DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description: “700b” (Fig. 7B) and “800b” (Fig. 8B). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference characters in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, and 26-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris (Patent Publication Number WO 2021/195368 A1), hereafter referred to as Harris, in view of Robinson et al. (Patent Number US 10,735,040 B2), hereafter referred to as Robinson.
Regarding claim 1, the embodiment of Fig. 4 of Harris discloses:
A tunable traveling wave parametric amplifier (TWPA) (Harris, Fig. 4, 400) comprising a first T-stage (Fig. 4, 400), the first T-stage comprising: a first DC-SQUID (Fig. 4, 450); a second DC-SQUID (Fig. 4, 430) electrically communicatively coupled to the first DC-SQUID in series (Fig. 4, see series connection of 450 and 430) via a first center node (Fig. 4, consider node at 410); a first resonator (Fig. 4, 402) communicatively coupled to the first center node via a first coupling capacitance (Fig. 4, see connection between 402 and 410 via coupling capacitance 414), the first resonator shunted to a ground (Fig. 4, see connection between 402 and ground), the first resonator comprising: a first resonator capacitance (Fig. 4, 418, see also Page 9, lines 10-17); a first resonator inductance (Fig. 4, 418, see also Page 9, lines 10-17); and a third DC-SQUID (Fig. 4, 420); but fails to disclose a first interface inductively communicatively coupled to the first DC-SQUID, the first interface operable to apply a first bias to the first DC-SQUID; a second interface inductively communicatively coupled to the second DC-SQUID, the second interface operable to apply a second bias to the second DC-SQUID; and a third interface inductively communicatively coupled to the third DC-SQUID, the third interface operable to apply a third bias to the third DC-SQUID, wherein the first bias and the second bias are adjustable to reduce a ripple in a gain versus frequency response of the tunable TWPA, and the third bias is adjustable to tune a position and a width of a stop-band around a pump tone frequency of the tunable TWPA.
However, the embodiment of Fig. 6 of Harris teaches a first interface (Harris, Fig. 6, 628) inductively communicatively coupled to the first DC-SQUID (Fig. 6, see connection between 628 and 612), the first interface operable to apply a first bias to the first DC-SQUID (Fig. 6, consider bias from 624 and connection to 628); a second interface (Fig. 6, 626) inductively communicatively coupled to the second DC-SQUID (Fig. 6, see connection between 626 and 612), the second interface operable to apply a second bias to the second DC-SQUID (Fig. 6, consider bias from 624 and connection to 626); and a third interface (Fig. 6, 654) inductively communicatively coupled to the third DC-SQUID (Fig. 6, see connection between 654 and 660), the third interface operable to apply a third bias to the third DC-SQUID (Fig. 6, consider bias to 660 from 656), but fails to teach wherein the first bias and the second bias are adjustable to reduce a ripple in a gain versus frequency response of the tunable TWPA, and the third bias is adjustable to tune a position and a width of a stop-band around a pump tone frequency of the tunable TWPA.
However, Robinson teaches wherein the first bias and the second bias are adjustable to reduce a ripple in a gain versus frequency response of the tunable TWPA (Robinson, Col. 3, lines 5-9), and the third bias is adjustable to tune a position and a width of a stop-band around a pump tone frequency of the tunable TWPA (Col. 5, lines 37-40).
Harris and Robinson are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving parametric amplifiers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Harris to incorporate the teachings of Figs. 4 and 6 of Harris in the same embodiment to include the bias control circuitry of Fig. 6 for the DC-SQUIDS of Fig. 4, which would have the effect of providing scalable biasing to implement a large-scale version of the embodiment of Fig. 4 (Harris, Page 21, lines 16-18), and to incorporate the teachings of Robinson to include the bias control of the gain shaper of Robinson in the circuit of Harris, which would have the effect of optimizing the circuit performance of Harris (Robinson, Col. 2, lines 51-61).
Regarding claim 2, the embodiment of Fig. 4 of Harris fails to disclose:
wherein the first interface is communicatively coupled to a first bias line, the second interface is communicatively coupled to a second bias line, and the third interface is communicatively coupled to a third bias line.
However, the embodiment of Fig. 6 of Harris further teaches wherein the first interface is communicatively coupled to a first bias line (Harris, Fig. 6, see connection between 628 and 624), the second interface is communicatively coupled to a second bias line (Fig. 6, see connection between 626 and 624), and the third interface is communicatively coupled to a third bias line (Fig. 6, see connection between 654 and 656).
Harris and Robinson are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving parametric amplifiers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Harris to incorporate the teachings of Figs. 4 and 6 of Harris in the same embodiment to include the bias control circuitry of Fig. 6 for the DC-SQUIDS of Fig. 4, which would have the effect of providing scalable biasing to implement a large-scale version of the embodiment of Fig. 4 (Harris, Page 21, lines 16-18).
Regarding claim 3, the embodiment of Fig. 4 of Harris fails to disclose:
wherein the first bias line and the second bias line are communicatively coupled to a first common bias line.
However, the embodiment of Fig. 6 of Harris further teaches wherein the first bias line and the second bias line are communicatively coupled to a first common bias line (Harris, Fig. 6, consider that interfaces 628 and 626 are both coupled to bias line 624).
Harris and Robinson are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving parametric amplifiers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Harris to incorporate the teachings of Figs. 4 and 6 of Harris in the same embodiment to include the bias control circuitry of Fig. 6 for the DC-SQUIDS of Fig. 4, which would have the effect of providing scalable biasing to implement a large-scale version of the embodiment of Fig. 4 (Harris, Page 21, lines 16-18).
Regarding claim 4, the embodiment of Fig. 4 of Harris further discloses:
further comprising a second T-stage (Harris, Fig. 4, 400, consider that Fig. 4 shows a building block that can be connected to other copies to form a larger circuit, see Page 19, lines 21-24), the second T-stage comprising: a fourth DC-SQUID (Fig. 4, 450); a fifth DC-SQUID (Fig. 4, 430) electrically communicatively coupled to the fourth DC-SQUID in series (Fig. 4, see series connection of 450 and 430) via a second center node (Fig. 4, consider node at 410); a second resonator (Fig. 4, 402) communicatively coupled to the second center node via a second coupling capacitance (Fig. 4, see connection between 402 and 410 via coupling capacitance 414), the second resonator shunted to the ground (Fig. 4, see connection between 402 and ground), the second resonator comprising: a second resonator capacitance (Fig. 4, 418, see also Page 9, lines 10-17); a second resonator inductance (Fig. 4, 418, see also Page 9, lines 10-17); and a sixth DC-SQUID (Fig. 4, 420); but fails to disclose a fourth interface inductively communicatively coupled to the fourth DC-SQUID, the fourth interface operable to apply a fourth bias to the fourth DC-SQUID; a fifth interface inductively communicatively coupled to the fifth DC-SQUID, the fifth interface operable to apply a fifth bias to the fifth DC-SQUID; and a sixth interface inductively communicatively coupled to the sixth DC-SQUID, the sixth interface operable to apply a sixth bias to the sixth DC-SQUID, wherein the fourth bias and the fifth bias are adjustable to reduce the ripple in the gain versus frequency response of the tunable TWPA, and the sixth bias is adjustable to tune the position and the width of the stop-band around the pump tone frequency of the tunable TWPA.
However, the embodiment of Fig. 6 of Harris further teaches a fourth interface (Harris, Fig. 6, 628) inductively communicatively coupled to the fourth DC-SQUID (Fig. 6, see connection between 628 and 612), the fourth interface operable to apply a fourth bias to the fourth DC-SQUID (Fig. 6, consider bias from 624 and connection to 628); a fifth interface (Fig. 6, 626) inductively communicatively coupled to the fifth DC-SQUID (Fig. 6, see connection between 626 and 612), the fifth interface operable to apply a fifth bias to the fifth DC-SQUID (Fig. 6, consider bias from 624 and connection to 626); and a sixth interface (Fig. 6, 654) inductively communicatively coupled to the sixth DC-SQUID (Fig. 6, see connection between 654 and 660), the sixth interface operable to apply a sixth bias to the sixth DC-SQUID (Fig. 6, consider bias to 660 from 656), but fails to teach wherein the fourth bias and the fifth bias are adjustable to reduce the ripple in the gain versus frequency response of the tunable TWPA, and the sixth bias is adjustable to tune the position and the width of the stop-band around the pump tone frequency of the tunable TWPA.
However, Robinson further teaches wherein the fourth bias and the fifth bias are adjustable to reduce the ripple in the gain versus frequency response of the tunable TWPA (Robinson, Col. 3, lines 5-9), and the sixth bias is adjustable to tune the position and the width of the stop-band around the pump tone frequency of the tunable TWPA (Col. 5, lines 37-40).
Harris and Robinson are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving parametric amplifiers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Harris to incorporate the teachings of Figs. 4 and 6 of Harris in the same embodiment to include the bias control circuitry of Fig. 6 for the DC-SQUIDS of Fig. 4, which would have the effect of providing scalable biasing to implement a large-scale version of the embodiment of Fig. 4 (Harris, Page 21, lines 16-18), and to incorporate the teachings of Robinson to include the bias control of the gain shaper of Robinson in the circuit of Harris, which would have the effect of optimizing the circuit performance of Harris (Robinson, Col. 2, lines 51-61).
Regarding claim 5, the embodiment of Fig. 4 of Harris fails to disclose:
wherein the first interface is communicatively coupled to a first bias line, the second interface is communicatively coupled to a second bias line, and the third interface is communicatively coupled to a third bias line, the fourth interface is communicatively coupled to a fourth bias line, the fifth interface is communicatively coupled to a fifth bias line, and the sixth interface is communicatively coupled to a sixth bias line.
However, the embodiment of Fig. 6 of Harris further teaches wherein the first interface is communicatively coupled to a first bias line (Harris, Fig. 6, see connection between 628 and 624), the second interface is communicatively coupled to a second bias line (Fig. 6, see connection between 626 and 624), and the third interface is communicatively coupled to a third bias line (Fig. 6, see connection between 654 and 656), the fourth interface is communicatively coupled to a fourth bias line (Harris, Fig. 6, see connection between 628 and 624), the fifth interface is communicatively coupled to a fifth bias line (Fig. 6, see connection between 626 and 624), and the sixth interface is communicatively coupled to a sixth bias line (Fig. 6, see connection between 654 and 656).
Harris and Robinson are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving parametric amplifiers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Harris to incorporate the teachings of Figs. 4 and 6 of Harris in the same embodiment to include the bias control circuitry of Fig. 6 for the DC-SQUIDS of Fig. 4, which would have the effect of providing scalable biasing to implement a large-scale version of the embodiment of Fig. 4 (Harris, Page 21, lines 16-18).
Regarding claim 8, the embodiment of Fig. 4 of Harris discloses:
A quantum processor (Harris, Fig. 4, 400) comprising a tunable traveling wave parametric amplifier (TWPA) (Fig. 4, 400) comprising a first T-stage (Fig. 4, 400), the first T-stage comprising: a first DC-SQUID (Fig. 4, 450); a second DC-SQUID (Fig. 4, 430) electrically communicatively coupled to the first DC-SQUID in series (Fig. 4, see series connection of 450 and 430) via a first center node (Fig. 4, consider node at 410); a first resonator (Fig. 4, 402) communicatively coupled to the first center node via a first coupling capacitance (Fig. 4, see connection between 402 and 410 via coupling capacitance 414), the first resonator shunted to a ground (Fig. 4, see connection between 402 and ground), the first resonator comprising: a first resonator capacitance (Fig. 4, 418, see also Page 9, lines 10-17); a first resonator inductance (Fig. 4, 418, see also Page 9, lines 10-17); and a third DC-SQUID (Fig. 4, 420); but fails to disclose a first interface inductively communicatively coupled to the first DC-SQUID, the first interface operable to apply a first bias to the first DC-SQUID; a second interface inductively communicatively coupled to the second DC-SQUID, the second interface operable to apply a second bias to the second DC-SQUID; and a third interface inductively communicatively coupled to the third DC-SQUID, the third interface operable to apply a third bias to the third DC-SQUID, wherein the first bias and the second bias are adjustable to reduce a ripple in a gain versus frequency response of the tunable TWPA, and the third bias is adjustable to tune a position and a width of a stop-band around a pump tone frequency of the tunable TWPA.
However, the embodiment of Fig. 6 of Harris teaches a first interface (Harris, Fig. 6, 628) inductively communicatively coupled to the first DC-SQUID (Fig. 6, see connection between 628 and 612), the first interface operable to apply a first bias to the first DC-SQUID (Fig. 6, consider bias from 624 and connection to 628); a second interface (Fig. 6, 626) inductively communicatively coupled to the second DC-SQUID (Fig. 6, see connection between 626 and 612), the second interface operable to apply a second bias to the second DC-SQUID (Fig. 6, consider bias from 624 and connection to 626); and a third interface (Fig. 6, 654) inductively communicatively coupled to the third DC-SQUID (Fig. 6, see connection between 654 and 660), the third interface operable to apply a third bias to the third DC-SQUID (Fig. 6, consider bias to 660 from 656), but fails to teach wherein the first bias and the second bias are adjustable to reduce a ripple in a gain versus frequency response of the tunable TWPA, and the third bias is adjustable to tune a position and a width of a stop-band around a pump tone frequency of the tunable TWPA.
However, Robinson teaches wherein the first bias and the second bias are adjustable to reduce a ripple in a gain versus frequency response of the tunable TWPA (Robinson, Col. 3, lines 5-9), and the third bias is adjustable to tune a position and a width of a stop-band around a pump tone frequency of the tunable TWPA (Col. 5, lines 37-40).
Harris and Robinson are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving parametric amplifiers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Harris to incorporate the teachings of Figs. 4 and 6 of Harris in the same embodiment to include the bias control circuitry of Fig. 6 for the DC-SQUIDS of Fig. 4, which would have the effect of providing scalable biasing to implement a large-scale version of the embodiment of Fig. 4 (Harris, Page 21, lines 16-18), and to incorporate the teachings of Robinson to include the bias control of the gain shaper of Robinson in the circuit of Harris, which would have the effect of optimizing the circuit performance of Harris (Robinson, Col. 2, lines 51-61).
Regarding claim 26, the embodiment of Fig. 4 of Harris discloses:
A method of increasing a bandwidth of a parametric amplifier (Harris, Fig. 4, 400), but fails to disclose the method comprising: adjusting a pump tone of the parametric amplifier; reducing a ripple in a gain versus frequency response; and reducing a stop-band width.
However, Robinson teaches the method comprising: adjusting a pump tone of the parametric amplifier (Robinson, Col. 3, lines 5-9); reducing a ripple in a gain versus frequency response; and reducing a stop-band width (Col. 5, lines 37-40).
Harris and Robinson are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving parametric amplifiers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Harris to incorporate the teachings of Robinson to include the bias control of the gain shaper of Robinson in the circuit of Harris, which would have the effect of optimizing the circuit performance of Harris (Robinson, Col. 2, lines 51-61).
Regarding claim 27, the embodiment of Fig. 4 of Harris further discloses:
the parametric amplifier comprising a tunable TWPA (Harris, Fig. 4, 400), the tunable TWPA comprising a series array of tunable devices (Fig. 4, see 408 and 404), but fails to disclose wherein the reducing a ripple in a gain versus frequency response includes applying at least one of a flux bias or a current bias to at least one of the tunable devices of the series array of tunable devices.
However, the embodiment of Fig. 6 of Harris teaches wherein the reducing a ripple in a gain versus frequency response includes applying at least one of a flux bias or a current bias to at least one of the tunable devices of the series array of tunable devices (Harris, Fig. 6, consider bias 624 provided via interfaces 628 and 626 to 612).
Harris and Robinson are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving parametric amplifiers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Harris to incorporate the teachings of Figs. 4 and 6 of Harris in the same embodiment to include the bias control circuitry of Fig. 6 for the DC-SQUIDS of Fig. 4, which would have the effect of providing scalable biasing to implement a large-scale version of the embodiment of Fig. 4 (Harris, Page 21, lines 16-18).
Regarding claim 28, the embodiment of Fig. 4 of Harris fails to disclose:
wherein the applying at least one of a flux bias and a current bias to the at least one of the tunable devices includes applying a flux bias to a DC-SQUID.
However, the embodiment of Fig. 6 of Harris further teaches wherein the applying at least one of a flux bias and a current bias to the at least one of the tunable devices includes applying a flux bias to a DC-SQUID (Harris, Fig. 6, consider bias 624 provided via interfaces 628 and 626 to 612).
Harris and Robinson are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving parametric amplifiers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Harris to incorporate the teachings of Figs. 4 and 6 of Harris in the same embodiment to include the bias control circuitry of Fig. 6 for the DC-SQUIDS of Fig. 4, which would have the effect of providing scalable biasing to implement a large-scale version of the embodiment of Fig. 4 (Harris, Page 21, lines 16-18).
Regarding claim 29, the embodiment of Fig. 4 of Harris further discloses:
the parametric amplifier comprising a tunable TWPA (Harris, Fig. 4, 400), the tunable TWPA comprising a shunting resonator (Fig. 4, 402), the shunting resonator comprising a DC-SQUID (Fig. 4, 420), but fails to disclose wherein the reducing a stop-band width includes applying a flux bias to the DC- SQUID.
However, the embodiment of Fig. 6 of Harris further teaches wherein the reducing a stop-band width includes applying a flux bias to the DC- SQUID (Harris, Fig. 6, consider bias provided by 656 to 660).
Harris and Robinson are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving parametric amplifiers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Harris to incorporate the teachings of Figs. 4 and 6 of Harris in the same embodiment to include the bias control circuitry of Fig. 6 for the DC-SQUIDS of Fig. 4, which would have the effect of providing scalable biasing to implement a large-scale version of the embodiment of Fig. 4 (Harris, Page 21, lines 16-18).
Regarding claim 30, the embodiment of Fig. 4 of Harris fails to disclose:
wherein the first bias line, the second bias line, the fourth bias line, and the fifth bias line are communicatively coupled to a first common bias line.
However, the embodiment of Fig. 6 of Harris further teaches wherein the first bias line, the second bias line, the fourth bias line, and the fifth bias line are communicatively coupled to a first common bias line (Harris, Fig. 6, consider that interfaces 628 and 626 are both coupled to bias line 624).
Harris and Robinson are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving parametric amplifiers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Harris to incorporate the teachings of Figs. 4 and 6 of Harris in the same embodiment to include the bias control circuitry of Fig. 6 for the DC-SQUIDS of Fig. 4, which would have the effect of providing scalable biasing to implement a large-scale version of the embodiment of Fig. 4 (Harris, Page 21, lines 16-18).
Regarding claim 31, the embodiment of Fig. 4 of Harris fails to disclose:
wherein the third bias line and the sixth bias line are communicatively coupled to a second common bias line.
However, the embodiment of Fig. 6 of Harris further teaches wherein the third bias line and the sixth bias line are communicatively coupled to a second common bias line (Harris, Fig. 6, see connection between 654 and 656).
Harris and Robinson are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving parametric amplifiers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Harris to incorporate the teachings of Figs. 4 and 6 of Harris in the same embodiment to include the bias control circuitry of Fig. 6 for the DC-SQUIDS of Fig. 4, which would have the effect of providing scalable biasing to implement a large-scale version of the embodiment of Fig. 4 (Harris, Page 21, lines 16-18).
Regarding claim 32, the embodiment of Fig. 4 of Harris fails to disclose:
wherein the third bias line and the sixth bias line are communicatively coupled to a first common bias line.
However, the embodiment of Fig. 6 of Harris further teaches wherein the third bias line and the sixth bias line are communicatively coupled to a first common bias line (Harris, Fig. 6, see connection between 654 and 656).
Harris and Robinson are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving parametric amplifiers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Harris to incorporate the teachings of Figs. 4 and 6 of Harris in the same embodiment to include the bias control circuitry of Fig. 6 for the DC-SQUIDS of Fig. 4, which would have the effect of providing scalable biasing to implement a large-scale version of the embodiment of Fig. 4 (Harris, Page 21, lines 16-18).
Regarding claim 33, the embodiment of Fig. 4 of Harris fails to disclose:
wherein the first interface is communicatively coupled to a first bias line, the second interface is communicatively coupled to a second bias line, and the third interface is communicatively coupled to a third bias line.
However, the embodiment of Fig. 6 of Harris further teaches wherein the first interface is communicatively coupled to a first bias line (Harris, Fig. 6, see connection between 628 and 624), the second interface is communicatively coupled to a second bias line (Fig. 6, see connection between 626 and 624), and the third interface is communicatively coupled to a third bias line (Fig. 6, see connection between 654 and 656).
Harris and Robinson are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving parametric amplifiers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Harris to incorporate the teachings of Figs. 4 and 6 of Harris in the same embodiment to include the bias control circuitry of Fig. 6 for the DC-SQUIDS of Fig. 4, which would have the effect of providing scalable biasing to implement a large-scale version of the embodiment of Fig. 4 (Harris, Page 21, lines 16-18).
Regarding claim 34, the embodiment of Fig. 4 of Harris fails to disclose:
wherein the first bias line and the second bias line are communicatively coupled to a first common bias line.
However, the embodiment of Fig. 6 of Harris further teaches wherein the first bias line and the second bias line are communicatively coupled to a first common bias line (Harris, Fig. 6, consider that interfaces 628 and 626 are both coupled to bias line 624).
Harris and Robinson are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving parametric amplifiers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Harris to incorporate the teachings of Figs. 4 and 6 of Harris in the same embodiment to include the bias control circuitry of Fig. 6 for the DC-SQUIDS of Fig. 4, which would have the effect of providing scalable biasing to implement a large-scale version of the embodiment of Fig. 4 (Harris, Page 21, lines 16-18).
Regarding claim 35, the embodiment of Fig. 4 of Harris further discloses:
further comprising a second T-stage (Harris, Fig. 4, 400, consider that Fig. 4 shows a building block that can be connected to other copies to form a larger circuit, see Page 19, lines 21-24), the second T-stage comprising: a fourth DC-SQUID (Fig. 4, 450); a fifth DC-SQUID (Fig. 4, 430) electrically communicatively coupled to the fourth DC-SQUID in series (Fig. 4, see series connection of 450 and 430) via a second center node (Fig. 4, consider node at 410); a second resonator (Fig. 4, 402) communicatively coupled to the second center node via a second coupling capacitance (Fig. 4, see connection between 402 and 410 via coupling capacitance 414), the second resonator shunted to the ground (Fig. 4, see connection between 402 and ground), the second resonator comprising: a second resonator capacitance (Fig. 4, 418, see also Page 9, lines 10-17); a second resonator inductance (Fig. 4, 418, see also Page 9, lines 10-17); and a sixth DC-SQUID (Fig. 4, 420); but fails to disclose a fourth interface inductively communicatively coupled to the fourth DC-SQUID, the fourth interface operable to apply a fourth bias to the fourth DC-SQUID; a fifth interface inductively communicatively coupled to the fifth DC-SQUID, the fifth interface operable to apply a fifth bias to the fifth DC-SQUID; and a sixth interface inductively communicatively coupled to the sixth DC-SQUID, the sixth interface operable to apply a sixth bias to the sixth DC-SQUID, wherein the fourth bias and the fifth bias are adjustable to reduce the ripple in the gain versus frequency response of the tunable TWPA, and the sixth bias is adjustable to tune the position and the width of the stop-band around the pump tone frequency of the tunable TWPA.
However, the embodiment of Fig. 6 of Harris further teaches a fourth interface (Harris, Fig. 6, 628) inductively communicatively coupled to the fourth DC-SQUID (Fig. 6, see connection between 628 and 612), the fourth interface operable to apply a fourth bias to the fourth DC-SQUID (Fig. 6, consider bias from 624 and connection to 628); a fifth interface (Fig. 6, 626) inductively communicatively coupled to the fifth DC-SQUID (Fig. 6, see connection between 626 and 612), the fifth interface operable to apply a fifth bias to the fifth DC-SQUID (Fig. 6, consider bias from 624 and connection to 626); and a sixth interface (Fig. 6, 654) inductively communicatively coupled to the sixth DC-SQUID (Fig. 6, see connection between 654 and 660), the sixth interface operable to apply a sixth bias to the sixth DC-SQUID (Fig. 6, consider bias to 660 from 656), but fails to teach wherein the fourth bias and the fifth bias are adjustable to reduce the ripple in the gain versus frequency response of the tunable TWPA, and the sixth bias is adjustable to tune the position and the width of the stop-band around the pump tone frequency of the tunable TWPA.
However, Robinson further teaches wherein the fourth bias and the fifth bias are adjustable to reduce the ripple in the gain versus frequency response of the tunable TWPA (Robinson, Col. 3, lines 5-9), and the sixth bias is adjustable to tune the position and the width of the stop-band around the pump tone frequency of the tunable TWPA (Col. 5, lines 37-40).
Harris and Robinson are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving parametric amplifiers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Harris to incorporate the teachings of Figs. 4 and 6 of Harris in the same embodiment to include the bias control circuitry of Fig. 6 for the DC-SQUIDS of Fig. 4, which would have the effect of providing scalable biasing to implement a large-scale version of the embodiment of Fig. 4 (Harris, Page 21, lines 16-18), and to incorporate the teachings of Robinson to include the bias control of the gain shaper of Robinson in the circuit of Harris, which would have the effect of optimizing the circuit performance of Harris (Robinson, Col. 2, lines 51-61).
Regarding claim 36, the embodiment of Fig. 4 of Harris fails to disclose:
wherein the first interface is communicatively coupled to a first bias line, the second interface is communicatively coupled to a second bias line, and the third interface is communicatively coupled to a third bias line, the fourth interface is communicatively coupled to a fourth bias line, the fifth interface is communicatively coupled to a fifth bias line, and the sixth interface is communicatively coupled to a sixth bias line.
However, the embodiment of Fig. 6 of Harris further teaches wherein the first interface is communicatively coupled to a first bias line (Harris, Fig. 6, see connection between 628 and 624), the second interface is communicatively coupled to a second bias line (Fig. 6, see connection between 626 and 624), and the third interface is communicatively coupled to a third bias line (Fig. 6, see connection between 654 and 656), the fourth interface is communicatively coupled to a fourth bias line (Harris, Fig. 6, see connection between 628 and 624), the fifth interface is communicatively coupled to a fifth bias line (Fig. 6, see connection between 626 and 624), and the sixth interface is communicatively coupled to a sixth bias line (Fig. 6, see connection between 654 and 656).
Harris and Robinson are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving parametric amplifiers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Harris to incorporate the teachings of Figs. 4 and 6 of Harris in the same embodiment to include the bias control circuitry of Fig. 6 for the DC-SQUIDS of Fig. 4, which would have the effect of providing scalable biasing to implement a large-scale version of the embodiment of Fig. 4 (Harris, Page 21, lines 16-18).
Regarding claim 37, the embodiment of Fig. 4 of Harris fails to disclose:
wherein the first bias line, the second bias line, the fourth bias line, and the fifth bias line are communicatively coupled to a first common bias line.
However, the embodiment of Fig. 6 of Harris further teaches wherein the first bias line, the second bias line, the fourth bias line, and the fifth bias line are communicatively coupled to a first common bias line (Harris, Fig. 6, consider that interfaces 628 and 626 are both coupled to bias line 624).
Harris and Robinson are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving parametric amplifiers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Harris to incorporate the teachings of Figs. 4 and 6 of Harris in the same embodiment to include the bias control circuitry of Fig. 6 for the DC-SQUIDS of Fig. 4, which would have the effect of providing scalable biasing to implement a large-scale version of the embodiment of Fig. 4 (Harris, Page 21, lines 16-18).
Regarding claim 38, the embodiment of Fig. 4 of Harris fails to disclose:
wherein the third bias line and the sixth bias line are communicatively coupled to a second common bias line.
However, the embodiment of Fig. 6 of Harris further teaches wherein the third bias line and the sixth bias line are communicatively coupled to a second common bias line (Harris, Fig. 6, see connection between 654 and 656).
Harris and Robinson are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving parametric amplifiers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Harris to incorporate the teachings of Figs. 4 and 6 of Harris in the same embodiment to include the bias control circuitry of Fig. 6 for the DC-SQUIDS of Fig. 4, which would have the effect of providing scalable biasing to implement a large-scale version of the embodiment of Fig. 4 (Harris, Page 21, lines 16-18).
Regarding claim 39, the embodiment of Fig. 4 of Harris fails to disclose:
wherein the third bias line and the sixth bias line are communicatively coupled to a first common bias line.
However, the embodiment of Fig. 6 of Harris further teaches wherein the third bias line and the sixth bias line are communicatively coupled to a first common bias line (Harris, Fig. 6, see connection between 654 and 656).
Harris and Robinson are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving parametric amplifiers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Harris to incorporate the teachings of Figs. 4 and 6 of Harris in the same embodiment to include the bias control circuitry of Fig. 6 for the DC-SQUIDS of Fig. 4, which would have the effect of providing scalable biasing to implement a large-scale version of the embodiment of Fig. 4 (Harris, Page 21, lines 16-18).
Regarding claim 40, the embodiment of Fig. 4 of Harris fails to disclose:
wherein adjusting a pump tone of the parametric amplifier comprises adjusting a pump tone of the parametric amplifier by a controller.
However, Robinson further teaches wherein adjusting a pump tone of the parametric amplifier comprises adjusting a pump tone of the parametric amplifier by a controller (Robinson, Col. 5, lines 37-40).
Harris and Robinson are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving parametric amplifiers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Harris to incorporate the teachings of Robinson to include the bias control of the gain shaper of Robinson in the circuit of Harris, which would have the effect of optimizing the circuit performance of Harris (Robinson, Col. 2, lines 51-61).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Vesterinen et al. (Patent Publication Number US 2023/0163737 A1) discloses (Fig. 1B) a traveling wave parametric amplifier.
/LANCE TORBJORN BARTOL/Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843