DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM OBJECTION
The recited “diethylene glycol,1,2-propanediol” of claim 10 should be “diethylene glycol, 1,2-propanediol”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The recited “the polyester” of claim 11 lacks an antecedent basis in claim 1 directed to “a polyester composition”.
Claims 12-14 depending on indefinite claim 11 would be also indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beccaria et al. (US 2018/0223126 A1) in view of Crawford (US 2007/0142615 A1) or DE 10144745 A1 (May 2, 2002).
Beccaria et al. teach a polyester obtained from 30 mole% of terephthalic acid, 70 mole% of isophthalic acid, 40 mole% of 2,2,4,4-tetramethyl-1,3-cyclobutanediol (see (b) of claim 1), 40 mole% of 1,4-cyclohexanedimethanol and 20 mole% of 1,6-hexanediol in Sample 1 of Table 1.
The 1,6-hexanediol and 2,2,4,4-tetramethyl-1,3-cyclobutanediol would meet the recited glycol (ii) and glycol (iii) of claims 1 and 9, respectively.
Beccaria et al. teach utilization tin compound as a catalyst in [0046].
The instant invention further recites that a polyester composition further comprises residues of a catalyst system comprising: (a) lithium atoms and aluminum atoms, (b) gallium atoms, or (c) zirconium atoms, and (d) optionally less than 30 ppm of tin atoms over tin compound taught in [0046] of Beccaria et al.
Crawford teaches a similar polyester that is taught by Beccaria et al. in abstract.
Crawford further teaches polyester composition comprising titanium atoms and phosphorus atoms in claim 1 and the titanium atoms are from a catalyst as taught in [0093].
Crawford further teaches at least one additional catalyst chosen from tin, gallium, lithium aluminum compounds and an aluminum compound with lithium hydroxide in [0093]. Thus, further utilization of the aluminum compound with lithium hydroxide or gallium would make the instant (a) lithium atoms and aluminum atoms and (b) gallium atoms, respectively, obvious. See In re Mills, 477 F.2d 649, 176 USPQ 196 (CCPA), In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750 (CCPA 1976): Reference must be considered for all that it discloses and must not be limited to preferred embodiments or working examples. MPEP 2123.
Machine translated DE teaches various catalysts including those comprising zirconium atoms in a lower part of page 6.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention further to utilize the art known catalyst such as the aluminum compound with lithium hydroxide or gallium taught by Crawford or catalysts comprising zirconium atoms taught by DE in Sample 1 in Table 1 of Beccaria et al. in lieu of a tin compound taught in [0046] for obtaining the polyester since utilization of various catalysts is well known as taught by Crawford and DE absent showing otherwise. Such modification would make claims 1 and 9 obvious.
Selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima +297 (1945). MPEP 2144.07.
The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. KSR Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007). MPEP 2141.
Regarding claims 2-4, 40 mole% of 2-42,2,4,4-tetramethyl-1,3- cyclobutanediol taught by Beccaria et al. meets claims 2-4.
Regarding claim 5, Beccaria et al. teach an absolute molecular weight of 4000 g/mol to 18,000 g/mol in [0029] which would make claim 5 obvious. The existence of overlapping or encompassing ranges shifts the burden to the applicant to show that his invention would not have been obvious. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 7, Beccaria et al. teach an acid value of 3mg KOH/g for Sample 1 and an acid value of 1-6 mg KOH/g in [0021].
Regarding claims 6 and 8, the polyester of Sample 1 would be expected to have the recited b* value and hydroxyl number inherently since it comprises reactants falling within scope of claim 1 having the same acid value recited in claim 7. Since PTO does not have equipment to conduct the test, it is fair to require applicant to shoulder the burden of proving that his material differs from Sample 1. See In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). Charles Pfizer & Co. v. FTC, 401 F.2d 574, 579 (6th Cir. 1968). Inherent anticipation does not require that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure, Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharms., Inc., 339 F.3d 1373 (Fed. Cir. 2002). See MPEP 2112.01. Whether the rejection is based on “inherency” under 35 U.S.C. 102, or “prima facie obviousness” under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same. In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 70 (CCPA 1980) (quoting) In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2183.
Regarding claim 10, 1,4-cyclohexanedimethanol and 20 mole% of 1,6-hexanediol taught in Sample 1 in Table 1.
Regarding claim 11-13, Crawford teaches heating the product of Step (I) under the final pressure to 0.02 torr in [0094] which is considered vacuum. Thus, utilization of such method for obtaining polyester of Beccaria et al. would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 15, Beccaria et al. teach a coating composition in Sample 23 of Table 2.
EXAMINER’S COMMENT
Claim 14 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims since Beccaria et al. teach a reaction mixture comprising a catalyst and since Beccaria et al. fail to teach or fairly suggest a timing for an addition of a catalyst when the polyol has an acid number of from 10 to 30 mg KOH/g polymer.
/TAE H YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762