DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 17/700790 (reference application).
With regards to claim 1, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is clear that all the elements of claim 1 of the current application are to be found in claim 1 of the copending application. The difference between claim 1 of the current application and the copending application lies in the fact that the patent claim includes more elements and is thus more specific. Thus the invention of claim 1 is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of claim 1 of the current application. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species [see In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (fed. Cir.) 1993)]. Since claim 1 is anticipated by claim 1 of the copending application, it is not patentably distinct from claim 1 of the current application.
With regards to claim 2, all the claimed subject matter in claim 2 of the current application are to be found in claim 2 of the copending application.
With regards to claim 3, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is clear that all the elements of claim 3 of the current application are to be found in claim 3 of the copending application. The difference between claim 3 of the current application and the copending application lies in the fact that the patent claim includes more elements and is thus more specific. Thus the invention of claim 3 is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of claim 3 of the current application. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species [see In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (fed. Cir.) 1993)]. Since claim 3 is anticipated by claim 3 of the copending application, it is not patentably distinct from claim 3 of the current application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Egawa et al (US 2016/0158914).
In reference to claim 1, Egawa et al discloses a fatigue crack growth suppressing method for a bent portion of a metal sheet for suppressing a growth of a fatigue crack in a bent portion obtained by bending the metal sheet (11), comprising
generating a compressive residual stress by applying plastic strain at least in a range from a bending start point to a bending end point on an inside of a bend of the bent portion [see paragraph 0057; stresses are altered on inner and outer surface by shot peening], at an interval of less than a sheet thickness of the metal sheet in a valley line direction of the bent portion, in a direction orthogonal to the valley line direction [see paragraph 0058; figures 1C & 13].
In reference to claim 3, Egawa et al discloses an automotive part comprising
a bent portion formed by bending a metal sheet (11) [see figure 1A; paragraph 0033], the bent portion being suppressed in growth of a fatigue crack, and
an indentation band including a series of indentations (94) obtained by needle peeing using an impact pin [it is noted that this limitation is a product by process limitation and therefore the patentability lies in the claimed structural components, i.e. indentation path, and not how the component was formed] in a direction orthogonal to a valley line direction, the indentation band being positioned at least within a range from a bending start point to a bending end point on an inside of a bend of the bent portion, and the indentations (94) provided at an interval of less than a sheet thickness of the metal sheet along the valley line direction of the bent portion [see figures 1C & 13; paragraphs 0057-0058].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egawa et al in view of Haas et al (US 2014/0007394).
In reference to claim 2, Egawa et al discloses the compressive residual stress is generated by forming an indentation band, which is a series of indentations (94) [see figure 13], on the inside of the bent portion by a shot peening treatment, and
the shot has a radius of curvature thereof, in a cross section orthogonal to the valley line direction, equal to or less than a radius of curvature of the bent portion is used [see figure 13].
Egawa et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the compressive residual stress is generated by needle peening.
However, Haas et al teaches that it is well known in the art that shot peening, laser shock peening, needle peening, ultrasonic peening are all known equivalent peening treatments for forming compression within a workpiece [see paragraph 0007].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to generate the compressive residual stress by a needle peening treatment instead of by a shot peening treatment since these peening treatments are known equivalents in the art as taught by Haas et al.
Conclusion
/Debra M Sullivan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725