DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2022-104535, filed on June 29, 2022.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “a strain ε” is present twice in claim 1. The second instance of “a strain ε” should read “the strain ε”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 4 is rejected as it is unclear what the term “balance” refers to. For the purpose of examination “balance” is assumed to be the portion of the mixed carbon powder that is not the non-graphitizable carbon.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-5 of copending Application No. 18/716,408 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending application No. 18/716,408 teaches a substantially identical preparation method of the claimed non-graphitizable carbon of the instant application. This gives the appearance that the non-graphitizable carbon of copending application No. 18/716,408 is the same material as the non-graphitizable carbon of the instant application, with the difference in claimed elements being a mere difference of characterization methods.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonobe (U.S. Patent No. 5,587,255).
Regarding Claim 1, Sonobe teaches a non-graphitizable carbon (Col. 2 lines 50-55 teach a non-graphitizable component).
Sonobe does not explicitly teach a strain ε determined by a method in which an X-ray diffraction pattern is subjected to Rietveld analysis to obtain a profile and the profile is used to determine a strain ε by a Williamson-Hall method is 0.081 to 0.120, and a lattice plane distance d002 corresponding to 002 reflection as obtained by subjecting the X-ray diffraction pattern to Rietveld analysis is 0.360 to 0.370 nm.
Sonobe teaches the non-graphitizable carbon has an interlayer spacing d002 of at least 0.365 nm (abstract and Col.3 lines 28-33 teach a d002 spacing of at least 0.365 before reacting with water). This disclosure teaches the limitation of the d002 spacing being 0.360-0.370 nm. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 I. In the instant case the claimed range of 0.360-0.370 nm overlaps with the taught range of at least 0.365 nm. While Sonobe does not disclose a strain ε of the non-graphitizable carbon determined by a Williamson-Hall method, the physical properties of the non-graphitizable carbon taught by Sonobe sufficiently overlap with the non-graphitizable carbon of the instant application that the non-graphitizable carbon of Sonobe would inherently have a strain that overlaps with the strain claimed in the instant application. These physical properties include particle size (Col. 9 lines 45-55 teach an average particle diameter of 5-100), surface area (Col. 11 lines 7-13 teach a BET surface area of 2.4 m2/g), and true density (Col. 4 lines 13-25 teach a true density of 1.45-1.70 g/cm3). The instant specification recognizes that these, and similar, physical properties contribute to the measured strain. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to produce a non-graphitizable carbon material with a strain that overlaps with the strain claimed in the instant application.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Sonobe teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above.
Sonobe further teaches the use of the non-graphitizable carbon material in a negative electrode for a lithium-ion battery (Col. 13 lines 47-49).
Regarding Claim 3, Sonobe teaches all the limitations of Claim 2 as discussed above.
Sonobe further teaches the use of the negative electrode for a lithium-ion secondary battery (Col. 13 lines 41-49).
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonobe (U.S. Patent No. 5,587,255) in view of Endo (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0145329).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Sonobe teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed previously.
Sonobe does not teach a mixed carbon powder comprising the non-graphitizable carbon and graphite, wherein a content amount of the non-graphitizable carbon is 1 to 20 mass% with respect to a total mass of the mixed carbon powder, and a balance is the graphite.
Endo teaches a mixed carbon powder comprising the non-graphitizable carbon and graphite, wherein a content amount of the non-graphitizable carbon is 1 to 20 mass% with respect to a total mass of the mixed carbon powder, and a balance is the graphite ([0047] teaches in a preferred embodiment the ratio of non-graphitizable carbon to a total mass of non-graphitizable carbon and graphite is 10-20 mass%).
To solve the same problem of providing a negative electrode of a mixed carbon material, Endo teaches incorporating a moderate amount of non-graphitizable carbon into graphite for a negative electrode to enhance the conductivity of the negative electrode ([0012]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to mix the non-graphitizable carbon with graphite in the ratio claimed in the instant application.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Sonobe teaches all the limitations of Claim 4 as discussed above.
Sonobe further teaches the use of the non-graphitizable carbon material in a negative electrode for a lithium-ion battery (Col. 13 lines 47-49).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Sonobe teaches all the limitations of Claim 5 as discussed above.
Sonobe further teaches the use of the negative electrode for a lithium-ion secondary battery (Col. 13 lines 41-49).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Haga (US 2014/0294714) teaches a method of producing non-graphitizable carbon very similar to the synthetic method taught by the instant specification, leading to a very similar non-graphitizable carbon material.
Imaji (US 2014/0080004) teaches a non-graphitizable carbon with a d002 spacing of 0.365-0.400 nm and a particle size within the range taught by the instant specification.
/B.G.D./ Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/SADIE WHITE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721