DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al (20250142407).
Regarding claim 1, Huang et al discloses, a terminal (abstract, UE, fig. 1-9) comprising:
a control unit (CPU, fig. 3-4) configured to obtain a plurality of pieces of terminal position-related information using a plurality of reference points that are related to a non-terrestrial network (¶ 0405, 0407, 0478, the CPU 308 could execute program code 312 to: (i) receive information of a first reference location of a cell, (ii) receive assistance information associated with the NTN cell, (iii) derive a second reference location of the cell based on at least the assistance information, and (iv) use the second reference location of the cell to evaluate a location-based measurement event. Moreover, the CPU 308 can execute the program code 312 to perform all of the described actions, steps, and methods described above, below, or otherwise herein.); and
a transmission unit configured to report the plurality of pieces of terminal position-related information to a base station (¶ 0407-0408, UE could be configured by the network to measure multiple beams of a cell to derive the cell quality. UE could be configured by the network to measure the distance between the UE and a reference location e.g., cell center of a NTN cell. The (NTN) cell may be a serving cell and a neighbor cell. The UE would trigger a measurement report to send the measurement results (of radio condition and/or location) based on one or more triggering event. In addition, the network may determine whether to trigger a handover for the UE, e.g., based on a measurement report provided by the UE.).
Regarding claim 2, Huang et al discloses in claim 1, further, Huang et al discloses, wherein the plurality of reference points include a satellite or a flying object (¶ 0304, 0407-0408, 0468, UE could be configured by the network to measure multiple beams of a cell to derive the cell quality. A UE could be configured by the network to measure the distance between the UE and a reference location e.g., cell center of a NTN cell. The (NTN) cell may be a serving cell and a neighbor cell.).
Regarding claim 3, Huang et al discloses in claim 1, further, Huang et al discloses, wherein the plurality of pieces of terminal position-related information include at least any one of a timing advance value between a reference point and the terminal, a round trip delay between a reference point and the terminal, a one-way propagation delay between a reference point and the terminal, and a distance between a reference point and the terminal (¶ 0411-0413, 0423, 0475, The (information of) (or related to) satellite ephemeris may be used by the UE to derive UE specific TA. The (information of) (or related to) satellite ephemeris may be used by the UE to derive distance between UE and a cell reference location. Timing Advance (TA) related parameters, which contain information for deriving/calculating the common TA for each UL transmission. The common TA related parameters include a network controlled common TA. In addition, the common TA related parameters may include other parameters which are still under RAN1 discussion).
Regarding claim 4, Huang et al discloses in claim 1, further, Huang et al discloses, wherein the plurality of pieces of terminal position-related information include at least any one of a difference in timing advance values between the terminal and two reference points, a difference in round trip delays between the terminal and two reference points, a difference in one-way propagation delays between the terminal and two reference points, and a difference in distances between the terminal and two reference points (¶ 0253, 0307, 0411-0413, 0423, 0475, Event L1: Distance between UE and a reference location referenceLocation1 becomes larger than configured threshold1 Thresh1 and distance between UE and a reference location referenceLocation2 becomes shorter than configured threshold Thresh2. The (information of) (or related to) satellite ephemeris may be used by the UE to derive UE specific TA. The (information of) (or related to) satellite ephemeris may be used by the UE to derive distance between UE and a cell reference location. Timing Advance (TA) related parameters, which contain information for deriving/calculating the common TA for each UL transmission. The common TA related parameters include a network controlled common TA. In addition, the common TA related parameters may include other parameters which are still under RAN1 discussion. TABLE 4.2-2, ¶ 0302-0304, NTN and TN have different characteristics. For example, propagation delay (or round-trip delay) in NTN is longer than the propagation delay (or round-trip delay) in TN. In addition, different NTN platforms could have different characteristics. For example, the propagation delay (or round-trip delay) is shorter in LEO (or NGSO) satellite than in GEO satellite, while the cell coverage is larger in GEO satellite than in LEO (or NGSO) satellite.).
Regarding claim 5, Huang et al discloses in claim 1, further, Huang et al discloses, a terminal comprising:
a control unit configured to obtain terminal position information by GNSS and convert the terminal position information, by adding an offset to the terminal position information or by inputting the terminal position information into a function (¶ 0405, 0407, 0478, the CPU 308 could execute program code 312 to: (i) receive information of a first reference location of a cell, (ii) receive assistance information associated with the GNSS cell, (iii) derive a second reference location of the cell based on at least the assistance information, and (iv) use the second reference location of the cell to evaluate a location-based measurement event. Moreover, the CPU 308 can execute the program code 312 to perform all of the described actions, steps, and methods described above, below, or otherwise herein.); and
a transmission unit configured to report the converted terminal position information to a base station (¶ 0407-0408, UE could be configured by the network to measure multiple beams of a cell to derive the cell quality. A UE could be configured by the network to measure the distance between the UE and a reference location e.g., cell center of a NTN cell. The (NTN) cell may be a serving cell and a neighbor cell. The UE would trigger a measurement report to send the measurement results (of radio condition and/or location) based on one or more triggering event. In addition, the network may determine whether to trigger a handover for the UE, e.g., based on a measurement report provided by the UE.).
Regarding claim 6, Huang et al discloses in claim 1, further, Huang et al discloses, a reporting method executed by a terminal, the reporting method comprising:
obtaining a plurality of pieces of terminal position-related information using a plurality of reference points that are related to a non-terrestrial network (¶ 0405, 0407, 0478, the CPU 308 could execute program code 312 to: (i) receive information of a first reference location of a cell, (ii) receive assistance information associated with the cell, (iii) derive a second reference location of the cell based on at least the assistance information, and (iv) use the second reference location of the cell to evaluate a location-based measurement event. Moreover, the CPU 308 can execute the program code 312 to perform all of the described actions, steps, and methods described above, below, or otherwise herein.); and
reporting the plurality of pieces of terminal position-related information to a base station (¶ 0407-0408, UE could be configured by the network to measure multiple beams of a cell to derive the cell quality. A UE could be configured by the network to measure the distance between the UE and a reference location e.g., cell center of a NTN cell. The (NTN) cell may be a serving cell and a neighbor cell. The UE would trigger a measurement report to send the measurement results (of radio condition and location) based on one or more triggering event. In addition, the network may determine whether to trigger a handover for the UE, e.g., based on a measurement report provided by the UE.).
Regarding claim 7, Huang et al discloses in claim 1, further, Huang et al discloses, wherein the plurality of pieces of terminal position-related information include at least any one of a timing advance value between a reference point and the terminal, a round trip delay between a reference point and the terminal, a one-way propagation delay between a reference point and the terminal, and a distance between a reference point and the terminal (¶ 0253, 0307, 0411-0413, 0423, 0475, Event L1: Distance between UE and a reference location referenceLocation1 becomes larger than configured threshold1 Thresh1 and distance between UE and a reference location referenceLocation2 becomes shorter than configured threshold Thresh2. The (information of) (or related to) satellite ephemeris may be used by the UE to derive UE specific TA. The (information of) (or related to) satellite ephemeris may be used by the UE to derive distance between UE and a cell reference location. Timing Advance (TA) related parameters, which contain information for deriving/calculating the common TA for each UL transmission. The common TA related parameters include a network controlled common TA. In addition, the common TA related parameters may include other parameters which are still under RAN1 discussion. TABLE 4.2-2, ¶ 0302-0304, NTN and TN have different characteristics. For example, propagation delay (or round-trip delay) in NTN is longer than the propagation delay (or round-trip delay) in TN. In addition, different NTN platforms could have different characteristics. For example, the propagation delay (or round-trip delay) is shorter in LEO (or NGSO) satellite than in GEO satellite, while the cell coverage is larger in GEO satellite than in LEO (or NGSO) satellite.).
Regarding claim 8, Huang et al discloses in claim 1, further, Huang et al discloses, wherein the plurality of pieces of terminal position-related information include at least any one of a difference in timing advance values between the terminal and two reference points, a difference in round trip delays between the terminal and two reference points, a difference in one-way propagation delays between the terminal and two reference points, and a difference in distances between the terminal and two reference points (¶ 0253, 0307, 0411-0413, 0423, 0475, Event L1: Distance between UE and a reference location referenceLocation1 becomes larger than configured threshold1 Thresh1 and distance between UE and a reference location referenceLocation2 becomes shorter than configured threshold Thresh2. The (information of) (or related to) satellite ephemeris may be used by the UE to derive UE specific TA. The (information of) (or related to) satellite ephemeris may be used by the UE to derive distance between UE and a cell reference location. Timing Advance (TA) related parameters, which contain information for deriving/calculating the common TA for each UL transmission. The common TA related parameters include a network controlled common TA. In addition, the common TA related parameters may include other parameters which are still under RAN1 discussion. TABLE 4.2-2, ¶ 0302-0304, NTN and TN have different characteristics. For example, propagation delay (or round-trip delay) in NTN is longer than the propagation delay (or round-trip delay) in TN. In addition, different NTN platforms could have different characteristics. For example, the propagation delay (or round-trip delay) is shorter in LEO (or NGSO) satellite than in GEO satellite, while the cell coverage is larger in GEO satellite than in LEO (or NGSO) satellite.).
Regarding claim 9, Huang et al discloses in claim 1, further, Huang et al discloses, wherein the plurality of pieces of terminal position-related information include at least any one of a difference in timing advance values between the terminal and two reference points, a difference in round trip delays between the terminal and two reference points, a difference in one-way propagation delays between the terminal and two reference points, and a difference in distances between the terminal and two reference points (¶ 0253, 0307, 0411-0413, 0423, 0475, Event L1: Distance between UE and a reference location referenceLocation1 becomes larger than configured threshold1 Thresh1 and distance between UE and a reference location referenceLocation2 becomes shorter than configured threshold Thresh2. The (information of) (or related to) satellite ephemeris may be used by the UE to derive UE specific TA. The (information of) (or related to) satellite ephemeris may be used by the UE to derive distance between UE and a cell reference location. Timing Advance (TA) related parameters, which contain information for deriving/calculating the common TA for each UL transmission. The common TA related parameters include a network controlled common TA. In addition, the common TA related parameters may include other parameters which are still under RAN1 discussion. TABLE 4.2-2, ¶ 0302-0304, NTN and TN have different characteristics. For example, propagation delay (or round-trip delay) in NTN is longer than the propagation delay (or round-trip delay) in TN. In addition, different NTN platforms could have different characteristics. For example, the propagation delay (or round-trip delay) is shorter in LEO (or NGSO) satellite than in GEO satellite, while the cell coverage is larger in GEO satellite than in LEO (or NGSO) satellite.).
Conclusion
/KHAWAR IQBAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643