DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office action in response to applicants’ amendment and remarks filed on 01/09/2026. Claims 1, 15, and 28 have been amended, and Claims 16 and 30 have been canceled. Therefore, Claims 1-15 and 17-29 are currently pending and have been considered as follows.
Response to Arguments
In view of the amendment to Claims 15 and 28, applicants’ arguments on page 8 of the remarks filed 01/09/2026 regarding the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection of Claims 15, 18-23, and 25-28 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection of Claims 15, 18-23, and 25-28 is withdrawn.
Applicants’ arguments on pages 8-10 of the remarks filed 01/09/2026 regarding Küchler et al. (US 20190074930 A1) have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. Applicants argue regarding Claim 1 that Küchler does not disclose “embed[ing] first information for generating a secure sequence of a ranging message in a payload section of the ranging message” and “generate the secure sequence based at least in part on the first information”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As written in the non-final rejection mailed 11/05/2025, Küchler discloses “providing the security-sequence-counter-value, or an encrypted copy of the security-sequence-counter-value, in the data-payload-portion 208” [0071] which teaches applicants’ embedding first information in a payload section. The “security-sequence-counter-value (seed value)” (Küchler [0069]; [0070]) is equivalent to applicants’ “first information” for generating “a secure sequence” which is equivalent to “a secure training sequence (STS)” (Küchler [0067]; [0069]). Further, Küchler discloses “the secure training sequence (STS) of the frame 200 is a cryptographically secure pseudo random number that… may be generated using known encryption methodology… a correlator that generates the reference value, or expected STS, based on an encryption key and a security-sequence-counter-value (seed value)” [0069] and “The receiving transceiver must know the current security-sequence-counter-value (seed value) in order to determine the expected security-sequence to compare with the received security-sequence” [0070]. The STS sequences are derived from a cryptographic algorithm used with seed values Küchler [0068]; [0069]. As illustrated in Küchler FIG. 2, the transmitted frame 200 used for ranging comprises at least a security-sequence-portion 206 that provides the STS [0067] and a data-payload-portion 208 that provides “the security-sequence-counter-value, or an encrypted copy of the security-sequence-counter-value” (seed value) used for generating the STS [0070]; [0071].
For at least these reasons, the Examiner maintains that Küchler does teach all of the features of independent Claims 1, 13, 15, and 28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 10, 12, 13, 15, 17-22, 25, and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Küchler et al. (US 20190074930 A1, hereinafter Küchler).
As to Amended Claim 1:
Küchler discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a first wireless device (e.g. Küchler computer or machine [0108]; “To ensure that the ranging is performed in a secure way, for example to prevent Cicada attacks, a target pattern in each transmitted frame may be generated as a security-sequence, or secure training sequence (STS), using a Cryptographically Secure Pseudo Random Number Generator (CSPRNG). Security is achieved by ensuring that the sequence is only known by the sender and the intended recipients” [0065]), comprising:
at least one memory (e.g. Küchler storage medium [0109]); and
at least one processor (e.g. Küchler processor [0108]) coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information (e.g. Küchler instructions stored [0109]) stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor is configured to:
embed first information (e.g. Küchler “a security-sequence-counter-value (seed value)” [0069]) for generating a secure sequence (e.g. secure training sequence (STS), reference value [0069]) of a ranging message in a payload section of the ranging message (e.g. Küchler “The data-payload-portion 208 can be used to notify the recipient which STS has been used or which STS sequences are going to be used next. This may be achieved by providing the security-sequence-counter-value, or an encrypted copy of the security-sequence-counter-value, in the data-payload-portion 208” [0071] of frame 200 used for ranging data between a tag and an anchor [0066]);
generate the secure sequence based at least in part on the first information (e.g. Küchler “the secure training sequence (STS) of the frame 200 is a cryptographically secure pseudo random number that may be provided by a cryptographically secure pseudo random number generator (CSPRNG) of the transmitter. The cryptographically secure pseudo random number may be generated using known encryption methodology… a correlator that generates the reference value, or expected STS, based on an encryption key and a security-sequence-counter-value (seed value)” [0069]); and
transmit the ranging message including the secure sequence and the payload section for a second wireless device (e.g. Küchler “The data-payload-portion 208 can be used to notify the recipient which STS has been used or which STS sequences are going to be used next. This may be achieved by providing the security-sequence-counter-value, or an encrypted copy of the security-sequence-counter-value, in the data-payload-portion 208. A receiver can then use this information to determine which STS is going to be sent next, and perform ranging at the next opportunity” [0071]; “a target pattern in each transmitted frame may be generated as a security-sequence, or secure training sequence (STS), using a Cryptographically Secure Pseudo Random Number Generator (CSPRNG). Security is achieved by ensuring that the sequence is only known by the sender and the intended recipients” [0065]; [0068]).
As to Claim 2:
Küchler discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first information corresponds to a portion of an input parameter for generating the secure sequence (e.g. Küchler “generates the reference value, or expected STS, based on an encryption key and a security-sequence-counter-value (seed value)” [0069]).
As to Claim 3:
Küchler discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the input parameter includes a plaintext (e.g. Küchler “generates the reference value, or expected STS, based on an encryption key and a security-sequence-counter-value (seed value)” [0069]; “providing the security-sequence-counter-value… in the data-payload-portion 208” [0071]) or a key associated with an Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) encryption.
As to Claim 4:
Küchler discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first information identifies a portion of a synchronization (SYNC) field of the ranging message (e.g. Küchler “The frame 200 comprises sequential data structures including a synchronization-symbol-portion 202, a start-frame-delimiter (SFD) 204, a security-sequence-portion 206 and a data-payload-portion 208… The synchronization-symbol-portion 202 may contain a plurality of repeating, predetermined synchronization symbols. The synchronization-symbol-portion 202 and subsequent start-frame-delimiter 204 provide a synchronization header (SHR) 211 in a conventional manner” [0067]).
As to Claim 5:
Küchler discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first information identifies a portion of a start of frame delimiter (SFD) field of the ranging message (e.g. Küchler FIG. 2 SFD 204; “The synchronization-symbol-portion 202 and subsequent start-frame-delimiter 204 provide a synchronization header (SHR) 211 in a conventional manner. The synchronization header 211 and subsequent secure training sequence (STS) may be considered to provide a secure preamble 212 that can be used to identify the frame and perform ranging” [0067]).
As to Claim 6:
Küchler discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first wireless device and the second wireless device includes an anchor device, a tag device, or both (e.g. Küchler “The frame 200 may be used for ranging or transmitting data between a tag and an anchor” [0066]).
As to Claim 10:
Küchler discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the ranging message is associated with an ultra-wideband (UWB) ranging session (e.g. Küchler “Impulse Radio—Ultra-WideBand systems for ranging applications” [0001]; “the receiver device and transmitter device are Impulse Radio—Ultra-WideBand, IR-UWB, devices” [0026]; [0070]).
As to Claim 12:
Küchler discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein a portion of the secure sequence, a reduced size secure subsequence, or smaller repetitions of the secure sequence is transmitted in the ranging message, further comprising at least one of a transceiver or an antenna coupled to the at least one processor (e.g. Küchler “The processing module may be configured to include, for each frame comprising a known security-sequence, at least part of the known security-sequence-portion in the carrier recovery process” [0007]; “The at least one transmitter device 101 and the at least one receiver device 102 each comprise a respective antenna 104, 105 for signal communication” [0057]).
As to Claim 13:
Küchler discloses a method of wireless communication at a first wireless device (e.g. Küchler “method comprises receiving a signal comprising one or more frames, each frame comprising a synchronization-symbol-portion, a security-sequence-portion, and a data-payload-portion” [Abstract]; at least one transmitter device [0057]), comprising:
embedding first information (e.g. Küchler “a security-sequence-counter-value (seed value)” [0069]) for generating a secure sequence (e.g. secure training sequence (STS), reference value [0069]) of a ranging message in a payload section of the ranging message (e.g. Küchler “The data-payload-portion 208 can be used to notify the recipient which STS has been used or which STS sequences are going to be used next. This may be achieved by providing the security-sequence-counter-value, or an encrypted copy of the security-sequence-counter-value, in the data-payload-portion 208” [0071] of frame 200 used for ranging data between a tag and an anchor [0066]);
generating the secure sequence based at least in part on the first information (e.g. Küchler “the secure training sequence (STS) of the frame 200 is a cryptographically secure pseudo random number that may be provided by a cryptographically secure pseudo random number generator (CSPRNG) of the transmitter. The cryptographically secure pseudo random number may be generated using known encryption methodology… a correlator that generates the reference value, or expected STS, based on an encryption key and a security-sequence-counter-value (seed value)” [0069]); and
transmitting the ranging message including the secure sequence and the payload section for a second wireless device (e.g. Küchler “The data-payload-portion 208 can be used to notify the recipient which STS has been used or which STS sequences are going to be used next. This may be achieved by providing the security-sequence-counter-value, or an encrypted copy of the security-sequence-counter-value, in the data-payload-portion 208. A receiver can then use this information to determine which STS is going to be sent next, and perform ranging at the next opportunity” [0071]; “a target pattern in each transmitted frame may be generated as a security-sequence, or secure training sequence (STS), using a Cryptographically Secure Pseudo Random Number Generator (CSPRNG). Security is achieved by ensuring that the sequence is only known by the sender and the intended recipients” [0065]; [0068]).
As to Amended Claim 15:
Küchler discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a second wireless device (e.g. Küchler “at least one receiver device” [0057]; computer or machine [0108]; “To ensure that the ranging is performed in a secure way, for example to prevent Cicada attacks, a target pattern in each transmitted frame may be generated as a security-sequence, or secure training sequence (STS), using a Cryptographically Secure Pseudo Random Number Generator (CSPRNG). Security is achieved by ensuring that the sequence is only known by the sender and the intended recipients” [0065]), comprising:
at least one memory (e.g. Küchler storage medium [0109]); and
at least one processor (e.g. Küchler processor [0108]) coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information (e.g. Küchler instructions stored [0109]) stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor is configured to:
receive a ranging message from a first wireless device that includes a first secure sequence and a payload section (e.g. Küchler receiving ranging frame 200 from transmitter [0067] which includes secure training sequence (STS) in “The data-payload-portion 208 can be used to notify the recipient which STS has been used or which STS sequences are going to be used next. This may be achieved by providing the security-sequence-counter-value, or an encrypted copy of the security-sequence-counter-value, in the data-payload-portion 208” [0071] of frame 200 used for ranging data between a tag and an anchor [0066]; FIG. 2);
generate a second secure sequence based on first information embedded in the payload section of the ranging message (e.g. Küchler “the secure training sequence (STS) of the frame 200 is a cryptographically secure pseudo random number that may be provided by a cryptographically secure pseudo random number generator (CSPRNG) of the transmitter. The cryptographically secure pseudo random number may be generated using known encryption methodology. Use of the STS enables the receiver to verify the authenticity of the transmitter by comparing the STS that is received with a reference pattern. The comparison may be performed by a correlator that generates the reference value, or expected STS, based on an encryption key and a security-sequence-counter-value (seed value)” [0069]; “The receiving transceiver must know the current security-sequence-counter-value (seed value) in order to determine the expected security-sequence to compare with the received security-sequence” [0070]); and
verify the ranging message based on whether the first secure sequence correlates the second secure sequence (e.g. Küchler “Use of the STS enables the receiver to verify the authenticity of the transmitter by comparing the STS that is received with a reference pattern. The comparison may be performed by a correlator that generates the reference value, or expected STS, based on an encryption key and a security-sequence-counter-value (seed value)” [0069]; “The receiving transceiver must know the current security-sequence-counter-value (seed value) in order to determine the expected security-sequence to compare with the received security-sequence” [0070]).
As to Claim 17:
Küchler discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
buffer the first secure sequence prior to generating the second secure sequence (e.g. Küchler since the second expected security-sequence is generated after receiving and reading the frame security-sequence-portion STS and data-payload-portion [0067]; [0069], the first received STS sequence is stored/buffered in order to be able to perform the later comparison [0069]; “The data-payload-portion 208 can be used to notify the recipient which STS has been used” [0071]); and
decode the payload section for the first information upon buffering the first secure sequence (e.g. Küchler decrypting the encrypted copy of the security-sequence-counter-value in the data-payload-portion upon storing the received first STS sequence for later comparison [0069]; [0071]).
As to Claim 18:
Küchler discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the first information corresponds to a portion of an input parameter for generating the second secure sequence (e.g. Küchler “generates the reference value, or expected STS, based on an encryption key and a security-sequence-counter-value (seed value)” [0069]; “The receiving transceiver must know the current security-sequence-counter-value (seed value) in order to determine the expected security-sequence to compare with the received security-sequence” [0070]; [0071]).
As to Claim 19:
Küchler discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the input parameter includes a plaintext (e.g. Küchler “generates the reference value, or expected STS, based on an encryption key and a security-sequence-counter-value (seed value)” [0069]; “providing the security-sequence-counter-value… in the data-payload-portion 208” [0071]) or a key associated with an Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) encryption.
As to Claim 20:
Küchler discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the first information identifies a portion of a synchronization (SYNC) field of the ranging message (e.g. Küchler “The frame 200 comprises sequential data structures including a synchronization-symbol-portion 202, a start-frame-delimiter (SFD) 204, a security-sequence-portion 206 and a data-payload-portion 208… The synchronization-symbol-portion 202 may contain a plurality of repeating, predetermined synchronization symbols. The synchronization-symbol-portion 202 and subsequent start-frame-delimiter 204 provide a synchronization header (SHR) 211 in a conventional manner” [0067]).
As to Claim 21:
Küchler discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the first information identifies a portion of a start of frame delimiter (SFD) field of the ranging message (e.g. Küchler FIG. 2 SFD 204; “The synchronization-symbol-portion 202 and subsequent start-frame-delimiter 204 provide a synchronization header (SHR) 211 in a conventional manner. The synchronization header 211 and subsequent secure training sequence (STS) may be considered to provide a secure preamble 212 that can be used to identify the frame and perform ranging” [0067]).
As to Claim 22:
Küchler discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the first wireless device and the second wireless device includes an anchor device, a tag device, or both (e.g. Küchler “The frame 200 may be used for ranging or transmitting data between a tag and an anchor” [0066]).
As to Claim 25:
Küchler discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the ranging message is associated with an ultra-wideband (UWB) ranging session (e.g. Küchler “Impulse Radio—Ultra-WideBand systems for ranging applications” [0001]; “the receiver device and transmitter device are Impulse Radio—Ultra-WideBand, IR-UWB, devices” [0026]; [0070]).
As to Claim 27:
Küchler discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein a portion of the first secure sequence, a reduced size secure subsequence, or smaller repetitions of the secure sequence is transmitted in the ranging message, further comprising at least one of a transceiver or an antenna coupled to the at least one processor (e.g. Küchler “The processing module may be configured to include, for each frame comprising a known security-sequence, at least part of the known security-sequence-portion in the carrier recovery process” [0007]; “The at least one transmitter device 101 and the at least one receiver device 102 each comprise a respective antenna 104, 105 for signal communication” [0057]).
As to Amended Claim 28:
Küchler discloses a method of wireless communication at a second wireless device (e.g. Küchler “a receiver device and associated method and apparatus. The method comprises receiving a signal comprising one or more frames, each frame comprising a synchronization-symbol-portion, a security-sequence-portion, and a data-payload-portion; and processing the signal” [Abstract]), comprising:
receiving a ranging message from a first wireless device that includes a first secure sequence and a payload section (e.g. Küchler receiving ranging frame 200 from transmitter [0067] which includes secure training sequence (STS) in “The data-payload-portion 208 can be used to notify the recipient which STS has been used or which STS sequences are going to be used next. This may be achieved by providing the security-sequence-counter-value, or an encrypted copy of the security-sequence-counter-value, in the data-payload-portion 208” [0071] of frame 200 used for ranging data between a tag and an anchor [0066]; FIG. 2);
generating a second secure sequence based on first information embedded in the payload section of the ranging message (e.g. Küchler “the secure training sequence (STS) of the frame 200 is a cryptographically secure pseudo random number that may be provided by a cryptographically secure pseudo random number generator (CSPRNG) of the transmitter. The cryptographically secure pseudo random number may be generated using known encryption methodology. Use of the STS enables the receiver to verify the authenticity of the transmitter by comparing the STS that is received with a reference pattern. The comparison may be performed by a correlator that generates the reference value, or expected STS, based on an encryption key and a security-sequence-counter-value (seed value)” [0069]; “The receiving transceiver must know the current security-sequence-counter-value (seed value) in order to determine the expected security-sequence to compare with the received security-sequence” [0070]); and
verifying the ranging message based on whether the first secure sequence correlates the second secure sequence (e.g. Küchler “Use of the STS enables the receiver to verify the authenticity of the transmitter by comparing the STS that is received with a reference pattern. The comparison may be performed by a correlator that generates the reference value, or expected STS, based on an encryption key and a security-sequence-counter-value (seed value)” [0069]; “The receiving transceiver must know the current security-sequence-counter-value (seed value) in order to determine the expected security-sequence to compare with the received security-sequence” [0070]).
As to Claim 29:
Küchler discloses the method of claim 28, further comprising:
buffering the first secure sequence prior to generating the second secure sequence (e.g. Küchler since the second expected security-sequence is generated after receiving and reading the frame security-sequence-portion STS and data-payload-portion [0067]; [0069], the first received STS sequence is stored/buffered in order to be able to perform the later comparison [0069]; “The data-payload-portion 208 can be used to notify the recipient which STS has been used” [0071]); and
decoding the payload section for the first information upon buffering the first secure sequence (e.g. Küchler decrypting the encrypted copy of the security-sequence-counter-value in the data-payload-portion upon storing the received first STS sequence for later comparison [0069]; [0071]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Küchler in view of HAN et al. (US 20210014677 A1, hereinafter Han).
As to Claim 7:
Küchler discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but does not specifically disclose:
the ranging message is associated with a first scrambled timestamp sequence (STS) packet configuration or an STS packet configuration one.
However, the analogous art Han does disclose the ranging message is associated with a first scrambled timestamp sequence (STS) packet configuration or an STS packet configuration one (e.g. Han “a method of determining a reception timing of a frame by using a scrambled timestamp sequence (STS)” [0019]; “accuracy of ranging measurement timestamps using a ciphered sequence or a scrambled timestamp sequence (STS) that only two ranging devices know” [0072]). Küchler and Han are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor in performing ranging in ultra-wideband network communications.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Küchler and Han before him or her, to modify the disclosure of Küchler with the teachings of Han to include the ranging message is associated with a first scrambled timestamp sequence (STS) packet configuration or an STS packet configuration one as claimed. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for blocking access of a malicious user by preventing an attack by the malicious user when ranging is performed using an ultra-wideband and increasing accuracy of ranging (Han [0006]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Küchler and Han to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
As to Claim 23:
Küchler discloses the apparatus of claim 15, but does not specifically disclose:
the ranging message is associated with a first scrambled timestamp sequence (STS) packet configuration or an STS packet configuration one.
However, the analogous art Han does disclose the ranging message is associated with a first scrambled timestamp sequence (STS) packet configuration or an STS packet configuration one (e.g. Han “a method of determining a reception timing of a frame by using a scrambled timestamp sequence (STS)” [0019]; “accuracy of ranging measurement timestamps using a ciphered sequence or a scrambled timestamp sequence (STS) that only two ranging devices know” [0072]). Küchler and Han are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor in performing ranging in ultra-wideband network communications.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Küchler and Han before him or her, to modify the disclosure of Küchler with the teachings of Han to include the ranging message is associated with a first scrambled timestamp sequence (STS) packet configuration or an STS packet configuration one as claimed. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for blocking access of a malicious user by preventing an attack by the malicious user when ranging is performed using an ultra-wideband and increasing accuracy of ranging (Han [0006]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Küchler and Han to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claims 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Küchler in view of Li (US 20100107250 A1).
As to Claim 8:
Küchler discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but does not specifically disclose:
detect a spoofing transmission or a spurious transmission, wherein the secure sequence is generated based at least in part on the first information when the spoofing transmission or the spurious transmission is detected.
However, the analogous art Li does disclose detect a spoofing transmission or a spurious transmission, wherein the secure sequence is generated based at least in part on the first information when the spoofing transmission or the spurious transmission is detected (e.g. Li “when no address spoofing attacks occur, no verification messages are generated, and thus reducing signaling interactions and saving network resources; besides, spooling attacks possibly happening at any time are avoided, which effectively prevents address spoofing attacks via random scanning and protects the normal application of the real host” [Abstract]; “Once an ambiguous ARP message is received later, an ARP verification process is started to send an ARP verification request to the IP address carried in the ambiguous ARP message. In this way, when no ambiguous ARP message is received, which means no address spoofing occurs, no additional verification message is generated. Therefore, signaling interactions are reduced and network resources are saved” [0023]). KÜCHLER and Li are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor in network communication security.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Küchler and Li before him or her, to modify the disclosure of Küchler with the teachings of Li to include detect a spoofing transmission or a spurious transmission, wherein the secure sequence is generated based at least in part on the first information when the spoofing transmission or the spurious transmission is detected as claimed. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for reducing signaling interactions and saving network resources (Li [Abstract]; [0023]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Küchler and Li to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
As to Claim 14:
Küchler discloses the method of claim 13, but does not specifically disclose:
detecting a spoofing transmission or a spurious transmission, wherein the secure sequence is generated based at least in part on the first information when the spoofing transmission or the spurious transmission is detected.
However, the analogous art Li does disclose detecting a spoofing transmission or a spurious transmission, wherein the secure sequence is generated based at least in part on the first information when the spoofing transmission or the spurious transmission is detected (e.g. Li “when no address spoofing attacks occur, no verification messages are generated, and thus reducing signaling interactions and saving network resources; besides, spooling attacks possibly happening at any time are avoided, which effectively prevents address spoofing attacks via random scanning and protects the normal application of the real host” [Abstract]; “Once an ambiguous ARP message is received later, an ARP verification process is started to send an ARP verification request to the IP address carried in the ambiguous ARP message. In this way, when no ambiguous ARP message is received, which means no address spoofing occurs, no additional verification message is generated. Therefore, signaling interactions are reduced and network resources are saved” [0023]). KÜCHLER and Li are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor in network communication security.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Küchler and Li before him or her, to modify the disclosure of Küchler with the teachings of Li to include detecting a spoofing transmission or a spurious transmission, wherein the secure sequence is generated based at least in part on the first information when the spoofing transmission or the spurious transmission is detected as claimed. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for reducing signaling interactions and saving network resources (Li [Abstract]; [0023]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Küchler and Li to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claims 9 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Küchler in view of YOON et al. (US 20210173066 A1, hereinafter Yoon).
As to Claim 9:
Küchler discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but does not specifically disclose:
transmit a configuration message for the second wireless device that comprises the first information and an indication to switch to a ranging message format that includes the payload section.
However, the analogous art Yoon does disclose transmit a configuration message for the second wireless device that comprises the first information and an indication to switch to a ranging message format that includes the payload section (e.g. Yoon “An STS packet configuration field may specify an STS packet format to be used in a ranging round subject to the ranging control IE of FIG. 12” [0155]). KÜCHLER and Yoon are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor in performing ranging in ultra-wideband network communications.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Küchler and Yoon before him or her, to modify the disclosure of Küchler with the teachings of Yoon to include transmit a configuration message for the second wireless device that comprises the first information and an indication to switch to a ranging message format that includes the payload section as claimed. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to allow UWB ranging between a first and second device (Yoon [0005]; [0009]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Küchler and Yoon to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
As to Claim 24:
Küchler discloses the apparatus of claim 15, but does not specifically disclose:
receive a configuration message from the first wireless device that comprises the first information and an indication to switch to a ranging message format that includes the payload section.
However, the analogous art Yoon does disclose receive a configuration message from the first wireless device that comprises the first information and an indication to switch to a ranging message format that includes the payload section (e.g. Yoon “An STS packet configuration field may specify an STS packet format to be used in a ranging round subject to the ranging control IE of FIG. 12” [0155]). KÜCHLER and Yoon are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor in performing ranging in ultra-wideband network communications.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Küchler and Yoon before him or her, to modify the disclosure of Küchler with the teachings of Yoon to include receive a configuration message from the first wireless device that comprises the first information and an indication to switch to a ranging message format that includes the payload section as claimed. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to allow UWB ranging between a first and second device (Yoon [0005]; [0009]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Küchler and Yoon to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claims 11 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Küchler in view of YOON et al. (US 20220385333 A1, hereinafter Yoon2).
As to Claim 11:
Küchler discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but does not specifically disclose:
the ranging message is a downlink message or an uplink message.
However, the analogous art Yoon2 does disclose the ranging message is a downlink message or an uplink message (e.g. Yoon2 “Downlink TDOA message (DTM) may mean the UWB message transmitted by anchor devices for downlink TDOA” [0062]; [0069]; “each ranging slot may be defined as a unit time interval during which one downlink TDOA message may be transmitted. The master anchor (which may be, e.g., an initiator anchor) may manage the ranging round and may transmit information about the ranging round to responder anchors through DTMs” [0074]; “anchor device 2 204 through anchor device N 206 may transmit responder downlink TDOA messages (responder DTMs) (hereinafter referred to as ranging response messages (RRMs)) 514 and 516 in their corresponding ranging slots” [0084]). KÜCHLER and Yoon2 are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor in performing ranging in ultra-wideband network communications.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Küchler and Yoon2 before him or her, to modify the disclosure of Küchler with the teachings of Yoon2 to include the ranging message is a downlink message or an uplink message as claimed. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been so that power consumption may be reduced in an electronic device by providing an electronic device that receives TDOA messages and a method for operating the same (Yoon2 [0010]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Küchler and Yoon2 to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
As to Claim 26:
Küchler discloses the apparatus of claim 15, but does not specifically disclose:
the ranging message is a downlink message or an uplink message.
However, the analogous art Yoon2 does disclose the ranging message is a downlink message or an uplink message (e.g. Yoon2 “Downlink TDOA message (DTM) may mean the UWB message transmitted by anchor devices for downlink TDOA” [0062]; [0069]; “each ranging slot may be defined as a unit time interval during which one downlink TDOA message may be transmitted. The master anchor (which may be, e.g., an initiator anchor) may manage the ranging round and may transmit information about the ranging round to responder anchors through DTMs” [0074]; “anchor device 2 204 through anchor device N 206 may transmit responder downlink TDOA messages (responder DTMs) (hereinafter referred to as ranging response messages (RRMs)) 514 and 516 in their corresponding ranging slots” [0084]). KÜCHLER and Yoon2 are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor in performing ranging in ultra-wideband network communications.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Küchler and Yoon2 before him or her, to modify the disclosure of Küchler with the teachings of Yoon2 to include the ranging message is a downlink message or an uplink message as claimed. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been so that power consumption may be reduced in an electronic device by providing an electronic device that receives TDOA messages and a method for operating the same (Yoon2 [0010]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Küchler and Yoon2 to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants’ disclosure.
Lindskog et al. (US 20190036739 A1)
YONG et al. (US 20200003890 A1)
Budhathoki et al. (US 20210084492 A1)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KENNETH W CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2438
02.12.2026