DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 requires that “the second fan discharges the air suctioned outside the first fan in a direction between a third direction orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction and the first direction” (emphasis added). It is unclear if “orthogonal to” modifies “the first direction and the second direction” or “the first direction and the second direction and the first direction” where in the latter case the second recitation of the first direction would be redundant. For the purposes of examination, the claim is interpreted as requiring “the second fan discharges the air suctioned outside the first fan in a direction between a third direction and the first direction, where the third direction is orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction”. Furthermore, the first, second, and third orthogonal directions define the entire physical space, therefore, any direction that is neither parallel to the first or third directions is interpreted as between the first and third directions.
Claim 15 requires “an accommodation space” in line 2, claim 11 from which claim 15 depends already introduces “an accommodation space”. It is unclear if the accommodation space introduced in claim 15 is the same structure as that claimed in claim 11. For the purposes of examination, the structures are interpreted as the same.
Claim 16 requires “an accommodation space” in line 2, claim 11 from which claim 15 depends already introduces “an accommodation space”. It is unclear if the accommodation space introduced in claim 15 is the same structure as that claimed in claim 11. For the purposes of examination, the structures are interpreted as the same.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the discharge port" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 27 requires “a second fan disposed at both sides of the first fan” in line 4, it is unclear how a single second fan can be disposed on both sides of a single first fan. For the purposes of examination, the claim is interpreted as requiring “a second fan disposed on one side of the first fan”.
Claim 28 requires “a second fan disposed at both sides of the first fan” in line 3, it is unclear how a single second fan can be disposed on both sides of a single first fan. For the purposes of examination, the claim is interpreted as requiring “a second fan disposed on one side of the first fan”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-14, 17-19, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Riffel (US 4,556,046).
With respect to claim 11 Riffel discloses a movable hood comprising: a main body [reference character 1] having an accommodation space [see annotated Fig. below] formed therein; a first fan [reference character 7] accommodated in the accommodation space and configured to suction outside air in a first direction [see annotated Fig. below]; and a second fan [reference character 2] disposed not to overlap the first fan in the first direction, wherein the first fan and the second fan are arranged in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction [see annotated Fig. below], and wherein the second fan discharges the air suctioned outside the first fan in a direction [see annotated Fig. below] between a third direction orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction and the first direction1.
With respect to claim 12 Riffel discloses that the second fan is accommodated inside the main body to be disposed at one side in the first direction more than the first fan [see Fig. 4].
With respect to claim 13 Riffel discloses that a pair of the second fans are disposed to be spaced apart from each other in the second direction with the first fan interposed therebetween [see Fig. 4].
With respect to claim 14 Riffel discloses that main body is provided with an inlet [see annotated Fig. below] forming a passage for allowing the outside air to flow into the first fan, and an outlet [reference character 8] forming a passage for allowing the air suctioned into the first fan to be discharged to the outside of the main body, wherein the inlet forms a passage for opening the main body in the first direction, and wherein the inlet forms a passage for opening the main body in the second direction [see annotated Fig. below].
With respect to claim 17 Riffel discloses a discharge port [see annotated Fig. below] forming a passage for allowing the air suctioned into the second fan to be discharged to the outside of the main body, and wherein the discharge port forms a passage for opening the main body in the third direction.
With respect to claim 18 Riffel discloses that the discharge port is formed to pass through the main body in the third direction [see annotated Fig. above], wherein the main body further includes a partition wall [see annotated Fig. below] configured to block the second fan and the inlet, and wherein the discharge port communicates with a space in which the second fan is disposed.
With respect to claim 19 Riffel discloses a louver [reference character 29] protruding from the main body in the second direction at an unfolded location.
With respect to claim 21 Riffel discloses that the second fan suctions the air from one side in the first direction and discharges the air in the third direction [see Fig. 4, the inlets to fans 7 and 2 are both in the first direction].
With respect to claim 22 Riffel discloses that the second fan suctions the air from the other side in the first direction and discharges the air in the third direction [see Fig. 4, the inlets to fans 7 and 2 are both in the first direction], and wherein an auxiliary inlet [reference character 3] forming a passage for allowing the outside air to flow into the second fan is provided on the main body.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kling (US 4,450,756).
With respect to claim 27 Kling discloses a movable hood comprising: a first fan [reference character 19] configured to form a suction flow at a front side; and a second fan [reference character 20] disposed at both sides of the first fan2 and configured to discharge air toward the front side at both sides of the first fan, wherein the second fan forms a discharge flow moving in a direction away from the suction flow toward the front side [see Fig. 7a].
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Riffel (US 4,556,046).
With respect to claim 28 Riffel discloses a movable hood comprising: a first fan [reference character 7] configured to form a suction flow at a front side [see annotated Fig. below]; and a second fan [reference character 2] disposed at both sides of the first fan and configured to discharge air toward the front side at both sides of the first fan, wherein the second fan forms a discharge flow [see annotated Fig. below] moving in a direction away from the suction flow toward the front side.
With respect to claim 29 Riffel discloses a filter [reference character 9] disposed at the front side of the first fan; and a case [reference character 80] configured to accommodate the first fan, the second fan, and the filter, wherein the case is provided to be seated on the ground [see Fig. 1, the case sits on the ground via the intervening structure of the pizza delivery vehicle].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riffel (US 4,556,046) in view of Hike (US 3,589,266).
With respect to claim 15 Riffel discloses that the main body includes a case [reference character 80] having an accommodation space [reference character 70] formed therein and having an open one side [see annotated Fig. below] in the first direction; and a cover [reference character 23] configured to cover the case at one side in the first direction.
Riffel does not disclose an inlet forming a passage for opening the main body in the first direction is formed to pass through the cover in the first direction.
Hike discloses a stove hood that includes main body with a case [reference character 20] a cover [reference character 42] configured to cover the case in the upstream direction, and a passage [at reference character 44] for opening the main body in the first direction is formed to pass through the cover in the first direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Riffel by forming a passage for opening the main body in the first direction is formed to pass through the cover in the first direction, as taught by Hike, in order to allow for the use of an upstream facing axial extraction fan.
With respect to claim 20 Riffel discloses that the discharge port forming a passage for opening the main body in the third direction is provided on the main body [see rejection for claim 17 and Fig. 4], and wherein the louver is provided to cover a third surface outside the main body [see reference character 29 in Fig. 6].
Riffel does not disclose that the louver moves between a closed location at which the discharge port is closed and the unfolded location.
Hike discloses a stove hood that includes a louver [reference character 60] positioned in a duct [reference character 58] communicating with the ambient exterior environment which can be moved between a closed and open position [column 3 lines 1-12].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Riffel by allowing louvers 29 to be opened and closed, as taught by Hike, in order to prevent the ingress of insects and debris when the exhaust system is not being used.
Conclusion
/VIVEK K SHIRSAT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762
1 See 112(b) rejection above.
2 See 112(b) rejection above.