DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 06/04/2024.
The Claims 1-5 have been canceled by the applicant.
The Claims 6-24 have been newly added by the applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 8-10, 17 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (WIPO. Pub. WO2020032643) in view of Niu et al. (U.S. Pub. 20240032022).
Regarding claim 6 Park disclose, a method by a terminal, the method comprising:
receiving, by the terminal from a base station, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, wherein the RRC message comprises a first configuration Information Element (IE) or a second configuration IE para. 10, “receiving a signal by a user equipment (UE) configured to operate in a first system in a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode. Receiving from the configuration information for a particular channel of the second system from”;
establishing, by the terminal, a first gap based on the first configuration IE in case that the first configuration IE is comprised in the RRC message para. 209, “The terminal may receive gap setting information related to the search space (or monitoring of the search space) from the base station… the gap (or gap period) of the present invention may be set based on the gap setting information received from the base station”; and
performing, by the terminal, an uplink operation for the first gap para. 130, “The terminal transmits the related signal to the base station through the uplink channel, and the base station receives the related signal from the terminal through the uplink channel”,
performs Msg 3 transmission, wherein the first gap starts at a specific slot that is determined based on: a specific subframe that is determined based on the first configuration IE para. 60, “uplink transmission including an RRC connection request message on an uplink shared channel according to radio resource allocation information included in the response information (also referred to as message 3 or Msg3)”; and
a configuration parameter related to uplink downlink configuration para. 60, “Receiving the specific channel in the second system based on the configuration information in an RRC idle mode; and performing a random access procedure in the first system or the second system in response to the received specific channel”.
Park does not specifically disclose, wherein, for the uplink operation for the first gap, the terminal during the first gap: does not perform Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) transmission. However, Niu teach, “determining that the signal indicated by the first scheduling information is an SRS, and dropping the SRS and performing the BPS transmission during the first uplink gap slot based on a determination that the relative priority prioritizes performing the BPS transmission over transmitting the SRS” see para. 60.
Park and Niu are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to communication configuration parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Niu in the system of Park to enable the system to prevent interference while retuning the working frequencies. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure that high-priority control signaling or data transmissions do not get corrupted.
Regarding claim 8 Park disclose, wherein the first gap consists of a one or more uplink slots para. 209, “the present invention is applied to the NR system, the gap of the present invention may be set in units of slots”.
Regarding claim 9 Park disclose, wherein number of the one or more uplink slots of the first gap is determined based on: the parameter related to length of the first gap para. 99, “the gap information may indicate the number of slots corresponding to the set gap (or gap period)”; and
a subcarrier spacing of serving cell para. 99, “the number of slots in the subframe depends on the subcarrier spacing (SCS)”.
Regarding claim 10 Park disclose, wherein the parameter related to length of the first gap indicates a length in millisecond para. 99, “In NR, uplink and downlink transmission are composed of frames. The radio frame has a length of 10ms”.
Regarding claim 17 Park does not specifically disclose, wherein: the terminal performs the uplink operation for the first gap for a first set of serving cells; and the first set of serving cells comprises serving cell on Frequency Region 2 (FR2). However, Niu teach, para. 34, “Due to unavoidable hardware sharing, various identified FR2 enhancements may rely on and benefit from a periodic uplink (UL) gap, during which time the UE can perform calibration and measurement”.
Park and Niu are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to communication configuration parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Niu in the system of Park to enable the system to prevent interference while retuning the working frequencies. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure that high-priority control signaling or data transmissions do not get corrupted.
Claim(s) 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (WIPO. Pub. WO2020032643) in view of Niu et al. (U.S. Pub. 20240032022), further in view of Si et al. (U.S. Pub. 20230038050).
Regarding claim 7 Park and Niu does not specifically disclose, wherein the first configuration IE comprises: a parameter related to offset of the first gap. However, Si teach, “The first measurement gap configuration information and the second measurement gap configuration information each may further include a gap offset”, see para. 57.
Si further teach a parameter related to length of the first gap para. 54, “a gap length (measurement gap length)”; and
a parameter related to repetition period of the first gap para. 55, “a gap repetition period (gap period)”.
Park, Niu and Si are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to communication configuration parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Si in the system of Park and Niu to enable the system can perform based on the specific parameters being configured. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce interference and data loss during transmissions.
Regarding claim 14 Park and Niu does not specifically disclose, wherein, for the uplink operation for the first gap, the terminal performs SRS transmission outside of the first gap. However, Si teach, para. 447, “sending the SRS for positioning only in the DRX non-active time, or sending the SRS for positioning in both the DRX non-active time and the DRX active time”.
Park, Niu and Si are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to communication configuration parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Si in the system of Park and Niu to enable the system can perform based on the specific parameters being configured. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce interference and data loss during transmissions.
Claim(s) 13, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (WIPO. Pub. WO2020032643) in view of Niu et al. (U.S. Pub. 20240032022), further in view of Yeo et al. (U.S. Pub. 20210392028).
Regarding claim 13 Park and Niu does not specifically disclose, the specific subframe is determined by modulo operation based on the parameter related to offset of the first gap. However, Yeo teach, “the terminal attempts radio link quality measurement for neighboring cells in a radio frame and a subframe satisfying the following condition A… Subframe = “measurement offset” mod N”, see para. 241.
Park, Niu and Yeo are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to communication configuration parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yeo in the system of Park and Niu to enable the system accurately select the appropriated resources to use. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the scheduling of the available resources.
Regarding claim 15 Park and Niu does not specifically disclose, wherein, for the uplink operation for the first gap, the terminal: performs Hybrid Automatic Retransmission Request (HARQ) feedback transmission outside of the first gap and does not perform HARQ feedback transmission during the first gap. However, Yeo teach, para. 125, “in an LTE system operated by frequency division duplex (FDD), the HARQ ACK/NACK corresponding to the PDSCH transmitted in an n−4-th subframe or the PDCCH/EPDCCH including the SPS release is transmitted to the PUCCH or the PUSCH in an n-th subframe”.
Park, Niu and Yeo are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to communication configuration parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yeo in the system of Park and Niu to enable the system accurately select the appropriated resources to use. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the scheduling of the available resources.
Regarding claim 16 Park and Niu does not specifically disclose, wherein, for the uplink operation for the first gap, the terminal: performs Channel State Information (CSI) transmission outside of the first gap; and does not perform CSI transmission during the first gap. However, Yeo teach, para. 125, “In the case of FIG. 2T, it is illustrated that the mapping in the partial subframe 2t-01 of the CSI-RS 2t-03 does not overlap with the measurement gap 2t-02”.
Park, Niu and Yeo are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to communication configuration parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yeo in the system of Park and Niu to enable the system to prevent interference or handle limited processing and capabilities at the terminal. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the power consumption.
Claim(s) 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (WIPO. Pub. WO2020032643) in view of Niu et al. (U.S. Pub. 20240032022), further in view of Niu et al. (U.S. Pub. 20240215014), hereafter “Niu014”.
Regarding claim 18 Park and Niu does not specifically disclose, wherein: the terminal performs the uplink operation for the first gap for a second set of serving cells; and the second set of serving cells comprises serving cell on FR1. However, Niu014 teach, para. 16, “the UL gap configuration also indicates the support of a per-FR gap, where FR1 data transmission still continues during the UL gap”.
Park, Niu and Niu014 are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to communication configuration parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Niu014 in the system of Park and Niu so the system can suspend uplink transmissions on specific Frequency Region 1. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce the frequency interference.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-12 and 19-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. 20210289465) which disclose(s) method and apparatus for transmitting and receiving signal in wireless communication system.
/R.R/ Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471