DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on May 26, 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of co-pending application 18/700790 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Egawa et al (US 2016/0158914).
In reference to claim 1, Egawa et al discloses a fatigue crack growth suppressing method for a bent portion of a metal sheet for suppressing a growth of a fatigue crack in a bent portion obtained by bending the metal sheet (11), comprising
generating a compressive residual stress by applying plastic strain at least in a range from a bending start point to a bending end point on an inside of a bend of the bent portion [see paragraph 0057; stresses are altered on inner and outer surface by shot peening], at an interval of less than a sheet thickness of the metal sheet in a valley line direction of the bent portion, in a direction orthogonal to the valley line direction [see paragraph 0058; figures 1C & 13].
In reference to claim 3, Egawa et al discloses an automotive part comprising
a bent portion formed by bending a metal sheet (11) [see figure 1A; paragraph 0033], the bent portion being suppressed in growth of a fatigue crack, and
an indentation band including a series of indentations (94) obtained by needle peeing using an impact pin [it is noted that this limitation is a product by process limitation and therefore the patentability lies in the claimed structural components, i.e. indentation path, and not how the component was formed] in a direction orthogonal to a valley line direction, the indentation band being positioned at least within a range from a bending start point to a bending end point on an inside of a bend of the bent portion, and the indentations (94) provided at an interval of less than a sheet thickness of the metal sheet along the valley line direction of the bent portion [see figures 1C & 13; paragraphs 0057-0058].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egawa et al in view of Haas et al (US 2014/0007394).
In reference to claim 2, Egawa et al discloses the compressive residual stress is generated by forming an indentation band, which is a series of indentations (94) [see figure 13], on the inside of the bent portion by a shot peening treatment, and
the shot has a radius of curvature thereof, in a cross section orthogonal to the valley line direction, equal to or less than a radius of curvature of the bent portion is used [see figure 13].
Egawa et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the compressive residual stress is generated by needle peening.
However, Haas et al teaches that it is well known in the art that shot peening, laser shock peening, needle peening, ultrasonic peening are all known equivalent peening treatments for forming compression within a workpiece [see paragraph 0007].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to generate the compressive residual stress by a needle peening treatment instead of by a shot peening treatment since these peening treatments are known equivalents in the art as taught by Haas et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Egawa et al fails to disclose generating a compressive residual stress “at an interval of less than a sheet thickness of the metal sheet in a valley line direction of the bent portion” or providing indentations “at an interval of less than a sheet thickness of the metal sheet along a valley line direction of the bent portion”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. While Applicant states that the “valley line direction” of Egawa et al is into the page, the Examiner notes that the claims and specification are absent to any definition defining a specific direction as the valley line direction. Therefore given the broadest reasonable interpretation the valley line direction can be interpreted as any direction. Therefore the Examiner is interpreting the valley line direction to be a direction along the bent portion and as seen in figure 13, each indentation 94 is less than the sheet thickness. Additionally it is noted that should Applicant define the valley line direction as being into the page, Egawa et al discloses the peening is performed along the entire curved (bent) part, therefore the illustrated indentions in figure 13 would extend into the page in the same pattern.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Debra M Sullivan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725