DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The response filed 06/05/2024 is accepted, in which, claims 1-10 are amended and claims 11-12 are newly added. Claims 1 and 6 are independent with claims 1-12 awaiting an action on the merits as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected for indefiniteness.
Regarding claims 1 and 6, the claims recite, "the reverse direction." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this element. To further prosecution, Examiner will assume the claims should read, "a reverse direction." Proper correction is required.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites, "the front side and the rear side." There is insufficient antecedent basis for these elements. To further prosecution, Examiner will assume the claim should read, "a front side and a rear side." Proper correction is required.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites, “a heating apparatus which is designed and configured to heat the solar cell during the current flow induced in the reverse direction.” The claim is indefinite because while claim 1 begins by reciting a device, claim 1 further includes a method of using the structure to heat the solar cell and inducing current flow. The claim is not considered a product by process claim because the claim does not state that any feature was made by heating the solar cell or inducing current flow. The claim recites that the device is used to perform heating the solar cell and inducing current.
A single claim that includes both an apparatus and a method of using the apparatus/device is indefinite (See MPEP 2173.05(p)(II)). It is unclear if infringement would occur when the apparatus/device is created or when the apparatus/device is used in the performing of heating the solar cell and inducing current. For the purposes of examination, the process limitation will be treated as an intended result limitation (i.e. the apparatus must be capable of being used to heat the solar cell and induce current).
Furthermore, claim 1 is also indefinite because it is unclear if the heating apparatus is heating the solar cell during a time in which the reversed current is induced, or because the reversed current is induced. To further prosecution, Examiner will assume the hearting apparatus is heating the solar cell during the time when the reversed current is induced.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites, "heating the front side and the rear side of the solar cell to which the voltage is applied and simultaneously locally illuminating and scanning the front side of the solar cell to which the voltage is applied in such a way that a current flow flows through the solar cell in the reverse direction." The claim is indefinite because "in such a way that a current flow flows through the solar cell in the reverse direction" seems to indicate that the heat is because of the reversed current flow, however, "heating the front side and the rear side of the solar cell to which the voltage is applied" seems to indicate the heating is separate from the applied voltage. To further prosecution, Examiner will assume the heating of the solar cell is independent of the applied voltage.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites, "a voltage." This is improper antecedent usage since "a voltage" was introduced in claim 6. To further prosecution, Examiner will assume the claim should read, "the voltage." Proper correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (US 20100236035 A1), and further in view of Hongming (US 11393944 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Chung teaches a system (Fig 1) for stabilizing and/or improving an efficiency (repairing solar cell without disturbing portions that are functioning properly, [0008], which would increase efficiency) of a solar cell (11) …, the system comprising:
an illumination unit (IU: 14/15/13/12) that is designed to locally illuminate (optical energy source, [0030]; matrix driven light control, [0032]) the solar cell (11),
a voltage source (29, power supply between two electrodes, [0034]) having two contacting apparatuses (not shown, two electrodes, [0034]),
one contacting apparatus (CA1: not shown; first of the two electrodes would be connected from the power source)
the other contacting apparatus (CA2: not show; the second of the two electrodes connected from the power source) is designed to be connected to … the solar cell (11) in such a way that a current flow (CF: current flow, [0034]) is induced in the reverse direction (RD: reverse direction, [0034]) of the solar cell, and
a heating apparatus (45) which is designed and configured to heat (raising the temperature, [0034]) the solar cell (11) during (heat generated by the current flow, [0034]) the current flow (CF) induced in the reverse direction (RD).
Chung fails to explicitly teach a solar cell having a front-side front contact and a rear-side rear contact.
However, Hongming teaches a solar cell having a front-side front contact (5, Fig 1) and a rear-side rear contact (3).
Chung goes on to teach one contacting apparatus (CA1: not shown; first of the two electrodes would be connected from the power source) is designed to be connected to (when combined, the first electrode of Chung's power source would connect to the front contact of Hongming) the front contact of the solar cell (11), and
the other contacting apparatus (CA2: not show; the second of the two electrodes connected from the power source) is designed to be connected to the rear contact of the solar cell.
Chung and Hongming are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are from the same field of endeavor of solar cell systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the device of Chung with the features of Hongming to create a solar cell having a front-side front contact and a rear-side rear contact because the ohmic-contact behavior in silicon solar cells with high contact resistance between the contact grid and the emitter layer is considerably improved. By reducing an initially high contact resistance between the contact grid and the emitter layer, the efficiency of these silicon solar cells is considerably increased such that they do not have to be rejected as waste. The method is therefore suitable for increasing the yield after the manufacturing process itself. The method can be applied by the manufacturer of the silicon solar cells or by a third party that improves the defective silicon solar cells by the method according to the invention (Hongming, [Col 3, Ln 29-42]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Chung and Hongming discloses the system of claim 1. Chung goes on to teach wherein the heating apparatus (45, Fig 1) is a thermally conductive plate (plate, capable of raising the temperature of the solar cell, [0034]) and/or a bias light source (14, to provide heat, [0034]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Chung and Hongming discloses the system of claim 1. Chung goes on to teach wherein the illumination unit (IU, Fig 1) is … and/or a bias light source (14, optical energy source, [0030]; matrix-driven light control, [0031]).
Regarding claim 6, Chung teaches a method (method, [Abs.]) for stabilizing and/or improving an efficiency (repairing solar cell without disturbing portions that are functioning properly, [0008], which would increase efficiency) of a solar cell (11, Fig 1), comprising the following steps;
providing a solar cell (11) …
applying a voltage (V1: power supply between two electrodes, [0034], would inherently apply a voltage to function) to the provided solar cell (11) in the reverse direction (RD: reverse direction, [0034]),
c) heating (H: raising the temperature of the solar cell, [0034]) the front side (11A: top of solar cell) and the rear side (11B: bottom of solar cell) of the solar cell (11) to which the voltage (V1) is applied and simultaneously locally illuminating and scanning () the front side (11A) of the solar cell (11) to which the voltage (V1) is applied in such a way that a current flow (CF: current flow, [0034]) flows through the solar cell (11) in the reverse direction (RD).
Chung fails to explicitly teach a solar cell with a front-side front contact and a rear-side rear contact.
However, Hongming teaches a solar cell with a front-side front contact (5, Fig 1) and a rear-side rear contact (3).
Chung and Hongming are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are from the same field of endeavor of solar cell systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the method of Chung with the features of Hongming to create a solar cell with a front-side front contact and a rear-side rear contact because the ohmic-contact behavior in silicon solar cells with high contact resistance between the contact grid and the emitter layer is considerably improved. By reducing an initially high contact resistance between the contact grid and the emitter layer, the efficiency of these silicon solar cells is considerably increased such that they do not have to be rejected as waste. The method is therefore suitable for increasing the yield after the manufacturing process itself. The method can be applied by the manufacturer of the silicon solar cells or by a third party that improves the defective silicon solar cells by the method according to the invention (Hongming, [Col 3, Ln 29-42]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (US 20100236035 A1), in view of Hongming (US 11393944 B2), and further in view of Okamura (US 20100248420 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Chung and Hongming discloses the system of claim 1. Chung teaches the heating apparatus (45, Fig 1).
The combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the heating apparatus is a heating chamber that comprises a chamber wall section transparent to visible light and/or infrared radiation.
However, Okamura teaches wherein the heating apparatus is a heating chamber (RTA chamber, [0029]) that comprises a chamber wall section transparent to visible light and/or infrared radiation (infrared; baked in an infrared lamp heating chamber, [0029], which would inherently have a chamber wall transparent to infrared light in order to properly function.).
Chung, Hongming, and Okumura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are from the same field of endeavor of solar cell systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the device of Chung and Hongming with the features of Okumura to create a system wherein the heating apparatus is a heating chamber that comprises a chamber wall section transparent to visible light and/or infrared radiation which can be fabricated at low cost and the efficiency of the solar cell can be improved (Okamura, [Abs.]).
Claims 5, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (US 20100236035 A1), in view of Hongming (US 11393944 B2), and further in view of Zhao (US 20230010820 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Chung and Hongming discloses the system of claim 1. Chung teaches the voltage source (29, Fig 1), the solar cell (11), and the illumination unit (IU).
The combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the voltage source is designed to apply a voltage in the range of -12 to -20 volts to the solar cell and/or the illumination unit is designed to illuminate the solar cell with an illuminance of 5 to 10000 suns wherein 1 sun = 1000 W/m2 incident power density in the AM1.5G spectrum.
However, Zhao teaches wherein the voltage source is designed to apply a voltage (15 V; voltage contrary to the forward direction, [0016]) in the range of -12 to -20 volts (15 V; 1-20 volts in contrary direction, [0016]) to the solar cell and/or
the illumination unit is designed to illuminate the solar cell with an illuminance (5000 suns; 500 - 200,000 W/cm2, [0013]) of 5 to 10000 suns wherein 1 sun = 1000 W/m2 incident power density in the AM1.5G spectrum.
Chung, Hongming, and Zhao are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are from the same field of endeavor of solar cell systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the device of Chung and Hongming with the features of Zhao to create a system wherein the voltage source is designed to apply a voltage in the range of -12 to -20 volts to the solar cell and/or the illumination unit is designed to illuminate the solar cell with an illuminance of 5 to 10000 suns wherein 1 sun = 1000 W/m2 incident power density in the AM1.5G spectrum for improving the ohmic-contact behavior between a contact grid and an emitter layer in a silicon solar cell (Zhao, [0001]), which would increase the efficiency of the solar cell.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Chung and Hongming discloses the method of claim 6. Chung teaches a voltage (V1) and the solar cell (11, Fig 1).
The combination fails to explicitly teach wherein a voltage in the range of -12 to -20 volts is applied to the solar cell in step b).
However, Zhao teaches wherein a voltage in the range of -12 to -20 volts (15 V; 1-20 volts in contrary direction, [0016]) is applied to the solar cell in step b).
Chung, Hongming, and Zhao are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are from the same field of endeavor of solar cell systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the method of Chung and Hongming with the features of Zhao to create a method wherein a voltage in the range of -12 to -20 volts is applied to the solar cell in step b) for improving the ohmic-contact behavior between a contact grid and an emitter layer in a silicon solar cell (Zhao, [0001]), which would increase the efficiency of the solar cell.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Chung and Hongming discloses the method of claim 6. Chung teaches the solar cell (11, Fig 1).
The combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the solar cell is illuminated locally with an illuminance of 5 to 10000 suns, wherein 1 sun = 1000 W/m2 incident power density in the AM1.5G spectrum, in step c).
However, Zhao teaches wherein the solar cell is illuminated locally with an illuminance of 5 to 10000 suns (5000 suns; 500 - 200,000 W/cm2, [0013]), wherein 1 sun = 1000 W/m2 incident power density in the AM1.5G spectrum, in step c).
Chung, Hongming, and Zhao are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are from the same field of endeavor of solar cell system methods. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the method of Chung and Hongming with the features of Zhao to create a method wherein the solar cell is illuminated locally with an illuminance of 5 to 10000 suns, wherein 1 sun = 1000 W/m2 incident power density in the AM1.5G spectrum, in step c) for improving the ohmic-contact behavior between a contact grid and an emitter layer in a silicon solar cell (Zhao, [0001]), which would increase the efficiency of the solar cell.
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (US 20100236035 A1), in view of Hongming (US 11393944 B2), and further in view of Frigge (US 20220149225 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Chung and Hongming discloses the method of claim 6. Chung teaches the solar cell (11, Fig 1).
The combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the solar cell is heated to a temperature in a range of 150 to 850°C in step c).
However, Frigge teaches wherein the solar cell is heated to a temperature (400° C, [0012]) in a range of 150 to 850°C in step c).
Chung, Hongming, and Frigge are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are from the same field of endeavor of solar cell system methods. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the method of Chung and Hongming with the features of Frigge to create a method wherein the solar cell is heated to a temperature in a range of 150 to 850°C in step c) because such high temperature peaks on the one hand result in short processing times and correspondingly short throughput times and can also bring about improved stabilization effects (Frigge, [0012]).
Regarding claims 10-12, the combination of Chung and Hongming discloses the method of claim 6. Chung teaches the heating (H) of the front side (11A, Fig 1) and the rear side (11B) of the solar cell (11) to which the voltage (V1) is applied.
The combination fails to explicitly teach a time period of 1 to 30 seconds, 1 to 20 seconds, or 1 to 10 seconds.
However, Frigge teaches wherein the heating of the front side and the rear side of the solar cell to which the voltage is applied is carried out according to step c) over a time period (5 seconds, [0012]) of 1 to 30 seconds for claim 9.
Frigge’s 5 seconds also meets the limitations of claims 11-12.
Chung, Hongming, and Frigge are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are from the same field of endeavor of solar cell system methods. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the method of Chung and Hongming with the features of Frigge to create a method with a time period of 1 to 30 seconds, 1 to 20 seconds, or 1 to 10 seconds because such high temperature peaks on the one hand result in short processing times and correspondingly short throughput times and can also bring about improved stabilization effects (Frigge, [0012]). Short processing times in the range of seconds are also desirable for productivity reasons (Frigge, [0012]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Khan (US 20130146576 A1) - method of heating and applying electrical bias to a PV module
/JEREMY DANIEL WATTS/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897