DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borenstein (Patent No.: US 11869262 B1) and further in view of Ariel (Pub. No.: US 2002/0157058 A1).
With respect to claim 1:
Borenstein discloses a method of transmitting semantic data by a transmitting device in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: transmitting a first semantic message including the semantic data to a receiving device (fig. 1, item 102 is a camera that capture an image which includes a semantic data before being transmitted); and transmitting a second semantic message including first redundancy data related to the semantic data to the receiving device based on a result included in the first semantic feedback not matching a result intended by the transmitting device through the first semantic message (fig. 5, text 65-67).
Borenstein does not explicitly disclose receiving first semantic feedback for the first semantic message from the receiving device;
Ariel discloses receiving first semantic feedback for the first semantic message from the receiving device (fig. 7, with feedback 90 received from receiving device 58);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Ariel into the teaching of Borenstein in order to provide adaptive error correction and concealment in a data stream transferred over said channel.
With respect to claim 2:
Borenstein discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving second semantic feedback for the second semantic message from the receiving device (fig. 5, item 510 discloses a second semantic message which initiates the feedback as in text 60-67).
With respect to claim 3:
Ariel discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting a new semantic message including new semantic data based on a result included in the first semantic feedback matching a result intended by the transmitting device through the first semantic message (parag. 0139).
With respect to claim 4:
Ariel discloses the method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the second semantic message including the first redundancy data related to the semantic data to the receiving device includes: generating a plurality of redundancy data related to the semantic data in predetermined units; and selecting redundancy data with a highest similarity to the semantic data included in the first semantic message from among the plurality of redundancy data as the first redundancy data (parag. 0137).
With respect to claim 5:
Borenstein discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising: receiving a configuration for semantic communication, wherein the configuration includes the predetermined units (text 18).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borenstein (Patent No.: US 11869262 B1), Ariel (Pub. No.: US 2002/0157058 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Rawal (Pub. No.: US 2021/0064676 A1).
With respect to claim 6:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated; Borenstein and Ariel do not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration includes information about a similarity function for calculation of a similarity.
Rawal discloses configuration includes information about a similarity function for calculation of a similarity (parag. 0068).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Rawal into the teaching of Borenstein in view of Ariel in order to generate metrics that describe occurrence of events.
Claims 7, 10, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borenstein (Patent No.: US 11869262 B1), Ariel (Pub. No.: US 2002/0157058 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Colachis (Pub. No.: US 2021/0382554 A1).
With respect to claim 7:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated; Borenstein and Ariel do not explicitly disclose a transmitting device for transmitting semantic data in a wireless communication system, the transmitting device comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor; and at least one computer memory operably connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions.
Colachis discloses a transmitting device for transmitting semantic data in a wireless communication system, the transmitting device comprising: at least one transceiver (abstract, parag. 0026); at least one processor (parag. 0008); and at least one computer memory operably connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions (parag. 0008 discloses a memory).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Colachis into the teaching of Borenstein in view of Ariel in order to secure radio frequency (RF) channels for covert communications.
With respect to claim 10:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated; Borenstein and Ariel do not explicitly disclose receiving device comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor; and at least one computer memory operably connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions;
Colachis discloses at least one transceiver (abstract, parag. 0026); at least one processor (parag. 0008); and at least one computer memory operably connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions (parag. 0008 discloses a memory).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Colachis into the teaching of Borenstein in view of Ariel in order to secure radio frequency (RF) channels for covert communications.
With respect to claim 11:
Borenstein discloses the method receiving device of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprise comprising: receiving a second semantic message including first redundancy data related to the semantic data; performing a task related to the semantic data based on the semantic data and the first redundancy data; and transmitting second semantic feedback including the result of the task performed based on the semantic data and the first redundancy data to the transmitting device (fig. 5, text 65-67).
Conclusion
/AJIBOLA A AKINYEMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649