DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The amendments and arguments filed 8/17/2026 have been entered and made of record. Since claim 19 has been amended, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/17/2026, regarding to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive:
In the Applicant’s Remarks (on pages 10-11), Applicant also asserts that, regarding to claim 1, the cited references, particularly FENG as modified by ZIV do not disclose “labeling a volume of interest in each said frame image to encompass said target organ; calculating a motion curve of said target organ based on said volume of interest of each said frame image”;
However, the Examiner disagrees, because:
both FENG and ZIV disclose detecting the motion of heart, so that FENG’s VOI (volume of interest) is of heart {as seen in Fig. 4, Fig. 5, and, Fig, 12} and,
-- In 402, may determine a reference point in the object. reference point can be the reference line/point identification unit 304 to identify. In some embodiments, the reference point may be a specific point in the object. For example, the reference point can be a target organ (e.g., heart) or a portion thereof (such as a chamber of the heart) of the central point. determining the reference point can be found in other parts of the present disclosure, such as FIG. 5 and its description….
motion parameter can be the statistical parameter determined by the shape of the object (e.g., heart) and/or position of the VOI is determined. In some embodiments, the VOI may represent a standardized region comprising a plurality of voxel object. In some embodiments, the motion parameters may include statistical parameters of the distribution a plurality of voxels around a reference point in the sinogram coordinate of matched. In some embodiments, the motion parameter may be included in the image region around the reference points of the plurality of voxels of the tracer distribution of statistical parameter. In some embodiments, the normalized statistical parameters of the statistical parameter or tracer distribution can be distributed with respect to a reference point in the VOI of the, fourth-order moment or any other moment is determined.
In 406, for gating the ECT data can be based on the movement parameter set. gating can be performed by the gate control unit 312. movement can occur within the specific time interval, wherein the collected ECT data set can be screened out and assigned to different motion-related data--, in page 10/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A) ; and
FENG particularly discloses the gating method applied to heart as the target organ {Fig. 12}:
-- a gating unit configured to determine, based on the motion signal the ECT data set are classified into a plurality of box; and a reconstruction unit configured to reconstruct the plurality of box to generate an image of the target organ--, in page 3/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A
-- imaging system can ECT image reconstruction based on gating method. can be assigned ECT data set can be divided into a plurality of subsets (also termed "data frame"), and may select one of the subset of processing to generate ECT image as used herein, gating method. For example, the imaging system can be different to the object space point corresponding to the ECT data set different gating parameters are applied to ECT image reconstruction. In some embodiments, at least one of the plurality of data frames which can be associated with the amount of interest comprising a plurality of voxels.--, in page 4-5/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A);
So that, it is clear that ZIV teaching of “labeling a volume of interest in each said frame image to encompass said target organ” in
(see ZIV: e.g., --[0197] The segmentation to static and dynamic volumetric regions may be performed using a number of possible methods. In one embodiment of the present invention, a system user marks the boundaries of the dynamic volumetric region that comprises the gated voxels. In such an embodiment, the reconstructed image is displayed on a screen of a user interface that allows the system user to delimit the dynamic volumetric region. Though the captured image is blurry, as it is not gated, it provides the system user a perceptual image of the outlines of the internal organs in the input overall volume, including the heart, the liver, the spleen, the kidneys, and the aorta. In such an embodiment, the system user segments the captured image to gated and non-gated regions according to their level of activity, thereby defines the gated and non-gated regions. Preferably, the system user segments the heart as a non-gated region.--, in [0196]-[0197]);
Apparently, FENG and ZIV are consistent in identifying volume of interest (VOI) of the heart as the target organ, and mark/delimit the boundaries of the dynamic volumetric region that comprises the gated voxels {ZIV’s “dynamic volumetric region” is of heart as the target organ} as “labeling a volume of interest in each said frame image to encompass said target organ”;
Furthermore, FENG as modified by ZIV further disclose calculating a motion curve of said target organ based on said volume of interest of each said frame image (see FENG: e.g., , -- the emission-type computed tomography (ECT) image detection motion of the organ system and method, and more particularly, relates to a system and method for detecting cardiac gating in positron emission tomography imaging (PET)…. object, such as a patient, can be acquired ECT by ECT scanner image. When ECT for chest or upper abdomen examination, respiratory and/or cardiac motion caused by motion blur in ECT images. is desirable to provide for reconstruction is the improvement of quality and reduction of motion blur of ECT image system and method.--, in page 2/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A as provided as NPL within this Office Action; also see: -- In 604, can retrieve one of the plurality of data frames. retrieval of data frame can be described from 504 by the motion identification unit 306 of the divided data in the frame. the retrieved data frame can indicate the state of the object in the selected time range, which may be further processed to represent the state of selecting the other one of the objects associated with the time range motion.
In 606, it may be determined according to an arbitrary direction corresponding to the VOI and the motion parameter of the object. In some embodiments, the arbitrary direction can be determined manually by a user (e.g., operator). In some embodiments, the arbitrary direction is determined by optimization algorithm can, according to the optimization algorithm can determine the optimal signal corresponding to parameters (e.g., motion parameters or correlated parameters) updated VOI. in any direction corresponding to movement of the object parameter can be determined in the following way: determining the first direction (e.g., x, y, or z direction) on the first statistical parameter and the second direction of the second statistical parameters (e.g., x, y, or z direction, first direction), then determining motion parameters based on the first statistical parameter and the second statistical parameter. The present disclosure other places, the VOI may include a plurality of voxels. In some embodiments, the first statistical parameter and/or the second counting can be represented in accordance with distribution of a plurality of voxels such as the different variance of other reference point of the place.--, in the last par. of page 13/20 through the first par. of page 14/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A; also see ZIV: e.g., Fig. 5, and Fig. 9J, such as “measured kinetic curves” and, -- [0369] In an exemplary embodiment, the analysis of the kinetic process may be after reconstruction of the intensity in the entire volumetric region or in the selected segments has been done for a series of time points. In that case, each segment or location in overall volume (u) has a list of intensity (I) values in time (t), and the list I(u,t) may be further analyzed to fit parametric kinetic model.--, in [0369]).
Therefore, claims 1-19 are still not patentably distinguishable over the prior art reference(s). Further discussions are addressed in the prior art rejection section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8-10, 12-13, 15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being patentable over FENG (CN 108498110 A), and in view of ZIV (US 20170039738 A1).
Re Claim 1, FENG discloses a system of motion detection and correction of a medical image (see FENG: e.g., -- The system may include a configuration to obtain the target organ of the patient collected by the associated PET data sets. The system further comprises a processing module, the processing module is configured to determine the target organ of the reference point, the PET data set into a plurality of data frames, and to determine the target organ based on the plurality of first statistical parameter and a plurality of second statistical parameter of motion signal. processing module can further motion signal based on the PET data set are classified into a plurality of boxes.--, in abstract, and, -- the emission-type computed tomography (ECT) image detection motion of the organ system and method, and more particularly, relates to a system and method for detecting cardiac gating in positron emission tomography imaging (PET)…. object, such as a patient, can be acquired ECT by ECT scanner image. When ECT for chest or upper abdomen examination, respiratory and/or cardiac motion caused by motion blur in ECT images. is desirable to provide for reconstruction is the improvement of quality and reduction of motion blur of ECT image system
and method.--, in page 2/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A as provided as NPL within this Office Action); comprising:
a management platform providing a user interface to submit instructions for performing optimization processing on a medical image of a target organ, wherein said medical image corresponds to list mode data (see FENG: e.g., -- the detected radiation event can be stored or archived in a storage (e.g. storage device 120) is displayed on the display (e.g., the host 120 of the display or display) of the attached to host 120, or is transmitted to an external storage device (e.g., via a cable, or wire or wireless network attached to the external storage device of the host computer 120). In some embodiments, the user can be via host 120 ECT control scanner 110.
In addition, although not shown, but an ECT system capable of connecting to a network (e.g., a telecommunications network, a local area network (LAN), a wireless network, a wide area network (WAN), such as the Internet, peer-to-peer network, cable network, etc.) for communication purposes.-- ; in page 5/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A;
-- control module 132 can generate a control collecting module 131, a storage module 133, a processing module 134, and/or control parameters of the display module 135. For example, control module 132 may control acquisition module 131 whether acquisition of signal or signal acquisition time. As another example, control module 132 can control the processing module 134 to select a different algorithm for processing ECT data collected by the collecting module 131 set. In some embodiments, the control module 132 may be received by the user (e.g., doctor) to provide real-time or predetermined instructions, and the acquisition module 131 and/or processing module 134, the image of the object of shooting according to the received command. In some embodiments, the control module 132 can be used to exchange information or data with other module of image processing system 100--; in page 6/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A; and, Fig. 5, and Fig. 12; -- In 502, can obtain ECT data set associated with the object in list mode. For the purpose of explanation, the ECT data set can be collected from, for example, PET/CT system by the acquisition module 131. As used herein, "list mode" may represent capture events in the form, such as ordering according to time order event list of event list) of PET detector.
In 504, ECT data set may be based on time information is divided into a plurality of data frames. time information may include indicating when coincident events (also represented by the LOR) time stamp. ECT data set can be stored in the time frame [t, t + Δ t] -- if the event occurs in the time range. In some embodiments, t may equal to Δ t of n (integer) times, such that one data frame may have a time interval Δ. Alternatively, the time range of one data frame can be distinguished from the other data frame.--; in page 6/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A);
an optimization device performing said optimization processing of said medical image in accordance with said instructions, wherein said optimization processing (see FENG: e.g., -- In 604, can retrieve one of the plurality of data frames. retrieval of data frame can be described from 504 by the motion identification unit 306 of the divided data in the frame. the retrieved data frame can indicate the state of the object in the selected time range, which may be further processed to represent the state of selecting the other one of the objects associated with the time range motion.
In 606, it may be determined according to an arbitrary direction corresponding to the VOI and the motion parameter of the object. In some embodiments, the arbitrary direction can be determined manually by a user (e.g., operator). In some embodiments, the arbitrary direction is determined by optimization algorithm can, according to the optimization algorithm can determine the optimal signal corresponding to parameters (e.g., motion parameters or correlated parameters) updated VOI. in any direction corresponding to movement of the object parameter can be determined in the following way: determining the first direction (e.g., x, y, or z direction) on the first statistical parameter and the second direction of the second statistical parameters (e.g., x, y, or z direction, first direction), then determining motion parameters based on the first statistical parameter and the second statistical parameter. The present disclosure other places, the VOI may include a plurality of voxels. In some embodiments, the first statistical parameter and/or the second counting can be represented in accordance with distribution of a plurality of voxels such as the different variance of other reference point of the place.--, in the last par. of page 13/20 through the first par. of page 14/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A; and, -- For example, determining the direction of the VOI and/or motion to determine the motion parameter of the object can be based on the information of the time-of-flight (TOF). Specifically, the TOF information can indicate the quantity of the object field in the image reconstruction, and the quantity of the object can further be used for optimization of the ECT data in list mode. Similarly, the best moving parameter of the moving direction determination can also be based on TOF information. In some embodiments, it can use time-of-flight (TOF) of the probability distribution to optimize the VOI and/or movement direction, to determine the motion parameter of the object according to the motion direction. probability distribution may be based on one or more probability model to estimate a Bernoulli distribution, Poisson distribution, uniform distribution, exponential distribution, normal distribution, or the like, or a combination thereof.--, in page 18/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A); comprises:
segmenting said list mode data corresponding to said medical image into a plurality of frames having a fixed time dimension, and imaging each said frame as a multi-frame image (see FENG: e.g., Fig. 5, and Fig. 12; -- In 502, can obtain ECT data set associated with the object in list mode. For the purpose of explanation, the ECT data set can be collected from, for example, PET/CT system by the acquisition module 131. As used herein, "list mode" may represent capture events in the form, such as ordering according to time order event list of event list) of PET detector.
In 504, ECT data set may be based on time information is divided into a plurality of data frames. time information may include indicating when coincident events (also represented by the LOR) time stamp. ECT data set can be stored in the time frame [t, t + Δ t] -- if the event occurs in the time range. In some embodiments, t may equal to Δ t of n (integer) times, such that one data frame may have a time interval Δ. Alternatively, the time range of one data frame can be distinguished from the other data frame.--; in page 6/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A; also see: -- In 604, can retrieve one of the plurality of data frames. retrieval of data frame can be described from 504 by the motion identification unit 306 of the divided data in the frame. the retrieved data frame can indicate the state of the object in the selected time range, which may be further processed to represent the state of selecting the other one of the objects associated with the time range motion.
In 606, it may be determined according to an arbitrary direction corresponding to the VOI and the motion parameter of the object. In some embodiments, the arbitrary direction can be determined manually by a user (e.g., operator). In some embodiments, the arbitrary direction is determined by optimization algorithm can, according to the optimization algorithm can determine the optimal signal corresponding to parameters (e.g., motion parameters or correlated parameters) updated VOI. in any direction corresponding to movement of the object parameter can be determined in the following way: determining the first direction (e.g., x, y, or z direction) on the first statistical parameter and the second direction of the second statistical parameters (e.g., x, y, or z direction, first direction), then determining motion parameters based on the first statistical parameter and the second statistical parameter. The present disclosure other places, the VOI may include a plurality of voxels. In some embodiments, the first statistical parameter and/or the second counting can be represented in accordance with distribution of a plurality of voxels such as the different variance of other reference point of the place.--, in the last par. of page 13/20 through the first par. of page 14/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A);
FENG however does not explicitly disclose labeling a volume of interest in each said frame image to encompass said target organ;
ZIV discloses labeling a volume of interest in each said frame image to encompass said target organ (see ZIV: e.g., -- The disclosed apparatus comprises a number of detectors, such as PET or SPECT detectors, which are designed for obtaining radioactive emissions from the overall volume and an image reconstruction module that is designed for generating radioactive emission images of the overall volume according to the obtained radioactive emissions. The apparatus further comprises a segmentation module that is designed for segmenting an initial radioactive emission image to gated and non-gated regions, according to the dynamic and static volumetric regions of the overall volume…. n the following step, the initial radioactive emission image is segmented to gated and non-gated regions, respectively according to the dynamic and static volumetric regions. During the last step, the radioactive emission image is reconstructed, wherein the gated region is according to radioactive emissions from said dynamic volumetric region and the non-gated region is separately reconstructed according to radioactive emissions from the static volumetric region. --, in [0108]-[0109]; and, -- [0196] Preferably, the input overall volume 1001 is further segmented to one or more other segments such as the liver. Such segments may be joined to the dynamic or to the static volumetric regions 1003, 1002 according to the nature of the activity level of the segment. For instance, the liver may be joined to the static volumetric region.
[0197] The segmentation to static and dynamic volumetric regions may be performed using a number of possible methods. In one embodiment of the present invention, a system user marks the boundaries of the dynamic volumetric region that comprises the gated voxels. In such an embodiment, the reconstructed image is displayed on a screen of a user interface that allows the system user to delimit the dynamic volumetric region. Though the captured image is blurry, as it is not gated, it provides the system user a perceptual image of the outlines of the internal organs in the input overall volume, including the heart, the liver, the spleen, the kidneys, and the aorta. In such an embodiment, the system user segments the captured image to gated and non-gated regions according to their level of activity, thereby defines the gated and non-gated regions. Preferably, the system user segments the heart as a non-gated region.--, in [0196]-[0197]);
ZIV and FENG are combinable as they are in the same field of endeavor: motion detection and optimization and reconstruction of medical image based on detected motion. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify FENG’s system using ZIV’s teachings by including labeling a volume of interest in each said frame image to encompass said target organ to FENG’s image detection motion of the target organ in order to improve and optimize an image reconstruction module for generating radioactive emission images of the overall volume according to the obtained radioactive emissions (see ZIV: e.g. in [0108]-[0109], and [0196]-[0197]);
FENG as modified by ZIV further disclose calculating a motion curve of said target organ based on said volume of interest of each said frame image (see FENG: e.g., , -- the emission-type computed tomography (ECT) image detection motion of the organ system and method, and more particularly, relates to a system and method for detecting cardiac gating in positron emission tomography imaging (PET)…. object, such as a patient, can be acquired ECT by ECT scanner image. When ECT for chest or upper abdomen examination, respiratory and/or cardiac motion caused by motion blur in ECT images. is desirable to provide for reconstruction is the improvement of quality and reduction of motion blur of ECT image system and method.--, in page 2/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A as provided as NPL within this Office Action; also see: -- In 604, can retrieve one of the plurality of data frames. retrieval of data frame can be described from 504 by the motion identification unit 306 of the divided data in the frame. the retrieved data frame can indicate the state of the object in the selected time range, which may be further processed to represent the state of selecting the other one of the objects associated with the time range motion.
In 606, it may be determined according to an arbitrary direction corresponding to the VOI and the motion parameter of the object. In some embodiments, the arbitrary direction can be determined manually by a user (e.g., operator). In some embodiments, the arbitrary direction is determined by optimization algorithm can, according to the optimization algorithm can determine the optimal signal corresponding to parameters (e.g., motion parameters or correlated parameters) updated VOI. in any direction corresponding to movement of the object parameter can be determined in the following way: determining the first direction (e.g., x, y, or z direction) on the first statistical parameter and the second direction of the second statistical parameters (e.g., x, y, or z direction, first direction), then determining motion parameters based on the first statistical parameter and the second statistical parameter. The present disclosure other places, the VOI may include a plurality of voxels. In some embodiments, the first statistical parameter and/or the second counting can be represented in accordance with distribution of a plurality of voxels such as the different variance of other reference point of the place.--, in the last par. of page 13/20 through the first par. of page 14/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A; also see ZIV: e.g., Fig. 5, and Fig. 9J, such as “measured kinetic curves” and, -- [0369] In an exemplary embodiment, the analysis of the kinetic process may be after reconstruction of the intensity in the entire volumetric region or in the selected segments has been done for a series of time points. In that case, each segment or location in overall volume (u) has a list of intensity (I) values in time (t), and the list I(u,t) may be further analyzed to fit parametric kinetic model.--, in [0369]);
reconstructing said medical image based on said motion curve (see FENG: e.g., , -- the emission-type computed tomography (ECT) image detection motion of the organ system and method, and more particularly, relates to a system and method for detecting cardiac gating in positron emission tomography imaging (PET)…. object, such as a patient, can be acquired ECT by ECT scanner image. When ECT for chest or upper abdomen examination, respiratory and/or cardiac motion caused by motion blur in ECT images. is desirable to provide for reconstruction is the improvement of quality and reduction of motion blur of ECT image system and method.--, in page 2/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A as provided as NPL within this Office Action; also see: -- In 604, can retrieve one of the plurality of data frames. retrieval of data frame can be described from 504 by the motion identification unit 306 of the divided data in the frame. the retrieved data frame can indicate the state of the object in the selected time range, which may be further processed to represent the state of selecting the other one of the objects associated with the time range motion.
In 606, it may be determined according to an arbitrary direction corresponding to the VOI and the motion parameter of the object. In some embodiments, the arbitrary direction can be determined manually by a user (e.g., operator). In some embodiments, the arbitrary direction is determined by optimization algorithm can, according to the optimization algorithm can determine the optimal signal corresponding to parameters (e.g., motion parameters or correlated parameters) updated VOI. in any direction corresponding to movement of the object parameter can be determined in the following way: determining the first direction (e.g., x, y, or z direction) on the first statistical parameter and the second direction of the second statistical parameters (e.g., x, y, or z direction, first direction), then determining motion parameters based on the first statistical parameter and the second statistical parameter. The present disclosure other places, the VOI may include a plurality of voxels. In some embodiments, the first statistical parameter and/or the second counting can be represented in accordance with distribution of a plurality of voxels such as the different variance of other reference point of the place.--, in the last par. of page 13/20 through the first par. of page 14/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A; also see ZIV: e.g., Fig. 5, and Fig. 9J, such as “measured kinetic curves” and, -- [0369] In an exemplary embodiment, the analysis of the kinetic process may be after reconstruction of the intensity in the entire volumetric region or in the selected segments has been done for a series of time points. In that case, each segment or location in overall volume (u) has a list of intensity (I) values in time (t), and the list I(u,t) may be further analyzed to fit parametric kinetic model.--, in [0369], and, --the reconstruction process (e.g. by Maximum-Likelihood, Expectation maximization, or other equation solving techniques) is used to recover the best fitting values of k.sub.i(u), instead of recovering I(u,t) and then k.sub.i(u).
[0377] In some embodiments of the present invention, the use of a camera directly intended to perform dynamic studies, the ability to avoid interim recovery of intensities in 3D-overall volume in various time periods may be a benefit, as the design of the scanning is optimized for the kinetic parameters reconstruction, and not necessarily to image quality in each time point.--, in [0376]-[0377]); and
displaying said reconstructed medical image on said user interface (see ZIV: e.g., -- The disclosed apparatus comprises a number of detectors, such as PET or SPECT detectors, which are designed for obtaining radioactive emissions from the overall volume and an image reconstruction module that is designed for generating radioactive emission images of the overall volume according to the obtained radioactive emissions. The apparatus further comprises a segmentation module that is designed for segmenting an initial radioactive emission image to gated and non-gated regions, according to the dynamic and static volumetric regions of the overall volume…. n the following step, the initial radioactive emission image is segmented to gated and non-gated regions, respectively according to the dynamic and static volumetric regions. During the last step, the radioactive emission image is reconstructed, wherein the gated region is according to radioactive emissions from said dynamic volumetric region and the non-gated region is separately reconstructed according to radioactive emissions from the static volumetric region. --, in [0108]-[0109]; and, -- [0196] Preferably, the input overall volume 1001 is further segmented to one or more other segments such as the liver. Such segments may be joined to the dynamic or to the static volumetric regions 1003, 1002 according to the nature of the activity level of the segment. For instance, the liver may be joined to the static volumetric region.
[0197] The segmentation to static and dynamic volumetric regions may be performed using a number of possible methods. In one embodiment of the present invention, a system user marks the boundaries of the dynamic volumetric region that comprises the gated voxels. In such an embodiment, the reconstructed image is displayed on a screen of a user interface that allows the system user to delimit the dynamic volumetric region. Though the captured image is blurry, as it is not gated, it provides the system user a perceptual image of the outlines of the internal organs in the input overall volume, including the heart, the liver, the spleen, the kidneys, and the aorta. In such an embodiment, the system user segments the captured image to gated and non-gated regions according to their level of activity, thereby defines the gated and non-gated regions. Preferably, the system user segments the heart as a non-gated region.--, in [0196]-[0197]).
Re Claim 3, FENG as modified by ZIV further disclose wherein calculating the motion curve of said target organ based on said volume of interest of each said frame image comprises:
dividing said volume of interest into a first sub-volume of interest and a second sub-volume of interest (see FENG: e.g., , -- the emission-type computed tomography (ECT) image detection motion of the organ system and method, and more particularly, relates to a system and method for detecting cardiac gating in positron emission tomography imaging (PET)…. object, such as a patient, can be acquired ECT by ECT scanner image. When ECT for chest or upper abdomen examination, respiratory and/or cardiac motion caused by motion blur in ECT images. is desirable to provide for reconstruction is the improvement of quality and reduction of motion blur of ECT image system and method.--, in page 2/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A as provided as NPL within this Office Action; also see: -- In 604, can retrieve one of the plurality of data frames. retrieval of data frame can be described from 504 by the motion identification unit 306 of the divided data in the frame. the retrieved data frame can indicate the state of the object in the selected time range, which may be further processed to represent the state of selecting the other one of the objects associated with the time range motion.
In 606, it may be determined according to an arbitrary direction corresponding to the VOI and the motion parameter of the object. In some embodiments, the arbitrary direction can be determined manually by a user (e.g., operator). In some embodiments, the arbitrary direction is determined by optimization algorithm can, according to the optimization algorithm can determine the optimal signal corresponding to parameters (e.g., motion parameters or correlated parameters) updated VOI. in any direction corresponding to movement of the object parameter can be determined in the following way: determining the first direction (e.g., x, y, or z direction) on the first statistical parameter and the second direction of the second statistical parameters (e.g., x, y, or z direction, first direction), then determining motion parameters based on the first statistical parameter and the second statistical parameter. The present disclosure other places, the VOI may include a plurality of voxels. In some embodiments, the first statistical parameter and/or the second counting can be represented in accordance with distribution of a plurality of voxels such as the different variance of other reference point of the place.--, in the last par. of page 13/20 through the first par. of page 14/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A; also see ZIV: e.g., -- The disclosed apparatus comprises a number of detectors, such as PET or SPECT detectors, which are designed for obtaining radioactive emissions from the overall volume and an image reconstruction module that is designed for generating radioactive emission images of the overall volume according to the obtained radioactive emissions. The apparatus further comprises a segmentation module that is designed for segmenting an initial radioactive emission image to gated and non-gated regions, according to the dynamic and static volumetric regions of the overall volume…. n the following step, the initial radioactive emission image is segmented to gated and non-gated regions, respectively according to the dynamic and static volumetric regions. During the last step, the radioactive emission image is reconstructed, wherein the gated region is according to radioactive emissions from said dynamic volumetric region and the non-gated region is separately reconstructed according to radioactive emissions from the static volumetric region. --, in [0108]-[0109]; and, -- [0196] Preferably, the input overall volume 1001 is further segmented to one or more other segments such as the liver. Such segments may be joined to the dynamic or to the static volumetric regions 1003, 1002 according to the nature of the activity level of the segment. For instance, the liver may be joined to the static volumetric region.
[0197] The segmentation to static and dynamic volumetric regions may be performed using a number of possible methods. In one embodiment of the present invention, a system user marks the boundaries of the dynamic volumetric region that comprises the gated voxels. In such an embodiment, the reconstructed image is displayed on a screen of a user interface that allows the system user to delimit the dynamic volumetric region. Though the captured image is blurry, as it is not gated, it provides the system user a perceptual image of the outlines of the internal organs in the input overall volume, including the heart, the liver, the spleen, the kidneys, and the aorta. In such an embodiment, the system user segments the captured image to gated and non-gated regions according to their level of activity, thereby defines the gated and non-gated regions. Preferably, the system user segments the heart as a non-gated region.--, in [0196]-[0197]);
extracting three-dimensional coordinates of a first center of mass of said first sub-volume of interest and a second center of mass of said second sub-volume of interest, respectively, to be used as descriptive values of said frame images (see FENG: e.g., , -- the emission-type computed tomography (ECT) image detection motion of the organ system and method, and more particularly, relates to a system and method for detecting cardiac gating in positron emission tomography imaging (PET)…. object, such as a patient, can be acquired ECT by ECT scanner image. When ECT for chest or upper abdomen examination, respiratory and/or cardiac motion caused by motion blur in ECT images. is desirable to provide for reconstruction is the improvement of quality and reduction of motion blur of ECT image system and method.--, in page 2/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A as provided as NPL within this Office Action; also see: -- In 604, can retrieve one of the plurality of data frames. retrieval of data frame can be described from 504 by the motion identification unit 306 of the divided data in the frame. the retrieved data frame can indicate the state of the object in the selected time range, which may be further processed to represent the state of selecting the other one of the objects associated with the time range motion.
In 606, it may be determined according to an arbitrary direction corresponding to the VOI and the motion parameter of the object. In some embodiments, the arbitrary direction can be determined manually by a user (e.g., operator). In some embodiments, the arbitrary direction is determined by optimization algorithm can, according to the optimization algorithm can determine the optimal signal corresponding to parameters (e.g., motion parameters or correlated parameters) updated VOI. in any direction corresponding to movement of the object parameter can be determined in the following way: determining the first direction (e.g., x, y, or z direction) on the first statistical parameter and the second direction of the second statistical parameters (e.g., x, y, or z direction, first direction), then determining motion parameters based on the first statistical parameter and the second statistical parameter. The present disclosure other places, the VOI may include a plurality of voxels. In some embodiments, the first statistical parameter and/or the second counting can be represented in accordance with distribution of a plurality of voxels such as the different variance of other reference point of the place.--, in the last par. of page 13/20 through the first par. of page 14/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A; also see ZIV: e.g., -- The disclosed apparatus comprises a number of detectors, such as PET or SPECT detectors, which are designed for obtaining radioactive emissions from the overall volume and an image reconstruction module that is designed for generating radioactive emission images of the overall volume according to the obtained radioactive emissions. The apparatus further comprises a segmentation module that is designed for segmenting an initial radioactive emission image to gated and non-gated regions, according to the dynamic and static volumetric regions of the overall volume…. n the following step, the initial radioactive emission image is segmented to gated and non-gated regions, respectively according to the dynamic and static volumetric regions. During the last step, the radioactive emission image is reconstructed, wherein the gated region is according to radioactive emissions from said dynamic volumetric region and the non-gated region is separately reconstructed according to radioactive emissions from the static volumetric region. --, in [0108]-[0109]; and, -- [0196] Preferably, the input overall volume 1001 is further segmented to one or more other segments such as the liver. Such segments may be joined to the dynamic or to the static volumetric regions 1003, 1002 according to the nature of the activity level of the segment. For instance, the liver may be joined to the static volumetric region.
[0197] The segmentation to static and dynamic volumetric regions may be performed using a number of possible methods. In one embodiment of the present invention, a system user marks the boundaries of the dynamic volumetric region that comprises the gated voxels. In such an embodiment, the reconstructed image is displayed on a screen of a user interface that allows the system user to delimit the dynamic volumetric region. Though the captured image is blurry, as it is not gated, it provides the system user a perceptual image of the outlines of the internal organs in the input overall volume, including the heart, the liver, the spleen, the kidneys, and the aorta. In such an embodiment, the system user segments the captured image to gated and non-gated regions according to their level of activity, thereby defines the gated and non-gated regions. Preferably, the system user segments the heart as a non-gated region.--, in [0196]-[0197]; and, --[0363] A voxel division that is based on an anatomical structure would be highly preferred, as it would allow the measurements of processes within and across anatomical features, substantially without the smearing effect. For example, if specific voxels are used to define blood regions, and others are used to define muscle regions, than diffusion across boundary membranes and other processes may be evaluated, substantially without a smearing effect.
[0364] Anatomical model is based on voxels that follow anatomical structures, and may be shaped for example, as a sphere, a tube, or as a shell segment, rather than as a the standard cube.
[0365] When combined with a camera of high resolution and sensitivity and with gated measurements, anatomic modeling would be clearly advantageous over standard, rigorous modeling, especially for kinetic studies are meaningful only with respect to specific tissue types.
[0366] In accordance with embodiments of the present invention, the polar map may be produced with a reduced number of amplitudes, or levels, for example, 7 levels of severity, or 5 levels of severity, from healthy to severe--, in [0363]-[0366]);
down dimensionalizing said descriptive values of each said frame image by principal component analysis, and using a largest feature of said descriptive values after down dimensionalizing as a movement and/or rotation signal of said target organ (see FENG: e.g., , -- the emission-type computed tomography (ECT) image detection motion of the organ system and method, and more particularly, relates to a system and method for detecting cardiac gating in positron emission tomography imaging (PET)…. object, such as a patient, can be acquired ECT by ECT scanner image. When ECT for chest or upper abdomen examination, respiratory and/or cardiac motion caused by motion blur in ECT images. is desirable to provide for reconstruction is the improvement of quality and reduction of motion blur of ECT image system and method.--, in page 2/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A as provided as NPL within this Office Action; also see: -- In 604, can retrieve one of the plurality of data frames. retrieval of data frame can be described from 504 by the motion identification unit 306 of the divided data in the frame. the retrieved data frame can indicate the state of the object in the selected time range, which may be further processed to represent the state of selecting the other one of the objects associated with the time range motion.
In 606, it may be determined according to an arbitrary direction corresponding to the VOI and the motion parameter of the object. In some embodiments, the arbitrary direction can be determined manually by a user (e.g., operator). In some embodiments, the arbitrary direction is determined by optimization algorithm can, according to the optimization algorithm can determine the optimal signal corresponding to parameters (e.g., motion parameters or correlated parameters) updated VOI. in any direction corresponding to movement of the object parameter can be determined in the following way: determining the first direction (e.g., x, y, or z direction) on the first statistical parameter and the second direction of the second statistical parameters (e.g., x, y, or z direction, first direction), then determining motion parameters based on the first statistical parameter and the second statistical parameter. The present disclosure other places, the VOI may include a plurality of voxels. In some embodiments, the first statistical parameter and/or the second counting can be represented in accordance with distribution of a plurality of voxels such as the different variance of other reference point of the place.--, in the last par. of page 13/20 through the first par. of page 14/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A; also see ZIV: e.g., -- The disclosed apparatus comprises a number of detectors, such as PET or SPECT detectors, which are designed for obtaining radioactive emissions from the overall volume and an image reconstruction module that is designed for generating radioactive emission images of the overall volume according to the obtained radioactive emissions. The apparatus further comprises a segmentation module that is designed for segmenting an initial radioactive emission image to gated and non-gated regions, according to the dynamic and static volumetric regions of the overall volume…. n the following step, the initial radioactive emission image is segmented to gated and non-gated regions, respectively according to the dynamic and static volumetric regions. During the last step, the radioactive emission image is reconstructed, wherein the gated region is according to radioactive emissions from said dynamic volumetric region and the non-gated region is separately reconstructed according to radioactive emissions from the static volumetric region. --, in [0108]-[0109]; and, -- [0196] Preferably, the input overall volume 1001 is further segmented to one or more other segments such as the liver. Such segments may be joined to the dynamic or to the static volumetric regions 1003, 1002 according to the nature of the activity level of the segment. For instance, the liver may be joined to the static volumetric region.
[0197] The segmentation to static and dynamic volumetric regions may be performed using a number of possible methods. In one embodiment of the present invention, a system user marks the boundaries of the dynamic volumetric region that comprises the gated voxels. In such an embodiment, the reconstructed image is displayed on a screen of a user interface that allows the system user to delimit the dynamic volumetric region. Though the captured image is blurry, as it is not gated, it provides the system user a perceptual image of the outlines of the internal organs in the input overall volume, including the heart, the liver, the spleen, the kidneys, and the aorta. In such an embodiment, the system user segments the captured image to gated and non-gated regions according to their level of activity, thereby defines the gated and non-gated regions. Preferably, the system user segments the heart as a non-gated region.--, in [0196]-[0197]; and, --[0363] A voxel division that is based on an anatomical structure would be highly preferred, as it would allow the measurements of processes within and across anatomical features, substantially without the smearing effect. For example, if specific voxels are used to define blood regions, and others are used to define muscle regions, than diffusion across boundary membranes and other processes may be evaluated, substantially without a smearing effect.
[0364] Anatomical model is based on voxels that follow anatomical structures, and may be shaped for example, as a sphere, a tube, or as a shell segment, rather than as a the standard cube.
[0365] When combined with a camera of high resolution and sensitivity and with gated measurements, anatomic modeling would be clearly advantageous over standard, rigorous modeling, especially for kinetic studies are meaningful only with respect to specific tissue types.
[0366] In accordance with embodiments of the present invention, the polar map may be produced with a reduced number of amplitudes, or levels, for example, 7 levels of severity, or 5 levels of severity, from healthy to severe--, in [0363]-[0366]); and
grouping and filtering each said frame image based on each said movement and/or rotation signal to calculate said motion curve (see FENG: e.g., , -- the emission-type computed tomography (ECT) image detection motion of the organ system and method, and more particularly, relates to a system and method for detecting cardiac gating in positron emission tomography imaging (PET)…. object, such as a patient, can be acquired ECT by ECT scanner image. When ECT for chest or upper abdomen examination, respiratory and/or cardiac motion caused by motion blur in ECT images. is desirable to provide for reconstruction is the improvement of quality and reduction of motion blur of ECT image system and method.--, in page 2/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A as provided as NPL within this Office Action; also see: -- In 604, can retrieve one of the plurality of data frames. retrieval of data frame can be described from 504 by the motion identification unit 306 of the divided data in the frame. the retrieved data frame can indicate the state of the object in the selected time range, which may be further processed to represent the state of selecting the other one of the objects associated with the time range motion.
In 606, it may be determined according to an arbitrary direction corresponding to the VOI and the motion parameter of the object. In some embodiments, the arbitrary direction can be determined manually by a user (e.g., operator). In some embodiments, the arbitrary direction is determined by optimization algorithm can, according to the optimization algorithm can determine the optimal signal corresponding to parameters (e.g., motion parameters or correlated parameters) updated VOI. in any direction corresponding to movement of the object parameter can be determined in the following way: determining the first direction (e.g., x, y, or z direction) on the first statistical parameter and the second direction of the second statistical parameters (e.g., x, y, or z direction, first direction), then determining motion parameters based on the first statistical parameter and the second statistical parameter. The present disclosure other places, the VOI may include a plurality of voxels. In some embodiments, the first statistical parameter and/or the second counting can be represented in accordance with distribution of a plurality of voxels such as the different variance of other reference point of the place.--, in the last par. of page 13/20 through the first par. of page 14/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A; also see ZIV: e.g., --[0055] Note that the lower and upper bound of an indexing variable, such as voxels u and time index t, are omitted in the following description, when they are clear from the context.
[0056] There is currently no analytic way to solve Eqn. 1 for the maximum of the likelihood function. However, optimization methods that find local maxima of the likelihood are known. One such method is the Expectation-Maximization (EM) process.
[0057] Since the data generated by the model is only partially observable by our measurements, a basic ingredient of the EM formalism is to define a set of random variables that completely define the data generated by the model. In the current case, since Yt=εuXt(u), the set of variables {Xu(t):uεU; t=1, . . . , T} is such a set; the generated data is x=(xt)t, where xt=(xt(u))u, and the observed data y is completely determined by x. The main tool in the EM formalism is the complete data likelihood--, in [0055]-[[0057]; and,
-- The disclosed apparatus comprises a number of detectors, such as PET or SPECT detectors, which are designed for obtaining radioactive emissions from the overall volume and an image reconstruction module that is designed for generating radioactive emission images of the overall volume according to the obtained radioactive emissions. The apparatus further comprises a segmentation module that is designed for segmenting an initial radioactive emission image to gated and non-gated regions, according to the dynamic and static volumetric regions of the overall volume…. n the following step, the initial radioactive emission image is segmented to gated and non-gated regions, respectively according to the dynamic and static volumetric regions. During the last step, the radioactive emission image is reconstructed, wherein the gated region is according to radioactive emissions from said dynamic volumetric region and the non-gated region is separately reconstructed according to radioactive emissions from the static volumetric region. --, in [0108]-[0109]; and, -- [0196] Preferably, the input overall volume 1001 is further segmented to one or more other segments such as the liver. Such segments may be joined to the dynamic or to the static volumetric regions 1003, 1002 according to the nature of the activity level of the segment. For instance, the liver may be joined to the static volumetric region.
[0197] The segmentation to static and dynamic volumetric regions may be performed using a number of possible methods. In one embodiment of the present invention, a system user marks the boundaries of the dynamic volumetric region that comprises the gated voxels. In such an embodiment, the reconstructed image is displayed on a screen of a user interface that allows the system user to delimit the dynamic volumetric region. Though the captured image is blurry, as it is not gated, it provides the system user a perceptual image of the outlines of the internal organs in the input overall volume, including the heart, the liver, the spleen, the kidneys, and the aorta. In such an embodiment, the system user segments the captured image to gated and non-gated regions according to their level of activity, thereby defines the gated and non-gated regions. Preferably, the system user segments the heart as a non-gated region.--, in [0196]-[0197]; and, --[0363] A voxel division that is based on an anatomical structure would be highly preferred, as it would allow the measurements of processes within and across anatomical features, substantially without the smearing effect. For example, if specific voxels are used to define blood regions, and others are used to define muscle regions, than diffusion across boundary membranes and other processes may be evaluated, substantially without a smearing effect.
[0364] Anatomical model is based on voxels that follow anatomical structures, and may be shaped for example, as a sphere, a tube, or as a shell segment, rather than as a the standard cube.
[0365] When combined with a camera of high resolution and sensitivity and with gated measurements, anatomic modeling would be clearly advantageous over standard, rigorous modeling, especially for kinetic studies are meaningful only with respect to specific tissue types.
[0366] In accordance with embodiments of the present invention, the polar map may be produced with a reduced number of amplitudes, or levels, for example, 7 levels of severity, or 5 levels of severity, from healthy to severe--, in [0363]-[0366]).
Re Claim 4, FENG as modified by ZIV further disclose wherein said target organ is a heart, and said dividing said volume of interest into a first sub-volume of interest and a second sub-volume of interest is along a long axis of said heart in a short-axis direction (see ZIV: e.g., -- [0132] The body 100 may be a human or an animal, and the region of interest, or the target organ 110 may be a heart, a brain, a breast, a stomach, a GI tract, a colon, a prostate, a uterus, a cervix, a vagina, a throat, a gland, a lymph node, a portion of skin, a portion of bone, portion of another tissue, or another body portion.
[0133] As seen in FIGS. 1A and 1B, a reference x;y;z coordinate system illustrates a preferred orientation of the dynamic SPECT camera 10 with respect to the body 100, wherein z runs along a length of the body 100. For convenience, the assembly axis along the assembly length will be referred to as the assembly longitudinal axis, and the assembly axis along the assembly width will be referred to as the assembly traverse axis.
[0134] Preferably, the assemblies 20 are long and narrow columns, arranged longitudinally against the body 100, wherein the oscillatory sweeping motion, described by an arrow 60, is about the z-axis. It will be appreciated that other arrangements are similarly possible.--, in [0132]-[0134]).
.
Re Claim 6, FENG as modified by ZIV further disclose after calculating the motion curve of said target organ based on each said center of mass, and each said volume of interest of each said frame image does not accurately correspond to said motion curve, said optimization device performing said optimization processing alternatively comprising performing gating of each said frame image, wherein said gating is used to assemble a predetermined number of gated set images with similar time and/or positional relationships among said frame images, and said time and/or positional relationships are defined by cyclic phases of human respiration and/or heartbeat (see ZIV: e.g., -- The disclosed apparatus comprises a number of detectors, such as PET or SPECT detectors, which are designed for obtaining radioactive emissions from the overall volume and an image reconstruction module that is designed for generating radioactive emission images of the overall volume according to the obtained radioactive emissions. The apparatus further comprises a segmentation module that is designed for segmenting an initial radioactive emission image to gated and non-gated regions, according to the dynamic and static volumetric regions of the overall volume…. n the following step, the initial radioactive emission image is segmented to gated and non-gated regions, respectively according to the dynamic and static volumetric regions. During the last step, the radioactive emission image is reconstructed, wherein the gated region is according to radioactive emissions from said dynamic volumetric region and the non-gated region is separately reconstructed according to radioactive emissions from the static volumetric region. --, in [0108]-[0109]; and, -- [0196] Preferably, the input overall volume 1001 is further segmented to one or more other segments such as the liver. Such segments may be joined to the dynamic or to the static volumetric regions 1003, 1002 according to the nature of the activity level of the segment. For instance, the liver may be joined to the static volumetric region.
[0197] The segmentation to static and dynamic volumetric regions may be performed using a number of possible methods. In one embodiment of the present invention, a system user marks the boundaries of the dynamic volumetric region that comprises the gated voxels. In such an embodiment, the reconstructed image is displayed on a screen of a user interface that allows the system user to delimit the dynamic volumetric region. Though the captured image is blurry, as it is not gated, it provides the system user a perceptual image of the outlines of the internal organs in the input overall volume, including the heart, the liver, the spleen, the kidneys, and the aorta. In such an embodiment, the system user segments the captured image to gated and non-gated regions according to their level of activity, thereby defines the gated and non-gated regions. Preferably, the system user segments the heart as a non-gated region.--, in [0196]-[0197]; and, --[0363] A voxel division that is based on an anatomical structure would be highly preferred, as it would allow the measurements of processes within and across anatomical features, substantially without the smearing effect. For example, if specific voxels are used to define blood regions, and others are used to define muscle regions, than diffusion across boundary membranes and other processes may be evaluated, substantially without a smearing effect.
[0364] Anatomical model is based on voxels that follow anatomical structures, and may be shaped for example, as a sphere, a tube, or as a shell segment, rather than as a the standard cube.
[0365] When combined with a camera of high resolution and sensitivity and with gated measurements, anatomic modeling would be clearly advantageous over standard, rigorous modeling, especially for kinetic studies are meaningful only with respect to specific tissue types.
[0366] In accordance with embodiments of the present invention, the polar map may be produced with a reduced number of amplitudes, or levels, for example, 7 levels of severity, or 5 levels of severity, from healthy to severe--, in [0363]-[0366]).
Re Claim 8, FENG as modified by ZIV further disclose wherein said fixed time dimension is measured in units of 100 milliseconds to 500 milliseconds (see ZIV: e.g., -- [0250] For example, the actual rise and fall of the R peak may be gated at time bins of 10 milliseconds, while the nearly leveled U-wave may be gated at 100 milliseconds. Similarly, while the heart muscle may be gated at an average time bin of 50 milliseconds, the adjacent chest muscle may be gated at time bins of 1 second and longer. It will be appreciated that other values may similarly be employed.--, in [0250]).
Re Claim 9, FENG as modified by ZIV further disclose a scanning device photographing said target organ to obtain said medical image, wherein said scanning device is selected from a group consisting of a single photon emission computed tomography device, a positron emission tomography device, a magnetic resonance imaging device, and a computed tomography device or a combination thereof (see FENG: e.g., Fig. 5, and Fig. 12; -- In 502, can obtain ECT data set associated with the object in list mode. For the purpose of explanation, the ECT data set can be collected from, for example, PET/CT system by the acquisition module 131. As used herein, "list mode" may represent capture events in the form, such as ordering according to time order event list of event list) of PET detector.
In 504, ECT data set may be based on time information is divided into a plurality of data frames. time information may include indicating when coincident events (also represented by the LOR) time stamp. ECT data set can be stored in the time frame [t, t + Δ t] -- if the event occurs in the time range. In some embodiments, t may equal to Δ t of n (integer) times, such that one data frame may have a time interval Δ. Alternatively, the time range of one data frame can be distinguished from the other data frame.--; in page 6/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A);
a medical image storage and transmission system storing said medical image and said medical image as reconstructed (see FENG: e.g., Fig. 5, and Fig. 12; -- In 502, can obtain ECT data set associated with the object in list mode. For the purpose of explanation, the ECT data set can be collected from, for example, PET/CT system by the acquisition module 131. As used herein, "list mode" may represent capture events in the form, such as ordering according to time order event list of event list) of PET detector.
In 504, ECT data set may be based on time information is divided into a plurality of data frames. time information may include indicating when coincident events (also represented by the LOR) time stamp. ECT data set can be stored in the time frame [t, t + Δ t] -- if the event occurs in the time range. In some embodiments, t may equal to Δ t of n (integer) times, such that one data frame may have a time interval Δ. Alternatively, the time range of one data frame can be distinguished from the other data frame.--; in page 6/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A; also see ZIV: e.g., -- The disclosed apparatus comprises a number of detectors, such as PET or SPECT detectors, which are designed for obtaining radioactive emissions from the overall volume and an image reconstruction module that is designed for generating radioactive emission images of the overall volume according to the obtained radioactive emissions. The apparatus further comprises a segmentation module that is designed for segmenting an initial radioactive emission image to gated and non-gated regions, according to the dynamic and static volumetric regions of the overall volume…. n the following step, the initial radioactive emission image is segmented to gated and non-gated regions, respectively according to the dynamic and static volumetric regions. During the last step, the radioactive emission image is reconstructed, wherein the gated region is according to radioactive emissions from said dynamic volumetric region and the non-gated region is separately reconstructed according to radioactive emissions from the static volumetric region. --, in [0108]-[0109]; and, -- [0196] Preferably, the input overall volume 1001 is further segmented to one or more other segments such as the liver. Such segments may be joined to the dynamic or to the static volumetric regions 1003, 1002 according to the nature of the activity level of the segment. For instance, the liver may be joined to the static volumetric region.
[0197] The segmentation to static and dynamic volumetric regions may be performed using a number of possible methods. In one embodiment of the present invention, a system user marks the boundaries of the dynamic volumetric region that comprises the gated voxels. In such an embodiment, the reconstructed image is displayed on a screen of a user interface that allows the system user to delimit the dynamic volumetric region. Though the captured image is blurry, as it is not gated, it provides the system user a perceptual image of the outlines of the internal organs in the input overall volume, including the heart, the liver, the spleen, the kidneys, and the aorta. In such an embodiment, the system user segments the captured image to gated and non-gated regions according to their level of activity, thereby defines the gated and non-gated regions. Preferably, the system user segments the heart as a non-gated region.--, in [0196]-[0197]; and, --[0363] A voxel division that is based on an anatomical structure would be highly preferred, as it would allow the measurements of processes within and across anatomical features, substantially without the smearing effect. For example, if specific voxels are used to define blood regions, and others are used to define muscle regions, than diffusion across boundary membranes and other processes may be evaluated, substantially without a smearing effect.
[0364] Anatomical model is based on voxels that follow anatomical structures, and may be shaped for example, as a sphere, a tube, or as a shell segment, rather than as a the standard cube.
[0365] When combined with a camera of high resolution and sensitivity and with gated measurements, anatomic modeling would be clearly advantageous over standard, rigorous modeling, especially for kinetic studies are meaningful only with respect to specific tissue types.
[0366] In accordance with embodiments of the present invention, the polar map may be produced with a reduced number of amplitudes, or levels, for example, 7 levels of severity, or 5 levels of severity, from healthy to severe--, in [0363]-[0366]); and
an in-office reporting computer accessing or displaying said medical image and said medical image as reconstructed (see FENG: e.g., Fig. 5, and Fig. 12; -- In 502, can obtain ECT data set associated with the object in list mode. For the purpose of explanation, the ECT data set can be collected from, for example, PET/CT system by the acquisition module 131. As used herein, "list mode" may represent capture events in the form, such as ordering according to time order event list of event list) of PET detector.
In 504, ECT data set may be based on time information is divided into a plurality of data frames. time information may include indicating when coincident events (also represented by the LOR) time stamp. ECT data set can be stored in the time frame [t, t + Δ t] -- if the event occurs in the time range. In some embodiments, t may equal to Δ t of n (integer) times, such that one data frame may have a time interval Δ. Alternatively, the time range of one data frame can be distinguished from the other data frame.--; in page 6/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A; also see ZIV: e.g., -- The disclosed apparatus comprises a number of detectors, such as PET or SPECT detectors, which are designed for obtaining radioactive emissions from the overall volume and an image reconstruction module that is designed for generating radioactive emission images of the overall volume according to the obtained radioactive emissions. The apparatus further comprises a segmentation module that is designed for segmenting an initial radioactive emission image to gated and non-gated regions, according to the dynamic and static volumetric regions of the overall volume…. n the following step, the initial radioactive emission image is segmented to gated and non-gated regions, respectively according to the dynamic and static volumetric regions. During the last step, the radioactive emission image is reconstructed, wherein the gated region is according to radioactive emissions from said dynamic volumetric region and the non-gated region is separately reconstructed according to radioactive emissions from the static volumetric region. --, in [0108]-[0109]; and, -- [0196] Preferably, the input overall volume 1001 is further segmented to one or more other segments such as the liver. Such segments may be joined to the dynamic or to the static volumetric regions 1003, 1002 according to the nature of the activity level of the segment. For instance, the liver may be joined to the static volumetric region.
[0197] The segmentation to static and dynamic volumetric regions may be performed using a number of possible methods. In one embodiment of the present invention, a system user marks the boundaries of the dynamic volumetric region that comprises the gated voxels. In such an embodiment, the reconstructed image is displayed on a screen of a user interface that allows the system user to delimit the dynamic volumetric region. Though the captured image is blurry, as it is not gated, it provides the system user a perceptual image of the outlines of the internal organs in the input overall volume, including the heart, the liver, the spleen, the kidneys, and the aorta. In such an embodiment, the system user segments the captured image to gated and non-gated regions according to their level of activity, thereby defines the gated and non-gated regions. Preferably, the system user segments the heart as a non-gated region.--, in [0196]-[0197]; and, --[0363] A voxel division that is based on an anatomical structure would be highly preferred, as it would allow the measurements of processes within and across anatomical features, substantially without the smearing effect. For example, if specific voxels are used to define blood regions, and others are used to define muscle regions, than diffusion across boundary membranes and other processes may be evaluated, substantially without a smearing effect.
[0364] Anatomical model is based on voxels that follow anatomical structures, and may be shaped for example, as a sphere, a tube, or as a shell segment, rather than as a the standard cube.
[0365] When combined with a camera of high resolution and sensitivity and with gated measurements, anatomic modeling would be clearly advantageous over standard, rigorous modeling, especially for kinetic studies are meaningful only with respect to specific tissue types.
[0366] In accordance with embodiments of the present invention, the polar map may be produced with a reduced number of amplitudes, or levels, for example, 7 levels of severity, or 5 levels of severity, from healthy to severe--, in [0363]-[0366]).
Re Claims 10, 12-13, 15 and 17-18, claims 10, 12-13, 15 and 17-18, are corresponding method claim to claims 1, 3-4, 6 and 8-9, respectively. Claims 10, 12-13, 15 and 17-18 thus are rejected for the similar reasons for claims 1, 3-4, 6 and 8-9. See above discussions with regard to claims 1, 3-4, 6 and 8-9respectively. FENG as modified by ZIV further disclose method of motion detection and correction of a medical image (see FENG: e.g., -- The system may include a configuration to obtain the target organ of the patient collected by the associated PET data sets. The system further comprises a processing module, the processing module is configured to determine the target organ of the reference point, the PET data set into a plurality of data frames, and to determine the target organ based on the plurality of first statistical parameter and a plurality of second statistical parameter of motion signal. processing module can further motion signal based on the PET data set are classified into a plurality of boxes.--, in abstract, and, -- the emission-type computed tomography (ECT) image detection motion of the organ system and method, and more particularly, relates to a system and method for detecting cardiac gating in positron emission tomography imaging (PET)…. object, such as a patient, can be acquired ECT by ECT scanner image. When ECT for chest or upper abdomen examination, respiratory and/or cardiac motion caused by motion blur in ECT images. is desirable to provide for reconstruction is the improvement of quality and reduction of motion blur of ECT image system and method.--, in page 2/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A as provided as NPL within this Office Action).
Re Claim 19, claim 19 is corresponding medium claim to claim 10, respectively. Claims 19 thus is rejected for the similar reasons for claim 10. See above discussions with regard to claims 1, and 10 respectively. FENG as modified by ZIV further disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium applied in a computer and having instructions to perform the method (see FENG: e.g., -- The system may include a configuration to obtain the target organ of the patient collected by the associated PET data sets. The system further comprises a processing module, the processing module is configured to determine the target organ of the reference point, the PET data set into a plurality of data frames, and to determine the target organ based on the plurality of first statistical parameter and a plurality of second statistical parameter of motion signal. processing module can further motion signal based on the PET data set are classified into a plurality of boxes.--, in abstract, and, -- the emission-type computed tomography (ECT) image detection motion of the organ system and method, and more particularly, relates to a system and method for detecting cardiac gating in positron emission tomography imaging (PET)…. object, such as a patient, can be acquired ECT by ECT scanner image. When ECT for chest or upper abdomen examination, respiratory and/or cardiac motion caused by motion blur in ECT images. is desirable to provide for reconstruction is the improvement of quality and reduction of motion blur of ECT image system and method.--, in page 2/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A as provided as NPL within this Office Action, and, -- The another aspect of claims claims a non transitory computer readable medium for storing instructions, said instructions, when executed by a computing device causes the computing device to implement a method, the method comprising: collecting and target organ of the patient related to ECT data set, determining a reference point of the target organ of the ECT data set is divided into a plurality of data frame, the at least one data frame of the plurality of data frames in the volume of interest comprising a plurality of voxels relative aiming at different directions. determining a plurality of statistical parameters of the plurality of voxels with respect to the reference point in accordance with distribution based on the plurality of statistical parameters to obtain the organ motion signal based on the motion signal the ECT data set are classified into a plurality of box, and by reconstructing the plurality of bins to generate images of the target organ.--, in page 2/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A).
Claims 2, 5, 7, 11, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being patentable over FENG as modified by ZIV, and further in view of Polzin (US 20210097679 A1).
Re Claim 2, FENG as modified by ZIV although further disclose a machine leaning (see FENG: e.g., -- In 506, can obtain a reference image of the object. In some embodiments, the reference image can be obtained by the reference line/point identification unit 304. in a PET/CT system, the reference image may be a CT image, PET image, or any other image generated from a medical scanning. can be obtained by performing a CT scan of the object before or after the PET scan in the PET/CT system to obtain the CT image. PET images can be obtained in the step 502 by the ECT data set in the data frame 504 in the ECT data set 506 generated in (s) sinogram image reconstruction process is performed to obtain. Alternatively, the CT image or PET image may be historical image of the scanning object, which is stored in the database corresponding to a patient.
In 508, the amount of interest comprises an object can be identified in the reference image. In some embodiments, the volume of interest can be identified by the reference line/point identification unit 304. For the purpose of explanation, herein the described processing of the CT image, However, it should be noted that the present description is not intended to limit the scope of the present disclosure. when the heart) relative to the object (i.e., a CT image, an image may include a volume of interest (e.g., cardiac area) and other areas. the volume of interest can be identified, for subsequent processing of the particular segmentation process.
… In some embodiments, the reference point may be determined based on machine learning process. For the purpose of explanation, when it is necessary to determine the central point of the heart, can through the learning process to train the classifier. only as an example, it can provide a set of positive training samples and the negative training samples to train the classifier. As used herein, positive training samples may represent marks of right heart centre in training sample and negative training sample may represent identified an incorrect heart centre in training sample. then, it can use the trained classifier by testing multiple points (e.g., voxels of interest in the amount), and may be made by a trained classifier to assign to the each of the plurality of points corresponding to different scores. As a result, voxels corresponding to the highest score can be identified as the central point of the heart.--, in pages 11-12/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A as provided as NPL within this Office Action);
FENG as modified by ZIV however still do not disclose a deep learning module;
Polzin discloses a deep learning module {in medical image reconstruction} (see Polzin: e.g., -- the motion score data 114 can be employed to facilitate classification and/or localization of one or more medical conditions associated with the medical imaging data 112. For example, the scoring component 106 can employ the motion score data 114 to determine whether image quality of the medical imaging data 112 is satisfactory for a deep learning process associated with classification and/or localization of one or more medical conditions. In certain embodiments, in response to a determination based on the motion score data 114 that image quality of the medical imaging data 112 satisfies a defined criterion (e.g. that image quality of the medical imaging data 112 is satisfactory for a deep learning process associated with medical condition diagnosis), classification and/or localization of a medical condition associated with the medical imaging data 112 can be performed via one or more machine learning techniques. In an embodiment, a classification and/or an associated localization for a portion of an anatomical region associated with the medical imaging data 112 can be determined based on learned medical imaging output associated with a convolutional neural network.--, in [0030]);
FENG (as modified by ZIV) and Polzin are combinable as they are in the same field of endeavor: motion detection and optimization and reconstruction of medical image based on detected motion. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify FENG (as modified by ZIV)’s system using Polzin’s teachings by including a deep learning module {in medical image reconstruction} to FENG (as modified by ZIV)’s medical image reconstruction modules in order to improve and optimize an image reconstruction module for medical images of the target organs (see Polzin: e.g. in [0030]);
FENG as modified by ZIV and Polzin further disclose wherein said optimization device comprises labeling the volume of interest in each of said frame images comprises:
recognizing a binary segmented volume containing said target organ in each said frame image by said deep learning module (see FENG: e.g., -- In 506, can obtain a reference image of the object. In some embodiments, the reference image can be obtained by the reference line/point identification unit 304. in a PET/CT system, the reference image may be a CT image, PET image, or any other image generated from a medical scanning. can be obtained by performing a CT scan of the object before or after the PET scan in the PET/CT system to obtain the CT image. PET images can be obtained in the step 502 by the ECT data set in the data frame 504 in the ECT data set 506 generated in (s) sinogram image reconstruction process is performed to obtain. Alternatively, the CT image or PET image may be historical image of the scanning object, which is stored in the database corresponding to a patient.
In 508, the amount of interest comprises an object can be identified in the reference image. In some embodiments, the volume of interest can be identified by the reference line/point identification unit 304. For the purpose of explanation, herein the described processing of the CT image, However, it should be noted that the present description is not intended to limit the scope of the present disclosure. when the heart) relative to the object (i.e., a CT image, an image may include a volume of interest (e.g., cardiac area) and other areas. the volume of interest can be identified, for subsequent processing of the particular segmentation process.
… In some embodiments, the reference point may be determined based on machine learning process. For the purpose of explanation, when it is necessary to determine the central point of the heart, can through the learning process to train the classifier. only as an example, it can provide a set of positive training samples and the negative training samples to train the classifier. As used herein, positive training samples may represent marks of right heart centre in training sample and negative training sample may represent identified an incorrect heart centre in training sample. then, it can use the trained classifier by testing multiple points (e.g., voxels of interest in the amount), and may be made by a trained classifier to assign to the each of the plurality of points corresponding to different scores. As a result, voxels corresponding to the highest score can be identified as the central point of the heart.--, in pages 11-12/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A as provided as NPL within this Office Action; also see ZIV: e.g., -- The disclosed apparatus comprises a number of detectors, such as PET or SPECT detectors, which are designed for obtaining radioactive emissions from the overall volume and an image reconstruction module that is designed for generating radioactive emission images of the overall volume according to the obtained radioactive emissions. The apparatus further comprises a segmentation module that is designed for segmenting an initial radioactive emission image to gated and non-gated regions, according to the dynamic and static volumetric regions of the overall volume…. n the following step, the initial radioactive emission image is segmented to gated and non-gated regions, respectively according to the dynamic and static volumetric regions. During the last step, the radioactive emission image is reconstructed, wherein the gated region is according to radioactive emissions from said dynamic volumetric region and the non-gated region is separately reconstructed according to radioactive emissions from the static volumetric region. --, in [0108]-[0109]; and, -- [0196] Preferably, the input overall volume 1001 is further segmented to one or more other segments such as the liver. Such segments may be joined to the dynamic or to the static volumetric regions 1003, 1002 according to the nature of the activity level of the segment. For instance, the liver may be joined to the static volumetric region.
[0197] The segmentation to static and dynamic volumetric regions may be performed using a number of possible methods. In one embodiment of the present invention, a system user marks the boundaries of the dynamic volumetric region that comprises the gated voxels. In such an embodiment, the reconstructed image is displayed on a screen of a user interface that allows the system user to delimit the dynamic volumetric region. Though the captured image is blurry, as it is not gated, it provides the system user a perceptual image of the outlines of the internal organs in the input overall volume, including the heart, the liver, the spleen, the kidneys, and the aorta. In such an embodiment, the system user segments the captured image to gated and non-gated regions according to their level of activity, thereby defines the gated and non-gated regions. Preferably, the system user segments the heart as a non-gated region.--, in [0196]-[0197]);
blurring each said binary segmented volume by said deep learning module to generate a soft mask (see ZIV: e.g., -- The disclosed apparatus comprises a number of detectors, such as PET or SPECT detectors, which are designed for obtaining radioactive emissions from the overall volume and an image reconstruction module that is designed for generating radioactive emission images of the overall volume according to the obtained radioactive emissions. The apparatus further comprises a segmentation module that is designed for segmenting an initial radioactive emission image to gated and non-gated regions, according to the dynamic and static volumetric regions of the overall volume…. n the following step, the initial radioactive emission image is segmented to gated and non-gated regions, respectively according to the dynamic and static volumetric regions. During the last step, the radioactive emission image is reconstructed, wherein the gated region is according to radioactive emissions from said dynamic volumetric region and the non-gated region is separately reconstructed according to radioactive emissions from the static volumetric region. --, in [0108]-[0109]; and, -- [0196] Preferably, the input overall volume 1001 is further segmented to one or more other segments such as the liver. Such segments may be joined to the dynamic or to the static volumetric regions 1003, 1002 according to the nature of the activity level of the segment. For instance, the liver may be joined to the static volumetric region.
[0197] The segmentation to static and dynamic volumetric regions may be performed using a number of possible methods. In one embodiment of the present invention, a system user marks the boundaries of the dynamic volumetric region that comprises the gated voxels. In such an embodiment, the reconstructed image is displayed on a screen of a user interface that allows the system user to delimit the dynamic volumetric region. Though the captured image is blurry, as it is not gated, it provides the system user a perceptual image of the outlines of the internal organs in the input overall volume, including the heart, the liver, the spleen, the kidneys, and the aorta. In such an embodiment, the system user segments the captured image to gated and non-gated regions according to their level of activity, thereby defines the gated and non-gated regions. Preferably, the system user segments the heart as a non-gated region.--, in [0196]-[0197]);
applying each said soft mask to each said frame image by said deep learning module (see FENG: e.g., -- In 506, can obtain a reference image of the object. In some embodiments, the reference image can be obtained by the reference line/point identification unit 304. in a PET/CT system, the reference image may be a CT image, PET image, or any other image generated from a medical scanning. can be obtained by performing a CT scan of the object before or after the PET scan in the PET/CT system to obtain the CT image. PET images can be obtained in the step 502 by the ECT data set in the data frame 504 in the ECT data set 506 generated in (s) sinogram image reconstruction process is performed to obtain. Alternatively, the CT image or PET image may be historical image of the scanning object, which is stored in the database corresponding to a patient.
In 508, the amount of interest comprises an object can be identified in the reference image. In some embodiments, the volume of interest can be identified by the reference line/point identification unit 304. For the purpose of explanation, herein the described processing of the CT image, However, it should be noted that the present description is not intended to limit the scope of the present disclosure. when the heart) relative to the object (i.e., a CT image, an image may include a volume of interest (e.g., cardiac area) and other areas. the volume of interest can be identified, for subsequent processing of the particular segmentation process.
… In some embodiments, the reference point may be determined based on machine learning process. For the purpose of explanation, when it is necessary to determine the central point of the heart, can through the learning process to train the classifier. only as an example, it can provide a set of positive training samples and the negative training samples to train the classifier. As used herein, positive training samples may represent marks of right heart centre in training sample and negative training sample may represent identified an incorrect heart centre in training sample. then, it can use the trained classifier by testing multiple points (e.g., voxels of interest in the amount), and may be made by a trained classifier to assign to the each of the plurality of points corresponding to different scores. As a result, voxels corresponding to the highest score can be identified as the central point of the heart.--, in pages 11-12/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A as provided as NPL within this Office Action; see Polzin: e.g., -- the motion score data 114 can be employed to facilitate classification and/or localization of one or more medical conditions associated with the medical imaging data 112. For example, the scoring component 106 can employ the motion score data 114 to determine whether image quality of the medical imaging data 112 is satisfactory for a deep learning process associated with classification and/or localization of one or more medical conditions. In certain embodiments, in response to a determination based on the motion score data 114 that image quality of the medical imaging data 112 satisfies a defined criterion (e.g. that image quality of the medical imaging data 112 is satisfactory for a deep learning process associated with medical condition diagnosis), classification and/or localization of a medical condition associated with the medical imaging data 112 can be performed via one or more machine learning techniques. In an embodiment, a classification and/or an associated localization for a portion of an anatomical region associated with the medical imaging data 112 can be determined based on learned medical imaging output associated with a convolutional neural network.--, in [0030]);
fitting said target organ in each said frame image with an initial elliptical sphere based on each said soft mask by said deep learning module (see FENG: e.g., -- In 602, VOI can be determined. In some embodiments, determination of the VOI can be performed by the motion identification unit 306. In some embodiments, the VOI may be the reference line or reference point (e.g., a point) is identified after determining (e.g., as shown in FIG. 5). For example, the VOI may be around a reference point specified quantity to surround one part of the whole object or object. VOI can be manually set by a user, or may be set according to a certain algorithm by the system. For the purpose of explanation, when determined in the heart region center point, can determine the VOI in cylindrical form, whose centre point is located on the centre of the cylinder. the diameter and height of the cylinder may be determined such that the VOI includes a cardiac region. only for example, diameter can be set to be 20. In some embodiments, a characteristic of the object may be according to, for example, to default to the VOI. for example, can be the same or similar with the object 3D shape is determined to the VOI. As another example, the VOI may be in other places to the invention described by dividing process to divide the object are completely the same.
It should be noted that, for those skilled in the art, the VOI can be any suitable shape, including regular shapes and irregular shapes. An exemplary regular shape may include spherical, cuboid, ellipsoid, polyhedron or the like. An exemplary irregular shape can include shapes of various human organs.
In 604, can retrieve one of the plurality of data frames. retrieval of data frame can be described from 504 by the motion identification unit 306 of the divided data in the frame. the retrieved data frame can indicate the state of the object in the selected time range, which may be further processed to represent the state of selecting the other one of the objects associated with the time range motion.--, in page 13/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A;
also see Polzin: e.g., -- [0189] As described below a radioactive emission image of the input overall volume 1001 is segmented into a non-gated region, which includes non-gated voxels, in accordance with the static volumetric region 1002, and to a gated region, which includes gated voxels, in accordance with the dynamic volumetric region 1003. Preferably, the dynamic volumetric region 1003 is adjusted to delimit a dynamic organ, such as the human heart that is schematically represented by a hollow sphere 1004. Preferably, the dynamic volumetric region 1003 is larger than the apparent volumetric region of the heart 1004 to account for segmentation errors. It should be noted that the dynamic volumetric region 1003 may be adjusted to contain other human and animal internal organs such as the stomach. In FIG. 16, the hatched region 1003A represents the cross-section of the dynamic volumetric region 1003 and the annular crosshatched region 1004A schematically represents a cross-section through the heart muscle of the heart 1004. The region 1002A represents a cross section of the static volumetric region 1002.--, in [0189]) ; and
expanding each said initial elliptical sphere by a predetermined distance outwardly from a radius thereof by said deep learning module to generate an elliptical sphere representing said volume of interest (see FENG: e.g., -- In 602, VOI can be determined. In some embodiments, determination of the VOI can be performed by the motion identification unit 306. In some embodiments, the VOI may be the reference line or reference point (e.g., a point) is identified after determining (e.g., as shown in FIG. 5). For example, the VOI may be around a reference point specified quantity to surround one part of the whole object or object. VOI can be manually set by a user, or may be set according to a certain algorithm by the system. For the purpose of explanation, when determined in the heart region center point, can determine the VOI in cylindrical form, whose centre point is located on the centre of the cylinder. the diameter and height of the cylinder may be determined such that the VOI includes a cardiac region. only for example, diameter can be set to be 20. In some embodiments, a characteristic of the object may be according to, for example, to default to the VOI. for example, can be the same or similar with the object 3D shape is determined to the VOI. As another example, the VOI may be in other places to the invention described by dividing process to divide the object are completely the same.
It should be noted that, for those skilled in the art, the VOI can be any suitable shape, including regular shapes and irregular shapes. An exemplary regular shape may include spherical, cuboid, ellipsoid, polyhedron or the like. An exemplary irregular shape can include shapes of various human organs.
In 604, can retrieve one of the plurality of data frames. retrieval of data frame can be described from 504 by the motion identification unit 306 of the divided data in the frame. the retrieved data frame can indicate the state of the object in the selected time range, which may be further processed to represent the state of selecting the other one of the objects associated with the time range motion.--, in page 13/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A;
also see Polzin: e.g., -- [0189] As described below a radioactive emission image of the input overall volume 1001 is segmented into a non-gated region, which includes non-gated voxels, in accordance with the static volumetric region 1002, and to a gated region, which includes gated voxels, in accordance with the dynamic volumetric region 1003. Preferably, the dynamic volumetric region 1003 is adjusted to delimit a dynamic organ, such as the human heart that is schematically represented by a hollow sphere 1004. Preferably, the dynamic volumetric region 1003 is larger than the apparent volumetric region of the heart 1004 to account for segmentation errors. It should be noted that the dynamic volumetric region 1003 may be adjusted to contain other human and animal internal organs such as the stomach. In FIG. 16, the hatched region 1003A represents the cross-section of the dynamic volumetric region 1003 and the annular crosshatched region 1004A schematically represents a cross-section through the heart muscle of the heart 1004. The region 1002A represents a cross section of the static volumetric region 1002.--, in [0189]).
Re Claim 5, FENG as modified by ZIV and Polzin further disclose wherein said motion curve is plotted relative to any one of a head-tail axis, a left-right axis, and a ventral-dorsal axis of a human body, and reconstructing said medical image based on said motion curve (see ZIV: e.g. -- [0132] The body 100 may be a human or an animal, and the region of interest, or the target organ 110 may be a heart, a brain, a breast, a stomach, a GI tract, a colon, a prostate, a uterus, a cervix, a vagina, a throat, a gland, a lymph node, a portion of skin, a portion of bone, portion of another tissue, or another body portion.
[0133] As seen in FIGS. 1A and 1B, a reference x;y;z coordinate system illustrates a preferred orientation of the dynamic SPECT camera 10 with respect to the body 100, wherein z runs along a length of the body 100. For convenience, the assembly axis along the assembly length will be referred to as the assembly longitudinal axis, and the assembly axis along the assembly width will be referred to as the assembly traverse axis.
[0134] Preferably, the assemblies 20 are long and narrow columns, arranged longitudinally against the body 100, wherein the oscillatory sweeping motion, described by an arrow 60, is about the z-axis. It will be appreciated that other arrangements are similarly possible.--, in [0132]-[0134]) comprises:
selecting a reference object from each said frame image (see FENG: e.g., Fig. 12, and, -- FIG. 12 provides an exemplary gated image according to some embodiments of the present disclosure based on ECT by gating data set is reconstructed. transverse image gating image 1 the left ventricle of human heart end-systole, gated image 2 shows a human heart end-systole left ventricle coronary image, gated image 3 shows a human heart end-systole left ventricle of sagittal image, gated image 4 display a landscape image of human heart diastolic left ventricular, gated image 5 display human-diastolic left ventricle of stage of coronary image, gated image 6 shows a sagittal image of human heart diastolic left ventricular.--; in page 19/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A; and see ZIV: e.g., in [0356]-[0366]);
performing motion compensation of each said frame image using said motion curve as a reference, wherein said motion compensation (see ZIV: e.g., -- [0356] obtaining a first set of radioactive-emission data from the region of interest;
[0357] performing a first reconstruction, based on the first set of the radioactive-emission data and the first system of voxels, to obtain a first image;
[0358] correcting the first system of voxels, by aligning voxel boundaries with object boundaries, based on the first image; thus obtaining a second system of voxels, which is anatomically based;
[0359] obtaining a second set of radioactive-emission data from the region of interest, based on the second system of voxels, which is anatomically based; and
[0360] performing a second reconstruction, based on the second set of the radioactive-emission data and the second system of voxels, thus obtaining a second image.
Anatomic Modeling
[0361] Bull's Eye, or polar map, is a semi-automatic method for the quantification and evaluation of coronary artery disease from SPECT tomograms obtained by marking the myocardium with Tl-201 or MIBI-Tc-99. The polar map is computed from cross-sectional slices of the Left Ventricle (LV). For each slice, the center and a radius of search that contains the LV are determined and the LV is divided into radial sectors. The maximum count value of each sector is computed, generating a profile. Profiles are plotted as concentric circle onto the map. The resulting map is a compression of 3D information (LV perfusion) onto a single 2D image.
[0362] Yet the bull's eye or polar map is reconstructed from a rigorous geometry of voxels, for example, of 5×5×5 mm, or 4×4×4 mm, which cuts across tissue types, thus providing smeared information.
[0363] A voxel division that is based on an anatomical structure would be highly preferred, as it would allow the measurements of processes within and across anatomical features, substantially without the smearing effect. For example, if specific voxels are used to define blood regions, and others are used to define muscle regions, than diffusion across boundary membranes and other processes may be evaluated, substantially without a smearing effect.
[0364] Anatomical model is based on voxels that follow anatomical structures, and may be shaped for example, as a sphere, a tube, or as a shell segment, rather than as a the standard cube.
[0365] When combined with a camera of high resolution and sensitivity and with gated measurements, anatomic modeling would be clearly advantageous over standard, rigorous modeling, especially for kinetic studies are meaningful only with respect to specific tissue types.
[0366] In accordance with embodiments of the present invention, the polar map may be produced with a reduced number of amplitudes, or levels, for example, 7 levels of severity, or 5 levels of severity, from healthy to severe.--, in [0356]-[0366]) comprises:
performing an adjustment operation of all pixels contained in each said frame image other than said reference object in any one of said head-tail axis, said left-right axis, and said ventral-dorsal axis according to three-dimensional coordinates thereof with respect to said reference object (see FENG: e.g., Fig. 12, and, -- FIG. 12 provides an exemplary gated image according to some embodiments of the present disclosure based on ECT by gating data set is reconstructed. transverse image gating image 1 the left ventricle of human heart end-systole, gated image 2 shows a human heart end-systole left ventricle coronary image, gated image 3 shows a human heart end-systole left ventricle of sagittal image, gated image 4 display a landscape image of human heart diastolic left ventricular, gated image 5 display human-diastolic left ventricle of stage of coronary image, gated image 6 shows a sagittal image of human heart diastolic left ventricular.--; in page 19/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A; and see ZIV: e.g., in [0356]-[0366], cited above; also see Polzin: e.g., -- [0189] As described below a radioactive emission image of the input overall volume 1001 is segmented into a non-gated region, which includes non-gated voxels, in accordance with the static volumetric region 1002, and to a gated region, which includes gated voxels, in accordance with the dynamic volumetric region 1003. Preferably, the dynamic volumetric region 1003 is adjusted to delimit a dynamic organ, such as the human heart that is schematically represented by a hollow sphere 1004. Preferably, the dynamic volumetric region 1003 is larger than the apparent volumetric region of the heart 1004 to account for segmentation errors. It should be noted that the dynamic volumetric region 1003 may be adjusted to contain other human and animal internal organs such as the stomach. In FIG. 16, the hatched region 1003A represents the cross-section of the dynamic volumetric region 1003 and the annular crosshatched region 1004A schematically represents a cross-section through the heart muscle of the heart 1004. The region 1002A represents a cross section of the static volumetric region 1002.--, in [0189]); and
repeating said adjustment operation of each said frame image until correlation coefficient between integration of each said frame image after said adjustment operation and said reference object reaching a maximum value (see FENG: e.g., Fig. 12, and, -- FIG. 12 provides an exemplary gated image according to some embodiments of the present disclosure based on ECT by gating data set is reconstructed. transverse image gating image 1 the left ventricle of human heart end-systole, gated image 2 shows a human heart end-systole left ventricle coronary image, gated image 3 shows a human heart end-systole left ventricle of sagittal image, gated image 4 display a landscape image of human heart diastolic left ventricular, gated image 5 display human-diastolic left ventricle of stage of coronary image, gated image 6 shows a sagittal image of human heart diastolic left ventricular.--; in page 19/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A; and see ZIV: e.g., in [0356]-[0366], cited above; also see Polzin: e.g., -- [0189] As described below a radioactive emission image of the input overall volume 1001 is segmented into a non-gated region, which includes non-gated voxels, in accordance with the static volumetric region 1002, and to a gated region, which includes gated voxels, in accordance with the dynamic volumetric region 1003. Preferably, the dynamic volumetric region 1003 is adjusted to delimit a dynamic organ, such as the human heart that is schematically represented by a hollow sphere 1004. Preferably, the dynamic volumetric region 1003 is larger than the apparent volumetric region of the heart 1004 to account for segmentation errors. It should be noted that the dynamic volumetric region 1003 may be adjusted to contain other human and animal internal organs such as the stomach. In FIG. 16, the hatched region 1003A represents the cross-section of the dynamic volumetric region 1003 and the annular crosshatched region 1004A schematically represents a cross-section through the heart muscle of the heart 1004. The region 1002A represents a cross section of the static volumetric region 1002.--, in [0189]); and
integrating each said frame image after said motion compensation to reconstruct said medical image (see FENG: e.g., Fig. 12, and, -- FIG. 12 provides an exemplary gated image according to some embodiments of the present disclosure based on ECT by gating data set is reconstructed. transverse image gating image 1 the left ventricle of human heart end-systole, gated image 2 shows a human heart end-systole left ventricle coronary image, gated image 3 shows a human heart end-systole left ventricle of sagittal image, gated image 4 display a landscape image of human heart diastolic left ventricular, gated image 5 display human-diastolic left ventricle of stage of coronary image, gated image 6 shows a sagittal image of human heart diastolic left ventricular.--; in page 19/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A; and see ZIV: e.g., in [0356]-[0366], cited above; also see Polzin: e.g., -- [0189] As described below a radioactive emission image of the input overall volume 1001 is segmented into a non-gated region, which includes non-gated voxels, in accordance with the static volumetric region 1002, and to a gated region, which includes gated voxels, in accordance with the dynamic volumetric region 1003. Preferably, the dynamic volumetric region 1003 is adjusted to delimit a dynamic organ, such as the human heart that is schematically represented by a hollow sphere 1004. Preferably, the dynamic volumetric region 1003 is larger than the apparent volumetric region of the heart 1004 to account for segmentation errors. It should be noted that the dynamic volumetric region 1003 may be adjusted to contain other human and animal internal organs such as the stomach. In FIG. 16, the hatched region 1003A represents the cross-section of the dynamic volumetric region 1003 and the annular crosshatched region 1004A schematically represents a cross-section through the heart muscle of the heart 1004. The region 1002A represents a cross section of the static volumetric region 1002.--, in [0189]). See the similar obviousness and motivation of the combinations of cited references as addressed above for claim 2.
Re Claim 7, FENG as modified by ZIV and Polzin further disclose wherein said motion curve is plotted relative to any one of a head-tail axis, a left-right axis, and a ventral-dorsal axis of a human body, and reconstructing said medical image based on said motion curve (see ZIV: e.g. -- [0132] The body 100 may be a human or an animal, and the region of interest, or the target organ 110 may be a heart, a brain, a breast, a stomach, a GI tract, a colon, a prostate, a uterus, a cervix, a vagina, a throat, a gland, a lymph node, a portion of skin, a portion of bone, portion of another tissue, or another body portion. [0133] As seen in FIGS. 1A and 1B, a reference x;y;z coordinate system illustrates a preferred orientation of the dynamic SPECT camera 10 with respect to the body 100, wherein z runs along a length of the body 100. For convenience, the assembly axis along the assembly length will be referred to as the assembly longitudinal axis, and the assembly axis along the assembly width will be referred to as the assembly traverse axis.
[0134] Preferably, the assemblies 20 are long and narrow columns, arranged longitudinally against the body 100, wherein the oscillatory sweeping motion, described by an arrow 60, is about the z-axis. It will be appreciated that other arrangements are similarly possible.--, in [0132]-[0134]) comprises:
selecting a reference object from each said gated set image (see FENG: e.g., Fig. 12, and, -- FIG. 12 provides an exemplary gated image according to some embodiments of the present disclosure based on ECT by gating data set is reconstructed. transverse image gating image 1 the left ventricle of human heart end-systole, gated image 2 shows a human heart end-systole left ventricle coronary image, gated image 3 shows a human heart end-systole left ventricle of sagittal image, gated image 4 display a landscape image of human heart diastolic left ventricular, gated image 5 display human-diastolic left ventricle of stage of coronary image, gated image 6 shows a sagittal image of human heart diastolic left ventricular.--; in page 19/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A; and see ZIV: e.g., in [0356]-[0366]);
performing motion compensation of each said gated set image using said motion curve as a reference, wherein said motion compensation of each said gated set image (see ZIV: e.g., -- [0356] obtaining a first set of radioactive-emission data from the region of interest;
[0357] performing a first reconstruction, based on the first set of the radioactive-emission data and the first system of voxels, to obtain a first image;
[0358] correcting the first system of voxels, by aligning voxel boundaries with object boundaries, based on the first image; thus obtaining a second system of voxels, which is anatomically based;
[0359] obtaining a second set of radioactive-emission data from the region of interest, based on the second system of voxels, which is anatomically based; and
[0360] performing a second reconstruction, based on the second set of the radioactive-emission data and the second system of voxels, thus obtaining a second image.
Anatomic Modeling
[0361] Bull's Eye, or polar map, is a semi-automatic method for the quantification and evaluation of coronary artery disease from SPECT tomograms obtained by marking the myocardium with Tl-201 or MIBI-Tc-99. The polar map is computed from cross-sectional slices of the Left Ventricle (LV). For each slice, the center and a radius of search that contains the LV are determined and the LV is divided into radial sectors. The maximum count value of each sector is computed, generating a profile. Profiles are plotted as concentric circle onto the map. The resulting map is a compression of 3D information (LV perfusion) onto a single 2D image.
[0362] Yet the bull's eye or polar map is reconstructed from a rigorous geometry of voxels, for example, of 5×5×5 mm, or 4×4×4 mm, which cuts across tissue types, thus providing smeared information.
[0363] A voxel division that is based on an anatomical structure would be highly preferred, as it would allow the measurements of processes within and across anatomical features, substantially without the smearing effect. For example, if specific voxels are used to define blood regions, and others are used to define muscle regions, than diffusion across boundary membranes and other processes may be evaluated, substantially without a smearing effect.
[0364] Anatomical model is based on voxels that follow anatomical structures, and may be shaped for example, as a sphere, a tube, or as a shell segment, rather than as a the standard cube.
[0365] When combined with a camera of high resolution and sensitivity and with gated measurements, anatomic modeling would be clearly advantageous over standard, rigorous modeling, especially for kinetic studies are meaningful only with respect to specific tissue types.
[0366] In accordance with embodiments of the present invention, the polar map may be produced with a reduced number of amplitudes, or levels, for example, 7 levels of severity, or 5 levels of severity, from healthy to severe.--, in [0356]-[0366]) comprises:
performing an adjustment operation of all pixels contained in each said gated set image other than said reference object in any one of said head-tail axis, said left-right axis, and said ventral-dorsal axis according to three-dimensional coordinates thereof with respect to said reference object (see FENG: e.g., Fig. 12, and, -- FIG. 12 provides an exemplary gated image according to some embodiments of the present disclosure based on ECT by gating data set is reconstructed. transverse image gating image 1 the left ventricle of human heart end-systole, gated image 2 shows a human heart end-systole left ventricle coronary image, gated image 3 shows a human heart end-systole left ventricle of sagittal image, gated image 4 display a landscape image of human heart diastolic left ventricular, gated image 5 display human-diastolic left ventricle of stage of coronary image, gated image 6 shows a sagittal image of human heart diastolic left ventricular.--; in page 19/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A; and see ZIV: e.g., in [0356]-[0366], cited above; also see Polzin: e.g., -- [0189] As described below a radioactive emission image of the input overall volume 1001 is segmented into a non-gated region, which includes non-gated voxels, in accordance with the static volumetric region 1002, and to a gated region, which includes gated voxels, in accordance with the dynamic volumetric region 1003. Preferably, the dynamic volumetric region 1003 is adjusted to delimit a dynamic organ, such as the human heart that is schematically represented by a hollow sphere 1004. Preferably, the dynamic volumetric region 1003 is larger than the apparent volumetric region of the heart 1004 to account for segmentation errors. It should be noted that the dynamic volumetric region 1003 may be adjusted to contain other human and animal internal organs such as the stomach. In FIG. 16, the hatched region 1003A represents the cross-section of the dynamic volumetric region 1003 and the annular crosshatched region 1004A schematically represents a cross-section through the heart muscle of the heart 1004. The region 1002A represents a cross section of the static volumetric region 1002.--, in [0189]); and
repeating said adjustment operation of each said gated set image until correlation coefficient between integration of each said gated set image after said adjustment operation and said reference object reaching a maximum value (see FENG: e.g., Fig. 12, and, -- FIG. 12 provides an exemplary gated image according to some embodiments of the present disclosure based on ECT by gating data set is reconstructed. transverse image gating image 1 the left ventricle of human heart end-systole, gated image 2 shows a human heart end-systole left ventricle coronary image, gated image 3 shows a human heart end-systole left ventricle of sagittal image, gated image 4 display a landscape image of human heart diastolic left ventricular, gated image 5 display human-diastolic left ventricle of stage of coronary image, gated image 6 shows a sagittal image of human heart diastolic left ventricular.--; in page 19/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A; and see ZIV: e.g., in [0356]-[0366], cited above; also see Polzin: e.g., -- [0189] As described below a radioactive emission image of the input overall volume 1001 is segmented into a non-gated region, which includes non-gated voxels, in accordance with the static volumetric region 1002, and to a gated region, which includes gated voxels, in accordance with the dynamic volumetric region 1003. Preferably, the dynamic volumetric region 1003 is adjusted to delimit a dynamic organ, such as the human heart that is schematically represented by a hollow sphere 1004. Preferably, the dynamic volumetric region 1003 is larger than the apparent volumetric region of the heart 1004 to account for segmentation errors. It should be noted that the dynamic volumetric region 1003 may be adjusted to contain other human and animal internal organs such as the stomach. In FIG. 16, the hatched region 1003A represents the cross-section of the dynamic volumetric region 1003 and the annular crosshatched region 1004A schematically represents a cross-section through the heart muscle of the heart 1004. The region 1002A represents a cross section of the static volumetric region 1002.--, in [0189]); and
integrating each said gated set image after said motion compensation to reconstruct said medical image (see FENG: e.g., Fig. 12, and, -- FIG. 12 provides an exemplary gated image according to some embodiments of the present disclosure based on ECT by gating data set is reconstructed. transverse image gating image 1 the left ventricle of human heart end-systole, gated image 2 shows a human heart end-systole left ventricle coronary image, gated image 3 shows a human heart end-systole left ventricle of sagittal image, gated image 4 display a landscape image of human heart diastolic left ventricular, gated image 5 display human-diastolic left ventricle of stage of coronary image, gated image 6 shows a sagittal image of human heart diastolic left ventricular.--; in page 19/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A; and see ZIV: e.g., in [0356]-[0366], cited above; also see Polzin: e.g., -- [0189] As described below a radioactive emission image of the input overall volume 1001 is segmented into a non-gated region, which includes non-gated voxels, in accordance with the static volumetric region 1002, and to a gated region, which includes gated voxels, in accordance with the dynamic volumetric region 1003. Preferably, the dynamic volumetric region 1003 is adjusted to delimit a dynamic organ, such as the human heart that is schematically represented by a hollow sphere 1004. Preferably, the dynamic volumetric region 1003 is larger than the apparent volumetric region of the heart 1004 to account for segmentation errors. It should be noted that the dynamic volumetric region 1003 may be adjusted to contain other human and animal internal organs such as the stomach. In FIG. 16, the hatched region 1003A represents the cross-section of the dynamic volumetric region 1003 and the annular crosshatched region 1004A schematically represents a cross-section through the heart muscle of the heart 1004. The region 1002A represents a cross section of the static volumetric region 1002.--, in [0189]). See the similar obviousness and motivation of the combinations of cited references as addressed above for claim 2.
Re Claims 11, 14, and 16, claims 11, 14, and 16 are corresponding method claim to claims 2, 5, and 7, respectively. Claims 11, 14, and 16 thus are rejected for the similar reasons for claims 2, 5, and 7. See above discussions with regard to claims 2, 5, and 7 respectively. FENG as modified by ZIV and Polzin further disclose method of motion detection and correction of a medical image (see FENG: e.g., -- The system may include a configuration to obtain the target organ of the patient collected by the associated PET data sets. The system further comprises a processing module, the processing module is configured to determine the target organ of the reference point, the PET data set into a plurality of data frames, and to determine the target organ based on the plurality of first statistical parameter and a plurality of second statistical parameter of motion signal. processing module can further motion signal based on the PET data set are classified into a plurality of boxes.--, in abstract, and, -- the emission-type computed tomography (ECT) image detection motion of the organ system and method, and more particularly, relates to a system and method for detecting cardiac gating in positron emission tomography imaging (PET)…. object, such as a patient, can be acquired ECT by ECT scanner image. When ECT for chest or upper abdomen examination, respiratory and/or cardiac motion caused by motion blur in ECT images. is desirable to provide for reconstruction is the improvement of quality and reduction of motion blur of ECT image system and method.--, in page 2/20 of the English version of CN-108498110-A as provided as NPL within this Office Action).
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
/WEI WEN YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2662