DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Hsu (US 20180049532 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hsu discloses a hairdryer comprising:
a cylindrical body housing comprising a gas discharge portion (Fig. 1; 11) at a front surface thereof;
a heater module positioned in the body housing and configured to provide heat; and
a handle housing (14, 24) connected to a lower portion of the body housing, wherein the heater module comprises:
a first heater case having a cylindrical shape (the first heater case comprises the cylinder with heating wire 5, as shown in Fig. 2, and the front assembly comprising 113, 114, and the outer ring encircling the blades 113, as shown in Fig. 1);
a heating wire (5) wound around an outer circumferential surface of the first heater case; and
a front board (Fig. 1 shows an inner ring defining the outlet hole 112) positioned in the first heater case.
Regarding claim 2, Hsu discloses the hairdryer of claim 1, wherein the first heater case comprises:
a cylindrical lateral surface portion (Fig. 2 shows a longitudinal side surface of the cylinder supporting the heating wire 5);
a front surface portion (front assembly comprising 113, 114, and the outer ring of the assembly, as shown in Fig. 1) positioned at the lateral surface portion so as to face the gas discharge portion (11); and
a rear surface portion (Fig. 2; 61, 62, or 63) positioned opposite the front surface portion, and wherein at least one of the front surface portion or the rear surface portion is separable from the lateral surface portion (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Hsu discloses the hairdryer of claim 1, wherein the heating wire (5) has a shape of a coil which is wound around the outer circumferential surface of the first heater case while defining a plurality of rings (Fig. 2), and wherein a diameter of one of the plurality of rings of the heating wire is different from a diameter of an adjacent one of the plurality of rings (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 12, Hsu discloses the hairdryer of claim 1, wherein the heater module is positioned in front of the connecting portion of the handle housing (Fig. 5 shows where a portion of the heating coil 5 is positioned in front where the handle connects to the body housing).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu (US 20180049532 A1) in view Conrad (US 20210307472 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Hsu discloses the hairdryer of claim 2, except further comprising a metal discharge cover coupled to the front surface portion so as to be positioned at the gas discharge portion, wherein the discharge cover is electrically connected to the front surface portion so as to be connected to an electrode of an accessary coupled to the gas discharge portion.
However, Conrad teaches a hairdryer comprising: a metal discharge cover coupled to the front surface portion so as to be positioned at the gas discharge portion (accessory tool 104 is magnetic, i.e., made of metal; para. 813), wherein the discharge cover is electrically connected to the front surface portion (322) so as to be connected to an electrode (320) of an accessary coupled to the gas discharge portion (para. 805).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Hsu to include a metal discharge cover coupled to the front surface portion so as to be positioned at the gas discharge portion, wherein the discharge cover is electrically connected to the front surface portion so as to be connected to an electrode of an accessary coupled to the gas discharge portion. The motivation to combine is so that various accessories can be attached to the hairdryer (see Conrad; paras. 61-63)
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu (US 20180049532 A1) in view Tang (CN 113040493 A).
Regarding claim 7, Hsu discloses the hairdryer of claim 2, except further comprising: an ion generator fastened to the rear surface portion of the first heater case; and a diffuser positioned at the front surface portion of the first heater case and discharging ions generated by the ion generator.
However, Tang teaches a hair dryer comprising: an ion generator (Fig. 1h; 14) fastened to the rear surface portion of the first heater case (Fig. 1h; inner tubular member where element 14a is attached); and a diffuser (14c) positioned at the front surface portion of the first heater case and discharging ions generated by the ion generator.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Hsu to include an ion generator fastened to the rear surface portion of the first heater case; and a diffuser positioned at the front surface portion of the first heater case and discharging ions generated by the ion generator. The motivation to combine is to eliminate static electricity in the hair and smooth the hair.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu (US 20180049532 A1) in view Shin (US 20230270224 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Hsu discloses the hairdryer of claim 2, except further comprising a temperature sensor which is connected to the front board and senses temperature of the gas discharge portion.
However, Shin teaches a hair dryer comprising a temperature sensor (Fig. 7; 170) which is connected to the front board (structure defining the outlet 200) and senses temperature of the gas discharge portion.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Hsu to include a temperature sensor which is connected to the front board and senses temperature of the gas discharge portion. The motivation to combine is so that the air temperature out of the hair dryer can be regulated (see Shin; para. 145).
Regarding claim 9, Hsu discloses the hairdryer of claim 2, except further comprising a heat insulation tube which is positioned an inner periphery of the lateral surface portion and has a thermal conductivity lower than the lateral surface portion.
However, Shin teaches a hair dryer and the technique of using a heat insulating tube (Fig. 21; 855) which is positioned an inner periphery of a lateral surface portion (850) (para. 333). Although there is no mention of its thermal conductivity relative to the lateral surface portion, it is well-known and common knowledge that a heat insulating material has a lower conductivity than an adjacent material (e.g., heat insulation in an oven has lower thermal conductivity than the metal forming the oven).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Hsu to include a heat insulation tube which is positioned an inner periphery of the lateral surface portion and has a thermal conductivity lower than the lateral surface portion. The motivation to combine is so that the high heat is not transferred to the central tube (Hsu; 4) and burn the fingers of the user.
Regarding claim 10, Hsu discloses the hairdryer of claim 1, further comprising an air guide (Fig. 2; 131) which surrounds an outer circumferential surface of the heater module and guides air having passed through the heater module to the gas discharge portion,
except wherein the air guide comprises an insulation material configured to prevent heat generated by the heater module from being transmitted to the body housing.
However, Shin teaches a hair dryer and the technique of using a heat insulating material (Fig. 21; 855) configured to prevent heat generated by the heater module from being transmitted to the body housing (850).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Hsu wherein the air guide comprises an insulation material configured to prevent heat generated by the heater module from being transmitted to the body housing. The motivation to combine is for improved comfort and protection of the user’s hands.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JASON LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762