DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (Pub. No. US 2014/0226493).
Regarding claim 1. Zhou teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Zhou, the Abstract), comprising:
a memory; and one or more processors (Zhou, Fig. 7), coupled to the memory, configured to:
compare an external list of ping pong handovers or redirections that is maintained by an access point, and an internal list of ping pong handovers or redirections that is maintained by the UE (Zhou, Fig. 2, pp [43], [50]-[52], [68], [76]-[77]: an access terminal maintains and examines a record of frequent too-early handovers of access points); and
identify a ping pong detection criterion, for a handover or redirection between a first network node and a second network node, based, at least in part, on the external list, the internal list, both the external list and the internal list, or neither of the external list nor the internal list indicating a previous ping pong handover or redirection between the first network node and the second network node (Zhou, Fig. 2, Steps 204-210, pp [44]-[46], [50]-[52]: the access terminal based on maintained record of frequent too-early handovers, detects and configures handover parameters of frequent too-early handovers for mitigating the handover issue; Fig. 3, Step 302 and 304, pp [82]-[84]: the access terminal identifies and determines frequency of occurrence of handover issue based on switching back and forth between access point over times).
Regarding claim 10. Zhou teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Zhou, the Abstract), comprising:
a memory; and one or more processors (Zhou, Fig. 7), coupled to the memory, configured to:
obtain a configuration that indicates one or more measurement conditions associated with a reporting event (Zhou, Fig. 3, Step 302 and 304, pp [82]-[84]: the access terminal identifies and determines frequency of occurrence of handover issue based on switching back and forth between access point over times);
obtain an indication that the reporting event is associated with a handover or redirection between a first network node and a second network node (Zhou, Fig. 3, Step 302 and 304, pp [82]-[84]: the access terminal identifies and determines frequency of occurrence of handover issue based on switching back and forth between access point over times);
obtain an indication that the handover or redirection between the first network node and the second network node is a ping pong handover or redirection (Zhou, pp [68]-[72]: the access terminal examines and determines frequent too-early handovers issue); and
apply one or more other measurement conditions to avoid the ping pong handover or redirection (Zhou, pp [73]-[74]: decreases or reduces the frequent too early handovers; Fig. 3, Steps 302-310, pp [86]-[88]: the access terminal detects issue of frequent handovers based on received signals between access points and applies a solution such as comparing to a threshold to adjusting or adapting the frequent handover issue).
Regarding claim 24. Zhou teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (Zhou, the Abstract), comprising:
comparing an external list of ping pong handovers or redirections that is maintained by an access point, and an internal list of ping pong handovers or redirections that is maintained by the UE (Zhou, Fig. 2, pp [43], [50]-[52], [68], [76]-[77]: an access terminal maintains and examines a record of frequent too-early handovers of access points); and
identifying a ping pong detection criterion, for a handover or redirection between a first network node and a second network node, based, at least in part, on the external list, the internal list, both the external list and the internal list, or neither of the external list nor the internal list indicating a previous ping pong handover or redirection between the first network node and the second network node (Zhou, Fig. 2, Steps 204-210, pp [44]-[46], [50]-[52]: the access terminal based on maintained record of frequent too-early handovers, detects and configures handover parameters of frequent too-early handovers for mitigating the handover issue; Fig. 3, Step 302 and 304, pp [82]-[84]: the access terminal identifies and determines frequency of occurrence of handover issue based on switching back and forth between access point over times).
Regarding claim 29. Zhou teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (Zhou, the Abstract), comprising:
obtaining a configuration that indicates one or more measurement conditions associated with a reporting event (Zhou, Fig. 3, Step 302 and 304, pp [82]-[84]: the access terminal identifies and determines frequency of occurrence of handover issue based on switching back and forth between access point over times);;
obtaining an indication that the reporting event is associated with a handover or redirection between a first network node and a second network node (Zhou, Fig. 3, Step 302 and 304, pp [82]-[84]: the access terminal identifies and determines frequency of occurrence of handover issue based on switching back and forth between access point over times);
obtaining an indication that the handover or redirection between the first network node and the second network node is a ping pong handover or redirection (Zhou, pp [68]-[72]: the access terminal examines and determines frequent too-early handovers issue); and
applying one or more other measurement conditions to avoid the ping pong handover or redirection (Zhou, pp [73]-[74]: decreases or reduces the frequent too early handovers; Fig. 3, Steps 302-310, pp [86]-[88]: the access terminal detects issue of frequent handovers based on received signals between access points and applies a solution such as comparing to a threshold to adjusting or adapting the frequent handover issue).
Regarding claim 2. Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to identify the ping pong detection criterion, are configured to:
identify a first ping pong detection criterion based at least in part on both the external list and the internal list indicating the previous ping pong handover or redirection between the first network node and the second network node (Zhou, pp [43], [50]-[52], [68], [76]-[77]);
identify a second ping pong detection criterion based at least in part on only one of the external list or the internal list indicating the previous ping pong handover or redirection between the first network node and the second network node (Zhou, pp [43], [50]-[52], [68], [76]-[77]); or
identify a third ping pong detection criterion based at least in part on neither of the external list nor the internal list indicating the previous ping pong handover or redirection between the first network node and the second network node (Zhou, pp [43], [50]-[52], [68], [76]-[77]).
Regarding claim 3. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the first ping pong detection criterion indicates to identify a ping pong handover or redirection condition based at least in part on a single handover or redirection occurrence between the first network node and the second network node (Zhou, pp [43], [50]-[52], [68], [76]-[77]).
Regarding claim 4. Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
detect the single handover or redirection occurrence between the first network node and the second network node (Zhou, pp [50]-[52]); and
indicate, in the internal list, based at least in part on detecting the single handover or redirection occurrence, a cell and frequency of the first network node, and a cell and frequency of the second network node, as a ping pong handover or redirection combination (Zhou, Fig. 2, [50]-[52], [68], [76]-[77]).
Regarding claim 5. Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the second ping pong detection criterion indicates to identify a ping pong handover or redirection condition based at least in part on two or more handover or redirection occurrences, within a time period, between the first network node and the second network node (Zhou, pp [43], [50]-[52], [68], [76]-[77]).
Regarding claim 6. Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
detect the two or more handover or redirection occurrences between the first network node and the second network node within the time period (Zhou, pp [50]-[52]; Fig. 3, Step 304, pp [84]: detecting frequent occurrence of handovers between first and second access points); and
indicate, in the internal list, based at least in part on detecting the two or more handover or redirection occurrences within the time period, a cell and frequency of the first network node, and a cell and frequency of the second network node, as a ping pong handover or redirection combination (Zhou, Fig. 2, [50]-[52], [68], [76]-[77]).
Regarding claim 7. Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the third ping pong detection criterion indicates to identify a ping pong handover or redirection condition based at least in part on four or more handover or redirection occurrences, within a time period, between the first network node and the second network node (Zhou, Fig. 2, [50]-[52], [68], [76]-[77]).
Regarding claim 8. Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
detect the four or more handover or redirection occurrences between the first network node and the second network node within the time period (Zhou, pp [50]-[52]; Fig. 3, Step 304, pp [84]: detecting frequent occurrence of handovers between first and second access points); and
indicate, in the internal list, based at least in part on detecting the four or more handover occurrences within the time period, a cell and frequency of the first network node, and a cell and frequency of the second network node, as a ping pong handover or redirection combination (Zhou, Fig. 2, [50]-[52], [68], [76]-[77]).
Regarding claim 9. Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first network node is Long Term Evolution (LTE)-based network node or a New Radio (NR)-based network node, and the second network node is an other of the LTE-based network node or the NR-based network node (Zhou, [130]).
Regarding claim 11. Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine, based at least in part on applying the one or more other measurement conditions, not to perform the ping pong handover or redirection (Zhou, [15]-[17], [35]-[37]).
Regarding claim 12. Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors, to obtain the indication that the handover or redirection between the first network node and the second network node is a ping pong handover or redirection, are configured to determine that a time interval between the reporting event and the handover or redirection is less than a threshold time interval (Zhou, [50]-[52]).
Regarding claim 13. Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the one or more other measurement conditions are stricter than the one or more measurement conditions (Zhou, [36]-[39], [54]-[57]).
Regarding claim 14. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the one or more other measurement conditions are associated with an other reporting event (Zhou, [17]-[18], [50]-[51]).
Regarding claim 15. Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the reporting event is a B1 reporting event, and the other reporting event is an internal B2 reporting event (Zhou, [17]-[18], [50]-[51]).
Regarding claim 16. Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
initiate a timer associated with the reporting event (Zhou, pp [46]-[48], [50]-[51]); and
apply the one or more other measurement conditions, during an active state of the timer, to avoid the ping pong handover or redirection (Zhou, pp [53]-[54]).
Regarding claim 17. Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the one or more other measurement conditions comprise a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold, a reference signal received quality (RSRQ) threshold, or a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) threshold, that is greater than an RSRP measurement, an RSRQ measurement, or an SINR measurement, respectively, of the second network node (Zhou, pp [53]-[56]).
Regarding claim 18. Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the one or more other measurement conditions comprise a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold, a reference signal received quality (RSRQ) threshold, or a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) threshold, that is less than an RSRP measurement, an RSRQ measurement, or an SINR measurement, respectively, of the first network node (Zhou, pp [53]-[56]).
Regarding claim 19. Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the reporting event is an A2 reporting event (Zhou, [17]-[18], [50]-[51]).
Regarding claim 20. Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
initiate a timer associated with the reporting event (Zhou, pp [46]-[48], [50]-[51]); and
apply the one or more other measurement conditions, during an active state of the timer, to avoid the ping pong handover or redirection (Zhou, pp [53]-[54]).
Regarding claim 21. Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the one or more other measurement conditions comprise a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold, a reference signal received quality (RSRQ) threshold, or a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) threshold, that is less than a lowest RSRP measurement, a lowest RSRQ measurement, or a lowest SINR measurement, respectively, of the second network node (Zhou, pp [53]-[56]).
Regarding claim 22. Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to perform a handover or redirection to a third network node, or change a measurement condition threshold, based at least in part on the ping pong handover or redirection not being avoided by applying the one or more other measurement conditions (Zhou, pp [15]-[18]).
Regarding claim 23. Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 22, wherein the third network node is not associated with a previous handover or redirection condition (Zhou, pp [53]-[56]).
Regarding claim 25. Zhou teaches the method of claim 24, wherein identifying the ping pong detection criterion comprises:
identifying a first ping pong detection criterion based at least in part on both the external list and the internal list indicating the previous ping pong handover or redirection between the first network node and the second network node (Zhou, pp [43], [50]-[52], [68], [76]-[77]);
identifying a second ping pong detection criterion based at least in part on only one of the external list or the internal list indicating the previous ping pong handover or redirection between the first network node and the second network node (Zhou, pp [43], [50]-[52], [68], [76]-[77]); or
identifying a third ping pong detection criterion based at least in part on neither of the external list nor the internal list indicating the previous ping pong handover or redirection between the first network node and the second network node (Zhou, pp [43], [50]-[52], [68], [76]-[77]).
Regarding claim 26. Zhou teaches the method of claim 25, wherein the first ping pong detection criterion indicates to identify a ping pong handover or redirection condition based at least in part on a single handover or redirection occurrence between the first network node and the second network node (Zhou, pp [50]-[52]).
Regarding claim 27. Zhou teaches the method of claim 25, wherein the second ping pong detection criterion indicates to identify a ping pong handover or redirection condition based at least in part on two or more handover or redirection occurrences, within a time period, between the first network node and the second network node (Zhou, pp [43], [50]-[52], [68], [76]-[77]).
Regarding claim 28. Zhou teaches the method of claim 25, wherein the third ping pong detection criterion indicates to identify a ping pong handover or redirection condition based at least in part on four or more handover or redirection occurrences, within a time period, between the first network node and the second network node (Zhou, pp [43], [50]-[52], [68], [76]-[77]).
Regarding claim 30. Zhou teaches the method of claim 29, further comprising determining, based at least in part on applying the one or more other measurement conditions, not to perform the ping pong handover or redirection (Zhou, pp [53]-[56]).
Regarding claim 31. Zhou teaches the method of claim 29, wherein obtaining the indication that the handover or redirection between the first network node and the second network node is a ping pong handover or redirection comprises determining that a time interval between the reporting event and the handover or redirection is less than a threshold time interval (Zhou, pp [44], [46], [50], [68]).
Regarding claim 32. Zhou teaches the method of claim 29, wherein the one or more other measurement conditions are stricter than the one or more measurement conditions (Zhou, [36]-[39], [54]-[57]).
Regarding claim 33. Zhou teaches the method of claim 29, wherein the one or more other measurement conditions are associated with an other reporting event (Zhou, [17]-[18], [50]-[51]).
Regarding claim 34. Zhou teaches the method of claim 33, wherein the reporting event is a B1 reporting event, and the other reporting event is an internal B2 reporting event (Zhou, [17]-[18], [50]-[51]).
Regarding claim 35. Zhou teaches the method of claim 33, wherein the reporting event is an A2 reporting event (Zhou, [17]-[18], [50]-[51]).
Relevant references to the claims but not used in the rejection above
Alonso-Rubio et al. (Pub. No. US 2010/0273487) teaches a method and apparatus are provided for use in a cellular radio communication system for adjusting a handover parameter. Information is collected regarding actual handovers that have occurred between one or more pairs of cells as well as handover failures. The collected handover information is processed to determine a handover oscillation rate or a handover cost associated with the cell pair. If the handover performance is determined to be acceptable, the determined handover oscillation rate or the determined handover cost is compared with a predetermined target handover oscillation rate or a predetermined target handover cost, respectively. One or more handover parameters associated with at least one of the cells in the cell pair is adjusted based on the comparison.
Catovic et al. (Pub. No. US 2010/0173626) teaches handover parameter settings are automatically adapted in access points in a system to improve handover performance. Reactive detection techniques are employed for identifying different types of handover-related failures and adapting handover parameters based on this detection. Messaging schemes are also employed for providing handover-related information to access points. Proactive detection techniques also may be used for identifying conditions that may lead to handover-related failures and then adapting handover parameters in an attempt to prevent such handover-related failures. Ping-ponging may be mitigated by adapting handover parameters based on analysis of access terminal visited cell history acquired by access points in the system. In addition, configurable parameters (e.g., timer values) may be used to detect handover-related failures.
Chen et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0223403) teaches a method, a device, and a system for optimizing a radio network. The method includes recognizing a terminal that needs optimization processing; according to a degree of influencing a network handover performance indicator or network load performance indicator by each terminal that needs optimization processing, performing handover priority sorting on the terminal that needs optimization processing to obtain a sorted handover priority result; according to the sorted handover priority result, and based on a configuration rule that a smaller handover parameter value is configured for a terminal with a higher handover priority, configuring a handover parameter for the terminal that needs optimization processing; and sending the handover parameter to a corresponding terminal.
Liu (Pub. No. US 2012/0077502) teaches a method and an Evolved Node Base-station (eNB) for avoiding an occurrence of a ping-pong handover between adjacent cells are provided. The eNB comprises a statistics module, a storage module, a judging module and a parameter adjusting module. During a statistics period, eNBs serving two adjacent cells involved in a ping-pong handover, making a statistics on times of the serving cell of the eNB being used as a source cell and a target cell in a second handover in a process of each ping-pong handover occurring between the two adjacent cells respectively; upon the end of the statistics period, if the eNB determines that the times of the serving cell of the eNB being used as the source cell in the second handover is greater than the times of as the target cell, the eNB increasing a value of a handover control parameter of this serving cell.
Conclusion
/HUY C HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644