DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14, line 7: one of the commas in “, ,” should be deleted;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 10-13, 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the encapsulation layer produces a Raman signal” in line 7, which is a method step. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, because it creates confusion as to when direct infringement occurs. (MPEP 2173.05(p) citing In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 97 USPQ2d 1737 (Fed. Cir. 2011)). For the purposes of examination, the recitation will be interpreted to be “the encapsulation layer is configured to produce a Raman signal”.
Claims 3, 5-8, and 10-13 are rejected by virtue of their dependence from claim 1.
Claim 20 recites “chromatography paper comprising a surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy (SERS) substrate for stable SERS enhancement” in lines 2-3. Claim 14 recites the same feature in line 8-9. It is unclear whether the recitation in claim 20 is the same as, related to, or different from the recitation of claim 14. The Examiner suggests deleting the recitation of “wherein the plurality of plasmonic sensors comprise chromatography paper comprising a surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy (SERS) substrate for stable SERS enhancement,”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 10-12, 14, 16-20, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0000395 A1 (Rogers) (cited by applicant) in view of US 2020/0300849 A1 (Motamedi) (cited by Applicant), and US 2018/0080878 A1 (Choi) (cited by applicant).
With regards to claim 1, to the extent that it can be argued that all features taught by Rogers are not provided in a single embodiment, Rogers discloses a variety of alternative and additional embodiments that are provided in a variety of combinations so that the benefits of these various features can be utilized. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the various features in the alternative and additional embodiments so as to derive the benefits of these features, as suggested by Rogers. See ¶¶ [0554], [0560] of Rogers.
The above combination of Rogers teaches or suggests a wearable sensor (Abstract and ¶¶ [0007], [0008] depict a microfluidic device attached to the skin for sensing analytes; Fig. 50 and ¶ [0516] depict a microfluidic device for fluorometric sweat sensing) comprising: a double-sided adhesive layer (¶ [0518] depicts double-sided skin adhesive membrane); a microfluidic layer comprising a microfluidic channel comprising plurality of plasmonic sensors (Fig. 50 and ¶¶ [0516]-[0518] depict a microfluidic channel film comprising microchannels and micro-reservoirs with fluorometric assays; ¶ [0492] discloses device surfaces or compositions can be modified to provide additional sensing capabilities through integration of plasmonic nanoparticles (e.g. gold nanorods) that respond to the presence of different analytes of interest); and an encapsulation layer (Fig. 50 and ¶ [0518] depict a cover layer), wherein the encapsulation layer produces a Raman signal usable as a reference for quantifying an analyte detected by the plurality of plasmonic sensors (¶ [0518] depicts a transparent PDMS mixture casted on a PMMA coated flat wafer to form the cover layer. ¶ [0025] of the Applicant’s published application indicates that the top PDMS encapsulation layer is optically transparent and exhibits well-defined Raman bands, which indicates that the Raman signal produced by the encapsulation layer inherently results from the optically transparent PDMS. To the extent that the cover layer of Rogers is formed of optically transparent PDMS, it will also produce a Raman signal usable as a reference).
Rogers is silent regarding a paper microfluidic layer.
In the same field of endeavor of microfluidic detection of analytes, Motamedi discloses a paper microfluidic layer (¶ [0088] discloses a microfluidic substrate comprising paper). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the microfluidic layer of Rogers to incorporate that it is a paper microfluidic layer as taught by Motamedi. The motivation would have been to facilitate flow of the biological sample from the sample application region to the detection regions via capillary action (¶ [0088] of Motamedi). Additionally or alternatively, it would have been the simple substitution of one known material for a microfluidic layer with another to obtain predictable results.
The above combination is silent regarding whether the plurality of plasmonic sensors comprise chromatography paper comprising a surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy (SERS) substrate for stable SERS enhancement.
In a system relevant to the problem of analyzing analytes using plasmonic sensors, Choi teaches a plasmonic sensor comprising chromatography paper comprising a surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy (SERS) substrate for stable SERS enhancement (Abstract and ¶¶ [0040], [0081]-[0085] depict a chromatography paper-based surface-enhanced Raman scattering 'SERS' substrate comprising gold nanoparticles). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the plasmonic sensors of Roger to incorporate that the plurality of plasmonic sensors comprise chromatography paper comprising a surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy (SERS) substrate for stable SERS enhancement, as taught by Choi. The motivation would have been to enhance the detection signal for improved sensitivity in point-of-care testing (¶ [0012] of Choi).
With regards to claim 3, the above combination teaches or suggests the microfluidic channel has a serpentine configuration (Fig. 50 of Rogers depicts the microfluidic channels having a serpentine configuration).
With regards to claim 5, the above combination teaches or suggests the SERS substrate comprises plasmonic nanostructures selected from the group consisting of gold metal nanostructures (¶ [0083] of Choi teaches using gold nanoparticles (AuNPs)).
With regards to claim 6, the above combination is silent regarding whether the gold metal nanostructures comprise one or more of gold, silver and copper nanospheres, nanorods, nanostars, nanocubes, nanopyramids, and nanowires .
Rogers further teaches gold metal nanostructures comprise one or more of gold, silver and copper nanospheres, nanorods, nanostars, nanocubes, nanopyramids, and nanowires (¶ [0492] of Rogers disclose plasmonic nanoparticles being gold nanorods). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the nanoparticles of the above combination with the gold nanorods of Rogers. Because both plasmonic nanoparticles are capable of responding to analytes, it would have been the simple substitution of one known equivalent element for another to obtain predictable results.
With regards to claim 8, the above combination teaches or suggests the double-sided adhesive layer comprises an inlet formed therethrough and positioned to overlap the paper microfluidic layer, the inlet being configured to receive a fluid selected from the group consisting of biofluid, interstitial fluid, blood, plasma, saliva, urine, sweat, and combinations thereof (¶ [0518] of Rogers depicts the double-sided skin adhesive membrane having matching inlet holes. Fig. 50 of Rogers depicts the inlets of the adhesive layer overlapping the microfluidic channel layer. ¶ [0516] of Rogers depicts the analysis of sweat, which indicates that the inlet is configured to receive sweat).
With regards to claim 10, the above combination teaches or suggests the encapsulation layer comprises an optically transparent material (Fig. 50 and ¶ [0518] of Rogers depicts a transparent cover layer formed by a transparent PDMS mixture casted on a PMMA coated flat waver).
With regards to claim 11, the above combination teaches or suggests the encapsulation layer comprises at least one of polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS), a silicone adhesive, or a silicone adhesive layer sandwiched between PDMS encapsulation and the paper microfluidic layer (Fig. 50 and ¶ [0518] of Rogers depicts a transparent cover layer formed by a transparent PDMS mixture).
With regards to claim 12, the above combination teaches or suggests a laser blocking layer (¶¶ [0516]-[0517] and Fig. 50 of Rogers depict a detachable black light-shielding film which is capable of blocking a laser).
With regards to claim 14, to the extent that it can be argued that all features taught by Rogers are not provided in a single embodiment, Rogers discloses a variety of alternative and additional embodiments that are provided in a variety of combinations so that the benefits of these various features can be utilized. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the various features in the alternative and additional embodiments so as to derive the benefits of these features, as suggested by Rogers. See ¶¶ [0554], [0560] of Rogers.
The above combination of Rogers teaches a method of biochemical analysis (¶ [0516] teaches analysis of biomarkers in sweat in-situ), the method comprising:
collecting biofluid from a subject via a wearable sensor (¶¶ [0516]-[0518] and Fig. 50 depict collecting sweat using the wearable microfluidic sensor), wherein the wearable sensor comprises:
a double-sided adhesive layer(¶ [0518] depicts double-sided skin adhesive membrane);
a microfluidic layer comprising a microfluidic channel in a serpentine configuration (Fig. 50 and ¶¶ [0516]-[0518] depict a microfluidic channel film comprising serpentine microchannels and micro-reservoirs with fluorometric assays), wherein the microfluidic channel comprises an inlet to receive the biofluid (Fig. 50 and ¶ [0518] depict the microfluidic channels having inlets that align with the inlets of the adhesive membrane), an outlet to collect the excess biofluid (Fig. 50 and ¶ [0516] depict outlets for the microchannel for receiving the excess biofluid), and a plurality of plasmonic sensors ¶ [0492] discloses device surfaces or compositions can be modified to provide additional sensing capabilities through integration of plasmonic nanoparticles (e.g. gold nanorods) that respond to the presence of different analytes of interest); and
an encapsulation layer (Fig. 50 and ¶ [0518] depict a cover layer), wherein the encapsulation layer comprises an optically transparent material and is configured to produce a Raman signal usable as a reference for quantifying an analyte detected by the plurality of plasmonic sensors (¶ [0518] depicts a transparent PDMS mixture casted on a PMMA coated flat wafer to form the cover layer. ¶ [0025] of the Applicant’s published application indicates that the top PDMS encapsulation layer is optically transparent and exhibits well-defined Raman bands, which indicates that the Raman signal produced by the encapsulation layer inherently results from the optically transparent PDMS. To the extent that the cover layer of Rogers is formed of optically transparent PDMS, it will also produce a Raman signal usable as a reference when it is interrogated during Raman spectroscopy); and
quantifying the biofluid (¶ [0516] discloses determining sweat loss and analyzing the biomarkers by fluorometric methods)
Rogers is silent regarding a paper microfluidic layer.
In the same field of endeavor of microfluidic detection of analytes, Motamedi discloses a paper microfluidic layer (¶ [0088] discloses a microfluidic substrate comprising paper). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the microfluidic layer of Rogers to incorporate that it is a paper microfluidic layer as taught by Motamedi. The motivation would have been to facilitate flow of the biological sample from the sample application region to the detection regions via capillary action (¶ [0088] of Motamedi). Additionally or alternatively, it would have been the simple substitution of one known material for a microfluidic layer with another to obtain predictable results.
The above combination is silent regarding whether the plurality of plasmonic sensors comprise chromatography paper comprising a surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy (SERS) substrate for stable SERS enhancement and the encapsulation layer produces a Raman signal due to interrogation of the sensor.
In a system relevant to the problem of analyzing analytes using plasmonic sensors, Choi teaches a plasmonic sensor comprising chromatography paper comprising a surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy (SERS) substrate for stable SERS enhancement (Abstract and ¶¶ [0040], [0081]-[0085] depict a chromatography paper-based surface-enhanced Raman scattering 'SERS' substrate comprising gold nanoparticles) and interrogating the sensor (¶ [0085] depicts using a laser light source to produce a Raman spectrum). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Roger to incorporate that the plurality of plasmonic sensors comprise chromatography paper comprising a surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy (SERS) substrate for stable SERS enhancement and interrogating the sensor, as taught by Choi. The motivation would have been to enhance the detection signal for improved sensitivity in point-of-care testing (¶ [0012] of Choi). The Examiner notes that the interrogation of the sensor would necessarily result in the PDMS producing a Raman signal because the PDMS would be located between the sensor and the laser.
With regards to claim 16, the above combination teaches or suggests the quantifying comprises determining at least one of pH of the biofluid, rate of release from the subject of the biofluid, biofluid loss from the subject, volume of the biofluid, analytes in the biofluid, concentration of analytes in the biofluid, metabolites in the biofluid, concentration of metabolites in the biofluid, or combinations thereof (¶¶ [0091]-[0092] of Rogers discloses determining one or more of sweat volume, sweat rate, sweat loss, pH (which is an indication of ions), and a concentration of an analyte in the biofluid, wherein the analyte may be an electrolyte, a metabolite, or a biomarker; ¶ [0475] of Rogers discloses drug detection; ¶ [0516] of Rogers discloses the micro-patterns enable use of fluorometric assays and simple sweat loss monitoring).
With regards to claim 17, the above combination teaches or suggests the quantifying comprises detection of at least one of analytes or metabolites in the biofluid (¶¶ [0091]-[0092] of Rogers discloses determining one or more of sweat volume, sweat rate, sweat loss, pH (which is an indication of ions), and a concentration of an analyte in the biofluid, wherein the analyte may be an electrolyte, a metabolite, or a biomarker).
With regards to claim 18, the above combination teaches or suggests the biofluid comprises sweat, and wherein the quantifying comprises continuous quantitative analysis of sweat loss, sweat rate, and metabolites in sweat (¶¶ [0091]-[0092] of Rogers discloses determining one or more of sweat volume, sweat rate, sweat loss, pH (which is an indication of ions), and a concentration of an analyte in the biofluid, wherein the analyte may be an electrolyte, a metabolite, or a biomarker; ¶ [0475] of Rogers discloses drug detection; ¶ [0516] of Rogers discloses the micro-patterns enable use of fluorometric assays and simple sweat loss monitoring).
With regards to claim 19, the above combination teaches or suggests the quantifying is performed via surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy (SERS) or other optical approaches (¶ [0516] of Rogers discloses the micro-patterns enable use of fluorometric assays), colorimetric assay, enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay, fluorescence-linked immunosorbent assay, and combinations thereof.
With regards to claim 20, the above combination teaches or suggests the plurality of plasmonic sensors comprise chromatography paper comprising a surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy (SERS) substrate for stable SERS enhancement (see the above combination of Rogers in view of Motamedi and Choi).
The above combination is silent regarding whether the gold nanoparticles of the SERS substrate comprises gold nanorods (AuNR).
Rogers further teaches gold metal nanostructures comprising gold nanorods (¶ [0492] of Rogers disclose plasmonic nanoparticles being gold nanorods). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the nanoparticles of the above combination with the gold nanorods of Rogers. Because both plasmonic nanoparticles are capable of responding to analytes, it would have been the simple substitution of one known equivalent element for another to obtain predictable results.
With regards to claim 23, the above combination teaches or suggests the encapsulation layer comprises at least one of polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS), a silicone adhesive, or a silicone adhesive layer sandwiched between PDMS encapsulation and the paper microfluidic layer (Fig. 50 and ¶ [0518] of Rogers depicts a transparent cover layer formed by a transparent PDMS mixture).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0000395 A1 (Rogers) (cited by applicant) in view of US 2020/0300849 A1 (Motamedi) (cited by applicant) and US 2018/0080878 A1 (Choi) (cited by applicant), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2018/0031483 A1 (Singamaneni) (previously cited).
With regards to claim 7, the above combination is silent regarding whether the plurality of plasmonic sensors comprise surface ligands selected from the group consisting of antibodies, aptamers, Raman reporters, peptides, and organic polymers.
In a system relevant to the problem of detecting analytes using plasmonic nanoparticles, Singamaneni teaches plasmonic sensors comprising surface ligands selected from the group consisting of antibodies, aptamers, Raman reporters, peptides, and organic polymers (Abstract and ¶¶ [0105]-[0107] depict peptide aptamer-based plasmonic biosensors analyzed using SERS, wherein the peptide aptamers are conjugated to the AuNR surface; also see ¶ [0049], [0051], [0052]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the plurality of plasmonic sensors of the above combination to incorporate that they comprise surface ligands selected from the group consisting of antibodies, aptamers, Raman reporters, peptides, and organic polymers as taught by Singamaneni. The motivation would have been to provide the sensors with a higher refractive index sensitivity for plasmonic biosensing (¶ [0007] of Singamaneni).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0000395 A1 (Rogers) (cited by applicant) in view of US 2020/0300849 A1 (Motamedi) (cited by applicant) and US 2018/0080878 A1 (Choi) (cited by applicant), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2018/0031483 A1 (Singamaneni) (previously cited).
With regards to claim 13, the above combination teaches or suggests the wearable sensor is configured for continuous quantitative analysis of sweat loss, sweat rate, and sweat composition, including pH, ions, metabolites, and drugs, (¶¶ [0091]-[0092] of Rogers discloses determining one or more of sweat volume, sweat rate, sweat loss, pH (which is an indication of ions), and analyte in the biofluid, wherein the analyte may be an electrolyte, a metabolite, or a biomarker; ¶ [0475] of Rogers discloses drug detection; ¶ [0516] of Rogers discloses the micro-patterns enable use of fluorometric assays and simple sweat loss monitoring).
The above combination is silent regarding whether the wearable sensor is configured for analysis of amino acids and proteins.
In the same field of endeavor of monitoring analytes using plasmonic sensors, Singamaneni teaches sensors for analysis of amino acids and proteins (¶ [0011] discloses detecting a target molecule in a biological sample; ¶ [0101] discloses the target molecule is selected from a protein or a peptide (which is a chain of amino acids)). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wearable sensor of the above combination to incorporate that it is configured for analysis of amino acids and proteins as taught by Singamaneni. The motivation would have been to provide a more complete diagnostic analysis of the patient.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0000395 A1 (Rogers) (cited by applicant) in view of US 2020/0300849 A1 (Motamedi) (cited by applicant) and US 2018/0080878 A1 (Choi) (cited by applicant), as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of US 2020/0041413 A1 (Palanisami) (previously cited)
With regards to claim 15, the above combination teaches or suggests quantifying comprises simultaneous quantification of rate and volume of release and concentration of analytes in the biofluid, including pH, ions, metabolites, and pathogens (¶¶ [0091]-[0092] of Rogers discloses determining one or more of sweat volume, sweat rate, sweat loss, pH (which is an indication of ions), and a concentration of an analyte in the biofluid, wherein the analyte may be an electrolyte, a metabolite, or a biomarker; ¶ [0475] of Rogers discloses drug detection; ¶ [0516] of Rogers discloses the micro-patterns enable use of fluorometric assays and simple sweat loss monitoring).
The above combination is silent regarding whether the quantifying includes analysis of proteins and pathogens.
In a system relevant to the problem of monitoring analytes using assays, Palanisami teaches fluorometric assays for analyzing proteins and pathogens (¶ [0006] discloses fluorometric assays for detecting a protein, e.g., an enzyme (e.g., β-lactamase) expressed by a target pathogen in a liquid sample). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wearable sensor of the above combination to incorporate that it is configured for analysis of proteins and pathogens as taught by Palanisami. The motivation would have been to provide a more complete diagnostic analysis of the patient.
Response to Arguments
Drawing Objections
In view of canceled claim 9, the drawing objection was withdrawn.
Claim Objection
In view of the claim amendments filed 08/21/2026, the previous grounds of claim objections were withdrawn. There are new grounds of claim objections necessitated by the claim amendments filed 08/21/2026.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112(b)
In view of the claim amendments filed 08/21/2026, the previous grounds of claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) were withdrawn. There are new grounds of claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) necessitated by the claim amendments filed 08/21/2026.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103
Applicant's arguments filed 08/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 6-7 of the remarks filed 08/21/2026, the Applicant asserts:
This argument is not persuasive in view of the new grounds of rejections. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The combination of Rogers in view of Motamedi and Choi teaches or suggests the chromatography-paper SERS substrate limitation. See the amended rejections of claims 1 and 14.
On pages 7-8 of the remarks filed 08/21/2026, the Applicant asserts:
This argument is not persuasive.
First, paragraph [0518] of Rogers depicts a transparent PDMS mixture casted on a PMMA coated flat wafer to form the cover layer. Paragraph [0025] of the Applicant’s published application indicates that the top PDMS encapsulation layer is optically transparent and exhibits well-defined Raman bands, which indicates that the Raman signal produced by the encapsulation layer inherently results from the optically transparent PDMS. To the extent that the cover layer of Rogers is formed of optically transparent PDMS, it will also produce a Raman signal usable as a reference when it is interrogated to produce a Raman spectrum.
Additionally, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the feature upon which applicant relies (i.e., actually using the Raman signal produced by the encapsulation layer to quantify the analyte) is not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
On page 8 of the remarks filed 08/21/2026, the Applicant asserts:
This argument is not persuasive because it amounts to mere speculation without evidence that the paper/porous microfluidic substrate of Motamedi is incapable of transporting a fluid between SERS plasmonic sensors. There is no disclosure within the Applicant’s specification or Motamedi of any structural features which would inhibit the use of Motamedi’s paper/porous microfluidic substrate for transporting a fluid to and/or from SERS sensors. The Examiner maintains that it would have been obvious modify the microfluidic layer of Rogers to incorporate that it is a paper microfluidic layer as taught by Motamedi. The motivation would have been to facilitate flow of the biological sample from the sample application region to the detection regions via capillary action (¶ [0088] of Motamedi). Additionally or alternatively, it would have been the simple substitution of one known material for a microfluidic layer with another to obtain predictable results.
On page 8 of the remarks filed 08/21/2026, the Applicant asserts:
This argument is not persuasive because it amounts to mere speculation without evidence that the paper/porous microfluidic substrate of Motamedi is incapable of transporting a fluid between SERS plasmonic sensors. There is no disclosure within the Applicant’s specification or Motamedi of any structural features which would inhibit the use of Motamedi’s paper/porous microfluidic substrate for transporting a fluid to and/or from SERS sensors. In particular, the Applicant’s assertion that the paper substrate’s interaction with plasmonic nanoparticles and its effects amounts to mere arguments without any substantial evidence that the substitution would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill.
On pages 8-9 of the remarks filed 08/21/2026, the Applicant asserts:
This argument is not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In this case, ¶ [0492] of Rogers teaches modifying device surfaces or compositions to provide additional sensing capabilities through integration of plasmonic nanoparticles, wherein these components provide enhanced sensitivity to the described sensing requirements, which teaches how and why the plasmonic nanoparticles are incorporated with the various embodiments of the disclosure. Additionally, ¶ [0554] of Rogers discloses, “it should be understood that although the present invention has been specifically disclosed by preferred embodiments, exemplary embodiments and optional features, modification and variation of the concepts herein disclosed may be resorted to by those skilled in the art, and that such modifications and variations are considered to be within the scope of this invention as defined by the appended claims.” The above disclosure further indicates that the combination of the optional plasmonic nanoparticles with the embodiment of example 12 is within the scope of the disclosure.
On page 9 of the remarks filed 08/21/2026, the Applicant asserts:
This argument is not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).First, the modification of Rogers to incorporate the paper microfluidic layer of Motamedi would have been obvious in order to facilitate flow of the biological sample from the sample application region to the detection regions via capillary action (¶ [0088] of Motamedi). Additionally or alternatively, it would have been the simple substitution of one known material for a microfluidic layer with another to obtain predictable results. Second, the modification of the plasmonic sensors of Rogers to incorporate the chromatography paper comprising a surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy (SERS) substrate for stable SERS enhancement of Choi would have been obvious in order to enhance the detection signal for improved sensitivity in point-of-care testing (¶ [0012] of Choi).
Applicant’s arguments with regards to claim 14 on page 10 are not persuasive because the Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 1 are not persuasive.
On page 11 of the remarks filed 08/21/2026, the Applicant asserts:
This argument is not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In this case, the modification of the plasmonic sensors of Rogers to incorporate the chromatography paper comprising a surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy (SERS) substrate for stable SERS enhancement of Choi would have been obvious in order to enhance the detection signal for improved sensitivity in point-of-care testing (¶ [0012] of Choi).
Applicant’s arguments with regards to claims 7, 13, 15 are not persuasive because the Applicant’s arguments with regards to claim 1 are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.C.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JACQUELINE CHENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791