DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 12-15, 23, 26-28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wen et al. (U.S. PGPub 2024/0396784), hereinafter referred to as Wen.
Regarding claim 1, Wen discloses a synchronization method, performed by an Internet of Things (IoT) terminal (terminal device may also be referred to as a user equipment (UE). The terminal device may include, but not limited to an Internet of Things (IoT) device; See [0034]), comprising:
receiving system information from a network device (The UE may further receive, within the gap, system broadcasted information used for deriving a compensation on a transmission between the UE and the gNB in at least one of a time domain and frequency domain; See [0044]), wherein the system information is configured for the IoT terminal to perform uplink synchronization (a process of the GNSS fix position refreshing and/or satellite ephemeris data reception and UL/DL re-synchronization can be achieved by the UE in RRC connected mode and therefore the resources and power consumption can be reduced; See [0044]), and the IoT terminal is in a connected state (the UE may obtain a configuration of a gap within which a RRC connected state of the UE is kept; See [0044]); and
performing uplink synchronization based on the system information (perform a UL synchronization process within the gap; See [0044]).
Regarding claim 2, Wen further discloses the method according to claim 1, receiving the system information from the network device comprises:
determining a timeout moment of a first timer (It has been agreed that a validity timer for UL synchronization (for example for satellite ephemeris and potentially other aspects) can be configured by the network, which is referred to, for example, when the timer can be set or reset, the duration of the timer and the UE behavior upon the timer expiry; See [0039]), wherein the first timer is configured to indicate the IoT terminal to receive the system information within a target duration (It has been agreed that a validity timer for UL synchronization (for example for satellite ephemeris and potentially other aspects) can be configured by the network, which is referred to, for example, when the timer can be set or reset, the duration of the timer and the UE behavior upon the timer expiry; See [0039]), and the IoT terminal is in a connected state (the UE 110 may determine the gap before a validity timer for a current GNSS measurement expires and/or a validity timer for current satellite ephemeris data expires; See [0047]); and
receiving the system information from the network device based on the timeout moment (the UE 110 may receive the system broadcasted information not earlier than the validity timer for a current GNSS measurement expires; See [0051]).
Regarding claim 3, Wen further discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein receiving the system information from the network device based on the timeout moment comprises:
receiving the system information from the network device within a target duration before or after the timeout moment of the first timer (the UE 110 may receive the system broadcasted information not earlier than the validity timer for a current GNSS measurement expires; See [0051]).
Regarding claim 10, Wen further discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein receiving the system information from the network device within the target duration before the timeout moment of the first timer comprises:
receiving a terminal-specific signaling within the target duration before the timeout moment of the first timer, wherein the terminal-specific signaling comprises the system information (the UE 110 may receive the system broadcasted information not earlier than the validity timer for a current GNSS measurement expires; See [0051]);
wherein the method further comprises:
suspending, by the IoT terminal, ongoing transmission and monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) during the target duration, wherein the terminal-specific signaling is carried on the PDCCH (the UE 110 may obtain a time window within which the UE 110 can wait for the Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) ordered PRACH when or after the validity timer for a current GNSS measurement expires and/or the validity timer for current satellite ephemeris data expires. the UE 110 may monitor the PDCCH within this time window, which is not earlier than the validity timer for a current GNSS measurement expires and/or the validity timer for current satellite ephemeris data expires; See [0059]).
Regarding claim 12, Wen further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein receiving the system information from the network device comprises:
receiving a terminal-specific signaling, wherein the terminal- specific signaling comprises the system information (the UE 110 may receive the system broadcasted information not earlier than the validity timer for a current GNSS measurement expires; See [0051]), and the IoT terminal is in the connected state and monitors the PDCCH according to a PDCCH monitoring period (the UE 110 may obtain a time window within which the UE 110 can wait for the Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) ordered PRACH when or after the validity timer for a current GNSS measurement expires and/or the validity timer for current satellite ephemeris data expires. the UE 110 may monitor the PDCCH within this time window, which is not earlier than the validity timer for a current GNSS measurement expires and/or the validity timer for current satellite ephemeris data expires; See [0059]).
Regarding claim 13, Wen discloses a synchronization method, performed by a network device (gNB; See Fig. 1, #120), comprising:
sending system information to the an Internet of Things (IoT) terminal (within the gap, the UE 110 may receive 202 the system broadcasted information from the gNB 120; See [0050]), wherein the system information is configured for the IoT terminal to perform uplink synchronization (A process of the GNSS fix position refreshing and/or satellite ephemeris data reception and UL/DL re-synchronization can be achieved by the UE in RRC connected mode and therefore the resources and power consumption can be reduced. The system broadcasted information may be used for the UE 110 to deriving a compensation associated with a transmission between the UE 110 and the gNB 120 in a time domain and/or a frequency domain; See [0044] and [0050]), and the IoT terminal is in a connected state (The UE 110 may keep the RRC connected state within the gap; See [0049]).
Regarding claim 14, Wen further discloses the method according to claim 13, wherein sending the system information to the IoT terminal comprises:
determining a timeout moment of a first timer (It has been agreed that a validity timer for UL synchronization (for example for satellite ephemeris and potentially other aspects) can be configured by the network, which is referred to, for example, when the timer can be set or reset, the duration of the timer and the UE behavior upon the timer expiry; See [0039]), wherein the first timer is configured to indicate the IoT terminal to receive the system information within a target duration (It has been agreed that a validity timer for UL synchronization (for example for satellite ephemeris and potentially other aspects) can be configured by the network, which is referred to, for example, when the timer can be set or reset, the duration of the timer and the UE behavior upon the timer expiry; See [0039]), and the IoT terminal is in a connected state (the UE 110 may determine the gap before a validity timer for a current GNSS measurement expires and/or a validity timer for current satellite ephemeris data expires; See [0047]); and
sending the system information to the IoT terminal based on the timeout moment (the UE 110 may
Regarding claim 22, Wen further discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein sending the system information to the IoT terminal within the target duration before the timeout moment of the first timer comprises:
sending a terminal-specific signaling within the target duration before the timeout moment of the first timer, wherein the terminal-specific signaling comprises the system information (the UE 110 may receive the system broadcasted information not earlier than the validity timer for a current GNSS measurement expires; See [0051]).
Regarding claim 23, Wen further discloses the method according to claim 13, wherein sending the system information to the IoT terminal comprises:
sending a terminal-specific signaling according to a PDCCH monitoring period (the UE 110 may obtain a time window within which the UE 110 can wait for the Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) ordered PRACH when or after the validity timer for a current GNSS measurement expires and/or the validity timer for current satellite ephemeris data expires. the UE 110 may monitor the PDCCH within this time window, which is not earlier than the validity timer for a current GNSS measurement expires and/or the validity timer for current satellite ephemeris data expires; See [0059]), wherein the terminal-specific signaling comprises the system information ((the UE 110 may receive the system broadcasted information not earlier than the validity timer for a current GNSS measurement expires; See [0051])), and the IoT terminal is in a connected state (the UE may obtain a configuration of a gap within which a RRC connected state of the UE is kept; See [0044]).
Regarding claim 26, Wen discloses an Internet of Things (IoT) terminal (terminal device may also be referred to as a user equipment (UE). The terminal device may include, but not limited to an Internet of Things (IoT) device; See [0034]), comprising:
a processor (processor; See Fig. 5, #510);
a transceiver (communication module; See Fig. 5, #540) connected to the processor;
wherein the processor is configured to:
receive system information from a network device (The UE may further receive, within the gap, system broadcasted information used for deriving a compensation on a transmission between the UE and the gNB in at least one of a time domain and frequency domain; See [0044]), wherein the system information is configured for the IoT terminal to perform uplink synchronization (a process of the GNSS fix position refreshing and/or satellite ephemeris data reception and UL/DL re-synchronization can be achieved by the UE in RRC connected mode and therefore the resources and power consumption can be reduced; See [0044]), and the IoT terminal is in a connected state (the UE may obtain a configuration of a gap within which a RRC connected state of the UE is kept; See [0044]); and
perform uplink synchronization based on the system information (perform a UL synchronization process within the gap; See [0044]).
Regarding claim 27, Wen discloses a network device (gNB; See Fig. 1, #120), comprising:
a processor (processor; See Fig. 5, #510); and
a transceiver (communication module; See Fig. 5, #540) connected to the processor;
wherein the processor is configured to load and execute executable instructions to implement the method according to claim 13 (The UE 110 may keep the RRC connected state within the gap. A process of the GNSS fix position refreshing and/or satellite ephemeris data reception and UL/DL re-synchronization can be achieved by the UE in RRC connected mode and therefore the resources and power consumption can be reduced. Within the gap, the UE 110 may receive 202 the system broadcasted information from the gNB 120. The system broadcasted information may be used for the UE 110 to deriving a compensation associated with a transmission between the UE 110 and the gNB 120 in a time domain and/or a frequency domain; See [0044], [0049] and [0050]).
Regarding claim 28, Wen discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (See Fig. 5, #524 and #530) storing an executable program code (The present disclosure also provides at least one computer program product tangibly stored on a non-transitory computer readable storage medium; See [0102]), wherein when the executable program code is loaded and executed by a processor, the method according to claim 1 is implemented (The UE may obtain a configuration of a gap within which a RRC connected state of the UE is kept. The UE may further receive, within the gap, system broadcasted information used for deriving a compensation on a transmission between the UE and the gNB in at least one of a time domain and frequency domain and perform a UL synchronization process within the gap. In this way, a process of the GNSS fix position refreshing and/or satellite ephemeris data reception and UL/DL re-synchronization can be achieved by the UE in RRC connected mode and therefore the resources and power consumption can be reduced; See [0044]).
Regarding claim 30, Wen discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (See Fig. 5, #524 and #530) storing an executable program code (The present disclosure also provides at least one computer program product tangibly stored on a non-transitory computer readable storage medium; See [0102]), wherein when the executable program code is loaded and executed by a processor, the method according to claim 13 is implemented (The UE 110 may keep the RRC connected state within the gap. A process of the GNSS fix position refreshing and/or satellite ephemeris data reception and UL/DL re-synchronization can be achieved by the UE in RRC connected mode and therefore the resources and power consumption can be reduced. Within the gap, the UE 110 may receive 202 the system broadcasted information from the gNB 120. The system broadcasted information may be used for the UE 110 to deriving a compensation associated with a transmission between the UE 110 and the gNB 120 in a time domain and/or a frequency domain; See [0044], [0049] and [0050]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6-7, 16, and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 4 and 6-7 appear to be novel and inventive because prior art fails to show or teach the method according to claim 3, wherein receiving the system information from the network device within the target duration before or after the timeout moment of the first timer comprises: obtaining a timing duration of a second timer, wherein the second timer indicates a duration for the IoT terminal to recover a radio link, the first timer expires, and the timing duration is stored in the IoT terminal; and taking the timing duration as the target duration, and receiving the system information from the network device after the timeout moment and within the timing duration of the second timer; wherein the timing duration is agreed in a communication protocol, or the timing duration is configured by the network device.
Claims 16 and 18-19 appear to be novel and inventive because prior art fails to show or teach the method according to claim 15, wherein sending the system information to the IoT terminal within the target duration after the timeout moment of the first timer comprises: obtaining a timing duration of a second timer, wherein the second timer indicates a duration for the IoT terminal to recover a radio link, the first timer expires, and the timing duration is stored in the network device; and taking the timing duration as the target duration, and sending the system information to the IoT terminal after the timeout moment and within the timing duration of the second timer; wherein the timing duration is agreed in a communication protocol, or the timing duration is configured by the network device.
Conclusion
Additional prior art made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found on the PTO-892 (Notice of References Cited) form.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/ASHLEY SHIVERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 5/31/2026