DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NG Pak Leung et al. (US 2021/0047072 A1) in view of Mangin et al. (US 2003/0069155A1).
Regarding claim 1, Leung teaches a container (i.e. package) made from cellulose, paper or cardboard (biodegradable); [abstract, 21, 39, 47-48, claim 8],
comprising plurality of unit dose pouches (articles); [25, 39, 125], containing detergent composition in the amounts of 10-40 gr; [ 29]. The teaching on the amount of detergent is not anticipatory. However, with respect to claim 2, the lower amount of detergent by Leung (10gr) corresponds to higher amount instant claim (9.5gr) which are construed as statistically an obvious touching range. An experimental lowering of Leung by 1-3gr, or an increase of about 1-2gr for instant claimed amount (9.5gr) would not adversely affect chemical efficacy of the claimed invention wherein by which the instantly claimed 9.5gr is rendered obvious. Furthermore, “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected [the claimed product and a product disclosed in the prior art] to have the same properties.” Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). [MPEP 2131.03, R6].
Regarding claim 1, Assuming that Leung does not render the amended amount of detergent obvious, then analogous art of Mangin teaches a kit of water soluble pouches for dishwashing or laundry detergents (1, 2, 3, 5, 168) wherein the pouch contains less than 10 ml of liquid detergent composition. Assuming the density of liquid detergent is slightly higher than water the stated amount of “less than 10 ml” by Mangin does indeed render the instantly claimed amount of “3-8 grams” obvious. At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to select a lesser amounts of detergent for specifically intended washing process as taught by Mangin above.
Regarding claims 3-5 and 7-8, Leung teaches nonaqueous solvents such as glycerol, 1-2 propane diol and PEG; [99]. Leung teaches a water-based barrier coating such as polyvinyl alcohol (PVOH) or wax; [54], and the unit dose detergent comprises water in amounts of less than 12%; [87], and bittering agent; [37].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NG Pak Leung et al. (US 2021/0047072 A1), Mangin et al. (US 2003/0069155 A1), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Lu et al. (US 2018/0319925 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Leung does not teach the barrier coating material being thermoplastic elastomer. However, the analogous art of Lu teaches application of non-reinforced polyurethane thermoplastic elastomer (film) for covering consumer product containers such as liquid balk storage (e.g. milk, juices…etc.) and packaging of medical material; [90-91]. Lu and Leung are related art that of packaged material with barrier protective coating(s) with strength and elasticity. At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the barrier coating of Lu for Leung’s containers with the motivation of taking advantage of polyurethane thermoplastic elastomer physical properties (flexibility, malleability, strength and durability) in protecting the content of containers from damaging elements such as transportation impacts or humidity.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NG Pak Leung et al. (US 2021/0047072 A1), Mangin et al. (US 2003/0069155A1),
as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Dasque et al. (US 2018/0092590 A1).
Regarding claims 9-11, Leung teach a detergent comprising dye; [90], but does not teach the phthalocyanine based pigment. However, the analogous art of Dasque teaches a unit dose detergent composition for fabric treatment (abstract) comprising phthalocyanine based pigment; [130-131]. At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further add the pigment of Dasque to Leung’s detergent composition with the motivation of protecting the composition by an opacifying agent (i.e. UV light) as taught by Dasque above. Leung teaches (instant claim 10) chelating agent (90) but does not teach its type. However, Dasque teaches a phosphonic acid derivative chelating agent; [142-143]. It would have been obvious to add the phosphonic acid chelating agent of Dasque to Leung’s composition as a functional equivalent ingredient for further reducing deposition of salt scales on fabric substrates. Leung teaches (instant claim 11) perfume agent (70) but does not teach its type. However, Dasque teaches perfumes such as methyl nonyl acetaldehyde, beta ionon and tonalid; [135-136]. At the time before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to add the perfume agent of Dasque to Leung’s composition as a functional equivalent ingredient for deodorizing and further aromatizing the fabrics for enhanced washing results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 3-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on new combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/M.R.A./
Examiner, Art Unit 1767
2026/08/08
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767