DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-10, 12, 14, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dolan et al. (2017/0148548).
Dolan et al. discloses a coated overhead conductor comprising a conductor (18) comprising aluminum ([0025]) or an alloy thereof and a coating (62) comprising a ceramic or a ceramic and a filler (re-claim 1), wherein the ceramic comprises alumina (re-claim 10). Dolan et al. also discloses that the conductor comprises an ACSS (aluminum conductor steel support) ([0025]) (re-claims 2 and 12); the ceramic comprising alumina ([0028]) (re-claim 3); the filler comprises a rare earth metal compound ([0033], cerium oxides or yttrium oxides) (re-claims 4 and 14); the coated conductor comprises an interfacial weld between the coating and the conductor ([0031], chemically bonded) (re-claims 7 and 17); the coating has a thickness of about 5 µm to about 30 µm ([0038]) (re-claims 8, 9, 19, and 20).
Claims 1, 6, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshida et al. (10090079).
Yoshida et al. discloses a coated overhead conductor comprising a conductor (11) comprising aluminum or an alloy thereof and a coating (13) comprising a ceramic or a ceramic and a filler (re-claim 1), wherein the ceramic comprises alumina (col. 6 lines 21-23) (re-claim 10).
Re-claims 6 and 16, it has been held that the patentability of a product claim is determined by the novelty and nonobviouness of the claimed product itself without consideration of the process for making it, thermal spray, which is recited in the claim. In re Thorpe, 111 F. 2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966; see also In re Nordt Development Co., LLC, [2017-1445] (February 8, 2018).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dolan et al. in view of Singer et al. (4657787).
Claims 5 and 15 additionally recite the coating further comprising one or more aluminum splats. Singer et al. discloses an invention directed to spraying a coating comprising aluminum splats onto a metal substrate. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide a coating comprising aluminum splats as taught by Singer et al. in the coated conductor of Dolan et al. to provide a smooth coating (Singer, col. 2 lines 23-24).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dolan et al. in view of Aoki (WO 2021/193690).
Claim 11 additionally recites the coating further comprising a hydrophobe. Aoki discloses a coating comprising a ceramic and further comprising a hydrophobe (page 5 of the English machined translation, hydrophobic alumina or hydrophobic titania). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to include a hydrophobe in the coating of Dolan et al. to increase the water resistance of the coating (see Aoki, page 3).
Claims 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dolan et al. in view of Kobayashi et al. (2024/0359998).
Claims 13 and 18 additionally recite the ceramic comprising black titania. Kobayashi et al. discloses a ceramic composition. Kobayashi et al. discloses that black titania (black titanium dioxide, [0002]) is known in the art for being used as a black pigment. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the ceramic of Dolan et al. to comprise black titania (i.e., using black titania as the metal oxide other than aluminum oxide) to provide the coating with a color since black titania is known in the art for being used as a black pigment.
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841