DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a device wall" in Line 13. It is not clear if the wall device is a new one or the same already recited in Line 1. For examination purposes, the Examiner will assume that it is the same wall device.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ferderer et al. (DE 102020101812A1). Regarding Claim 1, Ferderer discloses an add-on housing (1) for fastening to a device wall (10) of an electrical device, the add-on housing, comprising: a frame-shaped basic shape (2) that encloses a receiving region (3), wherein the receiving region is configured to receive a contact insert or a retaining frame equipped with plug connector modules (Abstract), wherein at least two fastening surfaces (5) are integrally formed on an outside of the frame-shaped basic shape, wherein a respective depression (Fig. 4) is formed inside each respective fastening surface and a respective fastening opening (6) is arranged in each depression, and wherein the add-on housing has snap-fastening devices (9) configured to engage through the fastening openings to mechanically fasten the add-on housing to a wall orifice (Fig. 4) of the device wall.
Regarding Claim 2, Ferderer discloses a material thickness in a region (Fig. 4) of the depressions being smaller than in a region (Fig. 4) of the remainder of each respective fastening surface.
Regarding Claim 3, Ferderer discloses the snap-fastening devices having end stops (above 15) which bear against an outside of the device wall when the add-on housing is installed.
Regarding Claim 4, Ferderer discloses the snap-fastening devices having foot parts (11) supported on an inside of the device wall when the add-on housing is installed.
Regarding Claim 5, Ferderer discloses a seal (15) being arranged between the end stops and the device wall when the add-on housing is installed.
Regarding Claim 6, Ferderer discloses a method for fastening an add-on housing (1) to a wall aperture of a device wall (10), the method comprising: pushing the add-on housing outward from an inside of a peripherally closed device housing through the wall aperture, provided for this purpose, wherein the add-on housing has fastening openings (6) which are aligned with corresponding fastening openings in the device wall; and inserting snap-fastening devices (9) with a box-shaped basic body and with laterally projecting opposite spring-mounted foot parts (11) into the aligned fastening openings of the add-on housing and the device wall, wherein the foot parts, when inserted into the fastening openings, are first pressed into the box-shaped basic body and are then supported on the device wall.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art discloses electrical devices, similar to Applicant’s claimed invention, having add-on housings with fastening surfaces and snap devices.
/EDWIN A. LEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831