Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 10-15, 18, 19, 21, 22 & 24-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zheng (US 2021/0219164).
Regarding claim 1, Zheng teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to:
receive, from a network entity, an absolute threshold synchronization signal block (SSB) consolidation parameter; (Paragraph [0052]: In an NR system, a measurement parameter of an MO may include a measurement parameter corresponding to a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (synchronization signal block/PBCH block, SSB), and may further include a measurement parameter corresponding to a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS).; Paragraph [0088]: When the network device reconfigures a parameter such as a consolidation threshold in the MO, it is desirable to clear a corresponding measurement reporting entry. For example, when reconfiguring absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation in the MO, the network device expects the terminal device to clear an SSB-related measurement reporting entry, and when reconfiguring absThreshCSI-RS-Consolidation in the MO, the network device expects the terminal device to clear a CSI-RS-related measurement reporting entry: absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation is an SSB beam threshold, and absThreshCSI-RS-Consolidation is a CSI-RS beam threshold.)
determine whether a threshold value indicated in the absolute threshold SSB consolidation parameter satisfies a predefined value threshold; (Paragraph [0113]: The terminal device receives the measurement configuration information from the network device, where the measurement configuration information includes an MO 5, and compared with that in a measurement parameter of the MO 5 stored in the terminal device, absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation changes in the measurement parameter of the measurement configuration information of the MO 5, in other words, the terminal device needs to reconfigure absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation of the MO 5.)
set a specific network deployment flag based at least in part on whether the threshold value satisfies the predefined value threshold; (Paragraph [0113]: the preset rule may be that the terminal device clears a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is a CSI-RS when reconfiguring a first specific parameter, and/or the terminal device clears a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is an SSB when reconfiguring a second specific parameter… the terminal device needs to reconfigure absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation of the MO 5.)
determine a cell measurement result based at least in part on the specific network deployment flag; (Paragraph [0113]: The terminal device receives the measurement configuration information from the network device, where the measurement configuration information includes an MO 5, and compared with that in a measurement parameter of the MO 5 stored in the terminal device, absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation changes in the measurement parameter of the measurement configuration information of the MO 5, in other words, the terminal device needs to reconfigure absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation of the MO 5. The terminal device may clear, based on the preset rule, a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is an SSB in each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 5.)
and perform a downlink beam selection and a beam switch evaluation based at least in part on the specific network deployment flag. (Paragraph [0065]: A beam may be configured by using RRC, an SSB is sent to UE by using a broadcast message, and a CSI-RS may be configured for the UE by using radio resource control (RRC) dedicated signaling.; Paragraph [0115]: The terminal device receives the measurement configuration information from the network device, where the measurement configuration information includes an MO 5, and compared with that in a measurement parameter of the MO 5 stored in the terminal device, absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation changes in the measurement parameter of the measurement configuration information of the MO 5, in other words, the terminal device needs to reconfigure absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation of the MO 5. The terminal device may not clear, based on the preset rule, a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is a CSI-RS in each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 5.; Paragraph [0122]: after receiving an SMTC configuration from the network device, the terminal device may monitor an SSB of a target cell from a start location of an SMTC window. If the terminal device does not receive the SSB of the target cell in the entire SMTC window, the terminal device may continue to monitor the SSB of the target cell in an SS burst period. If no SSB of the target cell is received within the SS burst period, the terminal device stops monitoring and determines that synchronization fails. If an SSB of the target cell is received within the SS burst period, the terminal device synchronizes with the target cell based on the received SSB.) (Examiner’s notes: In this application, a beam sent by the network device to the terminal device is referred to as a downlink beam)
Regarding claim 5, Zheng teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the absolute threshold SSB consolidation parameter, are configured to receive, during a connected state of the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) configuration that indicates the absolute threshold SSB consolidation parameter. (Paragraph [0084]: In a handover execution process, the source cell cell 1 sends an RRCReconfiguration message to the terminal device, where the RRCReconfiguration message carries a measurement configuration, the measurement configuration includes configurations of one or more MOs, and the configurations of the MOs may carry SMTCs. It is assumed that a first MO is included, and the network reconfigures an SMTC configuration in the first MO.; Paragraph [0088]: When the network device reconfigures a parameter such as a consolidation threshold in the MO, it is desirable to clear a corresponding measurement reporting entry. For example, when reconfiguring absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation in the MO, the network device expects the terminal device to clear an SSB-related measurement reporting entry, and when reconfiguring absThreshCSI-RS-Consolidation in the MO, the network device expects the terminal device to clear a CSI-RS-related measurement reporting entry: absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation is an SSB beam threshold, and absThreshCSI-RS-Consolidation is a CSI-RS beam threshold.)
Regarding claim 7, Zheng teaches the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the specific network deployment flag is set to "TRUE" for an inter-frequency based at least in part on the threshold value satisfying the predefined value threshold, and is otherwise set to "FALSE". (Paragraph [0106]: If it is desirable for the network device to retain a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is a CSI-RS, when reconfiguring some measurement parameters in a reporting configuration whose reference signal is a CSI-RS, the network device may set the third indication information carried in the reporting configuration to TRUE, or if it is not desirable for the network device to retain a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is a CSI-RS, when reconfiguring some measurement parameters in a reporting configuration whose reference signal is a CSI-RS, the network device may set the third indication information carried in the reporting configuration to FALSE.; Paragraph [0104]: If the third indication information may indicate not to clear a measurement reporting entry, after receiving measConfig, the terminal device processes, based on the third indication information, each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 4, to be specific, does not clear each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 4.; Paragraph [0105]: The third indication information is valid only for the reporting configuration. Therefore, when a measurement parameter of the reporting configuration is reconfigured, a measurement reporting entry associated with the reporting configuration may be processed based on the third indication information.)
Regarding claim 8, Zheng teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: store the specific network deployment flag in a local database of the UE for a New Radio frequency per idle state and connected state. (Paragraph [0084]: In a handover execution process, the source cell cell 1 sends an RRCReconfiguration message to the terminal device, where the RRCReconfiguration message carries a measurement configuration, the measurement configuration includes configurations of one or more MOs, and the configurations of the MOs may carry SMTCs.; Paragraph [0118]: the network device may send timing offset information to the terminal device, and the terminal device may reconfigure all existing SMTC configurations based on the timing offset information. Further, after reconfiguring the SMTC configurations, the terminal device may send a new configuration to the network device. If a source cell is synchronized with the target cell, the terminal device may not need to reconfigure SMTC information.)
Regarding claim 10, Zheng teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to determine the cell measurement result, are configured to: query a local database of the UE for the specific network deployment flag; (Paragraph [0104]: the network device sends measConfig to the terminal device, where measConfig includes a measurement parameter of an MO 4. The measurement parameter of the MO 4 in measConfig changes compared with the measurement parameter of the MO 4 stored in the terminal device. The network device may add the third indication information to the MO 4. If the third indication information may indicate to clear a measurement reporting entry, after receiving measConfig, the terminal device processes, based on the third indication information, each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 4, to be specific, clears each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 4.; Paragraph [0105]: Therefore, the terminal device may receive the third indication information when receiving the reporting configuration of the measurement configuration information from the network device. The third indication information is valid only for the reporting configuration. Therefore, when a measurement parameter of the reporting configuration is reconfigured, a measurement reporting entry associated with the reporting configuration may be processed based on the third indication information.)
determine, from the local database, that the specific network deployment flag is set to "FALSE"; (Paragraph [0105]: Therefore, the terminal device may receive the third indication information when receiving the reporting configuration of the measurement configuration information from the network device. The third indication information is valid only for the reporting configuration. Therefore, when a measurement parameter of the reporting configuration is reconfigured, a measurement reporting entry associated with the reporting configuration may be processed based on the third indication information.; Paragraph [0106]: If it is desirable for the network device to retain a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is a CSI-RS, when reconfiguring some measurement parameters in a reporting configuration whose reference signal is a CSI-RS, the network device may set the third indication information carried in the reporting configuration to TRUE, or if it is not desirable for the network device to retain a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is a CSI-RS, when reconfiguring some measurement parameters in a reporting configuration whose reference signal is a CSI-RS, the network device may set the third indication information carried in the reporting configuration to FALSE.)
and determine the cell measurement result using a full SSB pool, (Paragraph [0122]: If the terminal device does not receive the SSB of the target cell in the entire SMTC window, the terminal device may continue to monitor the SSB of the target cell in an SS burst period. If no SSB of the target cell is received within the SS burst period, the terminal device stops monitoring and determines that synchronization fails.)
wherein the cell measurement result is associated with a measured cell on a frequency. (Paragraph [0052]: One MO in an LTE system corresponds to one frequency, and a measurement parameter of the measurement object includes a configuration status of a measurement resource on the frequency, for example, a list of cells on the frequency channel number.)
Regarding claim 11, Zheng teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the cell measurement result during an idle state of the UE or during a connected state of the UE. (Paragraph [0118]: when the UE obtains related system information of a corresponding cell or when the UE determines that the related system information of the corresponding cell cannot be obtained, the UE generates a measurement reporting entry corresponding to the measurement identity.; Paragraph [0084]: In a handover execution process, the source cell cell 1 sends an RRCReconfiguration message to the terminal device, where the RRCReconfiguration message carries a measurement configuration, the measurement configuration includes configurations of one or more MOs, and the configurations of the MOs may carry SMTCs. It is assumed that a first MO is included, and the network reconfigures an SMTC configuration in the first MO.)
Regarding claim 12, Zheng teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the cell measurement result during one of: a cell selection, a cell reselection, a New Radio (NR)-to-NR reselection, a Long Term Evolution (LTE)-to-NR reselection, or a measurement report evaluation. (Paragraph [0003]: Cell selection, reselection, and handover are all performed based on results of mobility measurement.; Paragraph [0112]: when receiving the measurement configuration information from the network device, the terminal device may determine whether a specific parameter needs to be reconfigured, and if the specific parameter needs to be reconfigured, the terminal device clears reporting of a measurement reporting entry; otherwise, the terminal device does not clear reporting of a measurement reporting entry.; Paragraph [0118]: when the UE obtains related system information of a corresponding cell or when the UE determines that the related system information of the corresponding cell cannot be obtained, the UE generates a measurement reporting entry corresponding to the measurement identity.)
Regarding claim 13, Zheng teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to perform the downlink beam selection and the beam switch evaluation based at least in part on the specific network deployment flag, are configured to: query a local database of the UE for the specific network deployment flag; (Paragraph [0055]: Measurement quantity configuration: Before reporting a measurement result, the terminal device first performs layer 3 filtering on a trigger quantity.; Paragraph [0065]: the index information may be an identity or a resource corresponding to a configured CSI-RS, or may be an identity or a resource corresponding to a configured uplink sounding reference signal (SRS). Optionally, the index information may be index information explicitly or implicitly carried by a signal or a channel carried in a beam. The energy transmission directivity may mean that precoding processing is performed, by using the precoding vector, on a signal that needs to be sent. A signal obtained after the precoding processing has a specific spatial directivity. The signal that is received and on which precoding processing is performed by using the precoding vector has relatively high receive power, for example, satisfies a receive demodulation signal-to-noise ratio. The energy transmission directivity may also mean that a same signal that is sent at different spatial locations and that is received by using the precoding vector has different receive power. Optionally, a same communications apparatus (such as a terminal device or a network device) may have different precoding vectors, and different devices may also have different precoding vectors, in other words, correspond to different beams. For a configuration or a capability of a communications apparatus, one communications apparatus may use one or more of a plurality of different precoding vectors at a same moment, in other words, one or more beams may be formed at the same time. When SSB-RSRP signal quality of the UE exceeds an RSRP threshold of the SSB, the UE selects a preamble sequence of the corresponding SSB to perform random access.; Paragraph [0104]: the network device sends measConfig to the terminal device, where measConfig includes a measurement parameter of an MO 4. The measurement parameter of the MO 4 in measConfig changes compared with the measurement parameter of the MO 4 stored in the terminal device. The network device may add the third indication information to the MO 4. If the third indication information may indicate to clear a measurement reporting entry, after receiving measConfig, the terminal device processes, based on the third indication information, each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 4, to be specific, clears each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 4.)
determine, from the local database, that the specific network deployment flag is set to "TRUE"; (Paragraph [0106]: if it is desirable for the network device to retain a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is an SSB, when reconfiguring some measurement parameters in a reporting configuration whose reference signal is an SSB, the network device may set the third indication information carried in the reporting configuration to TRUE, or if it is not desirable for the network device to retain a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is an SSB, when reconfiguring some measurement parameters in a reporting configuration whose reference signal is an SSB, the network device may set the third indication information carried in the reporting configuration to FALSE.)
and evaluate a downlink receive beam based at least in part on the downlink receive beam satisfying one or more UE thresholds. (Paragraph [0065]: A beam may be configured by using RRC, an SSB is sent to UE by using a broadcast message, and a CSI-RS may be configured for the UE by using radio resource control (RRC) dedicated signaling. The SSB and the CS-RS are respectively configured with two thresholds (rsrp-ThresholdSSB and csirs-Threshold), and the two thresholds are used by the UE to select a beam.; Paragraph [0113]: The terminal device receives the measurement configuration information from the network device, where the measurement configuration information includes an MO 5, and compared with that in a measurement parameter of the MO 5 stored in the terminal device, absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation changes in the measurement parameter of the measurement configuration information of the MO 5, in other words, the terminal device needs to reconfigure absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation of the MO 5.)
Regarding claim 14, Zheng teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to perform the downlink beam selection and the beam switch evaluation based at least in part on the specific network deployment flag, are configured to: query a local database of the UE for the specific network deployment flag; (Paragraph [0065]: the index information may be an identity or a resource corresponding to a configured CSI-RS, or may be an identity or a resource corresponding to a configured uplink sounding reference signal (SRS). Optionally, the index information may be index information explicitly or implicitly carried by a signal or a channel carried in a beam. The energy transmission directivity may mean that precoding processing is performed, by using the precoding vector, on a signal that needs to be sent. A signal obtained after the precoding processing has a specific spatial directivity. The signal that is received and on which precoding processing is performed by using the precoding vector has relatively high receive power, for example, satisfies a receive demodulation signal-to-noise ratio. The energy transmission directivity may also mean that a same signal that is sent at different spatial locations and that is received by using the precoding vector has different receive power. Optionally, a same communications apparatus (such as a terminal device or a network device) may have different precoding vectors, and different devices may also have different precoding vectors, in other words, correspond to different beams. For a configuration or a capability of a communications apparatus, one communications apparatus may use one or more of a plurality of different precoding vectors at a same moment, in other words, one or more beams may be formed at the same time. When SSB-RSRP signal quality of the UE exceeds an RSRP threshold of the SSB, the UE selects a preamble sequence of the corresponding SSB to perform random access.; Paragraph [0104]: the network device sends measConfig to the terminal device, where measConfig includes a measurement parameter of an MO 4. The measurement parameter of the MO 4 in measConfig changes compared with the measurement parameter of the MO 4 stored in the terminal device. The network device may add the third indication information to the MO 4. If the third indication information may indicate to clear a measurement reporting entry, after receiving measConfig, the terminal device processes, based on the third indication information, each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 4, to be specific, clears each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 4.)
determine, from the local database, that the specific network deployment flag is set to "FALSE"; (Paragraph [0105]: Therefore, the terminal device may receive the third indication information when receiving the reporting configuration of the measurement configuration information from the network device. The third indication information is valid only for the reporting configuration. Therefore, when a measurement parameter of the reporting configuration is reconfigured, a measurement reporting entry associated with the reporting configuration may be processed based on the third indication information.; Paragraph [0106]: If it is desirable for the network device to retain a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is a CSI-RS, when reconfiguring some measurement parameters in a reporting configuration whose reference signal is a CSI-RS, the network device may set the third indication information carried in the reporting configuration to TRUE, or if it is not desirable for the network device to retain a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is a CSI-RS, when reconfiguring some measurement parameters in a reporting configuration whose reference signal is a CSI-RS, the network device may set the third indication information carried in the reporting configuration to FALSE.)
and evaluate a downlink receive beam on a plurality of measured downlink receive beams. (Paragraph [0065]: the index information may be an identity or a resource corresponding to a configured CSI-RS, or may be an identity or a resource corresponding to a configured uplink sounding reference signal (SRS). Optionally, the index information may be index information explicitly or implicitly carried by a signal or a channel carried in a beam. The energy transmission directivity may mean that precoding processing is performed, by using the precoding vector, on a signal that needs to be sent. A signal obtained after the precoding processing has a specific spatial directivity. The signal that is received and on which precoding processing is performed by using the precoding vector has relatively high receive power, for example, satisfies a receive demodulation signal-to-noise ratio. The energy transmission directivity may also mean that a same signal that is sent at different spatial locations and that is received by using the precoding vector has different receive power. Optionally, a same communications apparatus (such as a terminal device or a network device) may have different precoding vectors, and different devices may also have different precoding vectors, in other words, correspond to different beams. For a configuration or a capability of a communications apparatus, one communications apparatus may use one or more of a plurality of different precoding vectors at a same moment, in other words, one or more beams may be formed at the same time. When SSB-RSRP signal quality of the UE exceeds an RSRP threshold of the SSB, the UE selects a preamble sequence of the corresponding SSB to perform random access.; Paragraph [0113]: The terminal device receives the measurement configuration information from the network device, where the measurement configuration information includes an MO 5, and compared with that in a measurement parameter of the MO 5 stored in the terminal device, absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation changes in the measurement parameter of the measurement configuration information of the MO 5, in other words, the terminal device needs to reconfigure absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation of the MO 5.)
Regarding claim 15, Zheng teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a network entity, an absolute threshold synchronization signal block (SSB) consolidation parameter; (Paragraph [0052]: In an NR system, a measurement parameter of an MO may include a measurement parameter corresponding to a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (synchronization signal block/PBCH block, SSB), and may further include a measurement parameter corresponding to a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS). Paragraph [0088]: When the network device reconfigures a parameter such as a consolidation threshold in the MO, it is desirable to clear a corresponding measurement reporting entry. For example, when reconfiguring absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation in the MO, the network device expects the terminal device to clear an SSB-related measurement reporting entry, and when reconfiguring absThreshCSI-RS-Consolidation in the MO, the network device expects the terminal device to clear a CSI-RS-related measurement reporting entry: absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation is an SSB beam threshold, and absThreshCSI-RS-Consolidation is a CSI-RS beam threshold.)
determining whether a threshold value indicated in the absolute threshold SSB consolidation parameter satisfies a predefined value threshold; (Paragraph [0113]: The terminal device receives the measurement configuration information from the network device, where the measurement configuration information includes an MO 5, and compared with that in a measurement parameter of the MO 5 stored in the terminal device, absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation changes in the measurement parameter of the measurement configuration information of the MO 5, in other words, the terminal device needs to reconfigure absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation of the MO 5.)
setting a specific network deployment flag based at least in part on whether the threshold value satisfies the predefined value threshold; (Paragraph [0113]: the preset rule may be that the terminal device clears a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is a CSI-RS when reconfiguring a first specific parameter, and/or the terminal device clears a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is an SSB when reconfiguring a second specific parameter… the terminal device needs to reconfigure absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation of the MO 5.)
determining a cell measurement result based at least in part on the specific network deployment flag; ; (Paragraph [0113]: The terminal device receives the measurement configuration information from the network device, where the measurement configuration information includes an MO 5, and compared with that in a measurement parameter of the MO 5 stored in the terminal device, absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation changes in the measurement parameter of the measurement configuration information of the MO 5, in other words, the terminal device needs to reconfigure absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation of the MO 5. The terminal device may clear, based on the preset rule, a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is an SSB in each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 5.)
and performing a downlink beam selection and a beam switch evaluation based at least in part on the specific network deployment flag. (Paragraph [0065]: A beam may be configured by using RRC, an SSB is sent to UE by using a broadcast message, and a CSI-RS may be configured for the UE by using radio resource control (RRC) dedicated signaling.; Paragraph [0115]: The terminal device receives the measurement configuration information from the network device, where the measurement configuration information includes an MO 5, and compared with that in a measurement parameter of the MO 5 stored in the terminal device, absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation changes in the measurement parameter of the measurement configuration information of the MO 5, in other words, the terminal device needs to reconfigure absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation of the MO 5. The terminal device may not clear, based on the preset rule, a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is a CSI-RS in each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 5. Paragraph [0122]: after receiving an SMTC configuration from the network device, the terminal device may monitor an SSB of a target cell from a start location of an SMTC window. If the terminal device does not receive the SSB of the target cell in the entire SMTC window, the terminal device may continue to monitor the SSB of the target cell in an SS burst period. If no SSB of the target cell is received within the SS burst period, the terminal device stops monitoring and determines that synchronization fails. If an SSB of the target cell is received within the SS burst period, the terminal device synchronizes with the target cell based on the received SSB.) (Examiner’s notes: In this application, a beam sent by the network device to the terminal device is referred to as a downlink beam)
Regarding claim 19, Zheng teaches the method of claim 15, wherein receiving the absolute threshold SSB consolidation parameter comprises receiving, during a connected state of the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) configuration that indicates the absolute threshold SSB consolidation parameter. (Paragraph [0084]: In a handover execution process, the source cell cell 1 sends an RRCReconfiguration message to the terminal device, where the RRCReconfiguration message carries a measurement configuration, the measurement configuration includes configurations of one or more MOs, and the configurations of the MOs may carry SMTCs. It is assumed that a first MO is included, and the network reconfigures an SMTC configuration in the first MO.; Paragraph [0113]: The terminal device receives the measurement configuration information from the network device, where the measurement configuration information includes an MO 5, and compared with that in a measurement parameter of the MO 5 stored in the terminal device, absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation changes in the measurement parameter of the measurement configuration information of the MO 5, in other words, the terminal device needs to reconfigure absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation of the MO 5.)
Regarding claim 21, Zheng teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the specific network deployment flag is set to "TRUE" for an inter-frequency based at least in part on the threshold value satisfying the predefined value threshold, and is otherwise set to "FALSE". (Paragraph [0106]: If it is desirable for the network device to retain a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is a CSI-RS, when reconfiguring some measurement parameters in a reporting configuration whose reference signal is a CSI-RS, the network device may set the third indication information carried in the reporting configuration to TRUE, or if it is not desirable for the network device to retain a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is a CSI-RS, when reconfiguring some measurement parameters in a reporting configuration whose reference signal is a CSI-RS, the network device may set the third indication information carried in the reporting configuration to FALSE.; Paragraph [0104]: If the third indication information may indicate not to clear a measurement reporting entry, after receiving measConfig, the terminal device processes, based on the third indication information, each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 4, to be specific, does not clear each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 4.; Paragraph [0105]: The third indication information is valid only for the reporting configuration. Therefore, when a measurement parameter of the reporting configuration is reconfigured, a measurement reporting entry associated with the reporting configuration may be processed based on the third indication information.)
Regarding claim 22, Zheng teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising: storing the specific network deployment flag in a local database of the UE for a New Radio frequency per idle state and connected state. (Paragraph [0084]: In a handover execution process, the source cell cell 1 sends an RRCReconfiguration message to the terminal device, where the RRCReconfiguration message carries a measurement configuration, the measurement configuration includes configurations of one or more MOs, and the configurations of the MOs may carry SMTCs.; Paragraph [0118]: the network device may send timing offset information to the terminal device, and the terminal device may reconfigure all existing SMTC configurations based on the timing offset information. Further, after reconfiguring the SMTC configurations, the terminal device may send a new configuration to the network device. If a source cell is synchronized with the target cell, the terminal device may not need to reconfigure SMTC information.)
Regarding claim 24, Zheng teaches the method of claim 15, wherein determining the cell measurement result comprises: querying a local database of the UE for the specific network deployment flag; (Paragraph [0104]: the network device sends measConfig to the terminal device, where measConfig includes a measurement parameter of an MO 4. The measurement parameter of the MO 4 in measConfig changes compared with the measurement parameter of the MO 4 stored in the terminal device. The network device may add the third indication information to the MO 4. If the third indication information may indicate to clear a measurement reporting entry, after receiving measConfig, the terminal device processes, based on the third indication information, each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 4, to be specific, clears each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 4.; ; Paragraph [0105]: Therefore, the terminal device may receive the third indication information when receiving the reporting configuration of the measurement configuration information from the network device. The third indication information is valid only for the reporting configuration. Therefore, when a measurement parameter of the reporting configuration is reconfigured, a measurement reporting entry associated with the reporting configuration may be processed based on the third indication information.)
determining, from the local database, that the specific network deployment flag is set to "FALSE"; (Paragraph [0105]: Therefore, the terminal device may receive the third indication information when receiving the reporting configuration of the measurement configuration information from the network device. The third indication information is valid only for the reporting configuration. Therefore, when a measurement parameter of the reporting configuration is reconfigured, a measurement reporting entry associated with the reporting configuration may be processed based on the third indication information.; Paragraph [0106]: If it is desirable for the network device to retain a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is a CSI-RS, when reconfiguring some measurement parameters in a reporting configuration whose reference signal is a CSI-RS, the network device may set the third indication information carried in the reporting configuration to TRUE, or if it is not desirable for the network device to retain a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is a CSI-RS, when reconfiguring some measurement parameters in a reporting configuration whose reference signal is a CSI-RS, the network device may set the third indication information carried in the reporting configuration to FALSE.)
and determining the cell measurement result using a full SSB pool, (Paragraph [0122]: If the terminal device does not receive the SSB of the target cell in the entire SMTC window, the terminal device may continue to monitor the SSB of the target cell in an SS burst period. If no SSB of the target cell is received within the SS burst period, the terminal device stops monitoring and determines that synchronization fails.)
wherein the cell measurement result is associated with a measured cell on a frequency. (Paragraph [0052]: One MO in an LTE system corresponds to one frequency, and a measurement parameter of the measurement object includes a configuration status of a measurement resource on the frequency, for example, a list of cells on the frequency channel number.)
Regarding claim 25, Zheng teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the cell measurement result is determined during an idle state of the UE or during a connected state of the UE. (Paragraph [0118]: when the UE obtains related system information of a corresponding cell or when the UE determines that the related system information of the corresponding cell cannot be obtained, the UE generates a measurement reporting entry corresponding to the measurement identity.; Paragraph [0084]: In a handover execution process, the source cell cell 1 sends an RRCReconfiguration message to the terminal device, where the RRCReconfiguration message carries a measurement configuration, the measurement configuration includes configurations of one or more MOs, and the configurations of the MOs may carry SMTCs. It is assumed that a first MO is included, and the network reconfigures an SMTC configuration in the first MO.)
Regarding claim 26, Zheng teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the cell measurement result is determined during one of: a cell selection, a cell reselection, a New Radio (NR)-to-NR reselection, a Long Term Evolution (LTE)-to-NR reselection, or a measurement report evaluation. (Paragraph [0003]: Cell selection, reselection, and handover are all performed based on results of mobility measurement.; Paragraph [0112]: when receiving the measurement configuration information from the network device, the terminal device may determine whether a specific parameter needs to be reconfigured, and if the specific parameter needs to be reconfigured, the terminal device clears reporting of a measurement reporting entry; otherwise, the terminal device does not clear reporting of a measurement reporting entry.; Paragraph [0118]: when the UE obtains related system information of a corresponding cell or when the UE determines that the related system information of the corresponding cell cannot be obtained, the UE generates a measurement reporting entry corresponding to the measurement identity.)
Regarding claim 27, Zheng teaches The method of claim 15, wherein performing the downlink beam selection and the beam switch evaluation based at least in part on the specific network deployment flag comprises: querying a local database of the UE for the specific network deployment flag; (Paragraph [0055]: Measurement quantity configuration: Before reporting a measurement result, the terminal device first performs layer 3 filtering on a trigger quantity.; Paragraph [0065]: the index information may be an identity or a resource corresponding to a configured CSI-RS, or may be an identity or a resource corresponding to a configured uplink sounding reference signal (SRS). Optionally, the index information may be index information explicitly or implicitly carried by a signal or a channel carried in a beam. The energy transmission directivity may mean that precoding processing is performed, by using the precoding vector, on a signal that needs to be sent. A signal obtained after the precoding processing has a specific spatial directivity. The signal that is received and on which precoding processing is performed by using the precoding vector has relatively high receive power, for example, satisfies a receive demodulation signal-to-noise ratio. The energy transmission directivity may also mean that a same signal that is sent at different spatial locations and that is received by using the precoding vector has different receive power. Optionally, a same communications apparatus (such as a terminal device or a network device) may have different precoding vectors, and different devices may also have different precoding vectors, in other words, correspond to different beams. For a configuration or a capability of a communications apparatus, one communications apparatus may use one or more of a plurality of different precoding vectors at a same moment, in other words, one or more beams may be formed at the same time. When SSB-RSRP signal quality of the UE exceeds an RSRP threshold of the SSB, the UE selects a preamble sequence of the corresponding SSB to perform random access.; Paragraph [0104]: the network device sends measConfig to the terminal device, where measConfig includes a measurement parameter of an MO 4. The measurement parameter of the MO 4 in measConfig changes compared with the measurement parameter of the MO 4 stored in the terminal device. The network device may add the third indication information to the MO 4. If the third indication information may indicate to clear a measurement reporting entry, after receiving measConfig, the terminal device processes, based on the third indication information, each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 4, to be specific, clears each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 4.)
determining, from the local database, that the specific network deployment flag is set to "TRUE"; (Paragraph [0106]: if it is desirable for the network device to retain a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is an SSB, when reconfiguring some measurement parameters in a reporting configuration whose reference signal is an SSB, the network device may set the third indication information carried in the reporting configuration to TRUE, or if it is not desirable for the network device to retain a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is an SSB, when reconfiguring some measurement parameters in a reporting configuration whose reference signal is an SSB, the network device may set the third indication information carried in the reporting configuration to FALSE.)
and evaluating a downlink receive beam based at least in part on the downlink receive beam satisfying one or more UE thresholds. (Paragraph [0065]: A beam may be configured by using RRC, an SSB is sent to UE by using a broadcast message, and a CSI-RS may be configured for the UE by using radio resource control (RRC) dedicated signaling. The SSB and the CS-RS are respectively configured with two thresholds (rsrp-ThresholdSSB and csirs-Threshold), and the two thresholds are used by the UE to select a beam.; Paragraph [0113]: The terminal device receives the measurement configuration information from the network device, where the measurement configuration information includes an MO 5, and compared with that in a measurement parameter of the MO 5 stored in the terminal device, absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation changes in the measurement parameter of the measurement configuration information of the MO 5, in other words, the terminal device needs to reconfigure absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation of the MO 5.)
Regarding claim 28, Zheng teaches the method of claim 15, wherein performing the downlink beam selection and the beam switch evaluation based at least in part on the specific network deployment flag comprises: querying a local database of the UE for the specific network deployment flag; (Paragraph [0065]: the index information may be an identity or a resource corresponding to a configured CSI-RS, or may be an identity or a resource corresponding to a configured uplink sounding reference signal (SRS). Optionally, the index information may be index information explicitly or implicitly carried by a signal or a channel carried in a beam. The energy transmission directivity may mean that precoding processing is performed, by using the precoding vector, on a signal that needs to be sent. A signal obtained after the precoding processing has a specific spatial directivity. The signal that is received and on which precoding processing is performed by using the precoding vector has relatively high receive power, for example, satisfies a receive demodulation signal-to-noise ratio. The energy transmission directivity may also mean that a same signal that is sent at different spatial locations and that is received by using the precoding vector has different receive power. Optionally, a same communications apparatus (such as a terminal device or a network device) may have different precoding vectors, and different devices may also have different precoding vectors, in other words, correspond to different beams. For a configuration or a capability of a communications apparatus, one communications apparatus may use one or more of a plurality of different precoding vectors at a same moment, in other words, one or more beams may be formed at the same time. When SSB-RSRP signal quality of the UE exceeds an RSRP threshold of the SSB, the UE selects a preamble sequence of the corresponding SSB to perform random access.; Paragraph [0104]: the network device sends measConfig to the terminal device, where measConfig includes a measurement parameter of an MO 4. The measurement parameter of the MO 4 in measConfig changes compared with the measurement parameter of the MO 4 stored in the terminal device. The network device may add the third indication information to the MO 4. If the third indication information may indicate to clear a measurement reporting entry, after receiving measConfig, the terminal device processes, based on the third indication information, each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 4, to be specific, clears each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 4.)
determining, from the local database, that the specific network deployment flag is set to "FALSE"; (Paragraph [0105]: Therefore, the terminal device may receive the third indication information when receiving the reporting configuration of the measurement configuration information from the network device. The third indication information is valid only for the reporting configuration. Therefore, when a measurement parameter of the reporting configuration is reconfigured, a measurement reporting entry associated with the reporting configuration may be processed based on the third indication information.; Paragraph [0106]: If it is desirable for the network device to retain a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is a CSI-RS, when reconfiguring some measurement parameters in a reporting configuration whose reference signal is a CSI-RS, the network device may set the third indication information carried in the reporting configuration to TRUE, or if it is not desirable for the network device to retain a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is a CSI-RS, when reconfiguring some measurement parameters in a reporting configuration whose reference signal is a CSI-RS, the network device may set the third indication information carried in the reporting configuration to FALSE.)
and evaluating a downlink receive beam on a plurality of measured downlink receive beams. (Paragraph [0065]: the index information may be an identity or a resource corresponding to a configured CSI-RS, or may be an identity or a resource corresponding to a configured uplink sounding reference signal (SRS). Optionally, the index information may be index information explicitly or implicitly carried by a signal or a channel carried in a beam. The energy transmission directivity may mean that precoding processing is performed, by using the precoding vector, on a signal that needs to be sent. A signal obtained after the precoding processing has a specific spatial directivity. The signal that is received and on which precoding processing is performed by using the precoding vector has relatively high receive power, for example, satisfies a receive demodulation signal-to-noise ratio. The energy transmission directivity may also mean that a same signal that is sent at different spatial locations and that is received by using the precoding vector has different receive power. Optionally, a same communications apparatus (such as a terminal device or a network device) may have different precoding vectors, and different devices may also have different precoding vectors, in other words, correspond to different beams. For a configuration or a capability of a communications apparatus, one communications apparatus may use one or more of a plurality of different precoding vectors at a same moment, in other words, one or more beams may be formed at the same time. When SSB-RSRP signal quality of the UE exceeds an RSRP threshold of the SSB, the UE selects a preamble sequence of the corresponding SSB to perform random access.; Paragraph [0113]: The terminal device receives the measurement configuration information from the network device, where the measurement configuration information includes an MO 5, and compared with that in a measurement parameter of the MO 5 stored in the terminal device, absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation changes in the measurement parameter of the measurement configuration information of the MO 5, in other words, the terminal device needs to reconfigure absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation of the MO 5.)
Regarding claim 29, Zheng teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE), cause the UE to: receive, from a network entity, an absolute threshold synchronization signal block (SSB) consolidation parameter; (Paragraph [0052]: In an NR system, a measurement parameter of an MO may include a measurement parameter corresponding to a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (synchronization signal block/PBCH block, SSB), and may further include a measurement parameter corresponding to a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS).; Paragraph [0088]: When the network device reconfigures a parameter such as a consolidation threshold in the MO, it is desirable to clear a corresponding measurement reporting entry. For example, when reconfiguring absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation in the MO, the network device expects the terminal device to clear an SSB-related measurement reporting entry, and when reconfiguring absThreshCSI-RS-Consolidation in the MO, the network device expects the terminal device to clear a CSI-RS-related measurement reporting entry: absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation is an SSB beam threshold, and absThreshCSI-RS-Consolidation is a CSI-RS beam threshold.)
determine whether a threshold value indicated in the absolute threshold SSB consolidation parameter satisfies a predefined value threshold; (Paragraph [0113]: The terminal device receives the measurement configuration information from the network device, where the measurement configuration information includes an MO 5, and compared with that in a measurement parameter of the MO 5 stored in the terminal device, absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation changes in the measurement parameter of the measurement configuration information of the MO 5, in other words, the terminal device needs to reconfigure absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation of the MO 5.)
set a specific network deployment flag based at least in part on whether the threshold value satisfies the predefined value threshold; (Paragraph [0113]: the preset rule may be that the terminal device clears a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is a CSI-RS when reconfiguring a first specific parameter, and/or the terminal device clears a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is an SSB when reconfiguring a second specific parameter.)
determine a cell measurement result based at least in part on the specific network deployment flag; (Paragraph [0113]: The terminal device receives the measurement configuration information from the network device, where the measurement configuration information includes an MO 5, and compared with that in a measurement parameter of the MO 5 stored in the terminal device, absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation changes in the measurement parameter of the measurement configuration information of the MO 5, in other words, the terminal device needs to reconfigure absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation of the MO 5. The terminal device may clear, based on the preset rule, a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is an SSB in each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 5.)
and perform a downlink beam selection and a beam switch evaluation based at least in part on the specific network deployment flag. (Paragraph [0115]: The terminal device receives the measurement configuration information from the network device, where the measurement configuration information includes an MO 5, and compared with that in a measurement parameter of the MO 5 stored in the terminal device, absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation changes in the measurement parameter of the measurement configuration information of the MO 5, in other words, the terminal device needs to reconfigure absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation of the MO 5. The terminal device may not clear, based on the preset rule, a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is a CSI-RS in each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 5.; Paragraph [0122]: after receiving an SMTC configuration from the network device, the terminal device may monitor an SSB of a target cell from a start location of an SMTC window. If the terminal device does not receive the SSB of the target cell in the entire SMTC window, the terminal device may continue to monitor the SSB of the target cell in an SS burst period. If no SSB of the target cell is received within the SS burst period, the terminal device stops monitoring and determines that synchronization fails. If an SSB of the target cell is received within the SS burst period, the terminal device synchronizes with the target cell based on the received SSB.)
Regarding claim 30, Zheng teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: means for receiving, from a network entity, an absolute threshold synchronization signal block (SSB) consolidation parameter; (Paragraph [0052]: In an NR system, a measurement parameter of an MO may include a measurement parameter corresponding to a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (synchronization signal block/PBCH block, SSB), and may further include a measurement parameter corresponding to a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS).; Paragraph [0088]: When the network device reconfigures a parameter such as a consolidation threshold in the MO, it is desirable to clear a corresponding measurement reporting entry. For example, when reconfiguring absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation in the MO, the network device expects the terminal device to clear an SSB-related measurement reporting entry, and when reconfiguring absThreshCSI-RS-Consolidation in the MO, the network device expects the terminal device to clear a CSI-RS-related measurement reporting entry: absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation is an SSB beam threshold, and absThreshCSI-RS-Consolidation is a CSI-RS beam threshold.)
means for determining whether a threshold value indicated in the absolute threshold SSB consolidation parameter satisfies a predefined value threshold; (Paragraph [0113]: The terminal device receives the measurement configuration information from the network device, where the measurement configuration information includes an MO 5, and compared with that in a measurement parameter of the MO 5 stored in the terminal device, absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation changes in the measurement parameter of the measurement configuration information of the MO 5, in other words, the terminal device needs to reconfigure absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation of the MO 5.)
means for setting a specific network deployment flag based at least in part on whether the threshold value satisfies the predefined value threshold; (Paragraph [0113]: the preset rule may be that the terminal device clears a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is a CSI-RS when reconfiguring a first specific parameter, and/or the terminal device clears a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is an SSB when reconfiguring a second specific parameter… the terminal device needs to reconfigure absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation of the MO 5.)
means for determining a cell measurement result based at least in part on the specific network deployment flag; (Paragraph [0113]: The terminal device receives the measurement configuration information from the network device, where the measurement configuration information includes an MO 5, and compared with that in a measurement parameter of the MO 5 stored in the terminal device, absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation changes in the measurement parameter of the measurement configuration information of the MO 5, in other words, the terminal device needs to reconfigure absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation of the MO 5. The terminal device may clear, based on the preset rule, a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is an SSB in each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 5.)
and means for performing a downlink beam selection and a beam switch evaluation based at least in part on the specific network deployment flag. (Paragraph [0115]: The terminal device receives the measurement configuration information from the network device, where the measurement configuration information includes an MO 5, and compared with that in a measurement parameter of the MO 5 stored in the terminal device, absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation changes in the measurement parameter of the measurement configuration information of the MO 5, in other words, the terminal device needs to reconfigure absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation of the MO 5. The terminal device may not clear, based on the preset rule, a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is a CSI-RS in each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 5.; Paragraph [0122]: after receiving an SMTC configuration from the network device, the terminal device may monitor an SSB of a target cell from a start location of an SMTC window. If the terminal device does not receive the SSB of the target cell in the entire SMTC window, the terminal device may continue to monitor the SSB of the target cell in an SS burst period. If no SSB of the target cell is received within the SS burst period, the terminal device stops monitoring and determines that synchronization fails. If an SSB of the target cell is received within the SS burst period, the terminal device synchronizes with the target cell based on the received SSB.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 & 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng (US 2021/0219164) in view of Lei (WO 2022/035762).
Regarding claim 9, Zheng teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to determine the cell measurement result, are configured to: query a local database of the UE for the specific network deployment flag; (Paragraph [0104]: the network device sends measConfig to the terminal device, where measConfig includes a measurement parameter of an MO 4. The measurement parameter of the MO 4 in measConfig changes compared with the measurement parameter of the MO 4 stored in the terminal device. The network device may add the third indication information to the MO 4. If the third indication information may indicate to clear a measurement reporting entry, after receiving measConfig, the terminal device processes, based on the third indication information, each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 4, to be specific, clears each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 4.; Paragraph [0105]: Therefore, the terminal device may receive the third indication information when receiving the reporting configuration of the measurement configuration information from the network device. The third indication information is valid only for the reporting configuration. Therefore, when a measurement parameter of the reporting configuration is reconfigured, a measurement reporting entry associated with the reporting configuration may be processed based on the third indication information.)
determine, from the local database, that the specific network deployment flag is set to "TRUE"; (Paragraph [0106]: if it is desirable for the network device to retain a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is an SSB, when reconfiguring some measurement parameters in a reporting configuration whose reference signal is an SSB, the network device may set the third indication information carried in the reporting configuration to TRUE, or if it is not desirable for the network device to retain a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is an SSB, when reconfiguring some measurement parameters in a reporting configuration whose reference signal is an SSB, the network device may set the third indication information carried in the reporting configuration to FALSE.)
construct, based at least in part on the specific network deployment flag being set to "TRUE", (Paragraph [0106]: if it is desirable for the network device to retain a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is an SSB, when reconfiguring some measurement parameters in a reporting configuration whose reference signal is an SSB, the network device may set the third indication information carried in the reporting configuration to TRUE, or if it is not desirable for the network device to retain a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is an SSB, when reconfiguring some measurement parameters in a reporting configuration whose reference signal is an SSB, the network device may set the third indication information carried in the reporting configuration to FALSE.)
and determine the cell measurement result using the candidate SSB pool, (Paragraph [0122]: If the terminal device does not receive the SSB of the target cell in the entire SMTC window, the terminal device may continue to monitor the SSB of the target cell in an SS burst period. If no SSB of the target cell is received within the SS burst period, the terminal device stops monitoring and determines that synchronization fails.)
wherein the cell measurement result is associated with a measured cell on a frequency. (Paragraph [0052]: One MO in an LTE system corresponds to one frequency, and a measurement parameter of the measurement object includes a configuration status of a measurement resource on the frequency, for example, a list of cells on the frequency channel number.)
Zheng teaches this without explicitly teaching a candidate SSB pool based at least in part on an SSB measurement result that satisfies one or more UE thresholds; (Lei from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a candidate SSB pool based at least in part on an SSB measurement result that satisfies one or more UE thresholds; (Paragraph [0107]: The subset of SSB beams may be configured as beams within a set of SSBs, configured per each or all CG configurations. The SSB beam subset for RSRP-based TA validation may be determined, for example, at least based on a configured absolute RSRP threshold.)
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to POSITA to implement Lei’s timing advance enhancements in the method of Zheng. The motivation being to improve the coverage, power and spectral efficiency when transmitting/receiving. (Paragraph [0091])
Regarding claim 23, Zheng teaches the method of claim 15, wherein determining the cell measurement result comprises: querying a local database of the UE for the specific network deployment flag; (Paragraph [0104]: the network device sends measConfig to the terminal device, where measConfig includes a measurement parameter of an MO 4. The measurement parameter of the MO 4 in measConfig changes compared with the measurement parameter of the MO 4 stored in the terminal device. The network device may add the third indication information to the MO 4. If the third indication information may indicate to clear a measurement reporting entry, after receiving measConfig, the terminal device processes, based on the third indication information, each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 4, to be specific, clears each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 4.; Paragraph [0105]: Therefore, the terminal device may receive the third indication information when receiving the reporting configuration of the measurement configuration information from the network device. The third indication information is valid only for the reporting configuration. Therefore, when a measurement parameter of the reporting configuration is reconfigured, a measurement reporting entry associated with the reporting configuration may be processed based on the third indication information.)
determining, from the local database, that the specific network deployment flag is set to "TRUE"; (Paragraph [0106]: if it is desirable for the network device to retain a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is an SSB, when reconfiguring some measurement parameters in a reporting configuration whose reference signal is an SSB, the network device may set the third indication information carried in the reporting configuration to TRUE, or if it is not desirable for the network device to retain a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is an SSB, when reconfiguring some measurement parameters in a reporting configuration whose reference signal is an SSB, the network device may set the third indication information carried in the reporting configuration to FALSE.)
constructing, based at least in part on the specific network deployment flag being set to "TRUE", (Paragraph [0106]: if it is desirable for the network device to retain a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is an SSB, when reconfiguring some measurement parameters in a reporting configuration whose reference signal is an SSB, the network device may set the third indication information carried in the reporting configuration to TRUE, or if it is not desirable for the network device to retain a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is an SSB, when reconfiguring some measurement parameters in a reporting configuration whose reference signal is an SSB, the network device may set the third indication information carried in the reporting configuration to FALSE.)
and determining the cell measurement result using the candidate SSB pool, (Paragraph [0122]: If the terminal device does not receive the SSB of the target cell in the entire SMTC window, the terminal device may continue to monitor the SSB of the target cell in an SS burst period. If no SSB of the target cell is received within the SS burst period, the terminal device stops monitoring and determines that synchronization fails.)
wherein the cell measurement result is associated with a measured cell on a frequency. (Paragraph [0052]: One MO in an LTE system corresponds to one frequency, and a measurement parameter of the measurement object includes a configuration status of a measurement resource on the frequency, for example, a list of cells on the frequency channel number.)
Zheng teaches this without explicitly teaching a candidate SSB pool based at least in part on an SSB measurement result that satisfies one or more UE thresholds. Lei from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a candidate SSB pool based at least in part on an SSB measurement result that satisfies one or more UE thresholds (Paragraph [0107]: The subset of SSB beams may be configured as beams within a set of SSBs, configured per each or all CG configurations. The SSB beam subset for RSRP-based TA validation may be determined, for example, at least based on a configured absolute RSRP threshold.)
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to POSITA to implement Lei’s timing advance enhancements in the method of Zheng. The motivation being to improve the coverage, power and spectral efficiency when transmitting/receiving. (Paragraph [0091])
Claims 2, 4, 16, & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng (US 2021/0219164) in view of Jeong (US 1243771).
Regarding claim 2, Zheng teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the absolute threshold SSB consolidation parameter. Zheng teaches this without explicitly teaching are configured to receive, during an idle state of the UE, a system information block (SIB) that indicates the absolute threshold SSB consolidation parameter. Jeong from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches are configured to receive, during an idle state of the UE, a system information block (SIB) that indicates the absolute threshold SSB consolidation parameter. (Paragraph [81]: The UE may obtain random access information by receiving SIB1 (12-05). Before performing the random access, the UE may first calculate the RSRP of the SSB, and if the SSB RSRP value is larger than rsrp-ThresholdSSB-SUL, the UE may select the NUL carrier, whereas if not, the UE may use the SUL carrier (12-10). Paragraph [89]: The UE may determine whether the resource having performed the random access is CSI-RS or SSB (14-25). The UE having performed the CSI-RS based random access attempt may not include the dlRSRPAboveThreshold for the random access attempt in the ra-Report (14-30). (Examiner’s notes: Operations 14-05 to 14-20 are the same as 12-05 to 12-20))
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of Zheng in view of Jeong. The motivation being to improve RLF detection.
Regarding claim 4, Zheng teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the specific network deployment flag is set to "TRUE" for an inter-frequency based at least in part on the threshold value satisfying the predefined value threshold, and is otherwise set to "FALSE". (Paragraph [0106]: if it is desirable for the network device to retain a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is an SSB, when reconfiguring some measurement parameters in a reporting configuration whose reference signal is an SSB, the network device may set the third indication information carried in the reporting configuration to TRUE, or if it is not desirable for the network device to retain a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is an SSB, when reconfiguring some measurement parameters in a reporting configuration whose reference signal is an SSB, the network device may set the third indication information carried in the reporting configuration to FALSE.; Paragraph [0079]: when a measurement parameter of any MO is reconfigured, a measurement reporting entry associated with the MO may be processed based on the first indication information and the second indication information, and when a measurement parameter of any reporting configuration is reconfigured, a measurement reporting entry associated with the reporting configuration may be processed based on the first indication information and the second indication information.)
Regarding claim 16, Zheng teaches the method of claim 15, wherein receiving the absolute threshold SSB consolidation parameter. Zheng teaches this without explicitly teaching comprises receiving, during an idle state of the UE, a system information block (SIB) that indicates the absolute threshold SSB consolidation parameter. Jeong from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches receiving, during an idle state of the UE, a system information block (SIB) that indicates the absolute threshold SSB consolidation parameter. (Paragraph [81]: The UE may obtain random access information by receiving SIB1 (12-05). Before performing the random access, the UE may first calculate the RSRP of the SSB, and if the SSB RSRP value is larger than rsrp-ThresholdSSB-SUL, the UE may select the NUL carrier, whereas if not, the UE may use the SUL carrier (12-10). Paragraph [89]: The UE may determine whether the resource having performed the random access is CSI-RS or SSB (14-25). The UE having performed the CSI-RS based random access attempt may not include the dlRSRPAboveThreshold for the random access attempt in the ra-Report (14-30). (Examiner’s notes: Operations 14-05 to 14-20 are the same as 12-05 to 12-20))
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of Zheng in view of Jeong. The motivation being to improve RLF detection.
Regarding claim 18, Zheng teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the specific network deployment flag is set to "TRUE" for an inter-frequency based at least in part on the threshold value satisfying the predefined value threshold, and is otherwise set to "FALSE". (Paragraph [0106]: If it is desirable for the network device to retain a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is a CSI-RS, when reconfiguring some measurement parameters in a reporting configuration whose reference signal is a CSI-RS, the network device may set the third indication information carried in the reporting configuration to TRUE, or if it is not desirable for the network device to retain a measurement reporting entry whose reference signal is a CSI-RS, when reconfiguring some measurement parameters in a reporting configuration whose reference signal is a CSI-RS, the network device may set the third indication information carried in the reporting configuration to FALSE.; Paragraph [0104]: If the third indication information may indicate not to clear a measurement reporting entry, after receiving measConfig, the terminal device processes, based on the third indication information, each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 4, to be specific, does not clear each measurement reporting entry associated with the MO 4.; Paragraph [0105]: The third indication information is valid only for the reporting configuration. Therefore, when a measurement parameter of the reporting configuration is reconfigured, a measurement reporting entry associated with the reporting configuration may be processed based on the third indication information.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 17, & 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ADEDAYO O FADEYI/Examiner, Art Unit 2479
/JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479