DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu (US Publication No.: US 2023/0110225 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhu discloses a display substrate (Figure 3), comprising
A base substrate (Figure 3, base substrate 101), and
A display region and a frame region located on a side of the base substrate (Figure 2, display region AA, frame region B), wherein the display region comprises:
A plurality of scanning signal lines extending in a first direction (Figure 2, scanning signal lines 10 extend in a first horizontal direction; Paragraph 0035),
A plurality of transfer signal lines extending in a second direction (Figure 2, transfer signal lines 400 extend in a second vertical direction), and
A plurality of data signal lines extending in the second direction (Figure 2, data signal lines 20 also extend in a second vertical direction; Paragraph 0034), wherein
The first direction and the second direction cross each other (Figure 2); and wherein
The scanning signal lines are provided on a different layer from the data signal lines (Figure 3, scanning signal lines 10 are on a different layer than data signal lines 20),
The scanning signal lines are provided on a different layer from the transfer signal lines (Figure 3, scanning signal lines 10 are on a different layer than transfer signal lines 400),
The data signal lines are provided on the same layer as the transfer signal lines (Figure 3, data signal lines 20 and transfer signal lines 400 are on a same layer),
The scanning signal lines are connected to at least one of the transfer signal lines (Figure 3 discloses transfer signal lines 400 are connected to scanning signal lines 10), and
Different scanning signal lines are connected to different transfer signal lines (Figure 2; Paragraph 0036).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhu discloses the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of scanning signal lines comprise a first scanning signal line and a second scanning signal line, and a quantity of transfer signal lines connected to the first scanning signal line is equal to a quantity of transfer signal lines connected to the second scanning signal line (Figure 2 discloses a plurality of scanning signal lines 10 and a same number of transfer signal lines 400 connected to each one; Paragraph 0036).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhu discloses the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of transfer signal lines are divided into a plurality of transfer line groups arranged in the first direction, and the transfer line groups comprise one or more adjacent transfer signal lines; and transfer signal lines located in the same transfer line group are connected to the same scanning signal terminal and the same scanning signal line, and transfer signal lines located in different transfer line groups are connected to different scanning signal terminals and different scanning signal lines (Figure 2 discloses transfer line groups G_COF, where transfer signal lines in a same group are connected to the same scanning signal terminal and different transfer line groups are connected to different scanning signal lines; Paragraph 0036).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhu discloses the display substrate according to claim 3, wherein the plurality of scanning signal lines comprise a third scanning signal line and a fourth scanning signal line, and the same quantity of transfer line groups are provided between two transfer line groups connected to and adjacent to the third scanning signal line, and between two transfer line groups connected to and adjacent to the fourth scanning signal line (Paragraph 0036 discloses that each of the scan lines is provided with its own corresponding transfer line unit/group).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhu discloses the display substrate according to claim 3, wherein the plurality of transfer line groups comprise a first transfer line group, a second transfer line group and a third transfer line group which are connected to the same scanning signal line and are sequentially arranged in the first direction; and wherein a quantity of transfer line groups provided between the first transfer line group and the second transfer line group is equal to a quantity of transfer line groups provided between the second transfer line group and the third transfer line group (Paragraph 0036).
Regarding Claim 10, Zhu discloses the display substrate according to claim 3, wherein the plurality of transfer line groups comprise a tenth transfer line group and an eleventh transfer line group connected to the same scanning signal line, the tenth transfer line group and the eleventh transfer line group are axially symmetrically provided about a first axis, and the first axis is a symmetry axis extending in the second direction of an orthographic projection of the display region on the base substrate (Paragraph 0036 discloses a plurality of transfer line groups, where Figure 2 discloses that they are symmetrical about a first vertical axis).
Regarding Claim 11, Zhu discloses the display substrate according to claim 3, wherein the scanning signal lines and the transfer signal lines are connected via transfer holes, and transfer holes connecting all transfer signal lines in the same transfer line group constitute a transfer hole group; and in an orthographic projection on the base substrate, a plurality of transfer hole groups are arranged in a shape comprising at least one of the following: a V-shape, an inverted V-shape, an N- shape, an inverted N-shape, a strip extending in a third direction, a plurality of strips extending in the third direction and parallel to each other, and the third direction is provided crosswise to the first direction and the second direction, respectively (Figure 3 discloses a V shape transfer hole).
Regarding Claim 12, Zhu discloses the display substrate according to claim 3, wherein a quantity of transfer signal lines contained in the transfer line group is M or M + 1, the M is a positive integer obtained by rounding down m*3/(2N*2n), the m is a row resolution of the display region, the n is a column resolution of the display region, and the N is a quantity of transfer line groups connected to the same scanning signal line; and/or difference between quantities of transfer signal lines contained in different transfer line groups is less than or equal to 1; and/or quantities of transfer line groups connected to different scanning signal lines are the same (Figure 2, Paragraphs 0036-0044).
Regarding Claim 13, Zhu discloses the display substrate according to claim 3, wherein the scanning signal lines and the transfer signal lines are connected via transfer holes, and transfer holes connecting all transfer signal lines in the same transfer line group constitute a transfer hole group; and a plurality of transfer hole groups are divided into a plurality of transfer units arranged in the first direction, each of the transfer units comprises the same quantity of transfer hole groups, the plurality of transfer units comprise a first transfer unit and a second transfer unit, and the first transfer unit and the second transfer unit are translationally symmetric or axially symmetric (Figure 3 discloses one transfer hole per transfer signal line, where each transfer hole would be symmetrical to one another; Paragraphs 0036-0044).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-18, 20-21, 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Kim et al (US Publication No.: US 2015/0097802 A1, “Kim”).
Regarding Claim 15, Zhu discloses the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the scanning signal lines are located between the transfer signal lines and the base substrate, and the display region further comprises: an electrode layer located on a side of the transfer signal lines away from the base substrate, comprising a plurality of electrodes; and wherein in an orthographic projection on the base substrate, the electrode layer covers the transfer signal lines at least in the first direction (Zhu, Figure 3, scanning signal line 10 are between the transfer signal lines 400 and the base substrate 101, electrode layer 109 covers the transfer signa lines 400).
Zhu fails to disclose that the electrode layer is a common electrode layer.
However, Kim discloses a similar electrode layer that is a common electrode layer (Kim, Figure 8, common electrode layer 270 entirely overlaps transfer signal line 280).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the array substrate as disclosed by Zhu to include a common electrode layer as disclosed by Kim. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing a touch function of a display panel (Kim, Paragraph 0047).
Regarding Claim 16, Zhu discloses the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the scanning signal lines are located between the transfer signal lines and the base substrate (Zhu, Figure 3, scanning signal line 10 are between the transfer signal lines 400 and the base substrate 101).
Zhu fails to disclose that the display region further comprises: a plurality of touch control signal lines extending in the second direction, wherein the touch control signal lines are located on a side of the data signal lines away from the base substrate, and in an orthographic projection on the base substrate, the touch control signal lines cover the data signal lines at least in the first direction.
However, Kim discloses a similar substrate where the display region further comprises: a plurality of touch control signal lines extending in the second direction, wherein the touch control signal lines are located on a side of the data signal lines away from the base substrate, and in an orthographic projection on the base substrate, the touch control signal lines cover the data signal lines at least in the first direction (Kim, Figure 6, touch signal lines 280 entirely overlap data signal lines SL).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the substrate as disclosed by Zhu to include touch signal lines as disclosed by Kim. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing a touch function of a display panel (Kim, Paragraph 0047).
Regarding Claim 17, Zhu in view of Kim discloses the display substrate according to claim 16.
Zhu fails to disclose a common electrode layer, located between the data signal lines and the touch control signal lines, or located on a side of the touch control signal lines away from the base substrate, comprising a plurality of touch control sub-blocks separated from each other, wherein the touch control sub- blocks comprise a plurality of common electrodes connected to each other; and wherein the touch control sub-blocks are connected to one or more adjacent touch control signal lines via touch control holes, a plurality of touch control signal lines connected to the same touch control sub-block are connected to the same touch control signal terminal, and touch control signal lines connected to different touch control sub-blocks are connected to different touch control signal terminals.
However, Kim discloses a similar display substrate comprising a common electrode layer, located between the data signal lines and the touch control signal lines, or located on a side of the touch control signal lines away from the base substrate, comprising a plurality of touch control sub-blocks separated from each other, wherein the touch control sub- blocks comprise a plurality of common electrodes connected to each other; and wherein the touch control sub-blocks are connected to one or more adjacent touch control signal lines via touch control holes, a plurality of touch control signal lines connected to the same touch control sub-block are connected to the same touch control signal terminal, and touch control signal lines connected to different touch control sub-blocks are connected to different touch control signal terminals (Kim, Figure 8, common electrode layer 270, touch control signal line 280; Figure 5, touch control sub-blocks TS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the substrate as disclosed by Zhu to include touch signal lines as disclosed by Kim. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing a touch function of a display panel (Kim, Paragraph 0047).
Regarding Claim 18, Zhu in view of Kim discloses the display substrate according to claim 17.
Zhu fails to disclose that the common electrode layer is located between the data signal lines and the touch control signal lines, and the display region further comprises: a first pixel electrode layer, located on a side of the touch control signal lines away from the base substrate, comprising a plurality of first pixel electrodes separated from each other and a transfer electrode separated from the first pixel electrodes; and the touch control holes comprising a half hole and a first through hole, wherein the transfer electrode and the touch control signal lines are connected via the half hole, and the transfer electrode and the touch control sub-blocks are connected via the first through hole.
However, Kim discloses a similar substrate where the common electrode layer is located between the data signal lines and the touch control signal lines, and the display region further comprises: a first pixel electrode layer, located on a side of the touch control signal lines away from the base substrate, comprising a plurality of first pixel electrodes separated from each other and a transfer electrode separated from the first pixel electrodes; and the touch control holes comprising a half hole and a first through hole, wherein the transfer electrode and the touch control signal lines are connected via the half hole, and the transfer electrode and the touch control sub-blocks are connected via the first through hole (Kim, Figure 8, common electrode layer 270 is located between data signal lines 171 and touch control signal lines 280, and first pixel electrodes 191; Figure 7, touch control sub-blocks 131).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the substrate as disclosed by Zhu to include touch signal lines as disclosed by Kim. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing a touch function of a display panel (Kim, Paragraph 0047).
Regarding Claim 20, Zhu in view of Kim discloses the display substrate according to claim 16.
Zhu fails to disclose that the frame region comprises: a touch control signal terminal, provided on the same layer as the touch control signal lines and connected to each other, for providing a touch control signal to the touch control signal lines; and a data signal terminal, provided on the same layer as the data signal lines and connected to each other, for providing a data signal to the data signal lines; and wherein the touch control signal terminal is located between the plurality of data signal terminals, and the touch control signal terminal and the data signal terminal are both configured for binding a source drive chip.
However, Kim discloses a similar substrate where the frame region comprises: a touch control signal terminal, provided on the same layer as the touch control signal lines and connected to each other, for providing a touch control signal to the touch control signal lines; and a data signal terminal, provided on the same layer as the data signal lines and connected to each other, for providing a data signal to the data signal lines; and wherein the touch control signal terminal is located between the plurality of data signal terminals, and the touch control signal terminal and the data signal terminal are both configured for binding a source drive chip (Kim, Figure 1, touch control signal terminal 700, data signal terminal 500; Paragraph 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the substrate as disclosed by Zhu to include touch and data terminals as disclosed by Kim. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing a touch function of a display panel (Kim, Paragraph 0047).
Regarding Claim 21, Zhu discloses the display substrate according to claim 1.
Zhu fails to disclose that the frame region comprises: a scanning signal terminal, provided on the same layer as the scanning signal lines and connected to the transfer signal lines through a via hole, for providing a scanning signal to the transfer signal lines and the scanning signal lines; and a data signal terminal, provided on the same layer as the data signal line and connected to each other, for providing a data signal to the data signal lines; and wherein the scanning signal terminal and the data signal terminal are located on the same side of the display region.
However, Kim discloses a similar substrate where the frame region comprises: a scanning signal terminal, provided on the same layer as the scanning signal lines and connected to the transfer signal lines through a via hole, for providing a scanning signal to the transfer signal lines and the scanning signal lines; and a data signal terminal, provided on the same layer as the data signal line and connected to each other, for providing a data signal to the data signal lines; and wherein the scanning signal terminal and the data signal terminal are located on the same side of the display region (Kim, Figure 1, scanning signal terminal 400, data signal terminal 500; Paragraph 0045).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the substrate as disclosed by Zhu to include scan and data terminals as disclosed by Kim. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing a touch function of a display panel (Kim, Paragraph 0047).
Regarding Claim 24, Zhu discloses the display substrate according to claim 1.
Zhu fails to disclose a display panel, comprising: a cell alignment substrate, a liquid crystal layer, and the display substrate, wherein the liquid crystal layer is located between the cell alignment substrate and the display substrate, and the display region is provided close to the liquid crystal layer.
However, Kim discloses a display panel, comprising: a cell alignment substrate, a liquid crystal layer, and the display substrate, wherein the liquid crystal layer is located between the cell alignment substrate and the display substrate, and the display region is provided close to the liquid crystal layer (Kim, Figure 7, liquid crystal layer in between display substrate 110 and cell alignment substrate 210; Paragraph 0059).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display substrate as disclosed by Zhu to include a display panel as disclosed by Kim. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of to create a liquid crystal display (Kim, Paragraph 0059).
Regarding Claim 25, Zhu discloses the display substrate according to claim 1.
Zhu fails to disclose a display device, comprising: the display substrate, a source drive chip, bound and connected to the frame region, for providing a data signal to the data signal line; and one of the following: a gate drive chip, bound and connected to the frame region, and located on the same side of the display region as the source drive chip, for providing a scanning signal to the transfer signal line and the scanning signal line; a gate drive circuit, located in the frame region, and located on the same side of the display region as the source drive chip, for providing a scanning signal to the transfer signal line and the scanning signal line.
However, Kim discloses a display device, comprising: the display substrate, a source drive chip, bound and connected to the frame region, for providing a data signal to the data signal line; and one of the following: a gate drive chip, bound and connected to the frame region, and located on the same side of the display region as the source drive chip, for providing a scanning signal to the transfer signal line and the scanning signal line; a gate drive circuit, located in the frame region, and located on the same side of the display region as the source drive chip, for providing a scanning signal to the transfer signal line and the scanning signal line (Kim, Figure 1, source drive chip 500, gate drive chip 400; Paragraph 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the substrate as disclosed by Zhu to include scan and data terminals as disclosed by Kim. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing a touch function of a display panel (Kim, Paragraph 0047).
Claims 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Huang et al (US Publication No.: US 2021/0358708 A1, “Huang”).
Regarding Claim 22, Zhu discloses the display substrate according to claim 21.
Zhu fails to disclose that a plurality of the scanning signal terminals are divided into one or more scanning signal binding areas which are configured for binding a gate drive chip; a plurality of the data signal terminals are divided into a plurality of data signal binding areas, and the data signal binding areas which are configured for binding a source drive chip; and wherein the scanning signal binding areas are provided between two adjacent data signal binding areas, and at most one of the scanning signal binding areas is provided between two adjacent data signal binding areas, and at most two of the data signal binding areas are provided between two adjacent scanning signal binding areas.
However, Huang discloses a similar display substrate where a plurality of the scanning signal terminals are divided into one or more scanning signal binding areas which are configured for binding a gate drive chip; a plurality of the data signal terminals are divided into a plurality of data signal binding areas, and the data signal binding areas which are configured for binding a source drive chip; and wherein the scanning signal binding areas are provided between two adjacent data signal binding areas, and at most one of the scanning signal binding areas is provided between two adjacent data signal binding areas, and at most two of the data signal binding areas are provided between two adjacent scanning signal binding areas (Huang, Paragraph 0212).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the substrate as disclosed by Zhu to include binding areas as disclosed by Huang. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing switching signals (Huang, Paragraph 0212).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
-Huang (2017/0300163 A1) discloses scanning signal lines and transfer signal lines.
/MARIAM QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2871