CTNF 18/716,726 CTNF 97884 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2023/0198853 A1; hereinafter Lee) . Regarding claims 1, 7, 17, and 23, Lee teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (read as mobile communication) (¶ [0056] The UE accesses the mobile communication system.) , comprising: a memory (Fig. 6, element 230 Memory; ¶ [0127] The computer system may include memory.) ; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to (Fig. 6, element 210 Processor, element 230 Memory; ¶ [0127] The processor may be a central processing unit (CPU) or a semiconductor device that executes instructions stored in the memory.) : transmit, to a network node (read as application function (AF)) , a request for network assisted information (read as analytics) associated with one or more of a machine learning (ML) model or analytics, the ML model or the analytics being associated with an application layer communication that is associated with the UE (Fig. 5, step S305 HTTP Signaling (Analytics Request); ¶ [0106] The UE may transmit an analytics request to the AF through signaling of an application layer (e.g., HTTP signaling).; ¶ [0109] The analytics request may include an analytics ID. The analytics ID may be included in a request message of an application layer transmitted by the UE to the AF.; ¶ [0119] The DCCF and NWDAF may perform the analytics procedure for the requested analytics ID.) ; and receive, from the network node (read as application function (AF)) , one or more of the ML model or the analytics (¶ [0121] The AF may send the analytics result to the applicant client in the UE through signaling of the application layer.) . Regarding claims 2, 8, 18, and 24, Lee teaches wherein the network node comprises a data connection application function (¶ [0108] The AF may be an AF (e.g., data collection application function (DCAF) for delivering the analytics to the terminal.) . Regarding claims 3, 15, 19, and 31, Lee teaches receive/transmit the one or more of the ML model or the analytics via a user plane connection with the network node (¶ [0057] A PDU session may be established between the UE and the AF via an access network (AN) and a user plane function.; ¶ [0074] The AF may transfer the analytics received from the NWDAF or the DCCF to the ASP server and the ASP server may deliver the requested analytics to the UE through the PDU session.) . Regarding claims 4, 16, 20, and 32, Lee teaches transmit/receive the request via one or more additional network nodes (¶ [0062] The UE may transmit the analytics request to the address of the ASP server. When the AF performs functions as the ASP server, the UE may send the request for the analytics to the AF.; ¶ [0070] The AF may request analytics from the DCCF by using a service operation for the DCCF. The DCCF may transmit Nnwdaf_AnalyticsSubscription_Subscribe or Nndaf_AnalyticsInfo_request to the NWDAF after receiving Ndccf_DataManagement_Subscribe from the AF.) , transmit/receive the request via hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP) signaling (¶ [0106] The UE may transmit an analytics request to the AF through signaling of an application layer (e.g., HTTP signaling).) , or transmit/receive the request via a user plane connection with the network node (¶ [0057] A PDU session may be established between the UE and the AF via an access network (AN) and a user plane function.; ¶ [0107] The UE may send an analytics request to the AF by using a predetermined PDU session for the AF.) . Regarding claims 5, 11, 21, and 27, Lee teaches wherein the request comprises one or more of: an ML model identification, an analytics identification (¶ [0109] The analytics request may include an analytics ID.) , an area of interest associated with the ML model or the analytics (¶ [0059] An identifier of a target for the analytics.; ¶ [0096] Predetermined information may include tracking area (TA) list.) , a registration area identification (¶ [0096] Predetermined information may include tracking area (TA) list.) , a slice identification associated with the ML model (¶ [0109] The UE may also provide a slice identifier.) , an event filter, a report threshold, a report frequency, a report time interval, or a report expiration time (¶ [0059] An indicator of the analytics report (e.g., period, maximum number of notifications, expiration time), etc. may be delivered.; Note: MPEP 2143.03: When a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009). ) . Regarding claims 6 and 22, Lee teaches perform application layer analytics based at least in part on the one or more of the ML model or the analytics (¶ [0075] The UE may receive the analytics and take an action based on the received analytics) . Regarding claims 9 and 25, Lee teaches transmit, to an additional network node, a request for the ML model or the analytics (¶ [0115] The AF may request the analytics by subscribing to the DCCF. The AF may send an Ndccf_DataManagement_Subscribe service operation to the DCCF.) , and receive, from the additional network node, the ML model or the analytics (¶ [0122] The DCCF may notify the analytics to the UE.) . Regarding claims 10 and 26, Lee teaches wherein the additional network node comprises a network data analytics function (NWDAF) or a data collection coordination function (DCCF) (¶ [0055] The AF may be directly connected to the NWDAF or the DCCF in the core network.) . Regarding claims 12 and 28, Lee teaches transmit, to a first additional network node (read as network repository function (NRF)) , an indication of one or more elements of the request (¶ [0111] The AF may send Nnrf_NFDiscovery_request to the NRF to discover the DCCF that supports an analytics ID requested by the UE.) ; and receive, from the first additional network node, an indication of an identification of a second additional network node (read as data collection coordination function (DCCF)) that has access to the ML model or the analytics (¶ [0111] The DCCF may be an NF connected to the NWDAF capable of providing analytics corresponding to the analytics ID requested by the UE.; ¶ [0112] The NRF may send Nnrf_NFDiscovery_response including the discovered DCCF ID to the AF.; ¶ [0120] The DCCF may send the analytics result corresponding to the analytics ID to the AF.) . Regarding claims 13, and 29, Lee teaches map a UE to a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) and transmitting, to an additional network node that has access to the ML model or the analytics, an indication of the SUPI with a request for the ML model or the analytics (¶ [0066] The SMF may deliver UE-related information (e.g., SUPI) mapped to the corresponding IP address to the AF. The AF may deliver the analytics request received from the corresponding UE to the DCCF or NWDAF along with the UE-related information.; ¶ [0067] The reliable AF may search for an NWDAF capable of providing the analytics requested from the UE.) ; or transmit, to the additional network node and with the request for the ML model or the analytics, an indication of a UE internet protocol (IP) address associated with the UE (¶ [0106] The UE may transmit an analytics request to the AF through signaling of an application layer (e.g., HTTP signaling).; ¶ [0110] The AF may retrieve the UE IP address from the source IP address of the received packet.; ¶ [0120] The DCCF may send the analytics result corresponding to the analytics ID to the AF.; Note: MPEP 2143.03: When a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009). ) . Regarding claims 14 and 30, Lee teaches identify a mapping of the UE to the SUPI in local storage, or transmit, to a SUPI mapping entity (read as binding session function (BSF)) , an indication of one or more of: the UE IP address,a data network name (DNN), or single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) (¶ [0113] The UE ID may be retrieved through a search for session binding information of the UE. The AF may transmit the UE IP address, the S-NNSAI, and the DNN to the binding session function (BSF). The BSF may provide SUPI of the UE to the AF. , and receive, from the SUPI mapping entity (read as BSF) , an indication of the mapping of the UE to the SUPI (¶ [0113] The BSF may provide SUPI of the UE to the AF. The BSF may provide SUPI to the AF through Nbsf_Management_Discovery response message.) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chong et al. (US 2023/0127558 A1) discloses “Data Processing Method and Apparatus” Shariat et al. (US 2024/0244466 A1) discloses “Network Analytics Based on Multiple Resolutions of UE Locations” Xu (US 2022/0329492 A1) discloses “Data Collection Method and Apparatus” Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DAVID M KAYAL whose telephone number is (703)756-4576. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30-5:30 ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricky Ngo can be reached at 571-272-3139. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /D.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464 /RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/716,726 Page 2 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/716,726 Page 3 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/716,726 Page 4 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/716,726 Page 5 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/716,726 Page 6 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/716,726 Page 7 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/716,726 Page 8 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/716,726 Page 9 Art Unit: 2464