cell, (iii) derive a second reference location of the cell based on at least the assistance information, and (iv) use the second reference location of the cell to evaluate a location-based measurement event. Moreover, the CPU 308 can execute the program code 312 to perform all of the described actions, steps, and methods described above, below, or otherwise herein.);
wherein the plurality of reference points include a satellite or a flying object (¶ 0304, 0407-0408, 0468, UE could be configured by the network to measure multiple beams of a cell to derive the cell quality. A UE could be configured by the network to measure the distance between the UE and a reference location e.g., cell center of a NTN cell. The (NTN) cell may be a serving cell and a neighbor cell.), and
wherein the plurality of pieces of terminal position-related information include at least any one of a difference in timing advance values between the terminal and two reference points, a difference in round trip delays between the terminal and two reference points, a difference in one-way propagation delays between the terminal and two reference points, and a difference in distances between the terminal and two reference points (¶ 0253, 0307, 0411-0413, 0423, 0475, a first location-based measurement event may be triggered by the distance between the UE (i.e., terminal) and a reference location e.g., cell center of a serving cell (i.e., first reference point) and a second location-based measurement event may be triggered by or based on the distance between the UE and a reference location (e.g., cell center) of a neighbor cell (i.e., second reference point). For example, if the UE detects that the distance between the UE and the reference location of the neighbor cell. In paragraph 0407, Huang et al disclosed, the UE could be configured by the network to measure multiple beams of a cell to derive the cell quality. The UE could be configured by the network to measure the distance between the UE and a reference locations (e.g., cell center) of a NTN cell (satellite or a flying object). The NTN cell may be a serving cell (i.e., first reference point) and a neighbor cell (i.e., second reference point). Event L1: Distance between UE and a reference location referenceLocation1 becomes larger than configured threshold1 Thresh1 and distance between UE and a reference location referenceLocation2 becomes shorter than configured threshold Thresh2. The (information of) (or related to) satellite ephemeris may be used by the UE to derive UE specific TA. The (information of) (or related to) satellite ephemeris may be used by the UE to derive distance between UE and a cell reference location. Timing Advance (TA) related parameters, which contain information for deriving/calculating the common TA for each UL transmission. The common TA related parameters include a network controlled common TA. In addition, the common TA related parameters may include other parameters which are still under RAN1 discussion. TABLE 4.2-2, ¶ 0302-0304, NTN and TN have different characteristics. For example, propagation delay (or round-trip delay) in NTN is longer than the propagation delay (or round-trip delay) in TN. In addition, different NTN platforms could have different characteristics. For example, the propagation delay (or round-trip delay) is shorter in LEO (or NGSO) satellite than in GEO satellite, while the cell coverage is larger in GEO satellite than in LEO (or NGSO) satellite.); and
reporting the plurality of pieces of terminal position-related information to a base station (¶ 0407-0408, UE could be configured by the network to measure multiple beams of a cell to derive the cell quality. A UE could be configured by the network to measure the distance between the UE and a reference location e.g., cell center of a NTN cell. The (NTN) cell may be a serving cell and a neighbor cell. The UE would trigger a measurement report to send the measurement results (of radio condition and location) based on one or more triggering event. In addition, the network may determine whether to trigger a handover for the UE, e.g., based on a measurement report provided by the UE.).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHAWAR IQBAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643