Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is not on a separate sheet. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 18 should be amended from “and elastomeric pad” to -- an elastomeric pad--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites, “in which the bottom plate is prevented from rotating in the second direction bracket from the zero plane.” It is unclear what is meant by “the second direction bracket”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Imai (JP 2005-271324)
In regards to claim 1, Imai discloses a circular saw (Fig. 1) comprising :a housing (main body 2); a motor (electric motor) disposed within the housing (2), the motor having a driveshaft (not shown; for rotating the blade3); a blade (3) removably coupled with the driveshaft of the motor and operable to rotate therewith (see the central nut per Fig. 1 on the blade 3); and a bottom plate (1) rotatably coupled to the housing (2), the bottom plate (1) defining a zero plane in which the blade (3) is orthogonal to the bottom plate (e.g. see the orientation of Fig. 3), and the bottom plate (1) is rotatable in a first direction from the zero plane and in a second direction from the zero plane opposite the first direction (e.g. see Figures 7-9; by adjusting the stopper members 16).
In regards to claim 2, Imai discloses wherein the bottom plate rotates in the first direction over a range of zero degrees to fifty degrees (0 – 50 degs.) and in the second direction over a range of zero degrees to three degrees (0 – 3 degs.) [“In addition, in the case of a configuration that can be tilted in a range exceeding the right angle position or the standard tilt position (for example, a configuration that can tilt in a range of −10 ° to 55 °), tilting is performed at a frequently used right angle position or standard tilt position.”]
In regards to claim 3, Imai discloses a support bracket (11) adjacent to a first end of the bottom plate (1), wherein the support bracket (11) connects the first end of the bottom plate (1) to the housing(2), wherein the bottom plate (1) rotates about the support bracket (11; via the support shaft 4), and wherein the support bracket (11) includes a stabilizer tab (e.g. 16,17, 25,26, 27) to support the bottom plate (1) when engaged with the bottom plate at the zero plane (e.g. as shown in one of Figs. 4 or 7 or 12).
In regards to claim 12, Imai discloses further comprising a bevel bracket (9) adjacent coupled to a second end of the bottom plate (1), wherein the bevel bracket (9) connects the second end of the bottom plate (1) to the housing (2), wherein the bottom plate (1) rotates about the bevel bracket (via guide hole 10), and wherein the bevel bracket includes an adjustable set screw (lock bolt 19) that is rotatable to a stop position (clamped position against bevel plate 9) in which the bottom plate (1) is prevented from rotating in the second direction bracket from the zero plane.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lawlor et al. (U.S. Patent 8,272,304), herein referred to as Lawlor.
In regards to claim 1, Lawlor discloses a circular saw (100) comprising :a housing (housing for motor 108/ upper guard 119); a motor (electric motor 108) disposed within the housing (108/119), the motor having a driveshaft (not shown; for rotating the blade 110); a blade (110) removably coupled with the driveshaft of the motor and operable to rotate therewith; and a bottom plate (158) rotatably coupled to the housing (via bevel post 116), the bottom plate (158) defining a zero plane (per Fig. 8) in which the blade (110) is orthogonal to the bottom plate (the blade and plate 158 are perpendicular to each other in the orientation per Figure 8), and the bottom plate (158) is rotatable in a first direction from the zero plane and in a second direction from the zero plane opposite the first direction (+- tilting/bevel directions).
In regards to claim 2, Lawlor discloses wherein the bottom plate rotates in the first direction over a range of zero degrees to fifty degrees (0 – 50 degs.) and in the second direction over a range of zero degrees to three degrees (0 – 3 degs.)(see col. 16, lines 1-27)
In regards to claim 3, Lawlor discloses a support bracket (152) adjacent to a first end of the bottom plate (158), wherein the support bracket (152) connects the first end of the bottom plate (152) to the housing(110), wherein the bottom plate (158) rotates about the support bracket (152), and wherein the support bracket (152) includes a stabilizer tab (top curved portion of 152) to support the bottom plate (158) when engaged with the bottom plate at the zero plane (per Fig. 8).
In regards to claim 4, Lawlor discloses wherein the bottom plate (158) includes a compressible pad (156/178) configured to engage the stabilizer tab (top of 152) when the bottom plate is aligned along the zero plane (fig. 8).
In regards to claim 5, Lawlor discloses wherein the compressible pad compresses slightly (fig. 7) when engaged with the stabilizer tab (top of 152) to allow the bottom plate to rotate in the second direction (col.8, lines 1-9).
In regards to claim 6, Lawlor discloses wherein the compressible pad comprises an elastomeric pad (spring stack 178).
In regards to claim 7, Lawlor discloses wherein the elastomeric pad includes an uncompressed thickness, Tu, and the elastomeric pad is compressible to a compressed thickness, Tc, that is less than or equal to 99%TU (via at least the adjustment screw 182)
In regards to claim 8, Lawlor discloses wherein Tc is greater than or equal to 85%TU. (via at least the adjustment screw 182).
In regards to claim 9, Lawlor discloses wherein the bottom plate (158) includes an indentation (176) configured to receive the compressible pad (178/156).
In regards to claim 10, Lawlor discloses wherein the bottom plate (158) defines a thickness, Tb (the plate defines several thicknesses shown in Figure 7), and the 10. indentation (176) comprises a depth, D, and D is greater than or equal to 50% Tb (fig. 7)
In regards to claim 11, Lawlor discloses wherein D is less than or equal to 10% Tb. (see Fig. 7).
In regards to claim 13, Lawlor discloses circular saw (100) comprising: a housing (housing for motor 108/ upper guard 119); a motor (electric motor 108) disposed within the housing (108/119), the motor (electric motor 108) having a driveshaft (not shown; for rotating the blade 110); a blade (110) removably coupled with the driveshaft of the motor and operable to rotate therewith; a support bracket (152) extending from the housing, the support bracket including a stabilizer tab (c-shaped part of 152); and a bottom plate (post 116) rotatably coupled to the support bracket (152), the bottom plate (158) including a compressible pad (178; fig. 7) configured to engage the support tab (upper part of 152) when the bottom plate (158) is aligned along a zero plane (e.g. per Figure 8) in which the blade is perpendicular to the bottom plate (158; Per Figure 8, the back surface of the plate 158 is in a plane that is perpendicular to the plane of the blade).
In regards to claim 14, Lawlor discloses wherein the bottom plate (158) rotates in a first direction from the zero plane and in a second direction from the zero plane opposite the first direction (bevel angles).
In regards to claim 15, Lawlor discloses wherein the bottom plate rotates in the first direction over a range of zero degrees to fifty degrees (0 - 50°).
In regards to claim 16, Lawlor discloses wherein the bottom plate rotates in the second direction over a range of zero degrees to three degrees (0 - 3°).
In regards to claim 17, Lawlor discloses wherein the compressible pad (178) compresses to allow the bottom plate to rotate in the second direction.
In regards to claim 18, Lawlor discloses wherein the compressible pad (178) comprises and elastomeric pad.
In regards to claim 19, Lawlor discloses wherein the compressible pad is affixed to the bottom plate within an indentation (recess 176) in the bottom plate.
In regards to claim 20, Lawlor discloses wherein a top surface of the compressible pad (176) is flush with an upper surface (e.g. at leveling plate 180) of the bottom plate (158) when the compressible pad (178) is installed within the indentation (176) of the bottom plate (158).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/LAURA M LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724