DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “unit” in claims 11-18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11-13 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Yano et al (US 20190082160 A1).
RE claim 1, Yano teaches An image fusion method (abstract, Fig 2, [0004]), comprising:
acquiring a plurality of candidate images of a photographed object for the same photographing background (Figs 2, 7, [0004], [0072]);
performing image segmentation on the candidate images to obtain object images of the photographed object and background images of the photographing background in the candidate images (Fig 2, [0004], [0072]);
performing background fusion processing on the background images to obtain a fused background image (Fig 30, [0196]-[0197]);
performing object fusion processing on the object images and the fused background image to obtain a target image (Fig 30, [0198]-[0199]).
RE claim 2, Yano teaches wherein performing background fusion processing on the background images to obtain a fused background image comprises: determining a fused area of the background images; performing the background fusion processing on the background images based on the fused area to obtain the fused background image (Fig 30, [0113], [0196]-[0197]).
RE claim 3, Yano teaches wherein determining a fused area of the background images comprises: determining that the object images corresponding to the background images is mapped to object areas in the background images; performing regional fusion processing on the object areas to obtain a non-fused area; determining the fused area of the background images based on the non-fused area (Figs 6, 9-10, 30, [0126]-[0129], [0196]-[0197]);.
Claims 11-13 recite limitations similar in scope with limitations of claims 1-3 and therefore rejected under the same rationale. In addition Yano teaches An image fusion apparatus, wherein comprising: an acquisition unit; a segmentation unit; a first fusion unit; a second fusion unit configured to perform corresponding method steps (Figs 1, 2, 30, [0243]).
RE claim 19, Yano teaches A computer device, wherein, comprising a memory and a processor; the memory storing a computer program, and the processor configured to run the computer program in the memory to perform the image fusion method according to claim 1 (Fig 1, [0243]).
RE claim 20, Yano teaches A non-volatile computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program, and the computer program is applied for being loaded by a processor to perform the image fusion method according to claim 1 ([0243]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yano et al , and further in view of Zhang et al (US 20140115531 A1).
RE claim 4, Yano is silent RE: wherein performing the background fusion processing on the background images based on the fused area to obtain the fused background image comprises: obtaining transparency of the fused area; based on the transparency of the fused area, superimposing the background images to obtain the fused background image.
However Zhang teaches in Figs 2, 4-5, abstract, [0025]-[0026] in order to provide a realistic rendering of overlapped objects.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Yano a system and method wherein performing the background fusion processing on the background images based on the fused area to obtain the fused background image comprises: obtaining transparency of the fused area; based on the transparency of the fused area, superimposing the background images to obtain the fused background image, as suggested by Zhang, in order to provide a realistic rendering of overlapped objects/portions of the background/target and thereby increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
Claim 14 recites limitations similar in scope with limitations of claim 4 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 5-10, 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yano et al, and further in view of Zadeh et al (US 20180204111 A1).
RE claim 5, Yano teaches wherein performing object fusion processing on the object images and the fused background image to obtain a target image comprises: selecting a target object image from the object images; performing image fusion processing on the target object image and the fused background image to obtain the target image (Yano Fig 30, abstract, [0085]-[0089] , [0198]-[0199]).
Yano is silent RE: obtaining sharpness values of the object images; based on the sharpness values of the object images selecting the target object image.
However Zadeh teaches in Figs 125-126, [0737], [2093], [2382]-[2383], [2754]-[2755], [2816], [2029], [1880] etc in order to select/detect/segment a target object/face analyzing a scene objects based on sharpness/crispness value.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Yano a system and method obtaining sharpness values of the object images; based on the sharpness values of the object images selecting the target object image, as suggested by Zadeh, in order to select/detect/segment a target object/face analyzing a scene objects based on sharpness/crispness value and thereby increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
RE claim 6, Yano as modified by Zadeh teaches wherein obtaining sharpness values of the object images comprises: performing edge detection on an object in the object image to obtain a pixel value of each pixel point on an edge of the object in the object image; performing fusion processing on the pixel values of the respective pixel points on the edge of the object to obtain a fused pixel value; determining the fused pixel value as the sharpness value of the object image (Zadeh Figs 125-126, [1846], [2382]-[2383], [2754]-[2755], [1880], [1899], [2210] etc. In addition Yano [0088], [0102], ).
RE claim 7, Yano as modified by Zadeh teaches wherein performing fusion processing on the pixel values of the respective pixel points on the edge of the object to obtain a fused pixel value comprises: adding the pixel values of the respective pixel points on the edge of the object in the object image to obtain the fused pixel value (Zadeh Figs 125-126, [1846], [2382]-[2383], [2754]-[2755], [1880], [1899], [2210] etc. In addition Yano [0088], [0102] etc).
RE claim 8, Yano as modified by Zadeh teaches wherein the target object image is the object image with the largest sharpness value (Zadeh Figs 125-126, [0737], [2093], [2382]-[2383], [2754]-[2755], [2816], [2029], [1880] ).
RE claim 9, Yano is silent RE: wherein performing image segmentation on the candidate images to obtain object images of the photographed object and background images of the photographing background in the candidate images comprises: performing the image segmentation on the candidate images using an image segmentation model obtain the object images of the photographed object and the background images of the photographing background in the candidate images.
However Zadeh teaches in [1695], [1845] [2101] etc in order to select/detect/segment a target object/face utilizing neural network.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Yano a system and method wherein performing image segmentation on the candidate images to obtain object images of the photographed object and background images of the photographing background in the candidate images comprises: performing the image segmentation on the candidate images using an image segmentation model obtain the object images of the photographed object and the background images of the photographing background in the candidate images, as suggested by Zadeh, in order to select/detect/segment a target object/face utilizing neural network and thereby increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
RE claim 10, Yano is silent RE, wherein the photographed object is a portrait; performing image segmentation on the candidate images to obtain object images of the photographed object and background images of the photographing background in the candidate images comprises: performing portrait detection on each candidate image; if there is a portrait in the candidate image, performing the image segmentation on the candidate image to obtain the object image of the portrait and the background image of the photographing background in the candidate image.
However Zadeh teaches in [2101], [2104], [2108]-[2112] etc.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Yano a system and method wherein the photographed object is a portrait; performing image segmentation on the candidate images to obtain object images of the photographed object and background images of the photographing background in the candidate images comprises: performing portrait detection on each candidate image; if there is a portrait in the candidate image, performing the image segmentation on the candidate image to obtain the object image of the portrait and the background image of the photographing background in the candidate image, as suggested by Zadeh, in order to detecting interest points, then detecting boundaries or edges and linking them, and then testing the results with a statistical model, to verify to establish the identified object/face and thereby increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
Claims 15-18 recite limitations similar in scope with limitations of claims 5-7 and 10 respectively and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (See attached 892).
/Sultana M Zalalee/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614