DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 4, the phrase “wherein, in Formula 1” should be changed to “wherein, in Formula 2”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 9, 12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (WO 2020/242266, as read via English equivalent, US 2022/0216466).
As to claim 1, Lee discloses a positive electrode comprising:
a current collector and a positive electrode active material layer formed on at least one surface of the current collector (see Lee: [0015]. The current collector and positive electrode active material layer collectively read on a positive electrode),
wherein the positive electrode active material layer comprises a particulate positive electrode active material (the active material is particulate, see Lee: [0009] and Fig. 1) and a fluorine-based binder (see Lee: [0042] and [0046], the active material may include polyvinylidenefluoride, which reads on a fluorine-based binder),
wherein the particulate positive electrode active material comprises a lithium transition metal composite oxide (the active material may be a lithium-containing transition metal oxide, see Lee: [0043] and [0045]) and
a coating layer (atomic layer deposition coating layer, see Lee: [0015]) containing a metal oxide on a surface of the particulate positive electrode active material (the atomic layer deposition coating layer may comprise several metal oxides, see Lee: [0019]), wherein the coating layer has a thickness of 0.1 nm or more to 2.0 nm or less (see Lee: [0020]).
Lee presents an Energy Dispersive X-ray Spectroscopy (EDS) of a cross section of the positive active material (see Lee: [0028] and Fig. 2), but does not disclose the intensity of F Ka signals or the peak intensity heights of an F Ka signal measured using EDS.
Further, Lee does not explicitly disclose that when an intensity of an F Ka signal is measured using EDS (Energy-dispersive X-ray spectroscopy) line scan on a cross section of the positive electrode active material layer which crosses a top of the positive electrode active material layer, as a top surface of the positive electrode active material layer, and a bottom of the positive electrode active material layer as an interface between the positive electrode active material layer and the current collector, a ratio (BPH/TPH) of a peak intensity height (BPH) of the bottom of the positive electrode active material layer to a peak intensity height (TPH) of the top of the positive electrode active material layer is 0.8 or more.
However, it has been held that, when the structure of a product recited in a prior art reference is substantially identical to that of a claimed product, the claimed properties are presumed to be inherent (see MPEP § 2112.01). In the instant case, the claimed invention comprises a positive electrode active material layer comprising a lithium transition metal oxide, a coating layer coating said transition metal oxide, and a binder.
In one embodiment, Lee’s transition metal oxide comprises Lix(NiaCobMnc)O2 where 0.5<x<1.3, 0<a<1, 0<b<1, 0<c<1, and a+b+c=1 (see Lee: [0045]). This is substantially similar to the transition metal oxide disclosed in the Instant Specification, which has the formula LiaNibCocMndO2, where 0.9≤a<1.1, 0.8≤b<1, 0<c<0.2, and 0<d<0.2 (see [0069]-[0072] of the Instant Specification), as there is substantial overlap between the formula disclosed by Lee and that disclosed in the Instant Specification.
The coating layer of Lee may comprise 0.2-1 nm of AlO2, deposited via atomic layer deposition (ALD, see Lee: [0019], and [0050]-[0051]). This is substantially identical to the coating material and coating process disclosed in the Instant Specification (see paras [0087]-[0088] and [0090]-[0093] of the Instant Specification).
The binder of Lee may comprise polyvinylidenefluoride (see Lee: [0042] and [0046]), which is one of the binder materials disclosed in the Instant Specification (see para [00107] of the Instant Specification).
Further, para [0089] indicates that the distribution of the binder in the instantly-claimed positive electrode active material is controlled by the coating layer:
“Particularly, in the case that the coating layer is formed on the surface of the particulate positive electrode active material by using the atomic layer deposition method, the distribution of the binder may be more easily controlled during the formation of the positive electrode active material layer due to the uniformly and thinly formed coating layer.”
As such, it is reasonably presumed that the binder distribution in Lee’s positive electrode active material is substantially identical to that of the instantly-claimed positive electrode active material, because both materials use the same atomic layer deposition coating layer.
Because the structure of the positive electrode active material layer, the coating layer, and the binder of Lee’s positive electrode active material layer area all substantially identical to the instantly-claimed positive electrode active material layer, it is reasonably presumed that Lee’s positive electrode active material layer also has the claimed property that, when an intensity of an F Ka signal is measured using EDS (Energy-dispersive X-ray spectroscopy) line scan on a cross section of the positive electrode active material layer which crosses a top of the positive electrode active material layer, as a top surface of the positive electrode active material layer, and a bottom of the positive electrode active material layer as an interface between the positive electrode active material layer and the current collector, a ratio (BPH/TPH) of a peak intensity height (BPH) of the bottom of the positive electrode active material layer to a peak intensity height (TPH) of the top of the positive electrode active material layer is 0.8 or more.
As to claim 7, Lee discloses the positive electrode of claim 1, wherein the metal oxide comprises at least one metal selected from the group consisting of aluminum (Al), niobium (Nb), and zirconium (Zr) (the metal oxide coating may be AlOx, NbOx, or ZrOx, see Lee: [0019]).
As to claim 9, Lee discloses the positive electrode of claim 1. Lee presents an Energy Dispersive X-ray Spectroscopy (EDS) of a cross section of the positive active material (see Lee: [0028] and Fig. 2), but does not disclose the intensity of F Ka signals or the peak intensity heights of an F Ka signal measured using EDS.
Further, Lee does not explicitly disclose that wherein the positive electrode has the ratio (BPH/TPH) of the peak intensity height (BPH) of the bottom of the positive electrode active material layer to the peak intensity height (TPH) of the top of the positive electrode active material layer of 0.8 or more to 1.4 or less.
However, as set forth in detail in the rejection of claim 1 above, the structure of the positive electrode active material layer, the coating layer, and the binder of Lee’s positive electrode active material layer are all substantially identical to the instantly-claimed positive electrode active material layer. Because it has been held that, when the structure of a product recited in a prior art reference is substantially identical to that of a claimed product, the claimed properties are presumed to be inherent (see MPEP § 2112.01), it is reasonably presumed that Lee’s positive electrode active material layer also has the claimed property that: the positive electrode has the ratio (BPH/TPH) of the peak intensity height (BPH) of the bottom of the positive electrode active material layer to the peak intensity height (TPH) of the top of the positive electrode active material layer of 0.8 or more to 1.4 or less.
As to claim 12, Lee discloses the positive electrode of claim 1, including active material particles (positive electrode active materials see Lee: [0015]). Lee is silent as to the presence of cracks in these active material particles and does not disclose that, in a plurality of positive electrode active material particles identified in the cross section of the positive electrode active material layer which crosses the top of the positive electrode active material layer, as the top surface of the positive electrode active material layer, and the bottom of the positive electrode active material layer as the interface between the positive electrode active material layer and the current collector, the positive electrode has a ratio of the number of positive electrode active material particles with cracks of 50% or less.
However, as set forth in detail in the rejection of claim 1 above, the structure of the positive electrode active material layer, the coating layer, and the binder of Lee’s positive electrode active material layer are all substantially identical to the instantly-claimed positive electrode active material layer. Because it has been held that, when the structure of a product recited in a prior art reference is substantially identical to that of a claimed product, the claimed properties are presumed to be inherent (see MPEP § 2112.01), it is reasonably presumed that Lee’s positive electrode active material layer also has the claimed property that: in a plurality of positive electrode active material particles identified in the cross section of the positive electrode active material layer which crosses the top of the positive electrode active material layer, as the top surface of the positive electrode active material layer, and the bottom of the positive electrode active material layer as the interface between the positive electrode active material layer and the current collector, the positive electrode has a ratio of the number of positive electrode active material particles with cracks of 50% or less.
As to claim 14, Lee discloses a lithium secondary battery (lithium secondary battery, see Lee: [0015]) comprising the positive electrode of claim 1 (see Lee: [0015]. The current collector and positive electrode active material layer collectively read on a positive electrode. The positive electrode of Lee reads on the positive electrode of claim 1 as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 8, and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (WO 2020/242266, as read via English equivalent, US 2022/0216466).
As to claim 2, Lee discloses the positive electrode of claim 1, including a lithium transition metal composite oxide which in one embodiment can be represented as
Lix(NiaCobMnc)O2
where 0.5<x<1.3, 0<a<1, 0<b<1, 0<c<1, and a+b+c=1 (see Lee: [0045]).
When b+c<0.2, a must be >0.8, meaning that Lee’s lithium transition metal composite oxide comprises 80 mol% or more of nickel based on total transition metals excluding lithium. The instantly-claimed transition metal composite oxide lies within the scope of Lee’s disclosure, and is therefore rendered obvious by Lee (see MPEP § 2144.05).
As to claim 3, Lee discloses the positive electrode of claim 1, including a lithium transition metal composite oxide which in one embodiment can be represented as
Lix(NiaCobMnc)O2
where 0.5<x<1.3, 0<a<1, 0<b<1, 0<c<1, and a+b+c=1 (see Lee: [0045]).
The instantly-claimed lithium transition metal composite oxide is represented by the formula
LiaNibCocMndM1cO2
wherein M1 is at least one selected from the group consisting of aluminum (Al), zirconium (Zr), boron (B), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), chromium (Cr), niobium (Nb),magnesium (Mg), hafnium (Hf), tantalum (Ta), lanthanum (La), titanium (Ti), strontium (Sr), barium (Ba), cerium (Ce), tin (Sn), yttrium (Y), zinc (Zn), fluorine (F), phosphorus (P), and sulfur (S), and 0.9≤a<1.1, 0.8≤b<l, 0<c<0.2, 0<d<0.2, 0≤e<0.1, and b+c+d+e=1.
When e=0, the instantly-claimed lithium transition metal composite oxide can be represented as
Lix(NiaCobMnc)O2
where 0.9≤x<1.1, 0.8≤a<l, 0<b<0.2, 0<c<0.2, and a+b+c=1
The lithium transition metal composite oxide disclosed by Lee therefore encompasses and thereby renders obvious the instantly-claimed lithium transition metal composite oxide.
As to claim 4, Lee discloses the positive electrode of claim 1, including a lithium transition metal composite oxide which in one embodiment can be represented as
Lix(NiaCobMnc)O2
where 0.5<x<1.3, 0<a<1, 0<b<1, 0<c<1, and a+b+c=1 (see Lee: [0045]).
The instantly-claimed lithium transition metal composite oxide is represented by the formula
LiaNibCocMndO2
where 0.9≤a<1.1, 0.8≤b<l, 0<c<0.2, 0<d<0.2, and b+c+d=1
The instantly-claimed lithium transition metal composite oxide can be represented as
Lix(NiaCobMnc)O2
where 0.9≤x<1.1, 0.8≤a<l, 0<b<0.2, 0<c<0.2, and a+b+c=1
The lithium transition metal composite oxide disclosed by Lee therefore encompasses and thereby renders obvious the instantly-claimed lithium transition metal composite oxide.
As to claim 8, Lee discloses the positive electrode of claim 1, wherein the coating layer has the thickness of 0.2 nm or more to 1.0 nm or less (see Lee: [0020]), which substantially overlaps and thereby renders obvious the instantly-claimed range of 0.5 nm or more to 1.0 nm or less.
As to claim 10, Lee discloses the positive electrode of claim 1, wherein the positive electrode active material layer has a porosity of 15% to 35% (see Lee: [0015]), which substantially overlaps and thereby renders obvious the claimed range of 20% or more to 40% or less.
As to claim 11, Lee discloses the positive electrode of claim 1, wherein the positive electrode active material layer has a porosity of 15% to 35% (see Lee: [0015]), which substantially overlaps and thereby renders obvious the claimed range of 24% or more to 40% or less.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (WO 2020/242266, as read via English equivalent, US 2022/0216466) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fujii (US 2006/0188780).
As to claim 5, Lee discloses the positive electrode of claim 1, including a lithium transition metal composite oxide (see Lee: [0045]).
Lee’s lithium transition metal composite oxide differs from that of the instantly-claimed material.
Fujii, also working in the field of positive active materials for lithium batteries, teaches a positive active material comprising a lithium transition metal composite oxide that can be represented by the formula
Li[Ni0.5-0.5xMn0.5-0.5xLix]O2, where 0.05≤x≤0.11 (see Fujii: [0020]-[0021]).
When x = 0.11, the above formula can be represented as
LixNiyMnzO2, where x=1.11, y=0.455, z=0.455, and x+y+z=2
The instantly-claimed lithium transition metal composite oxide is represented by the formula
LixNiyMnzM2wO2
where 1.1<x≤1.3, 0.1≤y≤0.5, 0.4≤z≤0.9, 0≤w≤0.1, and x+y+z+w=2.
When w=0, the instantly-claimed lithium transition metal composite oxide can be represented as
LixNiyMnzO2
where 1.1<x≤1.3, 0.1≤y≤0.5, 0.4≤z≤0.9, and x+y+z=2.
The lithium transition metal composite oxide disclosed by Fujii therefore encompasses and thereby renders obvious the instantly-claimed lithium transition metal composite oxide.
Further, Fujii teaches that Fujii’s lithium transition metal composite oxide yields a positive active material that attains a high discharge capacity, is excellent in rate characteristics and cycle characteristics, and has sufficient crystallinity (see Fujii: [0020]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the positive electrode of Lee by replacing Lee’s lithium transition metal composite oxide with the lithium transition metal composite represented by the formula LixNiyMnzO2 where 1.1<x≤1.3, 0.1≤y≤0.5, 0.4≤z≤0.9, and x+y+z=2. This is because Fujii teaches that this lithium transition metal composite oxide attains a high discharge capacity, is excellent in rate characteristics and cycle characteristics, and has sufficient crystallinity.
As to claim 6, Lee discloses the positive electrode of claim 1, including a lithium transition metal composite oxide (see Lee: [0045]).
Lee’s lithium transition metal composite oxide differs from that of the instantly-claimed material.
Fujii, also working in the field of positive active materials for lithium batteries, teaches a positive active material comprising a lithium transition metal composite oxide that can be represented by the formula
Li[Ni0.5-0.5xMn0.5-0.5xLix]O2, where 0.05≤x≤0.11 (see Fujii: [0020]-[0021]).
When x = 0.11, the above formula can be represented as
LixNiyMnzO2, where x=1.11, y=0.455, z=0.455, and x+y+z=2
The instantly-claimed lithium transition metal composite oxide is represented by the formula
LixNiyMnzO2
where 1.1<x≤1.3, 0.1≤y≤0.5, 0.4≤z≤0.9, and x+y+z=2.
The lithium transition metal composite oxide disclosed by Fujii therefore encompasses and thereby renders obvious the instantly-claimed lithium transition metal composite oxide.
Further, Fujii teaches that Fujii’s lithium transition metal composite oxide yields a positive active material that attains a high discharge capacity, is excellent in rate characteristics and cycle characteristics, and has sufficient crystallinity (see Fujii: [0020]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the positive electrode of Lee by replacing Lee’s lithium transition metal composite oxide with the lithium transition metal composite represented by the formula LixNiyMnzO2 where 1.1<x≤1.3, 0.1≤y≤0.5, 0.4≤z≤0.9, and x+y+z=2. This is because Fujii teaches that this lithium transition metal composite oxide attains a high discharge capacity, is excellent in rate characteristics and cycle characteristics, and has sufficient crystallinity.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (WO 2020/242266, as read via English equivalent, US 2022/0216466) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi (WO 2020130465, as read via English equivalent, US 2021/0265630).
As to claim 13, Lee discloses positive electrode of claim 1, but Lee is silent as to the adhesion of the positive electrode active material layer to the current collector and does not explicitly disclose that the adhesion of the positive electrode active material layer to the current collector is 50 gf/20 mm or more.
However, as set forth in detail in the rejection of claim 1 above, the structure of the positive electrode active material layer, the coating layer, and the binder of Lee’s positive electrode active material layer are all substantially identical to the instantly-claimed positive electrode active material layer. Because it has been held that, when the structure of a product recited in a prior art reference is substantially identical to that of a claimed product, the claimed properties are presumed to be inherent (see MPEP § 2112.01), it is reasonably presumed that Lee’s positive electrode active material layer also has the property that the adhesion of the positive electrode active material layer to the current collector is 50 gf/20 mm or more.
Still further, Choi, also working on the problem of electrodes for batteries, teaches that, when the adhesion between an active material (in this case, graphite) and a current collector is preferably in the range of 25 gf/cm to 30 gf/cm, which lies within and thereby anticipates the claimed range of 50 gf/20 mm or more, as 50 gf/20 mm = 2.5 gf/mm = 25 gf/cm (see Choi: [0050]). Choi further teaches that when the adhesion is too low, the active material is easily peeled off from the collector (see Choi: [0051]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the positive electrode of Lee by making thet the adhesion of the positive electrode active material layer to the current collector to be 50 gf/20 mm or more. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to prevent the active material from easily peeling off from the collector, as taught by Choi.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Han (US 2020/0083522) teaches a similar positive electrode material comprising a lithium transition metal oxide with coating layer and a binder (see Han: Abstract).
/A.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/CHRISTIAN ROLDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723