DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-4 and 11-14, in the reply filed on Aug. 17, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-20 and 85 remain pending in the current application, claims 5-10, 15-20 and 85 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
The requirement for the restriction of Inventions I-III is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-4 and 11-14 have been considered on the merits.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 and 85 are currently pending.
Claims 1 and 11 are amended.
Claims 5-10, 15-20 and 85 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 21-84 and 86 are cancelled.
Claims 1-4 and 11-14 have been considered on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Objections
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “the integrated expression cassette are designated” should be written as “the integrated expression cassette is designated” under modern grammatical conventions.
Appropriate correction is appreciated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-4 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, lines 2-4 the phrase “wherein the Pristella comprises the “Green Pristella 1 transformation event”, sperm comprising the Green Pristella 1 transformation event having been deposited at the ATCC as accession No. PTA-127126”, renders the claim and its dependents indefinite, since it is unclear what the transgenic Pristella comprises of in this wherein clause. First, is unclear what is encompassed by the "Green Pristella 1 transformation event", or why this phrase is enclosed by quotation marks. Additionally, the specification does not define what is encompassed by the "Green Pristella 1 transformation event", and what structure it is meant to encompass, see para. 0012-0015, 0049-0050, 0058 of published application. The specification does not disclose the specific expression cassettes required to obtain the "Green Pristella 1 transformation event". It is unclear whether this event is meant to refer to a particular chromosomal integration event such as integration into a particular site in one of the fish chromosomes, or to a particular expression cassette which has been integrated into the fish, or both.
Second, even though the phrase includes the term “Green”, the Pristella is recited as comprising an expression cassette encoding a fluorescent protein which is not limited to a green fluorescent protein. Since the structure of the "Green Pristella 1 transformation event" is not clearly defined, it is unclear whether the fluorescent protein reads broadly on a genus of fluorescent proteins of any color or whether applicant intends the fluorescent protein to a green fluorescent protein. Thus, the claim as a whole is indefinite as the neither the metes and bounds of the claimed terms, and in particular the phrase "Green Pristella 1 transformation event", nor the structure of the transgenic Pristella can be determined.
Third, it is unclear whether the Pristella actually comprise sperm with the Green Pristella 1 transformation event having been deposited at the ATCC as accession No. PTA-127126. It is unclear how this phrase relates to the claimed transgenic Pristella fish. It is unclear whether the phrase is meant to the fish derived from such sperm or whether sperm from the claimed transgenic Pristella have been deposited at the ATCC. Additionally, the specification does not disclose the specific expression cassettes required to obtain the sperm deposited as PTA-127126.
In claim 1, lines 2-3, the phrase "the “Green Pristella 1 transformation event”" lacks sufficient antecedent basis and renders the claim and its dependents indefinite. There is no transformation event previously in the claim.
Since claims 2-4 depends from indefinite claim 1 and does not clarify the above points of confusion, claims 2-4 must also be rejected under 35 USC § 112, (b) or second paragraph (pre-AIA ).
In claim 11, lines 2-5 the phrase “wherein the integrated expression are designated as “Green Pristella 1 transformation event”, comprised in sperm deposited at the ATCC as accession No. PTA-127126”, renders the claim and its dependents indefinite, since it is unclear what exactly the transgenic Pristella and the progeny fish comprises from this wherein clause. First is unclear what is encompassed by the "Green Pristella 1 transformation event", or why this phrase is enclosed by quotation marks. Additionally, the specification does not define what is encompassed by the "Green Pristella 1 transformation event", and what structure it is meant to encompass, see para. 0012-0015, 0049-0050, 0058 of published application. The specification does not disclose the specific expression cassettes required to obtain the "Green Pristella 1 transformation event" or describes the expression cassette that contains this transformation event. It is unclear whether this event is meant to refer to a particular chromosomal integration event such as integration into a particular site in one of the fish chromosomes, or to a particular expression cassette which has been integrated into the fish, or both.
Second, even though the phrase includes the term “Green”, the Pristella is recited as comprising an expression cassette encoding a fluorescent protein which is not limited to a green fluorescent protein. Since the structure of the "Green Pristella 1 transformation event" is not clearly defined, it is unclear whether the fluorescent protein reads broadly on a genus of fluorescent proteins of any color or whether applicant intends the fluorescent protein to a green fluorescent protein. Thus, the claim as a whole is indefinite as the neither the metes and bounds of the claimed terms, and in particular the phrase "Green Pristella 1 transformation event", nor the structure of the transgenic Pristella can be determined.
Third, it is unclear whether the fluorescent progeny fish of a transgenic Pristella comprise sperm deposited at the ATCC as accession No. PTA-127126. It is unclear how this phrase relates to the claimed transgenic progeny Pristella fish. It is unclear whether the phrase is meant to the fish derived from such sperm or whether sperm from the claimed transgenic Pristella have been deposited at the ATCC. Additionally, the specification does not disclose the specific expression cassettes required to obtain the sperm deposited as PTA-127126.
Since claims 12-14 depends from indefinite claim 11 and does not clarify the above points of confusion, claims 2-4 must also be rejected under 35 USC § 112, (b) or second paragraph (pre-AIA ).
For the purposes of compact prosecution, claims 1-4 and 11-14 has been given their broadest reasonable interpretation as encompassing any transgenic Pristella fish or its progeny with a chromosomally integrated expression vector encoding any fluorescent protein where the fish exhibits fluorescence.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) written description
Claims 1-4 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventors, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation of: “wherein the Pristella comprises the “Green Pristella 1 transformation event”, sperm comprising the Green Pristella 1 transformation event having been deposited at the ATCC as accession No. PTA-127126”.
Similarly, claim 11 recites the limitation of: “wherein the integrated expression are designated as “Green Pristella 1 transformation event”, comprised in sperm deposited at the ATCC as accession No. PTA-127126”.
The metes and bounds of a “Green Pristella 1 transformation event”, the genetic modifications in the sperm deposited as PTA-127126, and the genetic modifications in the final transgenic Pristella and progeny in claims 1 and 11 cannot be determined. The specification lacks written description for the transgenic Pristella as broadly claimed in claims 1 and 11. The specification does not disclose any technical features of the transgenic Pristella such as the expression cassette/vector or method steps how to generate the transgenic fishes. The claims do not clearly define the genetic modifications of the transgenic Pristella or the progeny or the genetic modification of the sperm deposited as PTA-127126. Although the sperm is deposited at the ATCC, it is unclear how it relates to the claimed Pristella fish, the integrated expression cassette and the “Green Pristella 1 transformation event”. Accordingly, the specification and the claims do not provide any guidance on what encompasses a “Green Pristella 1 transformation event”, the scope of the genetic modifications in the sperm deposited as PTA-127126, and the scope of the genetic modifications in the final transgenic Pristella and progeny.
The purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the invention had possession, as of the filing date of the application, of the specific subject matter later claimed by him or her. A patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that the inventor invented the claimed invention. The specification lacks description of what encompasses a “Green Pristella 1 transformation event”, the scope of the genetic modifications in the sperm deposited as PTA-127126, and the scope of the genetic modifications in the final transgenic Pristella and progeny. Accordingly, the specification fails to provide adequate written description for the “Pristella comprises the “Green Pristella 1 transformation event”, sperm comprising the Green Pristella 1 transformation event having been deposited at the ATCC as accession No. PTA-127126” and “the integrated expression are designated as “Green Pristella 1 transformation event”, comprised in sperm deposited at the ATCC as accession No. PTA-127126”; and does not reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventors, at the time the application was filed had possession of the entire scope of the claimed invention. Thus, the written description requirement has not been satisfied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Blake et al. (US 2009/0025645 A1) (ref. of record).
With respect to claim 1, Blake teaches a transgenic Pristella or a tetra fish containing a chromosomally integrated expression cassette encoding a fluorescent protein (0003, 0014, 0021, 0064, 0066 and Table 5). Blake teaches the fluorescent protein can be green (0008-0009 and 0021). With respect to claim 2, Blake teaches the transgenic fish are fertile (0012). With respect to claims 3 and 4, Blake teaches the transgenic fish can be homozygous or heterozygous for the integrated expression cassette (0024).
With respect to claim 11, Blake teaches a fluorescent progeny fish of a transgenic Pristella or a tetra fish containing a chromosomally integrated expression cassette encoding a fluorescent protein (0003, 0011, 0014, 0021, 0064, 0066, 0070 and Table 5). Blake teaches the fluorescent protein can be green (0008-0009 and 0021). With respect to claim 12, Blake teaches the transgenic fish are used to establish a fertile population which would be readily understood that the progeny of the transgenic fish are fertile (abstract). With respect to claims 13 and 14, Blake teaches the progeny fish can be homozygous or heterozygous for the integrated expression cassette (0024).
Claims 1 and 11 do not clearly set forth the “Green Pristella 1 transformation event” or the genetic modification in the Pristella and do not clearly have a nexus with sperm deposited at the ATCC as accession No. PTA-127162. Therefore, claims 1 and 11 encompasses any transgenic Pristella fish or progeny whose genome comprises a nucleic acid sequence encoding a green fluorescent protein and where the transgenic Pristella expresses a functional green protein. Blake teaches a transgenic Pristella containing a chromosomally integrated expression cassette encoding a green fluorescent protein and where the Pristella functionally expresses the green fluorescent protein.
Therefore, the reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blake et al. (US 8,975,467 B2)(Blake ‘467) in view of Blake et al. (US 2009/0025645 A1) (ref. of record).
With respect to claim 1, Blake ‘467 teaches a transgenic tetra fish containing a chromosomally integrated expression cassette encoding a fluorescent protein (Col. 2 lines 12-37). With respect to claim 2, Blake ‘467 teaches the transgenic fish are fertile (Col. 1 lines 66-67, Col. 2 lines 33-34). With respect to claims 3 and 4, Blake ‘467 teaches the transgenic fish can be homozygous or heterozygous for the integrated expression cassette (Col. 2 lines 35-38).
With respect to claim 11, Blake ‘467 teaches a fluorescent progeny fish of a transgenic tetra fish containing a chromosomally integrated expression cassette encoding a fluorescent protein (Col. 2 lines 25-51). With respect to claim 12, Blake ‘467 teaches the transgenic fish and progeny are fertile (Col. 2 lines 25-38). With respect to claims 13 and 14, Blake ‘467 teaches the transgenic fish and progeny can be homozygous or heterozygous for the integrated expression cassette (Col. 2 lines 25-38).
Blake ‘467 does not explicitly teach that the tetra is Pristella as recited in claims 1 and 11.
However, Blake teaches a similar transgenic tetra fish where the species is Pristella maxillaris (Table 5). Blake teaches the transgenic fish can be any type of fish include those of commercial value within the ornamental fish industry such as tetra and where the tetra is Pristella maxillaris (0064 and Table 5).
In further support, Blake ‘467 teaches the transgenic offspring can be a tetra (Col. 2 line 63 to Col. 3 line 5). Blake ‘467 teaches the transgenic fish are for the ornamental fish industry (abstract).
Accordingly, at the effective time of filing of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the transgenic tetra of Blake ‘467 to include the Pristella tetra for the benefit of having an additional species of ornamental tetra expressing a green fluorescent protein as taught by Blake. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the tetra taught by Blake ‘467 with another known ornamental tetra as taught by Blake. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification, since both Blake ‘467 and Blake teach tetra fish that are transgenic for fluorescent protein.
Claims 1 and 11 do not clearly set forth the “Green Pristella 1 transformation event” or the genetic modification in the Pristella and do not clearly have a nexus with sperm deposited at the ATCC as accession No. PTA-127162. Therefore, claims 1 and 11 encompasses any transgenic Pristella fish or progeny whose genome comprises a nucleic acid sequence encoding a green fluorescent protein and where the transgenic Pristella expresses a functional green protein. Blake ‘467 in view of Blake teaches a transgenic Pristella containing a chromosomally integrated expression cassette encoding a green fluorescent protein and where the Pristella functionally expresses the green fluorescent protein.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing of the invention, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp
Claims 1-4 and 11-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-5, 12-13, and 15-16 of U.S. Patent No. 8,975,467 in view of Blake et al. (US 2009/0025645 A1) (ref. of record). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims encompass those of the issue patent. In addition, both claim a transgenic tetra composing a chromosomally integrated expression cassette encoding a fluorescent protein.
With respect to the limitations of instant claim 1, claim 1 of U.S. Pat. No. 8,975,467 recites a transgenic tetra fish containing a chromosomally integrated expression cassette encoding a fluorescent protein. With respect to the limitations of instant claim 2, claim 2 of U.S. Pat. No. 8,975,467 recites the transgenic fish are fertile. With respect to the limitations of instant claims 3 and 4, claims 4 and 5 of U.S. Pat. No. 8,975,467 recites the transgenic fish can be homozygous or heterozygous for the integrated expression cassette.
With respect to the limitations of instant claim 11, claim 12 of U.S. Pat. No. 8,975,467 recites a fluorescent progeny fish of a transgenic tetra fish containing a chromosomally integrated expression cassette encoding a fluorescent protein. With respect to the limitations of instant claim 12, claim 13 of U.S. Pat. No. 8,975,467 recites the transgenic fish and progeny are fertile. With respect to the limitations of instant claims 13 and 14, claims 15 and 16 of U.S. Pat. No. 8,975,467 recites the transgenic fish and progeny can be homozygous or heterozygous for the integrated expression cassette.
The claims of U.S. Pat. No. 8,975,467 does not explicitly recite that the tetra is Pristella as recited in claims 1 and 11.
However, Blake teaches a similar transgenic tetra fish where the species is Pristella maxillaris (Table 5). Blake teaches the transgenic fish can be any type of fish include those of commercial value within the ornamental fish industry such as tetra and where the tetra is Pristella maxillaris (0064 and Table 5). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the claims of U.S. Pat. No. 8,975,467 to include the Pristella tetra for the benefit of having an additional species of ornamental tetra expressing a green fluorescent protein as taught by Blake. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include known ornamental tetra as taught by Blake in the claims of U.S. Pat. No. 8,975,467.
Claims 1 and 11 do not clearly set forth the “Green Pristella 1 transformation event” or the genetic modification in the Pristella and do not clearly have a nexus with sperm deposited at the ATCC as accession No. PTA-127162. Therefore, claims 1 and 11 encompasses any transgenic Pristella fish or progeny whose genome comprises a nucleic acid sequence encoding a green fluorescent protein and where the transgenic Pristella expresses a functional green protein. The claims of U.S. Pat. No. 8,975,467 in view of Blake recite a transgenic Pristella containing a chromosomally integrated expression cassette encoding a green fluorescent protein and where the Pristella functionally expresses the green fluorescent protein.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Examiner Contact Information
/EMILY A CORDAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632