DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the connecting portion” lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Yu (CN 111150203 A).
Regarding claim 1, Yu discloses a hairdryer comprising:
a cylindrical body housing (1) comprising a gas discharge portion at a front surface thereof (Fig. 8);
a heater module (3) positioned in the body housing and configured to provide heat (Fig. 17); and
a handle (2) housing connected to a lower portion of the body housing (Fig. 1),
wherein the heater module comprises:
a first heater case (7) having a cylindrical shape (Figs. 3, 11);
a second heater case (8) disposed around an outer periphery of the first heater case in a state of being spaced apart from the outer periphery of the first heater case (Figs. 8, 18);
a main passage defined between the first heater case and the second heater case (Fig. 3);
a heating wire (302) positioned at the main passage (Fig. 3);
a front board (21 or 171) positioned in the first heater case (Figs. 12, 13); and
a subsidiary passage (space within case 7) extending through an inside of the first heater case (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 2, Yu discloses the hairdryer of claim 1, wherein the first heater case comprises:
a cylindrical lateral surface portion (Fig. 12; elongated side wall);
a front surface portion (13 or 21) positioned at the lateral surface portion so as to face the gas discharge portion (Figs. 12, 13); and
a rear surface portion (20) positioned opposite the front surface portion (Fig. 15), and wherein the subsidiary passage (space within case 7) is connected between the rear surface portion and the front surface portion.
Regarding claim 11, Yu discloses the hairdryer of claim 1, wherein the heater module is positioned in front of the connecting portion of the handle housing (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Yu discloses the hairdryer of claim 11, further comprising:
a gas introduction port (4) formed in a lower portion of the handle housing (Fig. 1); and
a blower fan mounted to the handle housing so as to supply air introduced through the gas introduction port to the heater module of the body housing (pg. 3, paragraph starting with “the benefit is that when…”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (CN 111150203 A) in view of Nelson (US 20190142132 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Yu discloses the hairdryer of claim 2, further comprising:
a subsidiary discharge port formed in the front surface portion of the first heater case (Fig. 13; arc- shaped inner slots);
EXCEPT: a plurality of vent holes formed through the rear surface of the first heater case, and wherein the subsidiary passage is connected between the plurality of vent holes and the subsidiary discharge port.
However, Nelson teaches a hairdryer comprising:
a plurality of vent holes formed through the rear surface of the first heater case (Fig. 9; 60) (vent holes formed by the vanes 57), and wherein the subsidiary passage (space within case 60) is connected between the plurality of vent holes and the subsidiary discharge port (Fig. 8: air outlet end of case 60).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Yu to include a plurality of vent holes formed through the rear surface of the first heater case, and wherein the subsidiary passage is connected between the plurality of vent holes and the subsidiary discharge port. The motivation to combine is so that there is strong drying airflow entering the first heater case and exiting the hair dryer.
Regarding claim 5, modified Yu discloses the hairdryer of claim 3, wherein the plurality of vent holes are arranged along a periphery of the rear surface portion (Nelson; Fig. 9).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (CN 111150203 A) in view of Nelson (US 20190142132 A1), as applied to claim 3, and further in view of Stephens (US 20170006991 A1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Yu discloses the hairdryer of claim 3, except further comprising: a cone cover positioned in a center of a main discharge port of the body housing; and a ring cover positioned around the cone cover, wherein the subsidiary discharge port is a gap between the cone cover and the ring cover.
However, Stephens teaches a nozzle attachment for a hairdryer comprising: a cone cover (Fig. 6; 40) positioned in a center of a main discharge port of the body housing; and
a ring cover (Fig. 6; 20+90) positioned around the cone cover, wherein the subsidiary discharge port is a gap between the cone cover and the ring cover (Fig. 7b).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Yu to include the removable nozzle attachment of Stephens, so that the user can locally stylize and dry their hair (Stephens; paras. 3-10).
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (CN 111150203 A) in view of Xiao (WO 2020143508 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Yu discloses the hairdryer of claim 2, except further comprising a heat insulation tube which is positioned an inner periphery of the lateral surface portion and has a thermal conductivity lower than the lateral surface portion.
Xiao teaches a hairdryer comprising a heat insulation tube (401) positioned between a heating coil (4) and a subsidiary passage (7) (Fig. 5). The position of the heat insulation tube is equivalent to the location of the first heater case in Yu, and the purpose of the heat insulation tube is to keep the cold air path (Xiao, 7) from being overly heated by the heating coil. Although Xiao does not teach placing the heat insulation tube on an inner periphery of the lateral surface portion, the particular placement is an obvious design choice and would function as intended as long as it is placed between the heating module and the subsidiary passage. Moreover, although Xiao does not mention the thermal conductivity of the heat insulation tube, it would have been obvious to make the tube out of an insulating material that has a lower thermal conductivity than other parts of the hairdryer since the tube is referred to as a “heat insulation piece”, whereas other parts in the hairdryer do not use the term “insulation”.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Yu to include a heat insulation tube which is positioned an inner periphery of the lateral surface portion and has a thermal conductivity lower than the lateral surface portion. The motivation to combine is to keep the cold air path through the subsidiary passage (Yu) from being overly heated by the heating coil.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (CN 111150203 A) in view of Quessard (FR 2967023 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Yu discloses the hairdryer of claim 2, further comprising: a diffuser positioned (air outlets) at the front surface portion (13) of the first heater case, EXCEPT an ion generator fastened to the rear surface portion of the first heater case.
However, Quessard teaches a hairdryer comprising an ion generator (16, 17). Although Quessard does not teach the claimed attachment, the particular attachment is a matter of obvious design choice since the ion generator would work as intended as long as the ions can enter the air stream.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Yu to include an ion generator fastened to the rear surface portion of the first heater case for discharging ions out of the diffuser. The motivation to combine is to reduce static electricity and to smooth the hair.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (CN 111150203 A) in view of Kosaka (JP H0584114 A).
Regarding claim 8, Yu discloses the hairdryer of claim 1, except further comprising a temperature sensor which is connected to the front board and senses temperature of the gas discharge portion.
However, Kosaka teaches a hair dryer comprising a temperature sensor (Fig. 1; 39) positioned in front of the heater and senses temperature of the gas discharge portion. Although Kosaka does not teach the claimed attachment, the particular attachment is a matter of obvious design choice since the temperature sensor would work as intended as long as it is positioned to measure the temperature of the heated air.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Yu to include a temperature sensor which is connected to the front board and senses temperature of the gas discharge portion. The motivation to combine is so that the heater module output can be adjusted for optimal drying of the hair.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (CN 111150203 A) in view of Park (KR 101934536 B1).
Regarding claim 9, Yu discloses the hairdryer of claim 1, further comprising an air guide which surrounds an outer circumferential surface of the heater module and guides air having passed through the heater module to the gas discharge portion, wherein the air guide comprises an insulation material configured to prevent heat generated by the heater module from being transmitted to the body housing.
However, Park teaches a hairdryer comprising: an air guide (600) which surrounds an outer circumferential surface of the heater module (260) and guides air having passed through the heater module to the gas discharge portion (Fig. 1), wherein the air guide comprises an insulation material configured to prevent heat generated by the heater module from being transmitted to the body housing (pg. 3, first paragraph).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Yu to include an air guide which surrounds an outer circumferential surface of the heater module and guides air having passed through the heater module to the gas discharge portion, wherein the air guide comprises an insulation material configured to prevent heat generated by the heater module from being transmitted to the body housing. With the modification, the air guide would be placed between the housing (Yu, 1) and the second heater case (Yu, 8). The motivation to combine is to prevent the housing from being overly hot and cause discomfort to the user’s skin.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (CN 111150203 A) in view of Zhu (CN 113040503 A).
Regarding claim 10, Yu discloses the hairdryer of claim 1, wherein the heating wire (Fig. 3; 302) has a shape of a coil which is wound around an outer periphery of the first heater case while defining a plurality of rings (“heating wire 302 surrounds the whole”; see pg. 9, paragraph starting with “An example, the length…”), except wherein a diameter of one of the plurality of rings of the heating wire is different from a diameter of an adjacent one of the plurality of rings.
However, Zhu teaches a hairdryer wherein a diameter of one of the plurality of rings of the heating wire is different from a diameter of an adjacent one of the plurality of rings (Fig. 1b shows at least two ring layers 13 with different diameters).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Yu wherein a diameter of one of the plurality of rings of the heating wire is different from a diameter of an adjacent one of the plurality of rings. The motivation to combine is to improve the heating effect of the hair dryer (Zhu, abstract).
Conclusion
/JASON LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762