Claim Objections
Claims 16, 22 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 10, 20, 27-30, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (U.S. Pub No.2022/0407222 A1).
1, Zhu teaches a method for wireless communication at a reconfigurable intelligent surface, comprising: receiving, from a network entity [abstract, par 0069, 0081, The method may include transmitting a synchronization signal block burst to a reflection surface device. The method may also include receiving a first measurement report of the synchronization signal block burst received at the reflection surface device. According to certain example embodiments, during transmission of the indication corresponding to a reflected beam, the IRS may be configured to receive signals from that same direction and reflect them toward the gNB. ] FIG. 9 illustrates an example IRS configured to reflect IRS-SSBs of a burst set received from the gNB at different departure angles, according to certain example embodiments]
a synchronization signal block associated with a synchronization signal block index [par 0073, In certain example embodiments, the gNB may determine the SSB set based on the largest l≥1 reported L1-RSRP values (SSB.sub.i is the SSB with index i, where l defined in a higher layer). The index of SSB.sub.i ∈custom character may uniquely map to the transmitted spatial filter at the gNB];
reflecting the synchronization signal block as a plurality of instances of the synchronization signal block via a corresponding plurality of downlink transmit beams[par 0068, 0069, An indicator of the best SSB may be provided to the gNB (either through the RACH mechanism or through synchronization signal block resource indicator (SSBRI) feedback). This indication corresponding to a reflected beam may be sent on the reverse path via a reflection at the IRS. According to certain example embodiments, during transmission of the indication corresponding to a reflected beam, the IRS may be configured to receive signals from that same direction and reflect them toward the gNB. In other example embodiments, when transmitting other signals/channels to the UE, the gNB may use either a direct beam (IRS off) or a reflected beam (IRS configured to reflect along a particular departure angle from the IRS)];
receiving a random access message from a user equipment (UE) during a random access occasion that corresponds with the synchronization signal block index [par 0088, Fig 12, label 245, the RACH configuration may define the association between RACH occasion and SSBs such that the there is a unique RACH occasion corresponding to each SSB. Thus, when a UE performs random access using the RACH occasion corresponding to an SSB that was transmitted over a reflected beam, this may provide an implicit and unambiguous indication to the gNB that the UE has determined a reflected beam is the best beam]
and on an uplink receive beam that corresponds with one of the plurality of downlink transmit beams [fig 11a, par 0087, 0088, The SSBs in the SSB burst may be divided into P=3 SSBs that are transmitted with direct beams and Q=3 SSBs that are transmitted with reflected beams. As illustrated in the examples of FIGS. 11(a) and (b), SSB1, SSB2, and SSB3 may be transmitted with direct beams 1 through 3 respectively while the IRS is disabled. According to certain example embodiments, SSB4, SSB5, and SSB6 may be transmitted with reflected beams, where the gNB transmits with beam 1 (i.e., the best beam for the IRS) while the IRS is configured for reflected departure directions 1, 2, and 3 respectively relative to the IRS];
identifying a phase-change pattern that corresponds to the uplink receive
beam [par 0062, to determine the best arrival angle at the IRS corresponding to the best transmit beam from the gNB, the gNB may configure the IRS with a set of phase shift settings based on a pre-designed codebook. Each phase shift setting may be associated with one pair of angles of arrival (e.g., azimuth and vertical) and one pair of angles of departure (e.g., azimuth and vertical)];
and reflecting the random access message to the network entity by applying
the phase-change pattern to antenna elements of the reconfigurable intelligent surface [par 0090, 0092, At 245, the gNB and the IRS may be configured for reception of RACH occasions to be received with reflected beam(s). In some example embodiments, the gNB may be configured with the best gNB direct beam from 205, and the IRS may be configured with a phase set corresponding to the appropriate reflected beam. At 250, the gNB may receive RACH from the UE on one of the RACH occasions (either on a direct beam or a reflected beam). At 255, the gNB may transmit a RACH response to the UE on the appropriate RACH response occasion with the appropriate beam (direct or reflected beam)].
2, Zhu creates the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the random access message from the UE during the random access occasion and on the uplink receive beam further comprises: sweeping through a plurality of uplink receive beams [par 0087, FIG. 11(b) illustrates an example SSB sweeping pattern, according to certain example embodiments. In particular, for initial access into a system that leverages an IRS, FIGS. 11(a) and (b) illustrate an example for configuring an SSB burst, where a simplified SSB burst pattern is shown. The SSBs in the SSB burst may be divided into P=3 SSBs that are transmitted with direct beams and Q=3 SSBs that are transmitted with reflected beams. As illustrated in the examples of FIGS. 11(a) and (b), SSB1, SSB2, and SSB3 may be transmitted with direct beams 1 through 3 respectively while the IRS is disabled],
the uplink receive beam on which the random access message is received being one of the plurality of uplink receive beams [par 0088, Thus, when a UE performs random access using the RACH occasion corresponding to an SSB that was transmitted over a reflected beam, this may provide an implicit and unambiguous indication to the gNB that the UE has determined a reflected beam is the best beam. Similarly, when the UE performs random access using the RACH occasion corresponding to an SSB that was transmitted over a direct beam, this may provide an implicit and unambiguous indication to the gNB that the UE has determined a direct beam is the best beam].
3, Zhu disclose the method of claim 2, further comprising: identifying a plurality of phase-change patterns corresponding to the plurality of uplink receive beams [par 0020, Other example embodiments may be directed to an apparatus that may include circuitry configured to receive configuration from a network element comprising a set of phase shift settings, or access the set of phase shift settings from storage. The apparatus may also include circuitry configured to receive a synchronization signal block burst based on a transmit beam exhibiting a highest signal power out of a plurality of transmit beams. The apparatus may further include circuitry configured to apply a phase shift setting from the set of phase shift settings to a plurality of reflecting elements],
the phase-change pattern identified as corresponding to the uplink receive beam on which the random access message is received being one of the plurality of phase-change patterns [par 0092, At 245, the gNB and the IRS may be configured for reception of RACH occasions to be received with reflected beam(s). In some example embodiments, the gNB may be configured with the best gNB direct beam from 205, and the IRS may be configured with a phase set corresponding to the appropriate reflected beam].
10, Zhu conveys an apparatus for wireless communication at a reconfigurable intelligent surface, comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor [par 0106, Apparatus 10 may further include or be coupled to a memory 14 (internal or external), which may be coupled to processor 12, for storing information and instructions that may be executed by processor 12. Memory 14 may be one or more memories and of any type suitable to the local application environment, and may be implemented using any suitable volatile or nonvolatile data storage technology such as a semiconductor-based memory device];
and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to
cause the apparatus to: transmit, via a reconfigurable intelligent surface, a
synchronization signal block associated with a synchronization signal block
index [abstract, par 0069, 0081, The method may include transmitting a synchronization signal block burst to a reflection surface device. The method may also include receiving a first measurement report of the synchronization signal block burst received at the reflection surface device. According to certain example embodiments, during transmission of the indication corresponding to a reflected beam, the IRS may be configured to receive signals from that same direction and reflect them toward the gNB. ] FIG. 9 illustrates an example IRS configured to reflect IRS-SSBs of a burst set received from the gNB at different departure angles, according to certain example embodiments];
receive a random access message from a user equipment (UE) during a random access occasion that corresponds with the synchronization signal block index identify a phase-change pattern of the random access message received at the network entity
[par 0088, Fig 12, label 245, the RACH configuration may define the association between RACH occasion and SSBs such that the there is a unique RACH occasion corresponding to each SSB. Thus, when a UE performs random access using the RACH occasion corresponding to an SSB that was transmitted over a reflected beam, this may provide an implicit and unambiguous indication to the gNB that the UE has determined a reflected beam is the best beam],
the phase-change pattern being one of a plurality of phase-change patterns corresponding to different uplink receive beams used by the reconfigurable intelligent surface [par 0062, to determine the best arrival angle at the IRS corresponding to the best transmit beam from the gNB, the gNB may configure the IRS with a set of phase shift settings based on a pre-designed codebook. Each phase shift setting may be associated with one pair of angles of arrival (e.g., azimuth and vertical) and one pair of angles of departure (e.g., azimuth and vertical)];
determine an uplink receive beam used by the reconfigurable intelligent surface to receive the random access message from the UE based at least in part on the phase-change pattern [par 0092, the gNB may be configured for reception of RACH occasions to be received with direct beam(s). Here, the IRS may be configured to be in the “off” state, and the gNB may be configured with the appropriate direct beam. At 245, the gNB and the IRS may be configured for reception of RACH occasions to be received with reflected beam(s). In some example embodiments, the gNB may be configured with the best gNB direct beam from 205, and the IRS may be configured with a phase set corresponding to the appropriate reflected beam. At 250, the gNB may receive RACH from the UE on one of the RACH occasions (either on a direct beam or a reflected beam)];
and communicate with the UE via the reconfigurable intelligent surface using the uplink receive beam and a corresponding downlink transmit beam of the reconfigurable intelligent surface [par 0069, In other example embodiments, when transmitting other signals/channels to the UE, the gNB may use either a direct beam (IRS off) or a reflected beam (IRS configured to reflect along a particular departure angle from the IRS). Furthermore, when receiving other signals/channels from one or more UEs, the gNB may use either a direct beam (IRS off) or a reflected beam (IRS configured to reflect energy to the gNB), also depending on the aforementioned indications (RACH or SSBRI)].
20. Zhu disclose an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor[par 0106, Apparatus 10 may further include or be coupled to a memory 14 (internal or external), which may be coupled to processor 12, for storing information and instructions that may be executed by processor 12. Memory 14 may be one or more memories and of any type suitable to the local application environment, and may be implemented using any suitable volatile or nonvolatile data storage technology such as a semiconductor-based memory device];
and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive a message at the UE that is indicative that uplink communications between the UE and a network entity are via a reconfigurable intelligent surface that is applying a phase-change pattern to the uplink communications to distinguish between beams used by the reconfigurable intelligent surface for the uplink communications [abstract, par 0062, 0069, 0081, to determine the best arrival angle at the IRS corresponding to the best transmit beam from the gNB, the gNB may configure the IRS with a set of phase shift settings based on a pre-designed codebook. Each phase shift setting may be associated with one pair of angles of arrival (e.g., azimuth and vertical) and one pair of angles of departure (e.g., azimuth and vertical. The method may include transmitting a synchronization signal block burst to a reflection surface device. The method may also include receiving a first measurement report of the synchronization signal block burst received at the reflection surface device. According to certain example embodiments, during transmission of the indication corresponding to a reflected beam, the IRS may be configured to receive signals from that same direction and reflect them toward the gNB. ] FIG. 9 illustrates an example IRS configured to reflect IRS-SSBs of a burst set received from the gNB at different departure angles, according to certain example embodiments];
receive a synchronization signal block from the network entity during a portion of a transmission time interval associated with transmission by the network entity of the synchronization signal block[par 0072, 0073, there may be provided a means for initializing the IRS. For example, in certain example embodiments, the gNB may transmit SSB burst signals periodically. The gNB may also use different spatial filters (beam) over different SSB blocks in the SSB burst. In certain example embodiments, the gNB may determine the SSB set based on the largest l≥1 reported L1-RSRP values (SSB.sub.i is the SSB with index i, where l defined in a higher layer). The index of SSB.sub.i ∈custom character may uniquely map to the transmitted spatial filter at the gNB];
the synchronization signal block being received as one of a plurality of instances of the synchronization signal block reflected by the reconfigurable intelligent surface[par 0068, 0069, An indicator of the best SSB may be provided to the gNB (either through the RACH mechanism or through synchronization signal block resource indicator (SSBRI) feedback). This indication corresponding to a reflected beam may be sent on the reverse path via a reflection at the IRS. According to certain example embodiments, during transmission of the indication corresponding to a reflected beam, the IRS may be configured to receive signals from that same direction and reflect them toward the gNB. In other example embodiments, when transmitting other signals/channels to the UE, the gNB may use either a direct beam (IRS off) or a reflected beam (IRS configured to reflect along a particular departure angle from the IRS)];
wherein each of the plurality of instances of the synchronization signal block
corresponds to a same synchronization signal block index and transmit a random access message during a random access occasion that corresponds to the synchronization signal block index [par 0088, Fig 12, label 245, the RACH configuration may define the association between RACH occasion and SSBs such that the there is a unique RACH occasion corresponding to each SSB. Thus, when a UE performs random access using the RACH occasion corresponding to an SSB that was transmitted over a reflected beam, this may provide an implicit and unambiguous indication to the gNB that the UE has determined a reflected beam is the best beam];
27, Zhu convey the apparatus of claim 22, wherein the configuration message is a radio resource control message [par 0156, RRC Radio Resource Control]
28, Zhu creates an apparatus for wireless communication at a reconfigurable intelligent surface, comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; [par 0106, Apparatus 10 may further include or be coupled to a memory 14 (internal or external), which may be coupled to processor 12, for storing information and instructions that may be executed by processor 12. Memory 14 may be one or more memories and of any type suitable to the local application environment, and may be implemented using any suitable volatile or nonvolatile data storage technology such as a semiconductor-based memory device];
and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a network entity, a synchronization signal block associated with a synchronization signal block index; [par 0073, In certain example embodiments, the gNB may determine the SSB set based on the largest l≥1 reported L1-RSRP values (SSB.sub.i is the SSB with index i, where l defined in a higher layer). The index of SSB.sub.i ∈custom character may uniquely map to the transmitted spatial filter at the gNB];
reflect the synchronization signal block as a plurality of instances of the synchronization signal block via a corresponding plurality of downlink transmit beams[par 0068, 0069, An indicator of the best SSB may be provided to the gNB (either through the RACH mechanism or through synchronization signal block resource indicator (SSBRI) feedback). This indication corresponding to a reflected beam may be sent on the reverse path via a reflection at the IRS. According to certain example embodiments, during transmission of the indication corresponding to a reflected beam, the IRS may be configured to receive signals from that same direction and reflect them toward the gNB. In other example embodiments, when transmitting other signals/channels to the UE, the gNB may use either a direct beam (IRS off) or a reflected beam (IRS configured to reflect along a particular departure angle from the IRS)];
receive a random access message from a user equipment (UE) during a random access occasion that corresponds with the synchronization[par 0088, Fig 12, label 245, the RACH configuration may define the association between RACH occasion and SSBs such that the there is a unique RACH occasion corresponding to each SSB. Thus, when a UE performs random access using the RACH occasion corresponding to an SSB that was transmitted over a reflected beam, this may provide an implicit and unambiguous indication to the gNB that the UE has determined a reflected beam is the best beam]
signal block index and on an uplink receive beam that corresponds with one of the plurality of downlink transmit beams[par 0073, In certain example embodiments, the gNB may determine the SSB set based on the largest l≥1 reported L1-RSRP values (SSB.sub.i is the SSB with index i, where l defined in a higher layer). The index of SSB.sub.i ∈custom character may uniquely map to the transmitted spatial filter at the gNB];;
identify a phase-change pattern that corresponds to the uplink receive beam[par 0062, to determine the best arrival angle at the IRS corresponding to the best transmit beam from the gNB, the gNB may configure the IRS with a set of phase shift settings based on a pre-designed codebook. Each phase shift setting may be associated with one pair of angles of arrival (e.g., azimuth and vertical) and one pair of angles of departure (e.g., azimuth and vertical)];
and reflect the random access message to the network entity by applying the phase-change pattern to antenna elements of the reconfigurable intelligent surface[par 0090, 0092, At 245, the gNB and the IRS may be configured for reception of RACH occasions to be received with reflected beam(s). In some example embodiments, the gNB may be configured with the best gNB direct beam from 205, and the IRS may be configured with a phase set corresponding to the appropriate reflected beam. At 250, the gNB may receive RACH from the UE on one of the RACH occasions (either on a direct beam or a reflected beam). At 255, the gNB may transmit a RACH response to the UE on the appropriate RACH response occasion with the appropriate beam (direct or reflected beam)].
29. The apparatus of claim 28, wherein the instructions executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to receive the random access message from the UE during the random access occasion and on the uplink receive beam are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: sweep through a plurality of uplink receive beams[par 0087, FIG. 11(b) illustrates an example SSB sweeping pattern, according to certain example embodiments. In particular, for initial access into a system that leverages an IRS, FIGS. 11(a) and (b) illustrate an example for configuring an SSB burst, where a simplified SSB burst pattern is shown. The SSBs in the SSB burst may be divided into P=3 SSBs that are transmitted with direct beams and Q=3 SSBs that are transmitted with reflected beams. As illustrated in the examples of FIGS. 11(a) and (b), SSB1, SSB2, and SSB3 may be transmitted with direct beams 1 through 3 respectively while the IRS is disabled]
the uplink receive beam on which the random access message is received being one of the plurality of uplink receive beams [par 0092, At 245, the gNB and the IRS may be configured for reception of RACH occasions to be received with reflected beam(s). In some example embodiments, the gNB may be configured with the best gNB direct beam from 205, and the IRS may be configured with a phase set corresponding to the appropriate reflected beam].
30, Zhu reveals the apparatus of claim 29, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: identify a plurality of phase-change patterns corresponding to the plurality of uplink receive beams[par 0020, Other example embodiments may be directed to an apparatus that may include circuitry configured to receive configuration from a network element comprising a set of phase shift settings, or access the set of phase shift settings from storage. The apparatus may also include circuitry configured to receive a synchronization signal block burst based on a transmit beam exhibiting a highest signal power out of a plurality of transmit beams. The apparatus may further include circuitry configured to apply a phase shift setting from the set of phase shift settings to a plurality of reflecting elements],
the phase-change pattern identified as corresponding to the uplink receive beam on which the random access message is received being one of the plurality of phase-change patterns[par 0092, At 245, the gNB and the IRS may be configured for reception of RACH occasions to be received with reflected beam(s). In some example embodiments, the gNB may be configured with the best gNB direct beam from 205, and the IRS may be configured with a phase set corresponding to the appropriate reflected beam]..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (U.S. Pub No.2022/0407222 A1) in view of Ng et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2019/0288766 A1).
4, Zhu demonstrate the method of claim 3, Zhu fail to show wherein identifying the plurality of phase-change patterns further comprises: determining a number of the plurality of phase-change patterns, the number of the plurality of phase-change patterns based on a number of beams supported by the reconfigurable intelligent surface.
In an analogous art Ng show wherein identifying the plurality of phase-change patterns further comprises: determining a number of the plurality of phase-change patterns, the number of the plurality of phase-change patterns based on a number of beams supported by the reconfigurable intelligent surface [par 0126, The UE may also perform Rx beam sweeping to detect and identify the strongest SSB beam from the gNB. Assuming a beam is formed by applying phase shifts on the antenna elements, the number of beams is a function of the number of phase shifter bits and the number of antenna elements].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhu and Ng because beam sweeping over this large number of beams can incur excessive latency, hence there is a need for a method to reduce the latency [Ng, par 0127]
11, Zhu illustrates the apparatus of claim 10, Zhu fail to show wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine a number of the plurality of phase-change patterns, the number of the plurality of phase-change patterns based on a number of beams supported by the reconfigurable intelligent surface.
In an analogous art Ng show wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine a number of the plurality of phase-change patterns the number of the plurality of phase-change patterns based on a number of beams supported by the reconfigurable intelligent surface[par 0126, The UE may also perform Rx beam sweeping to detect and identify the strongest SSB beam from the gNB. Assuming a beam is formed by applying phase shifts on the antenna elements, the number of beams is a function of the number of phase shifter bits and the number of antenna elements].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhu and Ng because beam sweeping over this large number of beams can incur excessive latency, hence there is a need for a method to reduce the latency [Ng, par 0127]
7. Claim(s) 5, 6, 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (U.S. Pub No.2022/0407222 A1) in view of MURALIDHAR et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2026/0155924 A1).
5, Zhu discloses the method of claim 3, Zhu fail to show wherein identifying the plurality of phase-change patterns further comprises: determining the plurality of phase-change patterns based at least in part on a Hadamard matrix whose size is based on a number of beams supported by the reconfigurable intelligent surface.
In an analogous art MURALIDHAR show wherein identifying the plurality of phase-change patterns further comprises: determining the plurality of phase-change patterns based at least in part on a Hadamard matrix whose size is based on a number of beams supported by the reconfigurable intelligent surface [par 0066, A physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) is used in long-term evolution (LTE) and fifth-generation (5G) technology, and consists of rows and columns of Fast Fourier transform (FFT)/Inverse-Fast Fourier transform (IFFT) matrix, and rows and columns of Hadamard matrices. However, CDM is not defined in context of SRS in conventional methods].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhu and MURALIDHAR because method for managing sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission in a wireless communication. [MURALIDHAR, par 0008]
6, Zhu illustrates the method of claim 3, Zhu fail to show wherein the plurality of phase-change patterns are a plurality of time-domain orthogonal cover codes.
In an analogous art MURALIDHAR show wherein the plurality of phase-change patterns are a plurality of time-domain orthogonal cover codes [par 0067, 0068, Conventional methods and system apply time domain orthogonal cover code (TD-OCC) to same frequency region for different OFDM symbols of a user].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhu and MURALIDHAR because method for managing sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission in a wireless communication. [MURALIDHAR, par 0008]
12, Zhu describes the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: Zhu fail to show determine the plurality of phase-change patterns based at least in part on a Hadamard matrix whose size is based on a number of beams supported by the reconfigurable intelligent surface.
In an analogous art MURALIDHAR show determine the plurality of phase-change patterns based at least in part on a Hadamard matrix whose size is based on a number of beams supported by the reconfigurable intelligent surface [par 0066, A physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) is used in long-term evolution (LTE) and fifth-generation (5G) technology, and consists of rows and columns of Fast Fourier transform (FFT)/Inverse-Fast Fourier transform (IFFT) matrix, and rows and columns of Hadamard matrices. However, CDM is not defined in context of SRS in conventional methods].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhu and MURALIDHAR because method for managing sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission in a wireless communication. [MURALIDHAR, par 0008]
13, Zhu reveals the apparatus of claim 10, Zhu fail to show wherein the plurality of phase-change patterns are a plurality of time-domain orthogonal cover codes.
In an analogous art MURALIDHAR show wherein the plurality of phase-change patterns are a plurality of time-domain orthogonal cover codes[par 0066, A physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) is used in long-term evolution (LTE) and fifth-generation (5G) technology, and consists of rows and columns of Fast Fourier transform (FFT)/Inverse-Fast Fourier transform (IFFT) matrix, and rows and columns of Hadamard matrices. However, CDM is not defined in context of SRS in conventional methods].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhu and MURALIDHAR because method for managing sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission in a wireless communication. [MURALIDHAR, par 0008]
8. Claim(s) 7, 14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (U.S. Pub No.2022/0407222 A1) in view of DUARTE GELVEZ et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2024/0014864 A1).
7, Zhu demonstrates the method of claim 3, Zhu fail to show wherein each of the plurality of phase- change patterns is unique from others of the plurality of phase-change patterns based on a timing of phase-changes applied to the antenna elements of the reconfigurable intelligent surface.
In an analogous art DUARTE show wherein each of the plurality of phase- change patterns is unique from others of the plurality of phase-change patterns based on a timing of phase-changes applied to the antenna elements of the reconfigurable intelligent surface [par 0040, wherein the first configuration of the plurality of controllable phase shifts comprises one or more first sets of the controllable phase shifts, the second configuration of the plurality of controllable phase shifts for use during transmission of the at least one second reference signal, wherein the second configuration of the plurality of controllable phase shifts comprises one or more second sets of the controllable phase shifts, instructions to turn off the controllable scatterer for a first time period comprising transmission of the at least one first reference signal, instructions to apply the first configuration of the plurality of controllable phase shifts at the first time period, and instructions to apply the second configuration of the plurality of controllable phase shifts at a second time period comprising transmission of the at least one second reference signal].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhu and DUARTE because to restrict the propagation of the at least one first reference signal from the controllable scatterer to the other device. [DUARTE, par 0033]
14, Zhu conveys the apparatus of claim 10, Zhu fail to show wherein each of the plurality of phase- change patterns is unique from others of the plurality of phase-change patterns based on a timing of phase-changes applied to antenna elements of the reconfigurable intelligent surface.
In an analogous art DUARTE show wherein each of the plurality of phase- change patterns is unique from others of the plurality of phase-change patterns based on a timing of phase-changes applied to antenna elements of the reconfigurable intelligent surface[par 0040, wherein the first configuration of the plurality of controllable phase shifts comprises one or more first sets of the controllable phase shifts, the second configuration of the plurality of controllable phase shifts for use during transmission of the at least one second reference signal, wherein the second configuration of the plurality of controllable phase shifts comprises one or more second sets of the controllable phase shifts, instructions to turn off the controllable scatterer for a first time period comprising transmission of the at least one first reference signal, instructions to apply the first configuration of the plurality of controllable phase shifts at the first time period, and instructions to apply the second configuration of the plurality of controllable phase shifts at a second time period comprising transmission of the at least one second reference signal].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhu and DUARTE because to restrict the propagation of the at least one first reference signal from the controllable scatterer to the other device. [DUARTE, par 0033]
9. Claim(s) 8, 9, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (U.S. Pub No.2022/0407222 A1) in view of KIM et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2025/0007565 A1).
8, Zhu creating the method of claim 1, Zhu fail to show wherein reflecting the synchronization signal block further comprises: reflecting each instance of the synchronization signal block during a respective portion of a transmission time interval associated with transmission by the network entity of the synchronization signal block, the plurality of the instances of the synchronization signal block being reflected during the transmission time interval.
In an analogous art KIM show wherein reflecting the synchronization signal block further comprises: reflecting each instance of the synchronization signal block during a respective portion of a transmission time interval associated with transmission by the network entity of the synchronization signal block [par 0201, the RIS controller 1100 may control a reflective pattern of the RIS at particular intervals based on information about a signal included in the RIS control signal and a corresponding RIS codeword index set {SSB index i, ϕ.sub.i}. For example, the RIS controller 1110 may control a reflective pattern of the RIS 1120 according to an RIS codeword index ϕ.sub.6 corresponding to SSB 6 at a time of transmission of SSB6 at particular intervals],
the plurality of the instances of the synchronization signal block being reflected during the transmission time interval[par 0211, 0212, the RIS controller 1200 may control a reflective pattern of the RIS at particular intervals based on the configuration information 1250 about the new PRACH. For example, the RIS controller 1210 may control a reflective pattern of the RIS 1220 according to an RIS codeword index ϕ.sub.6 at a time of occurrence of a PRACH occasion corresponding to SSB 6 at particular intervals. When the SSB configuration information is changed, the BS may transmit configuration information about a new SSB to the RIS controller. For example, when the SSB configuration information is changed, the BS may transmit information about a location and repetition periodicity for each SSB index to the RIS controller].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhu and Kim because provides identifying when each of at least one PRACH occasion corresponding to each of the at least one sync signal occurs based on the configuration information for the sync signal. [Kim par 0028].
9, Zhu and Kim discloses the method of claim 8, Zhu fail to show wherein each of the plurality of instances of the synchronization signal block corresponds to a same synchronization signal block index.
In an analogous art Kim show wherein each of the plurality of instances of the synchronization signal block corresponds to a same synchronization signal block index [par 0207, the RIS control signal 1210 may include information about a signal to be transmitted by the BS 1240 to the UE 1260 and a corresponding RIS codeword index set {SSB index i, ϕ.sub.i}. For example, the RIS control signal 1210 may include {SSB index 6, ϕ.sub.6} and {SSB index 7, ϕ.sub.7}].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhu and Kim because provides identifying when each of at least one PRACH occasion corresponding to each of the at least one sync signal occurs based on the configuration information for the sync signal. [Kim par 0028].
9. Claim(s) 15, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (U.S. Pub No.2022/0407222 A1) in view of Yoon et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0068617 A1).
15, Zhu teaches the apparatus of claim 10, Zhu fail to show wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: identify a set of cyclic shifts that are permissible for use with random access message transmission, wherein the set of cyclic shifts is based at least in part on the reconfigurable intelligent surface applying the phase-change pattern to uplink communications.
In an analogous art Yoon show wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: identify a set of cyclic shifts that are permissible for use with random access message transmission [par 0038, The network configures the set of preamble sequences the UE is allowed to use. In the legacy LTE/LTE-A system, there are 64 preambles available in each cell. The set of 64 preamble sequences in a cell is found by including first, in the order of increasing cyclic shift]
wherein the set of cyclic shifts is based at least in part on the reconfigurable intelligent surface applying the phase-change pattern to uplink communications [par 0103, In this case, a cyclic shift for a root sequence or the base sequence may be applied to any of a middle stage or a final stage. For example, the cyclic shift may be applied in the form in which the base sequence is phase-shifted in the frequency domain or the cyclic shift may be applied in the form in which a preamble sequence signal obtained after IFFT is cyclic-shifted in the time domain].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhu and Yoon because radio communication signals can be efficiently transmitted/received. Therefore, overall throughput of a radio communication system can be improved [Yoon, par 0016]
21, Zhu reveal the apparatus of claim 20, Zhu fail to show wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: select a set of cyclic shifts that are permissible for application to transmission of the random access message, wherein selection of the set of cyclic shifts is based at least in part on the reconfigurable intelligent surface applying the phase-change pattern to the uplink communications.
In an analogous Yoon show wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: select a set of cyclic shifts that are permissible for application to transmission of the random access message[par 0038, The network configures the set of preamble sequences the UE is allowed to use. In the legacy LTE/LTE-A system, there are 64 preambles available in each cell. The set of 64 preamble sequences in a cell is found by including first, in the order of increasing cyclic shift],
wherein selection of the set of cyclic shifts is based at least in part on the reconfigurable intelligent surface applying the phase-change pattern to the uplink communications[par 0103, In this case, a cyclic shift for a root sequence or the base sequence may be applied to any of a middle stage or a final stage. For example, the cyclic shift may be applied in the form in which the base sequence is phase-shifted in the frequency domain or the cyclic shift may be applied in the form in which a preamble sequence signal obtained after IFFT is cyclic-shifted in the time domain].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhu and Yoon because radio communication signals can be efficiently transmitted/received. Therefore, overall throughput of a radio communication system can be improved [Yoon, par 0016]
10. Claim(s) 17, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (U.S. Pub No.2022/0407222 A1) in view of CHOI et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2023/0261376 A1).
17, Zhu disclose the apparatus of claim 16, Zhu fail to show wherein a value of the correction term is based at least in part on a number of beams associated with the reconfigurable intelligent surface.
In an analogous art CHOI show wherein a value of the correction term is based at least in part on a number of beams associated with the reconfigurable intelligent surface [par 0060, In step S120, RIS tiles are scanned as large as the predefined number of beams by the signal radiated through the transmitter. In step S130, a value of a reflection coefficient of each unit cell or tile of the reconfigurable intelligent reflecting surface (RIS) is determined. A method for determining the value of the reflection coefficient will be described below with reference to FIGS. 4A to 15B].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhu and CHOI because method and a system for transmitting wireless power using configurable intelligent reflecting surfaces capable of adaptively steering multiple beams capable of simultaneously charging multiple devices based on reception power by using reconfigurable intelligent reflecting surfaces (RIS). [CHOI, par 0008]
23, Zhu create the apparatus of claim 22, Zhu fail to show wherein a value of the correction term is based at least in part on a number of beams associated with the reconfigurable intelligent surface.
In an analogous art CHOI show wherein a value of the correction term is based at least in part on a number of beams associated with the reconfigurable intelligent surface[par 0060, In step S120, RIS tiles are scanned as large as the predefined number of beams by the signal radiated through the transmitter. In step S130, a value of a reflection coefficient of each unit cell or tile of the reconfigurable intelligent reflecting surface (RIS) is determined. A method for determining the value of the reflection coefficient will be described below with reference to FIGS. 4A to 15B].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhu and CHOI because method and a system for transmitting wireless power using configurable intelligent reflecting surfaces capable of adaptively steering multiple beams capable of simultaneously charging multiple devices based on reception power by using reconfigurable intelligent reflecting surfaces (RIS). [CHOI, par 0008]
11. Claim(s) 18, 24, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (U.S. Pub No.2022/0407222 A1) in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2012/0294213 A1).
18, ZHU discloses the apparatus of claim 16, Zhu fail to show wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit an indication that the correction term is to be applied by the UE in selecting the set of cyclic shifts.
In an analogous art Chen show wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit an indication that the correction term is to be applied by the UE in selecting the set of cyclic shifts[par 0087, For another example, the existing DCI Format 0 is employed for a command to activate an uplink CC, wherein the values of fields "resource block assignment and hopping resource allocation", "new data indicator", "TPC command for PUSCH" and "cyclic shift for DM RS" may be 0, and the value of the most significant bit of field "modulation and coding scheme and redundancy version" is 0].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhu and Chen because to improve the reliability of activation and deactivation of the carrier aggregation technology in an LTE-A system. [Chen par 0005]
24, Zhu display the apparatus of claim 22, Zhu fail to show wherein the instructions executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to select the set of cyclic shifts are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive an indication that the correction term is to be applied in selecting the set of cyclic shifts.
In an analogous art Chen show wherein the instructions executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to select the set of cyclic shifts are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive an indication that the correction term is to be applied in selecting the set of cyclic shifts[par 0087, For another example, the existing DCI Format 0 is employed for a command to activate an uplink CC, wherein the values of fields "resource block assignment and hopping resource allocation", "new data indicator", "TPC command for PUSCH" and "cyclic shift for DM RS" may be 0, and the value of the most significant bit of field "modulation and coding scheme and redundancy version" is 0].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhu and Chen because to improve the reliability of activation and deactivation of the carrier aggregation technology in an LTE-A system. [Chen par 0005]
25, Zhu and Chen demonstrate the apparatus of claim 24, Zhu fail to show wherein the indication comprises a one-bit field included in either a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) or a downlink control information (DCI) message.
In an analogous art Chen show wherein the indication comprises a one-bit field included in either a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) or a downlink control information (DCI) message[par 0087, For another example, the existing DCI Format 0 is employed for a command to activate an uplink CC, wherein the values of fields "resource block assignment and hopping resource allocation", "new data indicator", "TPC command for PUSCH" and "cyclic shift for DM RS" may be 0, and the value of the most significant bit of field "modulation and coding scheme and redundancy version" is 0].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhu and Chen because to improve the reliability of activation and deactivation of the carrier aggregation technology in an LTE-A system. [Chen par 0005]
12. Claim(s) 19, 26, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (U.S. Pub No.2022/0407222 A1) in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2012/0294213 A1) in further view of Hao et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2012/0069933 A1).
19, Zhu and Chen describes the apparatus of claim 18, Zhu fail to show wherein the indication comprises a one-bit field included in either a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) or a downlink control information (DCI) message,
In an analogous art Chen show wherein the indication comprises a one-bit field included in either a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) or a downlink control information (DCI) message[par 0087, For another example, the existing DCI Format 0 is employed for a command to activate an uplink CC, wherein the values of fields "resource block assignment and hopping resource allocation", "new data indicator", "TPC command for PUSCH" and "cyclic shift for DM RS" may be 0, and the value of the most significant bit of field "modulation and coding scheme and redundancy version" is 0].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhu and Chen because to improve the reliability of activation and deactivation of the carrier aggregation technology in an LTE-A system. [Chen par 0005]
Zhu and Chen fail to show wherein the indication further indicates a mapping between zero correlation zone configuration and the set of cyclic shifts.
In an analogous art Hao show wherein the indication further indicates a mapping between zero correlation zone configuration and the set of cyclic shifts [par 0003, A base station informs, via the BCH channel, the mobile phone the index and the step length of the cyclic shift of the first ZC sequence available for the RACH of the current cell. According to the index, the mobile phone makes use of certain mapping rule to calculate the serial number of the corresponding ZC sequence, and then, generates usable ZCZ sequences according to the step length of the cyclic shift and a certain "cyclic shift limitation rule"].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhu, Chen, and Hao because this provides a method and a device for sequencing the ZC sequences of the random access channel. [Hao, par 0008]
26, Zhu and Chen disclose the apparatus of claim 24, Zhu and Chen fail to show wherein the indication further indicates a mapping between zero correlation zone configuration and the set of cyclic shifts.
In an analogous art Hao show wherein the indication further indicates a mapping between zero correlation zone configuration and the set of cyclic shifts[par 0003, A base station informs, via the BCH channel, the mobile phone the index and the step length of the cyclic shift of the first ZC sequence available for the RACH of the current cell. According to the index, the mobile phone makes use of certain mapping rule to calculate the serial number of the corresponding ZC sequence, and then, generates usable ZCZ sequences according to the step length of the cyclic shift and a certain "cyclic shift limitation rule"].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhu, Chen, and Hao because this provides a method and a device for sequencing the ZC sequences of the random access channel. [Hao, par 0008]
Conclusion
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468