DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse in the reply filed on 01/11/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the inventions relate a single general inventive concept. This is found persuasive. The restriction requirement has been withdrawn.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/13/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
the “temperature sensing unit” as claimed in claim 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 2-5, 8-9, 12-18, and 24-27 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
In each of claims 2-5, 8-9, 12-18, and 24-27, the reference claim should be written with lower case “c”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim(s) 14, 16, and 18 is/are objected to for their dependency on an objected base claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a. means of sensing a tank status in at least claim 1.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a. temperature sensing unit in at least claim 12.
b. actuators in at least claim 15.
“Means of sensing a tank status” is interpreted to cover a sensor as per para [0119] of applicant specification; and equivalents thereof.
Actuators is interpreted to cover (i) two diverter valves or (ii) a diverter valve and a circulation pump as per para [0167] of applicant specification; and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 3, 12, 15-16, 18 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 3 calls for the limitation “preferably for defrosting the heat pump” (see last line); which limitation renders the claims indefinite as it is unclear as to how the word “preferably” factors in the scope of the claim. In other words, is the limitation following the word “preferably” actually required by the claims? It is uncertain. Illustration of preferences in a claim lead to confusion over the intended scope of a claim. See MPEP 2173.05(d).
A similar issue is found in claim 15 with the recitation “optionally”. Appropriate correction is required.
A similar issue is found in claim 18 with the recitation “preferably”. Appropriate correction is required.
A similar issue is found in claim 24 with the recitation “preferably”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “temperature sensing units”, which is indefinite as it is unclear which particular structures the applicant is referring to as “temperature sensing units”. The specification is devoid of adequate structure for the claimed temperature sensing units. In other words, there is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, that is used as temperature sensing units. Because the specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which mechanical structure perform the claimed function, the claim is indefinite.
Claim(s) 16 is/are indefinite for their dependency on an indefinite base claim.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 5 depends on claim 14; which renders claim 5 not in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(d).
35 U.S.C. 112(d) requires that a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth (see MPEP 608.01(n)). In the instant case, claim 5 depends on a claim not previously set forth.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
For examination purposes, claim 5 will be interpreted as depending on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8-9, 12-18, 23-27, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takayama (EP 3657091 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
Takayama discloses a heating system (see at least Fig. 1) including:
a heat pump #20 to provide heat ([0011]);
a circuit #C1 of heat transfer fluid to transfer heat to or from the heat pump ([0014]);
a space heating system #40 configured to transfer heat from the heat transfer fluid to an environment ([0010]);
a water heating system comprising a water tank #9 for storing hot water to be provided to a user ([0012]), a cold water inlet #p11, a hot water outlet #p10 for drawing off hot water for supply to a user ([0015]), and a heat exchanger #7 configured to exchange heat between the heat transfer fluid and water from the cold water inlet ([0013]);
a means of sensing a tank status (#SE7 & #SE8), the tank status being indicative of a quantity of thermal energy stored in the tank ([0016]); and
a controller adapted to control the transfer of heat to and from the tank in dependence on the tank status (see Fig. 5-6; [0024-0025]).
Regarding claim 3:
Takayama further discloses wherein the controller is configured to control a transfer of heat from the water heating system to the heat pump, preferably for defrosting the heat pump ([0024-0025]).
Regarding claim 4:
Takayama further discloses wherein the controller is configured to control a transfer of heat from the water heating system to the space heating system (see at least [0013-0016]).
Regarding claim 5:
Takayama further discloses wherein the tank status indicates one or more of (i) a quantity of water stored in the tank above a temperature threshold, and the controller is configured to stop transfer of heat from the water heating system to the space heating system in order to retain a minimum hot water quantity in the tank; (ii) whether the tank can safely receive heat; (iii) a quantity of thermal energy stored in the tank above a temperature threshold ([0024-0025]).
Regarding claim 8:
Takayama further discloses wherein the tank status indicates a quantity of thermal energy stored in the tank above a temperature threshold and wherein the temperature threshold is associated with a minimum temperature for defrosting the heat pump or a minimum temperature for space heating or a minimum temperature for a hot water supply ([0024-0025]).
Regarding claim 9:
Takayama further discloses wherein the tank status is one or more of (i) a state of charge of the tank; (ii) a temperature profile of the tank; and (iii) in dependence on a position of a thermocline ([0024-0025]).
Regarding claim 12:
Takayama further discloses wherein the means of sensing a tank status comprises a plurality of temperature sensing units (#SE7 and #SE8) arranged vertically along the tank (Fig. 1, ([0016])).
Regarding claim 13:
Takayama further discloses wherein the controller is configured to determine an amount of available thermal energy to transfer from the tank in dependence on the tank status and/or in dependence on an anticipated heating demand ([0024-0025]).
Regarding claim 14:
Takayama further discloses wherein determining the amount of available thermal energy comprises determining a quantity of available heat for defrosting the heat pump and/or a quantity of available heat for satisfying a space heating demand and/or a quantity of available heat for satisfying a hot water demand ([0024-0025]).
Regarding claim 15:
Takayama further discloses one or more actuators (made of #6 and #5) controlled by the controller to configure the heating system to one of several configurations, wherein: (i) in a first configuration the heat pump provides heat to the space heating system and, optionally, to the tank; (ii) in a second configuration the heat pump provides heat to the tank and does not provide heat to the space heating system; (iii) in a third configuration the heat pump does not provide heat and the tank provides heat to the space heating system; and (iv) in a fourth configuration the heat pump does not provide heat and the tank provides heat to the heat pump (see description in [0012-0014], [0016], [0018], and [0022]).
Regarding claim 16:
Takayama further discloses wherein the actuators comprise two two-state actuators (#6 and #5).
Regarding claim 17:
Takayama further discloses wherein a first actuator #5 is configured to control a transfer of heat to and from the tank and a second actuator #6 is configured to control a transfer of heat to the space heating system (see description in [0012-0014], [0016], [0018], and [0022]).
Regarding claim 18:
Takayama further discloses wherein the first actuator is a circulation pump configured to pump fluid through the heat exchanger (see description in [0012-0014], [0016], [0018], and [0022]).
Regarding claim 29:
Takayama further discloses wherein the controller is configured to determine an amount of available thermal energy to transfer from the tank in dependence on the tank status and an anticipated heating demand, wherein the anticipated heating demand is an anticipated defrosting demand, and/or an anticipated space heating demand, and/or an anticipated hot water demand ([0024-0025]).
Regarding claims 23-27:
The subject matter claimed here is substantially similar to that of claims 1-5, 8-9, 12-18, and 29 as acknowledged by the applicant in the reply of 01/11/2026. Thus, for sake of simplicity, conciseness, and brevity, please refer to the rejection of claims 1, 3-5, 8-9, 12-18, and 29 above for the rejection of claims 23-27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takayama (EP 3657091 A1).
Regarding claim 2:
Takayama further discloses wherein the heat exchanger external to the tank (see Fig. 4).
Takayama does not explicitly discloses wherein the heat exchanger is a plate heat exchanger.
By official notice, the examiner submits that the usage of plate heat exchangers is well known in the art.
As per MPEP 2144.06 – II; it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Takayama with the heat exchanger being a plate heat exchanger.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have offered high thermal efficiency and faster heat transfer compared to traditional units as known in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tamaki (US 20140291411 A1), Goransson (US 20180172287 A1), Otake (US 8991204 B2), Hawkins (US 20140260392 A1), Tamaki (US 20130312443 A1), Kim (US 20130074827 A1), Maitani (US 20130025301 A1), and Cawley (US 5269153 A).
/LIONEL NOUKETCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763