Claims 1-10 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on May 18, 2026 have been considered.
With respect to the argument regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection in claim 9, this is persuasive in view of the claim amendment and therefore this rejection is withdrawn.
With respect to the argument regarding claims 1-6, 9, and 10, this argument is not persuasive. Although the publication for which Applicant filed a declaration was published in December 2021, the NPL that was relied upon in the office action appears as published in Korean in February, 2020 which is over a year before the effective filing date of December 21, 2021, therefore, Kim is eligible as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
"a data generation module configured to collect...and generate…"; "a preprocessing module configured to insert..."; and "an adversarial attack generation module configured to receive...and generate…" in claim 1;
“data generation module extracts…extracts…adds…and aggregates…” in claim 2;
“data generation module generates…and includes…” in claim 4;
“preprocessing module inserts…” in claim 6;
“preprocessing module determines…and determines…” in claim 7;
“preprocessing module inserts…inserts…inserts…and inserts…” in claim 8;
“a generator trained to receive………..and generate…”; “an intrusion detection system (IDS) configured to receive…”; and “a discriminator trained to receive……and classify…” in claim 9.
Paragraph [35] provides sufficient structure for claims 1, 2, and 6-9. Paragraphs [35] and [51] provide sufficient structure for claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dowan Kim and Daeseon Choi "Avoiding the Intrusion Detection System GAN-based adversarial for physical attack CAN frame creation method", Journal of the Korea Institute of Information Security &Cryptology, February 2020, (hereinafter referred to as Kim) in view of Zilong Lin, Yong Shi, and Zhi Xue "IDSGAN: Generative Adversarial Networks for Attack Generation against Intrusion Detection", arXiv, 23 April 2021, (hereinafter referred to as Lin).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses: An adversarial attack apparatus (Kim: Examiner's note: Fig. 3 has the same features as Fig. 8 which shows "a configuration of an adversarial attack generation module."), comprising: a data generation module configured to collect a plurality of controller area network (CAN) messages and [generate] a CAN message packet dataset based on the plurality of CAN messages (Kim: Fig. 1, Fig. 2, section 3.1. Section 3.1 states, "The dataset used in this paper uses preliminary data provided in the car hacking attack/defense section of the 2020 Cyber Security Challenge [22]. The form of the data is shown in Fig. Same as 2. Timestamp indicates the time when CAN messages are logged. Arbitration ID is CAN message." Examiner's note: "Fig. Same as 2" is interpreted as "Fig. 2" and Fig. 2 in this article is the same drawing as Fig. 3 which illustrates a "CAN message packet dataset."), but fails to explicitly disclose: generate a CAN message packet dataset based on the plurality of CAN messages.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lin discloses: generate a CAN message packet dataset based on the plurality of CAN messages (Lin: Section 2.3 states that "this generation should retain the attack function of the malicious traffic so that the malicious traffic based on the adversarial records from IDSGAN can be reproduced and launch network attacks in reality.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Kim and include the above limitation with the teaching of Lin because "To prevent the non-convergence and instability of GAN, IDSGAN is proposed based on the structure of Wasserstein GAN."
Kim further discloses: a preprocessing module configured to insert noise into some CAN message packets in the CAN message packet dataset (Kim: The Introduction and Section 3.4 The introduction states that "we extract and modulate some of the pre-processed packet features". Section 3.4 states, "In the features of each attack, noise between 0 and 1 is added to the features that are judged to be unrelated to the attack function and input into the generator." Examiner's note: Fig. 2 is the same as Fig. 3 in the claimed invention and it is described as "a CAN message packet dataset."); and an adversarial attack generation module configured to receive the CAN message packet into which the noise is inserted and generate an adversarial CAN message capable of avoiding an intrusion detection system (IDS) of a vehicle (Kim: The summary states that the authors propose "a hostile CAN frame generation method to avoid IDS and attack real vehicles by adding noise to features to avoid IDS and selecting and packetizing features for physical attacks on actual vehicles.").
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses: The adversarial attack apparatus of claim 1, wherein the data generation module extracts an ID in an arbitration field from the plurality of collected CAN messages, extracts a data length code (DLC) in a control field, extracts data in a data field, adds a timestamp of each CAN message and type information about each CAN message to the extracted information to generate a CAN message packet, and aggregates the generated CAN message packets to constitute the CAN message packet dataset (Kim: Sections 2.1 and 3.1. Section 2.1 states that "ID in the Arbitration Field, DLC in the Control Field, and Data in the Data Field are used." Section 3.1 states, "Timestamp indicates the time when CAN messages are logged. Arbitration ID is CAN message. It is the identification ID of the message, and DLC is the size of data (Bytes means number). Data is the data of the CAN message. It is a loaded field, and Class and Subclass respectively correspond to Whether the CAN message is normal or an attack and whether it corresponds to an attack If so, it indicates what kind of attack it corresponds to." Examiner's note: The specification of the current invention states that "type information may include class information indicating whether the CAN message packet is a normal packet or an attack packet and subclass information indicating whether the CAN message packet is any type of attack among a flooding attack, a fuzzing attack, a relay attack, and a spoofing attack, when the CAN message packet is the attack packet." Kim Fig. 2 represents the generated CAN message packet dataset which shows the timestamp of each message in the dataset.).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses: The adversarial attack apparatus of claim 2, wherein the type information includes class information indicating whether the CAN message packet is a normal packet or an attack packet and subclass information indicating whether the CAN message packet is any type of attack among a flooding attack, a fuzzing attack, a relay attack, and a spoofing attack, when the CAN message packet is the attack packet (Kim: Sections 3.1 and 2.3. Section 3.1 states, "Timestamp indicates the time when CAN messages are logged. Arbitration ID is CAN message. It is the identification ID of the message, and DLC is the size of data (Bytes means number). Data is the data of the CAN message. It is a loaded field, and Class and Subclass respectively correspond to Whether the CAN message is normal or an attack and whether it corresponds to an attack If so, it indicates what kind of attack it corresponds to." Section 2.3 states, "Injection attack scenario for CAN is Flooding Attack, Fuzzing Attack, Replay Attack, Spoofing Ball It consists of four cases [18]. Flooding attacks come first Bulk distribution of highest-ranking CAN packet messages Even if other CAN packet messages do not work, It is an attack that locks. Fuzzing attacks are randomly selected Attack that injects random data into Arbitration ID corresponds to Replay attacks occur on normal CAN packet meshes. extract for a certain period of time and then re-extract the extracted messages. It is an injection attack. Spoofing attacks are when attackers specifically The desired attack may occur in the regular arbitration ID. This is an attack that selectively injects data." Examiner's note: "replay" and "relay" attacks are described to do exactly the same thing.).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses: The adversarial attack apparatus of claim 2, wherein the data generation module generates statistical information about each CAN message packet based on the CAN message packet dataset and includes the generated statistical information in each CAN message packet (Kim: Section 3.1 states, "CAN Yes Preprocessing of network packets involves one-hot encoding and This is mainly done using Min-Max Scaler. Min-Max Scaler is one of the data scaling All features were readjusted to exist between 0 and 1. Among the data, Arbitration ID is composed of hexadecimal numbers. The data consists of 8 bytes, and the ID is Processed with one-hot encoding, data is 1 bar Bits were converted to bits. Previous Arbitration ID also One-hot encoding was used the same as the current ID. And, time difference from the previous same ID, previous same data Time difference between packets, number of packets with same ID among 1000 packets Number, the same number of data out of 1000 packets, these 4 Features range from 0 to 1 by applying Min-max scaler.").
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses: The adversarial attack apparatus of claim 4, wherein the statistical information includes one or more of a time difference between a corresponding packet and a previous packet with the same arbitration ID as the corresponding packet in the CAN message packet dataset, a time difference between the corresponding packet and a previous packet with the same data as the corresponding packet, the number of packets with the same arbitration ID as the corresponding packet in the CAN message packet dataset, and the number of packets with the same data as the corresponding packet in the CAN message packet dataset (Kim: Section 3.1 states, "Among the data, Arbitration ID is composed of hexadecimal numbers. The data consists of 8 bytes, and the ID is Processed with one-hot encoding, data is 1 bar Bits were converted to bits. Previous Arbitration ID also One-hot encoding was used the same as the current ID. And, time difference from the previous same ID, previous same data Time difference between packets, number of packets with same ID among 1000 packets Number, the same number of data out of 1000 packets, these 4 Features range from 0 to 1 by applying Min-max scaler.").
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses: The adversarial attack apparatus of claim 5, wherein the preprocessing module inserts noise based on type information of each CAN message packet in the CAN message packet dataset (Kim: Section 3.4 states, "Feature importance is a function that extracts the importance of features that the random forest model determines to be most important. In the features of each attack, noise between 0 and 1 is added to the features that are judged to be unrelated to the attack function and input into the generator.").
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses: The adversarial attack apparatus of claim 6, wherein the adversarial attack generation module (Kim: Examiner's note: Fig. 3 has the same features and depicted steps as Fig. 8 of the claimed invention which shows "a configuration of an adversarial attack generation module.") includes: a generator trained to receive the CAN message packet into which the noise is inserted and generate the adversarial CAN message (Kim: Section 3.3 states, "Feature-based adversarial CAN packet generation is preprocessed Jobs between 0 and 1 for all CAN features that have gone through Input data to the generator by adding noise…As learning progresses, the generator ultimately creates a CAN feature that can avoid black-box IDS."); an intrusion detection system (IDS) configured to receive the adversarial CAN message output by the generator and a normal CAN message packet in the CAN message packet dataset and label a result of classifying the adversarial CAN message and the normal CAN message packet (Kim: Section 3.3 states, "Feature-based adversarial CAN packet generation is preprocessed Jobs between 0 and 1 for all CAN features that have gone through Input data to the generator by adding noise Let it go into. Generator has 164 features and provide it as input data to Black-box IDS. It becomes. Black-box IDS checks whether the packet is normal. Classifies whether it is an attack and outputs the classified label value."), but fails to explicitly disclose: and a discriminator trained to receive the adversarial CAN message output by the generator and the normal CAN message packet in the CAN message packet dataset and classify the adversarial CAN message and the normal CAN message packet as attack or normal based on the classified result labeled by the IDS.
However, Lin further discloses: and a discriminator trained to receive the adversarial CAN message output by the generator and the normal CAN message packet in the CAN message packet dataset and classify the adversarial CAN message and the normal CAN message packet as attack or normal based on the classified result labeled by the IDS (Lin: Examiner's note: Section 2.3 states, "In the training to the discriminator, the normal traffic records and the adversarial malicious traffic records are first classified by the black-box IDS. Then, for the discriminator's learning to the black-box IDS, the same dataset is shared with the discriminator as the training set, of which the target labels are the prediction from the black-box IDS.").
The same motivation to modify with Lin, as in claim 1, applies.
Claim 10 recites similar features to those in claim 1, therefore it is rejected in a similar manner.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dowan Kim and Daeseon Choi "Avoiding the Intrusion Detection System GAN-based adversarial for physical attack CAN frame creation method", Journal of the Korea Institute of Information Security & Cryptology, February 2020, (hereinafter referred to as Kim) in view of Zilong Lin, Yong Shi, and Zhi Xue "IDSGAN: Generative Adversarial Networks for Attack Generation against Intrusion Detection", arXiv, 23 April, 2021 (hereinafter referred to as Lin) in further view of Alvaro Diaz and Pablo Sanchez "Simulation of Attacks for Security in Wireless Sensor Network", Sensors, 18 November 2016 (hereinafter referred to as Diaz).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses: The adversarial attack apparatus of claim 6, wherein the preprocessing module [determines whether to insert the noise into the CAN message packet based on class information in the type information] and determines whether to insert the noise into any portion of the CAN message packet based on an attack type according to subclass information in the type information, when determining to insert the noise into the CAN message packet (Kim: Section 3.1, and 3.4. Section 3.1 states that "Class and Subclass respectively correspond to Whether the CAN message is normal or an attack and whether it corresponds to an attack If so, it indicates what kind of attack it corresponds to." Section 3.4 states, "Because flooding attacks are attacks that transmit high-priority IDs in large quantities, Random Forest determines that the current Arbitration ID and statistical features are important. To prevent flooding attacks from losing their meaning, configure the current data and statistics, excluding the current ID, to be altered. Fuzzing attacks are attacks that inject random data into randomly selected IDs, so statistics and current data features are considered important. Therefore, set to falsify the current data and statistics except for the selected ID part. Replay attacks are attacks that extract normal CAN packets that were flowing for a certain period of time and re-inject them, so statistics are considered the most important. Replay attacks have the limitation that if the ID or data is altered and changed, the meaning of the replay attack may be lost, so even if only statistics are altered, Set the lock. A spoofing attack is an attack on an ID randomly selected by an attacker. By manipulating data to enable the desired attack to occur Because it is an injection attack, there are various statistics, data, and IDs. It's spread out. Spoofing attacks are similar to fuzzing attacks. Likewise, even if data and statistics are falsified except ID, Set the lock. However, if the entire data is altered, the attacker The desired attack function may not occur. follow Therefore, spoofing attack is performed on 8 bytes of data. Select the rest of the part excluding the part that has an attack function. Select and additionally set for modulation."), but fails to explicitly disclose: and determines whether to insert the noise into the CAN message packet based on class information in the type information.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Diaz discloses: and determines whether to insert the noise into the CAN message packet based on class information in the type information (Diaz: Section 5.2.2 states, "The attack will only be active for specific packet types.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Kim as modified by Lin and include the above limitation with the teaching of Diaz since it "enables the simulation of selective attacks" (Diaz: Section 5.2.2.).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses: The adversarial attack apparatus of claim 7, wherein the preprocessing module inserts the noise into data and statistical information, except for an arbitration ID in the CAN message packet, when the attack type is a flooding attack, inserts the noise into the data and the statistical information, except for the arbitration ID in the CAN message packet, when the attack type is a fuzzing attack, inserts the noise into only the statistical information in the CAN message packet, when the attack type is a relay attack, and inserts the noise into the data and the statistical information, except for the arbitration ID in the CAN message packet, the noise being inserted into only a portion of the data, when the attack type is a spoofing attack (Kim: Section 3.4 states, "Because flooding attacks are attacks that transmit high-priority IDs in large quantities, Random Forest determines that the current Arbitration ID and statistical features are important. To prevent flooding attacks from losing their meaning, configure the current data and statistics, excluding the current ID, to be altered. Fuzzing attacks are attacks that inject random data into randomly selected IDs, so statistics and current data features are considered important. Therefore, set to falsify the current data and statistics except for the selected ID part. Replay attacks are attacks that extract normal CAN packets that were flowing for a certain period of time and re-inject them, so statistics are considered the most important. Replay attacks have the limitation that if the ID or data is altered and changed, the meaning of the replay attack may be lost, so even if only statistics are altered, Set the lock. A spoofing attack is an attack on an ID randomly selected by an attacker. By manipulating data to enable the desired attack to occur Because it is an injection attack, there are various statistics, data, and IDs. It's spread out. Spoofing attacks are similar to fuzzing attacks. Likewise, even if data and statistics are falsified except ID, Set the lock. However, if the entire data is altered, the attacker The desired attack function may not occur. follow Therefore, spoofing attack is performed on 8 bytes of data. Select the rest of the part excluding the part that has an attack function. Select and additionally set for modulation." Examiner's note: the claim recites a "relay" attack and the reference recites a "replay" attack but the specification and the article describe them to have the same function and are depicted to have the same feature importance using the same image in Fig. 6 of both.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHREYAJ RAM BHANDARI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2434
/NOURA ZOUBAIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434