DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park US 2020/0280342, in view of Schilling et al. US 2022/0062517.
Regarding Claims 1, 10, and 11, Park teaches a wireless power receiver (450, fig. 4), comprising:
a power pickup (200, fig. 4) related to receiving wireless power from a wireless power transmitter; and
a communicator/controller (220, fig. 4) related to controlling the reception of the wireless power,
wherein the wireless power receiver: enters a power transfer phase related to receiving the wireless power (560, fig. 5 and refer to [0186]);
transmits a first application message to the wireless power transmitter in the power transfer phase ; and receives a second application message in response to the first application message from the wireless power transmitter in the power transfer phase (The authentication message may be referred to as an authentication packet and may be referred to as authentication data and authentication control information. Further, messages such as GET_DIGEST and DIGESTS may be referred to as a GET_DIGEST packet and a DIGEST packet., refer to [0323]); and
wherein the wireless power receiver completes receiving the second application message within a specific time period (refer to Table 6 and [0318]-[0327]).
Park however is silent wherein a starting point of the specific time period is an end point of the first application message.
Schilling teaches wherein a starting point of the specific time period is an end point of the first application message (the process begins with the i-controller 28 broadcasting an advertisement to a first external power transmitter 22A and a second external power transmitter 22B. In the example, of FIG. 8, the first external power transmitter 22A is providing TETS power and the second external power transmitter 22B is not providing TETS power. Thus, the first external power transmitter 22A sends an immediate response to the advertisement and the second external power transmitter 22B does not send an immediate response to the advertisement, refer to [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to include the method as taught by Schilling with the wireless power receiver of Park in order to improve the efficiency of the system.
Regarding Claims 2 and 12, the combination of Park and Schilling teaches all of the limitations of Claims 1 and 11, respectively and further teaches wherein the end point of the first application message is a point at which reception of an Auxiliary Data Control (ADC) packet related to closing of the first application message begins (refer to [0010] of Park).
Regarding Claims 4 and 14, the combination of Park and Schilling teaches all of the limitations of Claims 1 and 11, respectively and further teaches wherein the wireless power receiver completes reception of an Auxiliary Data Control (ADC) packet related to end of the second application message within the specific time period (refer to [0318]-[0327] of Park).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Park and Schilling teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 above and further teaches wherein based on the wireless power receiver not receiving the second application message within the specific time period, the wireless power receiver transmits the first application message to the wireless power transmitter, again (refer to [0428] of Park).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Park and Schilling teaches all of the limitations of Claim 6 above and further teaches wherein a new specific time period is newly started based on the first application message transmitted again, wherein the wireless power receiver completes receiving the second application message within the new specific time period, and wherein a starting point of the new specific time period is a endpoint of the first application message to be transmitted again (refer to [0051] of Schilling).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Park and Schilling teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 above and further teaches wherein the first application message is GETDIGEST, and wherein the second application message is DIGEST (refer to [0323] of Park).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Park and Schilling teaches all of the limitations of Claim 8 above and further teaches wherein the specific time period is t_DigestTimeout (refer to Table 6 and [0318]-[0327]).
Claims 3, 5, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park US 2020/0280342, in view of Schilling et al. US 2022/0062517, in view of Park US 2020/0382167 (Park II).
Regarding Claims 3 and 13, the combination of Park and Schilling teaches all of the limitations of Claims 2 and 12, respectively, however is silent wherein the ADC packet related to the closing is an ADC/end.
Park II teaches wherein the ADC packet related to the closing is an ADC/end (refer to [0343]-[0344]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to include the method as taught by Park II with the wireless power receiver of the combination of Park and Schilling in order to improve the efficiency of the system.
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, the combination of Park and Schilling teaches all of the limitations of Claims 4 and 14, respectively, however is silent wherein the ADC packet related to the end is an ADC/end packet.
Park II teaches wherein the ADC packet related to the end is an ADC/end packet (refer to [0343]-[0344]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to include the method as taught by Park II with the wireless power receiver of the combination of Park and Schilling in order to improve the efficiency of the system.
Conclusion
/BRIAN K BAXTER/Examiner, Art Unit 283631 October 2025
/DANIEL KESSIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836