DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to the applicant’s amendment filed on December 30, 2024. Claims 1-14 are pending and examined below. Claims 1 and 3-14 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsukada et al., US 2019/0300012 A1.
As to claim 1, Tsukada teaches a controller for a straddle-type vehicle, the controller configured to (abstract and Figs. 1-2):
acquire riding object information as information on a riding object as an object, which is other than a rider of the straddle-type vehicle and rides on the straddle-type vehicle, on the basis of output of an environment information detection system that includes at least one environment sensor mounted to the straddle-type vehicle and detects information on a surrounding object as an object located around the straddle-type vehicle (¶ 30-32, 41 and Figs. 1-2); and
execute assistance operation for the rider based on the riding object information (¶ 30-31, 34, 43, 47; e.g. generating braking, prompting the rider to adjust posture).
As to claim 2, Tsukada teaches the riding object information includes information on presence or absence of the riding object (¶ 41, 43, 46).
As to claim 3, Tsukada teaches the riding object information includes information on a position of the riding object (¶ 43, 43, 46).
As to claim 4, Tsukada teaches the riding object information includes information on a type of the riding object (¶ 40 and Figs. 1-2; e.g. forces applied on different components of the vehicle).
As to claim 6, Tsukada teaches the riding object information includes information on weight of the riding object (¶ 40 and Figs. 1-2).
As to claim 7, Tsukada teaches the controller acquires the riding object information based on information on detectability of the environment sensor (¶ 30, 31, 41, 52 and Figs. 1-2).
As to claim 8, Tsukada teaches the controller acquires the riding object information based on information on a distance and/or a direction from the environment sensor to the riding object (¶ 30-31 and Figs. 1-2).
As to claim 9, Tsukada teaches the controller acquires the riding object information based on information on a position of ground detected by the environment sensor (¶ 36, 61; e.g. inter-vehicle distance).
As to claim 10, Tsukada teaches the assistance operation includes notification operation to the rider (¶ 34).
As to claim 11, Tsukada teaches the assistance operation includes behavior control operation of the straddle-type vehicle (¶ 31, 34, 43 and Figs. 4-5).
As to claim 12, Tsukada teaches the controller acquires positional relationship information between the straddle-type vehicle and the surrounding object based on the output of the environment information detection system, and the controller executes the assistance operation based on the positional relationship information in addition to the riding object information (¶ 30-31, 36, 61; e.g. inter-vehicle distance).
As to claim 13, Tsukada teaches the controller acquires the positional relationship information with the surrounding object located in an area that is set according to the riding object information of an area around the straddle-type vehicle (¶ 30-31, 36, 61; e.g. an obstacle around the vehicle).
Claim 14 is rejected based on the same rationale used in claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukada et al., US 2019/0300012 A1 in view of Griffith et al., US 2020/0398923 A1.
As to claim 5, Tsukada teaches riding object information such as weight of the object (¶ 40). However, Tsukada does not specifically disclose the riding object information includes the size of the riding object. Griffith, by contrast, teaches obtaining information regarding the size of a riding object (¶ 96, 108). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Griffith’s teaching of riding object size information into Tsukada’s teaching, as doing so would provide more complete riding object characteristics and thereby improving control of the rider’s operation.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lavi et al. (US 2021/0221368 A1) discloses a rider assistance system for a motorcycle.
Nose et al. (US 11,981,323 B2) discloses drive assistance device for saddle type vehicle.
Fukuoka et al. (US 2020/0407003 A1) discloses a straddle type of vehicle.
Inquiry
The fax phone numbers for the organization where this application or proceedings is assigned are as follows:
(571) 273-8300 (Official Communications; including After Final Communications labeled “BOX AF”)
(571) 273-6705 (Draft Communications)
/MARY CHEUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665 April 14, 2026