DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “detection data acquisition unit”, “three-dimensional data storage unit”, “changed-portion specifying unit”, and “update unit” in claim 1. The “detection data acquisition”, “three-dimensional data storage unit”, “changed-portion specifying unit”, and “update unit” are embodied in a server as a processor, memory, and storage according to Fig. 3 and para. 27 and 53-54 of the specification as filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claims 1-4 are directed to a machine.
Claims 5-8 are directed to a process.
Therefore, claims 1-8 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claims 1 and 4 include limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection.
Claims 1/5 A display system comprising:
a detection data acquisition unit that acquires detection data indicating a three-dimensional shape of a construction site in which a work machine operates;
a three-dimensional data storage unit that stores first detection data indicating the detection data acquired at a first time point;
a changed-portion specifying unit that specifies a changed portion between the first detection data and second detection data indicating the detection data acquired at a second time point after the first time point;
an update unit that updates a part of the first detection data on the basis of the changed portion; and
a display control unit that causes a display apparatus to display the updated first detection data.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitations constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. For example, “specifying a changed portion” in the context of this claim encompasses a person looking at two images and performing a mental observation on the differences. Accordingly, the claims recite at least one abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
Claims 1/5 A display system comprising:
a detection data acquisition unit that acquires detection data indicating a three-dimensional shape of a construction site in which a work machine operates;
a three-dimensional data storage unit that stores first detection data indicating the detection data acquired at a first time point;
a changed-portion specifying unit that specifies a changed portion between the first detection data and second detection data indicating the detection data acquired at a second time point after the first time point;
an update unit that updates a part of the first detection data on the basis of the changed portion; and
a display control unit that causes a display apparatus to display the updated first detection data.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of “acquiring detection data”, “storing detection data”, “updating detection data”, and “displaying detection data”, the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities that merely use a computer to perform the process. In particular, the acquiring step is recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of gathering data for use in the specifying and updating step), and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The storing step amounts to mere data storage, which is a form if insignificant extra-solution activity. The updating and displaying step is also recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of displaying the result from the interpreting step), and amounts to mere post solution displaying, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Lastly, the “detection data acquisition unit”, “three-dimensional data storage unit”, “changed portion detection unit”, “update unit”, and “display control unit” merely describe how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental judgements in a generic or general purpose computer environment. The units are recited at a high level of generality and merely automates the steps.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, representative independent claims 1, 8 and 15 do not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using “units” to perform the method amounts to nothing more than applying the exception using a generic computer component. Generally applying an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitation of “acquiring detection data”, “storing detection data”, “updating detection data”, and “displaying detection data” are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities because receiving/transmitting information is the basic function of a generic computer. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner. The additional limitation of “cause a display device to display…, ” is a well-understood, routine, and conventional activity because the Federal Circuit in Trading Techs. Int’l v. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2019), and Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie Indemnity Co., 850 F.3d 1315, 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2017), for example, indicated that the mere displaying of data is a well understood, routine, and conventional function. Hence, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-4 and 6-8 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. For example, claims 2 and 6 further define from where the data is received from and then divides the images into smaller segments before comparing them and determining the differences which is a mental process of observation and evaluation. For example, claims 3 and 7 further defines what is included in the data and uses a model to predict operation of a work machine which is mental process of forming an opinion. For example, claims 4 and 8 further defines what is included in the detection data. Therefore, dependent claims 2-4 and 6-8 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of claims 1 and 5.
Therefore, claims 1-8 are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2020/0372555) in view of Onishi (US 2023/0143733).
As per claims 1 and 5, Park teaches display system comprising:
a detection data acquisition unit that acquires detection data indicating a
a
a changed-portion specifying unit that specifies a changed portion between the first detection data and second detection data indicating the detection data acquired at a second time point after the first time point (see at least para. 76 for DSM comparator 920 for comparing reference image with comparison image to derive change);
an update unit that updates a part of the first detection data on the basis of the changed portion (see at least para. 77-89 for DSM comparator 920 and change display portion 930 display the changes in a variety of ways including overlapping the images); and
a display control unit that causes a display apparatus to display the updated first detection data (DSM comparator 920 and change display portion 930 as recited above).
While Park is not explicit regarding representing the construction site as a three-dimensional shape, they do teach calculating a volume of an area that is changed which suggests three-dimensional shape (see at least para. 63-64).
However, Onishi teaches the UAV using a 3D camera (see at least para. 69 for capturing terrain data of a construction site using a stereo camera).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Park with the features of Onishi because using a stereo camera provides not only images of the terrain but also measurements of the terrain which enables the calculation of how much work has progressed by determining the volume of soil moved.
As per claims 4 and 8, Park further teaches wherein the detection data includes topography of the construction site (see at least Fig. 10 for an image of the topography of a construction depicting land features).
Claim(s) 2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2020/0372555) in view of Onishi (US 2023/0143733) and further in view of Nefian (US 11,227,382).
As per claims 2 and 6, Onishi teaches wherein the detection data acquisition unit acquires the detection data from a three-dimensional sensor that detects the construction site (see rejection of claims 1 and 5 above), and
Modified Park is silent regarding, but Nefian teaches the changed-portion specifying unit divides a detection space of the three-dimensional sensor into a plurality of cells, determines whether or not the second detection data has changed from the first detection data for each of the plurality of cells, and specifies as the changed portion a cell determined to have changed (see at least col. 1, ln, 40-46, col. 2, ln. 33-67, and claim 1 for dividing images into tiles and then comparing tiles between images over time to determine changes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention modify the system of modified Park with the features of Ezoe because tiling is a well-known imaging technique and it allows for a specific region to be tracked and analyzed over time.
Conclusion
/ROBERT T NGUYEN/PRIMARY EXAMINER, Art Unit 3619