DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/27/2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 07/21/2026 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1, 3, 5-9, 11, 13-16, and 19-21 remain pending in the application. No new matter has been added and the current Office Action is made FINAL as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Applicant’s amendments to the specification have overcome each and every objection in the specification previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3, 5-9, 11, 13-16, and 19-21 in a reply filed 07/21/2026 (hereinafter, Remarks) have been considered but the arguments are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1:
The applicant respectfully argues that “First, Jang does not disclose the claimed "sensing measurement exchange starting report identifier" and the claimed "number of a sensing measurement exchange."... At most, Jang's FIG. 18 discloses a conventional request/response handshake between a sensing initiator and a sensing responder. However, Jang does not disclose that the request frame (e.g., the "SENS Request" or "sensing setup request frame") includes either (1) a "sensing measurement exchange starting report identifier" that indicates a start sensing measurement exchange requiring the feedback of the sensing measurement result, or (2) a "number of a sensing measurement exchange" that indicates a number of a sensing measurement exchange subsequent to the start sensing measurement exchange. The Examiner appears to equate the mere existence of a request/response exchange with the presence of these specific data fields. Such an equivalence is unsupported by Jang” (Remarks Pages 13-14, Emphasis added).
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. JANG discloses a SENS request include at least a setup ID of the STA ([0234] Here, the sensing setup request frame may include at least one of a measurement setup ID, a role of the first STA, or a type of measurement result to be reported by the first STA; [0255] Role information may be indicated through a sensing request frame and/or a sensing response frame... If the role information value is set to 00, this may mean mode index 1; ([0252] a sensing initiator (first identifier) attempts to set up sensing for multiple sensing sessions while one frame is exchanged, a different measurement setup ID may be included in the user information field for each STA). JANG further discloses a number of a sensing measurement exchange (Fig. 18a, (1) SENS Request (a SENS request being exchanged to SEN STA2); [0214] A sensing group refers to a group consisting of one or more sensing STAs that perform sensing measurements and feedback to each other). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art the (1) SENS Request showed in Fig. 18a of JANG includes at least a sensing measurement starting report identifier (e.g., a sensing initiator exchanging a (1) SENS request including at least one of the measurement setup ID).
The applicant further contends “Second, Jang's "measurement setup ID" does not correspond to the identifier structure recited in amended claim 1... At most, paragraphs [0234] and [0251] of Jang discloses a "measurement setup ID" used during the setup phase to negotiate parameters for a sensing session. However, Jang's measurement setup ID is fundamentally different from the claimed "first identifier" and "second identifiers" in the trigger frame. In Jang, the measurement setup ID serves as an identifier for a sensing session establishment and is used to negotiate roles and parameters before any sensing measurement takes place. Jang does not disclose a trigger frame that carries a starting report identifier and a number to indicate the sensing measurement exchanges for feedback. Further, Jang's paragraph [0252] merely indicates that different STAs may have different setup IDs. It does not teach that a trigger frame includes identifiers specifying the "sensing measurement exchange starting report identifier" and the "number of a sensing measurement exchange". Therefore, Jang's "measurement setup ID" does not correspond to, and does not disclose, the claimed identifier structure recited in amended claim 1.” (Remarks Pages 15, Emphasis added).
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The claimed language only states the trigger frame comprises information wherein “ the information comprises:
at least one first identifier in one-to-one correspondence with the at least one sensing measurement process, and a plurality of second identifiers of the plurality of sensing measurement exchanges, wherein at least one of the second identifiers corresponds to one of the at least one first identifier;” recited in the amended claim 1 with no limitations of which phase of the sensing session must the sensing measurement exchange starting report identifier is exchanged. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art the SENS Request showed in Fig. 18a of JANG includes at least a sensing measurement starting report identifier and the number of sensing measurement exchange (e.g., a sensing initiator exchanging a (1) SENS request including at least one of the measurement setup ID according to [0234]; [0255] ; [0252];).
Therefore, JANG discloses:
wherein the information (Fig. 18 – SENS Request; [0078] For example, the association request frame may include information related to various capabilities, a beacon listen interval, a service set identifier (SSID), supported rates, supported channels, RSN, mobility domain, supported operating classes, Traffic Indication Map Broadcast request (TIM broadcast request), interworking service capability, etc; [0229] sensing responders must transmit an appropriate response frame for the role requested by sensing STA 1 and/or parameters related to sensing measurement, etc.) comprises:
at least one first identifier ([0234] Here, the sensing setup request frame may include at least one of a measurement setup ID, a role of the first STA, or a type of measurement result to be reported by the first STA; [0255] Role information may be indicated through a sensing request frame and/or a sensing response frame... If the role information value is set to 00, this may mean mode index 1) in one-to-one correspondence with the at least one sensing measurement process (Fig. 18 – SEN STA1, SEN STA2; Fig. 16 – one sensing session; [0214] In the negotiation phase, negotiation may be performed regarding the STA's role related to sensing and the parameters to be used during sensing. The negotiated role of each STA and the parameters can be used in the sensing session before dissolution; [0215] The role of the STA may be defined as a sensing initiator, sensing responder, sensing transmitter, and sensing receiver. Here, the sensing transmitter refers to the STA that transmits the PDDU used for sensing measurement in the sensing session. A sensing receiver refers to an STA that receives a PPDU from a sensing transmitter and performs sensing measurement), and
a plurality of second identifiers of the plurality of sensing measurement exchanges (Fig. 16 – Measurement during a sensing session, Feedback during a sensing session; [0234] Here, the sensing setup request frame may include at least one of a measurement setup ID, a role of the first STA, or a type of measurement result to be reported by the first STA; [0251] the measurement setup ID is identification information between STAs forming a sensing session, and each STA may perform a sensing measurement operation during the sensing session using parameters negotiated (through the setup process) based on the setup ID; [0252] a sensing initiator attempts to set up sensing for multiple sensing sessions while one frame is exchanged, a different measurement setup ID may be included in the user information field for each STA), wherein at least one of the second identifiers corresponds to one of the at least one first identifier ([0252] a sensing initiator (first identifier) attempts to set up sensing for multiple sensing sessions while one frame is exchanged, a different measurement setup ID may be included in the user information field for each STA); and
the at least one of the second identifiers corresponding to the one of the at least one first identifier ([0252] a sensing initiator (first identifier) attempts to set up sensing for multiple sensing sessions while one frame is exchanged, a different measurement setup ID may be included in the user information field for each STA) comprises:
a sensing measurement exchange starting report identifier (Fig. 18, SEN STA1; ([0252] a sensing initiator) and a number (Fig. 18a, (1) SENS Request) of a sensing measurement exchange ([0214] A sensing group refers to a group consisting of one or more sensing STAs that perform sensing measurements and feedback to each other),
wherein the sensing measurement exchange starting report identifier indicates a start sensing measurement exchange (Fig. 18, SEN STA1, SENS Request) requiring the feedback of the sensing measurement result (Fig. 18 – SEN STA2; SENS Response; [0214] perform sensing measurements and feedback to each other), and the number of the sensing measurement exchange (Fig. 18a, (1) SENS Request) indicates a number of a sensing measurement exchange subsequent to the start sensing measurement exchange (Fig. 18a, (1) SENS Response).
Thus, the applicant arguments are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claims 9 and 19, the applicant submits the same arguments as presented in claim 1. Thus, examiner applies the same reasoning as presented in claim 1. Similarly, examiner applies the same reasoning for their dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-9, 11, 13-16, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by JANG et al. (US 20250133430 A1, hereinafter, JANG).
Regarding claim 1, JANG discloses:
A communication method (Fig. 16; [0210] FIG. 16 shows an example of a wireless LAN sensing procedure applicable to the present disclosure. The wireless LAN sensing procedure may consist of a setup phase (or capability advertisement and negotiation), negotiation phase, sensing phase, and tear down phase), performed by a sensing initiator ([0212] For example, a sensing initiator (e.g., AP) that initiates a wireless LAN sensing procedure may receive capabilities related to sensing from one or more sensing responders), comprising:
determining a trigger frame (Fig. 18 – SEN STA1, SENS Request; [0212] a sensing initiator (e.g., AP) that initiates a wireless LAN sensing procedure; [0226] when sensing STA 1 (or sensing initiator) transmits a sensing request frame; [0199] The HE beamformer that starts the HE TB sounding sequence may transmit a HE NDP announcement frame that includes two or more STA information fields and an RA field set as a broadcast address. The HE beamformer may initiate a HE TB sounding sequence to request MU feedback across the entire bandwidth),
wherein the trigger frame comprises information (Fig. 18 – SENS Request; [0078] For example, the association request frame may include information related to various capabilities, a beacon listen interval, a service set identifier (SSID), supported rates, supported channels, RSN, mobility domain, supported operating classes, Traffic Indication Map Broadcast request (TIM broadcast request), interworking service capability, etc; [0229] sensing responders must transmit an appropriate response frame for the role requested by sensing STA 1 and/or parameters related to sensing measurement, etc.) of a plurality of sensing measurement exchanges requiring feedback of a sensing measurement result ([0232] The first STA may transmit a sensing setup request frame including at least one sensing measurement parameter (i.e., first sensing measurement parameter) to the second STA (S1910); [0234] Here, the sensing setup request frame may include at least one of a measurement setup ID, a role of the first STA, or a type of measurement result to be reported by the first STA; [0240] the first STA may determine that all or part of at least one sensing measurement parameter requested by the second STA is not acceptable. The first STA may transmit a second sensing measurement parameter (e.g., its preferred sensing measurement parameter) to the second STA instead of the sensing measurement parameter determined to be unacceptable), and
the plurality of sensing measurement exchanges correspond to at least one sensing measurement process ([0214] In the negotiation phase, negotiation may be performed regarding the STA's role related to sensing and the parameters to be used during sensing.... In the negotiation phase, a sensing group may be formed. A sensing group refers to a group consisting of one or more sensing STAs that perform sensing measurements and feedback to each other; [0210] The wireless LAN sensing procedure may consist of a setup phase (or capability advertisement and negotiation), negotiation phase, sensing phase, and tear down phase);
sending the trigger frame (Fig. 18 – SEN STA1, SENS Request; [0212] a sensing initiator (e.g., AP) that initiates a wireless LAN sensing procedure; [0226] when sensing STA 1 (or sensing initiator) transmits a sensing request frame; [0199];);
wherein the information (Fig. 18 – SENS Request; [0078] For example, the association request frame may include information related to various capabilities, a beacon listen interval, a service set identifier (SSID), supported rates, supported channels, RSN, mobility domain, supported operating classes, Traffic Indication Map Broadcast request (TIM broadcast request), interworking service capability, etc; [0229] sensing responders must transmit an appropriate response frame for the role requested by sensing STA 1 and/or parameters related to sensing measurement, etc.) comprises:
at least one first identifier [0234] Here, the sensing setup request frame may include at least one of a measurement setup ID, a role of the first STA, or a type of measurement result to be reported by the first STA; [0255] Role information may be indicated through a sensing request frame and/or a sensing response frame... If the role information value is set to 00, this may mean mode index 1) in one-to-one correspondence with the at least one sensing measurement process (Fig. 18 – SEN STA1, SEN STA2; Fig. 16 – one sensing session; [0214] In the negotiation phase, negotiation may be performed regarding the STA's role related to sensing and the parameters to be used during sensing. The negotiated role of each STA and the parameters can be used in the sensing session before dissolution; [0215] The role of the STA may be defined as a sensing initiator, sensing responder, sensing transmitter, and sensing receiver. Here, the sensing transmitter refers to the STA that transmits the PDDU used for sensing measurement in the sensing session. A sensing receiver refers to an STA that receives a PPDU from a sensing transmitter and performs sensing measurement), and
a plurality of second identifiers of the plurality of sensing measurement exchanges (Fig. 16 – Measurement during a sensing session, Feedback during a sensing session; [0234] Here, the sensing setup request frame may include at least one of a measurement setup ID, a role of the first STA, or a type of measurement result to be reported by the first STA; [0251] the measurement setup ID is identification information between STAs forming a sensing session, and each STA may perform a sensing measurement operation during the sensing session using parameters negotiated (through the setup process) based on the setup ID; [0252] a sensing initiator attempts to set up sensing for multiple sensing sessions while one frame is exchanged, a different measurement setup ID may be included in the user information field for each STA), wherein at least one of the second identifiers corresponds to one of the at least one first identifier ([0252] a sensing initiator (first identifier) attempts to set up sensing for multiple sensing sessions while one frame is exchanged, a different measurement setup ID may be included in the user information field for each STA); and
the at least one of the second identifiers corresponding to the one of the at least one first identifier ([0252] a sensing initiator (first identifier) attempts to set up sensing for multiple sensing sessions while one frame is exchanged, a different measurement setup ID may be included in the user information field for each STA) comprises:
a sensing measurement exchange starting report identifier (Fig. 18, SEN STA1; ([0252] a sensing initiator) and a number (Fig. 18a, (1) SENS Request) of a sensing measurement exchange ([0214] A sensing group refers to a group consisting of one or more sensing STAs that perform sensing measurements and feedback to each other),
wherein the sensing measurement exchange starting report identifier indicates a start sensing measurement exchange (Fig. 18, SEN STA1, SENS Request) requiring the feedback of the sensing measurement result (Fig. 18 – SEN STA2; SENS Response; [0214] perform sensing measurements and feedback to each other), and
the number of the sensing measurement exchange (Fig. 18a, (1) SENS Request) indicates a number of a sensing measurement exchange subsequent to the start sensing measurement exchange (Fig. 18a, (1) SENS Response).
Regarding claim 3, JANG further discloses:
wherein the plurality of second identifiers (Fig. 16 – Measurement during a sensing session, Feedback during a sensing session; [0234] Here, the sensing setup request frame may include at least one of a measurement setup ID, a role of the first STA, or a type of measurement result to be reported by the first STA; [0251] the measurement setup ID is identification information between STAs forming a sensing session, and each STA may perform a sensing measurement operation during the sensing session using parameters negotiated (through the setup process) based on the setup ID; [0252] a sensing initiator attempts to set up sensing for multiple sensing sessions while one frame is exchanged, a different measurement setup ID may be included in the user information field for each STA) comprise:
a plurality of sensing measurement exchange report identifiers (different measurement setup ID) in one- to-one correspondence with the sensing measurement exchanges ([0216] In the sensing phase, the sensing STA may transmit a sensing signal to identify the target, and receive and measure the sensing signal that has passed through the target; [0219] Each sensing STA may perform a sensing (measurement) operation (e.g., a channel measurement operation or/and a feedback operation) through multiple TXOPs during a sensing session; [0252] a sensing initiator attempts to set up sensing for multiple sensing sessions while one frame is exchanged, a different measurement setup ID may be included in the user information field for each STA (each measurement set up ID is different for each STA; hence the one-to-one correspondence)).
Regarding claim 5, JANG further discloses:
wherein the initiator is an access point (AP) (Fig. 2; [0212] For example, a sensing initiator (e.g., AP) that initiates a wireless LAN sensing procedure may receive capabilities related to sensing from one or more sensing responders;), and the information further comprises:
identifiers ([0234] Here, the sensing setup request frame may include at least one of a measurement setup ID, a role of the first STA, or a type of measurement result to be reported by the first STA; [0252] a different measurement setup ID may be included in the user information field for each STA;) of one or more sites (Fig. 2;) participating in the at least one sensing measurement process ([0210] The wireless LAN sensing procedure may consist of a setup phase (or capability advertisement and negotiation), negotiation phase, sensing phase, and tear down phase; [0213] Here, the sensing responder refers to an STA participating in a wireless LAN sensing session initiated by the sensing initiator).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, JANG further discloses:
wherein the identifiers ([0234] Here, the sensing setup request frame may include at least one of a measurement setup ID, a role of the first STA, or a type of measurement result to be reported by the first STA; [0252] a different measurement setup ID may be included in the user information field for each STA;) of the one or more sites (Fig. 2; [0213] Here, the sensing responder refers to an STA participating in a wireless LAN sensing session initiated by the sensing initiator) comprise at least one of:
an identifier of a site (Fig. 2; [0252] a different measurement setup ID may be included in the user information field for each STA) that establishes associated communication with the AP ([0219] In describing the present disclosure, an STA capable of performing a sensing operation may be referred to as a sensing STA, and the STA may include an AP or a non-AP STA; [0212] For example, a sensing initiator (e.g., AP) that initiates a wireless LAN sensing procedure (e.g., sensing phase/session) may receive capabilities related to sensing from one or more sensing responders;);
an identifier of a site ([0252] a different measurement setup ID may be included in the user information field for each STA) that does not establish associated communication with the AP ([0219] an STA capable of performing a sensing operation may be referred to as a sensing STA... or a non-AP STA); or
a media access control (MAC) address of the site ([0086] In the example of FIG. 4, when a packet to be transmitted arrives at the MAC of STA3, STA3 may transmit the frame immediately after confirming that the medium is idle as much as DIFS... In the meantime, data to be transmitted may also occur in each of STA1, STA2, and STA5, and each STA waits as long as DIFS when the medium is monitored as idle; [0082] In the wireless LAN system, a basic access mechanism of medium access control (MAC) is a carrier sense multiple access with collision avoidance (CSMA/CA) mechanism... As a result of the sensing, if it is determined that the medium is in an idle state, frame transmission is started through the corresponding medium; [0105] The MAC header includes a Frame Control field... an Address field, and the like).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, JANG further discloses:
wherein the information (Fig. 18; [0232] The first STA may transmit a sensing setup request frame including at least one sensing measurement parameter (i.e., first sensing measurement parameter) to the second STA (S1910); [0234] Here, the sensing setup request frame may include at least one of a measurement setup ID, a role of the first STA, or a type of measurement result to be reported by the first STA; [0078] the association request frame may include information related to various capabilities, a beacon listen interval, a service set identifier (SSID), supported rates, supported channels, RSN, mobility domain, supported operating classes, Traffic Indication Map Broadcast request (TIM broadcast request), interworking service capability, etc;) comprises:
sub-information of a communication resource unit (Fig. 12; [0137] Basically, one user/STA may be allocated to each of a plurality of RUs, and different users/STAs may be allocated to different Rus;) assigned for the feedback of the sensing measurement result of the sensing measurement exchanges ([0189] The trigger frame may allocate resources for transmission of one or more TB PPDUs and request transmission of TB PPDUs. The trigger frame may also include other information required by the STA, which transmits the TB PPDU in response).
Regarding claim 8, JANG further discloses:
wherein the trigger frame (Fig. 18 – SEN STA1, SENS Request; [0212] a sensing initiator (e.g., AP) that initiates a wireless LAN sensing procedure; [0226] when sensing STA 1 (or sensing initiator) transmits a sensing request frame; [0199];) corresponds to a delayed feedback operation ([0082] In the wireless LAN system, a basic access mechanism of medium access control (MAC) is a carrier sense multiple access with collision avoidance (CSMA/CA) mechanism. The CSMA/CA mechanism is also called Distributed Coordination Function (DCF) of IEEE 802.11 MAC, and basically adopts a “listen before talk” access mechanism. According to this type of access mechanism, the AP and/or STA may perform Clear Channel Assessment (CCA) sensing a radio channel or medium during a predetermined time interval (e.g., DCF Inter-Frame Space (DIFS)), prior to starting transmission. As a result of the sensing, if it is determined that the medium is in an idle state, frame transmission is started through the corresponding medium. On the other hand, if it is detected that the medium is occupied or busy, the corresponding AP and/or STA does not start its own transmission and may set a delay period for medium access (e.g., a random backoff period) and attempt frame transmission after waiting. By applying the random backoff period, since it is expected that several STAs attempt frame transmission after waiting for different periods of time, collision may be minimized), and the communication method further comprises:
determining, during a sensing measurement session establishment process, the initiator supports the delayed feedback operation ([0082] As a result of the sensing, if it is determined that the medium is in an idle state, frame transmission is started through the corresponding medium. On the other hand, if it is detected that the medium is occupied or busy, the corresponding AP and/or STA does not start its own transmission and may set a delay period for medium access (e.g., a random backoff period) and attempt frame transmission after waiting. By applying the random backoff period, since it is expected that several STAs attempt frame transmission after waiting for different periods of time, collision may be minimized).
Regarding claim 9, JANG discloses:
A communication method (Fig. 16; [0210] FIG. 16 shows an example of a wireless LAN sensing procedure applicable to the present disclosure. The wireless LAN sensing procedure may consist of a setup phase (or capability advertisement and negotiation), negotiation phase, sensing phase, and tear down phase), performed by a sensing responder (Fig. 18 – SEN STA2;[0212] For example, a sensing initiator (e.g., AP) that initiates a wireless LAN sensing procedure may receive capabilities related to sensing from one or more sensing responders), comprising:
receiving a trigger frame (Fig. 18 – SEN STA1, SENS Request; [0212] a sensing initiator (e.g., AP) that initiates a wireless LAN sensing procedure; [0226] when sensing STA 1 (or sensing initiator) transmits a sensing request frame; [0199] The HE beamformer that starts the HE TB sounding sequence may transmit a HE NDP announcement frame that includes two or more STA information fields and an RA field set as a broadcast address. The HE beamformer may initiate a HE TB sounding sequence to request MU feedback across the entire bandwidth),
wherein the trigger frame comprises information (Fig. 18 – SENS Request; [0078] For example, the association request frame may include information related to various capabilities, a beacon listen interval, a service set identifier (SSID), supported rates, supported channels, RSN, mobility domain, supported operating classes, Traffic Indication Map Broadcast request (TIM broadcast request), interworking service capability, etc; [0229] sensing responders must transmit an appropriate response frame for the role requested by sensing STA 1 and/or parameters related to sensing measurement, etc.) of a plurality of sensing measurement exchanges requiring feedback of a sensing measurement result ([0232] The first STA may transmit a sensing setup request frame including at least one sensing measurement parameter (i.e., first sensing measurement parameter) to the second STA (S1910); [0234] Here, the sensing setup request frame may include at least one of a measurement setup ID, a role of the first STA, or a type of measurement result to be reported by the first STA; [0240] the first STA may determine that all or part of at least one sensing measurement parameter requested by the second STA is not acceptable. The first STA may transmit a second sensing measurement parameter (e.g., its preferred sensing measurement parameter) to the second STA instead of the sensing measurement parameter determined to be unacceptable), and
the plurality of sensing measurement exchanges correspond to at least one sensing measurement process ([0214] In the negotiation phase, negotiation may be performed regarding the STA's role related to sensing and the parameters to be used during sensing.... In the negotiation phase, a sensing group may be formed. A sensing group refers to a group consisting of one or more sensing STAs that perform sensing measurements and feedback to each other; [0210] The wireless LAN sensing procedure may consist of a setup phase (or capability advertisement and negotiation), negotiation phase, sensing phase, and tear down phase); and
performing, based on the trigger frame, the feedback (Fig. 18 – SEN STA2, SENS Response; [0212] a sensing initiator (e.g., AP) that initiates a wireless LAN sensing procedure; [0226] when sensing STA 1 (or sensing initiator) transmits a sensing request frame; [0199];) of the sensing measurement result of the plurality of sensing measurement exchanges ([0212] For example, a sensing initiator (e.g., AP) that initiates a wireless LAN sensing procedure may receive capabilities related to sensing from one or more sensing responders; [0234] the sensing setup request frame may include at least one of a measurement setup ID, a role of the first STA, or a type of measurement result to be reported by the first STA; [0251] the measurement setup ID is identification information between STAs forming a sensing session, and each STA may perform a sensing measurement operation during the sensing session using parameters negotiated (through the setup process) based on the setup ID; [0252] a sensing initiator attempts to set up sensing for multiple sensing sessions while one frame is exchanged, a different measurement setup ID may be included in the user information field for each STA));
wherein the information (Fig. 18 – SENS Request; [0078] For example, the association request frame may include information related to various capabilities, a beacon listen interval, a service set identifier (SSID), supported rates, supported channels, RSN, mobility domain, supported operating classes, Traffic Indication Map Broadcast request (TIM broadcast request), interworking service capability, etc; [0229] sensing responders must transmit an appropriate response frame for the role requested by sensing STA 1 and/or parameters related to sensing measurement, etc.) comprises:
at least one first identifier [0234] Here, the sensing setup request frame may include at least one of a measurement setup ID, a role of the first STA, or a type of measurement result to be reported by the first STA; [0255] Role information may be indicated through a sensing request frame and/or a sensing response frame... If the role information value is set to 00, this may mean mode index 1) in one-to-one correspondence with the at least one sensing measurement process (Fig. 18 – SEN STA1, SEN STA2; Fig. 16 – one sensing session; [0214] In the negotiation phase, negotiation may be performed regarding the STA's role related to sensing and the parameters to be used during sensing. The negotiated role of each STA and the parameters can be used in the sensing session before dissolution; [0215] The role of the STA may be defined as a sensing initiator, sensing responder, sensing transmitter, and sensing receiver. Here, the sensing transmitter refers to the STA that transmits the PDDU used for sensing measurement in the sensing session. A sensing receiver refers to an STA that receives a PPDU from a sensing transmitter and performs sensing measurement), and
a plurality of second identifiers of the plurality of sensing measurement exchanges (Fig. 16 – Measurement during a sensing session, Feedback during a sensing session; [0234] Here, the sensing setup request frame may include at least one of a measurement setup ID, a role of the first STA, or a type of measurement result to be reported by the first STA; [0251] the measurement setup ID is identification information between STAs forming a sensing session, and each STA may perform a sensing measurement operation during the sensing session using parameters negotiated (through the setup process) based on the setup ID; [0252] a sensing initiator attempts to set up sensing for multiple sensing sessions while one frame is exchanged, a different measurement setup ID may be included in the user information field for each STA), wherein at least one of the second identifiers corresponds to one of the at least one first identifier ([0252] a sensing initiator (first identifier) attempts to set up sensing for multiple sensing sessions while one frame is exchanged, a different measurement setup ID may be included in the user information field for each STA); and
the at least one of the second identifiers corresponding to the one of the at least one first identifier ([0252] a sensing initiator (first identifier) attempts to set up sensing for multiple sensing sessions while one frame is exchanged, a different measurement setup ID may be included in the user information field for each STA) comprises:
a sensing measurement exchange starting report identifier (Fig. 18, SEN STA1; ([0252] a sensing initiator) and a number (Fig. 18a, (1) SENS Request) of a sensing measurement exchange ([0214] A sensing group refers to a group consisting of one or more sensing STAs that perform sensing measurements and feedback to each other),
wherein the sensing measurement exchange starting report identifier indicates a start sensing measurement exchange (Fig. 18, SEN STA1, SENS Request) requiring the feedback of the sensing measurement result (Fig. 18 – SEN STA2; SENS Response; [0214] perform sensing measurements and feedback to each other), and
the number of the sensing measurement exchange (Fig. 18a, (1) SENS Request) indicates a number of a sensing measurement exchange subsequent to the start sensing measurement exchange (Fig. 18a, (1) SENS Response).
Regarding claim 11, JANG further discloses:
wherein the plurality of second identifiers (Fig. 16 – Measurement during a sensing session, Feedback during a sensing session; [0234] Here, the sensing setup request frame may include at least one of a measurement setup ID, a role of the first STA, or a type of measurement result to be reported by the first STA; [0251] the measurement setup ID is identification information between STAs forming a sensing session, and each STA may perform a sensing measurement operation during the sensing session using parameters negotiated (through the setup process) based on the setup ID; [0252] a sensing initiator attempts to set up sensing for multiple sensing sessions while one frame is exchanged, a different measurement setup ID may be included in the user information field for each STA) comprise:
a plurality of sensing measurement exchange report identifiers (different measurement setup ID), wherein the sensing measurement exchange report identifiers are in one-to- one correspondence with the sensing measurement exchanges ([0216] In the sensing phase, the sensing STA may transmit a sensing signal to identify the target, and receive and measure the sensing signal that has passed through the target; [0219] Each sensing STA may perform a sensing (measurement) operation (e.g., a channel measurement operation or/and a feedback operation) through multiple TXOPs during a sensing session; [0252] a sensing initiator attempts to set up sensing for multiple sensing sessions while one frame is exchanged, a different measurement setup ID may be included in the user information field for each STA (each measurement set up ID is different for each STA; hence the one-to-one correspondence)) .
Regarding claim 13, JANG further discloses:
wherein the trigger frame is received from an access point (AP) (Fig. 2; Fig. 18 – SEN STA1, SENS Request; [0212] For example, a sensing initiator (e.g., AP) that initiates a wireless LAN sensing procedure may receive capabilities related to sensing from one or more sensing responders; [0226] when sensing STA 1 (or sensing initiator) transmits a sensing request frame;), and the information comprises:
identifiers ([0234] Here, the sensing setup request frame may include at least one of a measurement setup ID, a role of the first STA, or a type of measurement result to be reported by the first STA; [0252] a different measurement setup ID may be included in the user information field for each STA;) participating in the at least one sensing measurement process ([0210] The wireless LAN sensing procedure may consist of a setup phase (or capability advertisement and negotiation), negotiation phase, sensing phase, and tear down phase; [0213] Here, the sensing responder refers to an STA participating in a wireless LAN sensing session initiated by the sensing initiator) .
Regarding claim 16, JANG further discloses:
wherein the trigger frame (Fig. 2; Fig. 18 – SEN STA1, SENS Request; [0212] For example, a sensing initiator (e.g., AP) that initiates a wireless LAN sensing procedure may receive capabilities related to sensing from one or more sensing responders; [0226] when sensing STA 1 (or sensing initiator) transmits a sensing request frame;) corresponds to a delayed feedback operation ([0082] In the wireless LAN system, a basic access mechanism of medium access control (MAC) is a carrier sense multiple access with collision avoidance (CSMA/CA) mechanism. The CSMA/CA mechanism is also called Distributed Coordination Function (DCF) of IEEE 802.11 MAC, and basically adopts a “listen before talk” access mechanism. According to this type of access mechanism, the AP and/or STA may perform Clear Channel Assessment (CCA) sensing a radio channel or medium during a predetermined time interval (e.g., DCF Inter-Frame Space (DIFS)), prior to starting transmission. As a result of the sensing, if it is determined that the medium is in an idle state, frame transmission is started through the corresponding medium. On the other hand, if it is detected that the medium is occupied or busy, the corresponding AP and/or STA does not start its own transmission and may set a delay period for medium access (e.g., a random backoff period) and attempt frame transmission after waiting. By applying the random backoff period, since it is expected that several STAs attempt frame transmission after waiting for different periods of time, collision may be minimized), and the communication method further comprises:
determining, during a sensing measurement session establishment process, the responder supports the delayed feedback operation ([0082] As a result of the sensing, if it is determined that the medium is in an idle state, frame transmission is started through the corresponding medium. On the other hand, if it is detected that the medium is occupied or busy, the corresponding AP and/or STA does not start its own transmission and may set a delay period for medium access (e.g., a random backoff period) and attempt frame transmission after waiting. By applying the random backoff period, since it is expected that several STAs attempt frame transmission after waiting for different periods of time, collision may be minimized).
Regarding claim 19, JANG discloses:
An electronic device (Fig. 1 – 100 first device), comprising:
a processor (Fig. 1 – 102 processor(s)); and
a memory (Fig. 1 – 104 memory(s)) storing a computer program executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured ([0048] a memory 104 may store a software code including instructions for performing all or part of processes controlled by a processor 102 or for performing description, functions, procedures, proposals, methods and/or operation flow charts disclosed in the present disclosure) to:
determine a trigger frame (Fig. 18 – SEN STA1, SENS Request; [0212] a sensing initiator (e.g., AP) that initiates a wireless LAN sensing procedure; [0226] when sensing STA 1 (or sensing initiator) transmits a sensing request frame; [0199] The HE beamformer that starts the HE TB sounding sequence may transmit a HE NDP announcement frame that includes two or more STA information fields and an RA field set as a broadcast address. The HE beamformer may initiate a HE TB sounding sequence to request MU feedback across the entire bandwidth),
wherein the trigger frame comprises information (Fig. 18 – SENS Request; [0078] For example, the association request frame may include information related to various capabilities, a beacon listen interval, a service set identifier (SSID), supported rates, supported channels, RSN, mobility domain, supported operating classes, Traffic Indication Map Broadcast request (TIM broadcast request), interworking service capability, etc; [0229] sensing responders must transmit an appropriate response frame for the role requested by sensing STA 1 and/or parameters related to sensing measurement, etc.) of a plurality of sensing measurement exchanges requiring feedback of a sensing measurement result (Fig. 18; [0229] sensing responders must transmit an appropriate response frame for the role requested by sensing STA 1 and/or parameters related to sensing measurement, etc. [0232] The first STA may transmit a sensing setup request frame including at least one sensing measurement parameter (i.e., first sensing measurement parameter) to the second STA (S1910); [0234] Here, the sensing setup request frame may include at least one of a measurement setup ID, a role of the first STA, or a type of measurement result to be reported by the first STA; [0240] the first STA may determine that all or part of at least one sensing measurement parameter requested by the second STA is not acceptable. The first STA may transmit a second sensing measurement parameter (e.g., its preferred sensing measurement parameter) to the second STA instead of the sensing measurement parameter determined to be unacceptable), and
the plurality of sensing measurement exchanges correspond to at least one sensing measurement process ([0214] In the negotiation phase, negotiation may be performed regarding the STA's role related to sensing and the parameters to be used during sensing.... In the negotiation phase, a sensing group may be formed. A sensing group refers to a group consisting of one or more sensing STAs that perform sensing measurements and feedback to each other; [0210] The wireless LAN sensing procedure may consist of a setup phase (or capability advertisement and negotiation), negotiation phase, sensing phase, and tear down phase); and
send the trigger frame (Fig. 18 – SEN STA1, SENS Request; [0212] a sensing initiator (e.g., AP) that initiates a wireless LAN sensing procedure; [0226] when sensing STA 1 (or sensing initiator) transmits a sensing request frame; [0199];);
wherein the information (Fig. 18 – SENS Request; [0078] For example, the association request frame may include information related to various capabilities, a beacon listen interval, a service set identifier (SSID), supported rates, supported channels, RSN, mobility domain, supported operating classes, Traffic Indication Map Broadcast request (TIM broadcast request), interworking service capability, etc; [0229] sensing responders must transmit an appropriate response frame for the role requested by sensing STA 1 and/or parameters related to sensing measurement, etc.) comprises:
at least one first identifier [0234] Here, the sensing setup request frame may include at least one of a measurement setup ID, a role of the first STA, or a type of measurement result to be reported by the first STA; [0255] Role information may be indicated through a sensing request frame and/or a sensing response frame... If the role information value is set to 00, this may mean mode index 1) in one-to-one correspondence with the at least one sensing measurement process (Fig. 18 – SEN STA1, SEN STA2; Fig. 16 – one sensing session; [0214] In the negotiation phase, negotiation may be performed regarding the STA's role related to sensing and the parameters to be used during sensing. The negotiated role of each STA and the parameters can be used in the sensing session before dissolution; [0215] The role of the STA may be defined as a sensing initiator, sensing responder, sensing transmitter, and sensing receiver. Here, the sensing transmitter refers to the STA that transmits the PDDU used for sensing measurement in the sensing session. A sensing receiver refers to an STA that receives a PPDU from a sensing transmitter and performs sensing measurement), and
a plurality of second identifiers of the plurality of sensing measurement exchanges (Fig. 16 – Measurement during a sensing session, Feedback during a sensing session; [0234] Here, the sensing setup request frame may include at least one of a measurement setup ID, a role of the first STA, or a type of measurement result to be reported by the first STA; [0251] the measurement setup ID is identification information between STAs forming a sensing session, and each STA may perform a sensing measurement operation during the sensing session using parameters negotiated (through the setup process) based on the setup ID; [0252] a sensing initiator attempts to set up sensing for multiple sensing sessions while one frame is exchanged, a different measurement setup ID may be included in the user information field for each STA), wherein at least one of the second identifiers corresponds to one of the at least one first identifier ([0252] a sensing initiator (first identifier) attempts to set up sensing for multiple sensing sessions while one frame is exchanged, a different measurement setup ID may be included in the user information field for each STA); and
the at least one of the second identifiers corresponding to the one of the at least one first identifier ([0252] a sensing initiator (first identifier) attempts to set up sensing for multiple sensing sessions while one frame is exchanged, a different measurement setup ID may be included in the user information field for each STA) comprises:
a sensing measurement exchange starting report identifier (Fig. 18, SEN STA1; ([0252] a sensing initiator) and a number (Fig. 18a, (1) SENS Request) of a sensing measurement exchange ([0214] A sensing group refers to a group consisting of one or more sensing STAs that perform sensing measurements and feedback to each other),
wherein the sensing measurement exchange starting report identifier indicates a start sensing measurement exchange (Fig. 18, SEN STA1, SENS Request) requiring the feedback of the sensing measurement result (Fig. 18 – SEN STA2; SENS Response; [0214] perform sensing measurements and feedback to each other), and
the number of the sensing measurement exchange (Fig. 18a, (1) SENS Request) indicates a number of a sensing measurement exchange subsequent to the start sensing measurement exchange (Fig. 18a, (1) SENS Response).
Regarding claim 20, JANG further discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Fig. 1 – 104 memory(s); [0286] A memory optionally includes one or more storage devices positioned remotely from processor(s). A memory or alternatively, nonvolatile memory device(s) in a memory include a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium), wherein the computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program, and the computer program, when executed by a processor (Fig. 1 – 102 processor(s)), causes the processor to perform the communication method according ([0048] a memory 104 may store a software code including instructions for performing all or part of processes controlled by a processor 102 or for performing description, functions, procedures, proposals, methods and/or operation flow charts disclosed in the present disclosure) to claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, JANG further discloses:
An electronic device (Fig. 1 – 200 second device), comprising:
a processor (Fig. 1 – 202 processor(s)); and
a memory (Fig. 1 – 204 memory(s)) storing a computer program executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to perform the communication method according ([0049] a memory 204 may store a software code including instructions for performing all or part of processes controlled by a processor 202 or for performing description, functions, procedures, proposals, methods and/or operation flow charts disclosed in the present disclosure) to claim 9.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THERESA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418