CTNF 18/716,792 CTNF 84404 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. The instant first office action is in response to communication filed on 03/11/2025. Claims 16-31 are pending of which claims 16, 20, 24 and 28 are the base independent claims. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/05/20024 and 03/11/2025 is being considered by the examiner. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 16-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US 2024/0154673) and in view of Bao et al (US 2021/0258991) . Regarding claim 16 and 24 , Liu’673 discloses a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (see fig.1, 4, which shows UE 115 ), the UE comprising: a transceiver( see fig.4, which shows transmitter 410 and receiver 412, see para.0077, which discusses transmitter 410 and receiver 412 may be replaced with a transceiver ); and a controller( see fig.2, which shows controller 280, see para.0115, which discusses UE 115 includes controller/processor 280 ) coupled to the transceiver( see fig.2, which shows controller 280 coupled to the receive processor 258 and transmit processor 264, see para.0077, which discusses transmitter 410 and receiver 412 may be replaced with a transceiver ), and configured to: receive, from a base station, information configuring a first window and a second window (see para.0085, which discusses the base station 105 transmits a message 452 to the UE 115, see para.0087, which discusses the message 452 may optionally indicate any of the first window, the second window…, thus receiving from base station ), receive, from the base station, a channel state information (CSI)-reference signal (RS) in the first window( see para.0100, which discusses the UE 115 performs channel measurement operations on received signals during the first window, such as the data transmission at 515. In a particular implementation, the UE 115 performs channel measurements on all CSI-RS (e.g., NZP-CSI-RS) received during the first window. In other implementations, UE 115 performs channel measurements on all DMRS received during the first window or UE 115 performs channel measurements on all CSI-RS (e.g., NZP-CSI-RS) and DMRS received during the first window, see also see para.0063, see para.0089 ), generate a first CSI report by measuring the CSI-RS during the first window( see para.0089, see para.0092, which discusses CSI report 454 is generated during one window (the first window, W1) and is valid for use during another window (the second window, W2) ), transmit, to the base station, the first CSI report during the second window( see para.0074, which discusses the second window may correspond to a duration of the second window length from a particular slot, such as the slot where the CSI report was sent, see para.0092 ). As discussed above, although Liu’673 discloses generate a first CSI report by measuring the CSI-RS during the first window( see para.0089, see para.0092, which discusses CSI report 454 is generated during one window (the first window, W1) and is valid for use during another window (the second window, W2) , Liu’673 does not explicitly show the use of “generate a second CSI report based on a prediction during the second window, and transmit, to the base station, the second CSI report” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “generate a second CSI report based on a prediction during the second window, and transmit, to the base station, the second CSI report” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Bao’991. In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Bao’991 teaches the use of generate a second CSI report based on a prediction during the second window (see para.0097, which discusses the UE may also predict channel quality/channel state information on time-frequency resources 764 corresponding to a second component carrier (CC2) as second window using the measured channel state information on CC1 (i.e., measured channel state information based on CSI-RS transmitted on time-frequency resources 752). The UE may utilize a prediction algorithm (e.g., machine learning or artificial intelligence algorithm) to predict the channel state information on CC2 based on the measured channel state information on CC1. Thereafter, the UE may generate a predicted CSI report (also referred to as “shadow CSI-report”) corresponding to CC2 as second window based on the predicted channel state information on time-frequency resources 764, thus generate a predicted CSI report as the second CSI report based on a prediction during CC2 as the second window, see also fig.7 & para.0098-0099) , and transmit, to the base station, the second CSI report (see para.0097, which discusses the UE may transmit the predicted CSI report as second CSI to the gNB on … time-frequency resources 766 corresponding to CC2 as second window… see also fig.7 & para.0098-0099 ). In view of the above, having the system of Liu’673 and then given the well-established teaching of Bao’991, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu’673 to include “generate a second CSI report based on a prediction during the second window, and transmit, to the base station, the second CSI report” as taught by Bao’991, since Bao’991 stated in para.0004+ that such a modification would provide a scheme for predicting channel state information of a component carrier without transmitting/receiving CSI-RS on such component carrier so that CSI-RS overhead may be reduced. Regarding claim 17, 25 , Liu’673 discloses wherein the information is received via higher layer signaling( see para.0071, which discusses control information may be communicated via UE 115 and base station 105. For example, the control information may be communicated using Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (MAC CE) transmissions, Radio Resource Control (RRC) transmissions, sidelink control information (SCI) transmissions, another transmission, or a combination thereof, see para.0097, which discusses the base station 105 transmits a higher layer message (e.g., RRC) indicating to enable CSI age reporting, see para.0085 ). Regarding claim 18, 26, as discussed above, although Liu’673 discloses generate a first CSI report by measuring the CSI-RS during the first window( see para.0089, see para.0092, which discusses CSI report 454 is generated during one window (the first window, W1) and is valid for use during another window (the second window, W2) , Liu’673 does not explicitly show the use of “semi-persistent CSI-RS” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “semi-persistent CSI-RS” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Bao’991. In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Bao’991 teaches the use of the CSI-RS is a semi-persistent CSI-RS( see para.0100, which discusses the predicted (shadow) CSI-report may be transmitted on a periodic, semi- persistent, and/or aperiodic basis. The periodic, semi-persistent, and aperiodic bases for transmission may be enabled via a radio resource control (RRC) configuration message ). In view of the above, having the system of Liu’673 and then given the well-established teaching of Bao’991, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu’673 to include “semi-persistent CSI-RS” as taught by Bao’991, since Bao’991 stated in para.0004+ that such a modification would provide a scheme for predicting channel state information of a component carrier without transmitting/receiving CSI-RS on such component carrier so that CSI-RS overhead may be reduced. Regarding claim 19, 27 , Liu’673 discloses wherein the CSI-RS is received upon reception of a triggering instance( see fig.4, see para.0086, which discusses the message 452 is a trigger message which is configured to indicate or trigger CSI reporting by the UE 115. The trigger message may indicate, directly or indirectly, a particular slot for CSI reporting ). Regarding claim 20, 28 , Liu’673 discloses a base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver (see fig.1, which shows base station 105 includes a transmitter 434 and receiver 436, see para.0081, which discusses transmitter 434 and receiver 436 may be replaced with a transceiver ); and a controller (see fig.10, which shows base station 105 includes controller 240 ) coupled to the transceiver( see shows processor 430 coupled to the transmitter 434 and receiver 436, see para.0081, which discusses transmitter 434 and receiver 436 may be replaced with a transceiver, see para.0080, which discusses processor 430 includes or corresponds to controller/processor 240 ), and configured to (see fig.10, which shows base station 105 includes controller 240 ): transmit, to a user equipment (UE), information configuring a first window and a second window (see para.0085, which discusses the base station 105 transmits a message 452 to the UE 115, see para.0087, which discusses the message 452 may optionally indicate any of the first window, the second window ), transmit, to the UE, a channel state information (CSI)-reference signal (RS) in the first window see para.0100, which discusses the UE 115 performs channel measurement operations on received signals during the first window, such as the data transmission at 515. In a particular implementation, the UE 115 performs channel measurements on all CSI-RS (e.g., NZP-CSI-RS) received during the first window. In other implementations, UE 115 performs channel measurements on all DMRS received during the first window or UE 115 performs channel measurements on all CSI-RS (e.g., NZP-CSI-RS) and DMRS received during the first window, see also see para.0063, see para.0089) , receive, from the UE, a first CSI report during the second window( see para.0074, which discusses the second window may correspond to a duration of the second window length from a particular slot, such as the slot where the CSI report was sent, see para.0092 ), wherein the first CSI report is generated based on a measurement of the CSI-RS during the first window( see para.0089, see para.0092, which discusses CSI report 454 is generated during one window (the first window, W1) and is valid for use during another window (the second window, W2) ). As discussed above, although Liu’673 discloses generate a first CSI report by measuring the CSI-RS during the first window( see para.0089, see para.0092, which discusses CSI report 454 is generated during one window (the first window, W1) and is valid for use during another window (the second window, W2) , Liu’673 does not explicitly show the use of “receive, from the UE, a second CSI report, wherein the second CSI report is generated based on a prediction during the second window” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “receive, from the UE, a second CSI report, wherein the second CSI report is generated based on a prediction during the second window” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Bao’991. In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Bao’991 teaches the use of receive, from the UE, a second CSI report (see para.0097, which discusses the UE may transmit the predicted CSI report as second CSI to the gNB on … time-frequency resources 766 corresponding to CC2 as second window… see also fig.7 & para.0098-0099 ), wherein the second CSI report is generated based on a prediction during the second window see para.0097, which discusses the UE may also predict channel quality/channel state information on time-frequency resources 764 corresponding to a second component carrier (CC2) as second window using the measured channel state information on CC1 (i.e., measured channel state information based on CSI-RS transmitted on time-frequency resources 752). The UE may utilize a prediction algorithm (e.g., machine learning or artificial intelligence algorithm) to predict the channel state information on CC2 based on the measured channel state information on CC1. Thereafter, the UE may generate a predicted CSI report (also referred to as “shadow CSI-report”) corresponding to CC2 as second window based on the predicted channel state information on time-frequency resources 764, thus generate a predicted CSI report as the second CSI report based on a prediction during CC2 as the second window, see also fig.7 & para.0098-0099). In view of the above, having the system of Liu’673 and then given the well-established teaching of Bao’991, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu’673 to include “receive, from the UE, a second CSI report, wherein the second CSI report is generated based on a prediction during the second window” as taught by Bao’991, since Bao’991 stated in para.0004+ that such a modification would provide a scheme for predicting channel state information of a component carrier without transmitting/receiving CSI-RS on such component carrier so that CSI-RS overhead may be reduced. Regarding claim 21, 29 , Liu’673 discloses wherein the information is received via higher layer signaling( see para.0071, which discusses control information may be communicated via UE 115 and base station 105. For example, the control information may be communicated using Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (MAC CE) transmissions, Radio Resource Control (RRC) transmissions, sidelink control information (SCI) transmissions, another transmission, or a combination thereof, see para.0097, which discusses the base station 105 transmits a higher layer message (e.g., RRC) indicating to enable CSI age reporting, see para.0085 ). Regarding claim 22, 30, as discussed above, although Liu’673 discloses generate a first CSI report by measuring the CSI-RS during the first window( see para.0089, see para.0092, which discusses CSI report 454 is generated during one window (the first window, W1) and is valid for use during another window (the second window, W2) , Liu’673 does not explicitly show the use of “semi-persistent CSI-RS” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “semi-persistent CSI-RS” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Bao’991. In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Bao’991 teaches the use of the CSI-RS is a semi-persistent CSI-RS( see para.0100, which discusses the predicted (shadow) CSI-report may be transmitted on a periodic, semi-persistent, and/or aperiodic basis. The periodic, semi-persistent, and aperiodic bases for transmission may be enabled via a radio resource control (RRC) configuration message ). In view of the above, having the system of Liu’673 and then given the well-established teaching of Bao’991, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu’673 to include “semi-persistent CSI-RS” as taught by Bao’991, since Bao’991 stated in para.0004+ that such a modification would provide a scheme for predicting channel state information of a component carrier without transmitting/receiving CSI-RS on such component carrier so that CSI-RS overhead may be reduced. Regarding claim 23, 31 , Liu’673 discloses wherein the CSI-RS is received upon reception of a triggering instance( see fig.4, see para.0086, which discusses the message 452 is a trigger message which is configured to indicate or trigger CSI reporting by the UE 115. The trigger message may indicate, directly or indirectly, a particular slot for CSI reporting ) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Following prior arts are related to the present claimed invention: HAJR et al (US 20220386292) teaches, see fig.4 & see para.0070, Shown in FIG. 4 is the prediction window where the UE (such as UE 110 of FIG. 1 ) receives DCI triggering CSI reporting ( 408 ), the prediction windows where the UE receives downlink reference signals for a channel and/or interference measurement ( 406 ), and the prediction window where the UE transmits a CSI report or a plurality of CSI reports (410). Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only : (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to VINNCELAS LOUIS whose telephone number is (571)270-5138. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30-5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michael Thier can be reached at 571-272-2832. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /VINNCELAS LOUIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/716,792 Page 2 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/716,792 Page 3 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/716,792 Page 4 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/716,792 Page 5 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/716,792 Page 6 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/716,792 Page 7 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/716,792 Page 8 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/716,792 Page 9 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/716,792 Page 10 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/716,792 Page 11 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/716,792 Page 12 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/716,792 Page 13 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/716,792 Page 14 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/716,792 Page 15 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/716,792 Page 16 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/716,792 Page 17 Art Unit: 2474